This business is not BBB accredited.

Cortina Inn & Resort

Phone: (802) 772-7118 Fax: (802) 772-7121 5709 Route 4, Killington, VT 05751 http://www.cortinainn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cortina Inn & Resort located close to the Killington and Pico Ski areas is open all year round. The inn offers rooms and suites, breakfast, a restaurant with dinner available Friday and Saturday nights and indoor pool. Cortina Inn & Resort is also available for small private, organization and business functions.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cortina Inn & Resort include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cortina Inn & Resort
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 2011 Business started: 02/01/1963 in VT Business incorporated 04/26/2010 in VT
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Manjari Bhakta, General Manager Mr. Jigar Bhakta, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Manjari Bhakta, General Manager
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

RESORTS BED & BREAKFAST ACCOMMODATIONS RESTAURANTS SKI CENTERS & RESORTS INN Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Method(s) of Payment
American Express
Cash
Check
Discover Card
MasterCard
Visa
Alternate Business Names
Bhakta Management, LLC
Industry Tips
Restaurants Travel Agencies

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5709 Route 4

    Killington, VT 05751 (802) 772-7118

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At 11:15pm on 9/27 my financee and I called to make a reservation. We paid for 1 room for 2 nights over the phone - the cancellation policy was never clearly stated over the phone. At 8:00am on 9/28 (not 9 hours later) we called to cancel the reservation due to circumstances out of our control. They did not even have our reservation for 1 business hour. The woman we spoke with at 8:00am on 9/28 put us on hold for 5 minutes, came back, and said "you're all set". Approximately 2 and 1/2 hours later, another woman called and said that she was charging us for a room for one night. We were surprised, as this was not stated over the phone on 9/27 or earlier that morning when we made the cancellation. Since we were unaware of the cancellation policy at the time of booking, it was clearly stated that we were "all set", we did not have the reservation for even 9 hours, we did not have the reservation during business hours, our reservation was not preventing anyone from making a reservation (there were several open rooms), we would like the charges associated with the room removed from our banking account - effective immediately.

Desired Settlement: We simply would like a full refund.

Business Response: I spoke with the answering service and the woman that initially took the customers call and was told she clearly stated that she does not cancel reservations she can only send the message to the hotel that a customer needs assistance. When she said “you’re all set” she was saying that the message was sent to the hotel. 

When I received the message from the service I called the customer and told him that there was a one night cancelation policy that would be charged to the room.  He then went on to say that he was planning on coming up to the area in a few weeks and would be booking with us at that time.  
 
I told the guest that I was happy they were thinking of planning another trip and would be happy to apply the cancelation fee to their stay in a few weeks.  The gentleman then got upset and said he didn’t know why we couldn’t just cancel the reservation for no charge and threatened to write a bad review and never stay here if I did not comply with him.  

The gentleman then went on and told me that his was unable to make his flight due to the weather and how other hotels have no cancelation policies and he is always able to cancel reservations a couple hours before check-in. I explained to him that every hotel has a cancelation policy as did his airline reservation.  He then told me that he was taking a private plane for the weekend so there was no fee to cancel.  I tried to meet the customer half way by only charging him 50% of the room rate.  

I feel that all efforts were made to assist the customer even applying the cancelation fee to another stay which then would void out this current cancelation fee. However, to remove any ill-will I have refunded the guest. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.