Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are You the Business Owner of The America Library of Poetry?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This Business is not BBB accredited

The America Library of Poetry

Phone: (888) 328-4964 PO Box 978, Houlton, ME 04730 http://www.libraryofpoetry.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The America Library of Poetry publishes student poetry and short stories and each year sponsors  writing contests throughout The United States of America.  


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The America Library of Poetry include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The America Library of Poetry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 06, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1998 in CA
Business Management
Mr. Paul Charles, Editor
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Charles, Editor
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

PUBLISHERS-BOOK


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 978

    Houlton, ME 04730

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved a letter in Nov.2013 from the America Library of Poetry saying that my Granddaughter had a poem sumited by her teacher . it had been put into a book of poetry . If I wanted to purchase a copy I could do so .( Granddaughter's name is "****** ********** " . she attended ********* High school ) . I sent a check for 38.95 on Nov.30 2013. I never recieved the book . I got on their web site and all it said was there was not an order for this child .! I have tried numerous times to call them only to be directed back to the web site .never could talk to a person . my letter stated it would be delivered in Dec. never happened . the check went through my bank in Dec.

Desired Settlement: I want either the book I ordered or my money back . perferably the book .

Business Response:

We did not receive this person's release form (to authorize publication of the poem) until after the book was printed.  The poem is being printed in the next book (scheduled for release this fall) and the order will be filled for that book instead, since we assumed she would want the book which includes her granddaughter's poem. We sent notice regarding this, but obviously it was not received by the customer. In the future, if the customer contacts us directly via email, we can promptly reply to all inquiries. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

**** ***    I would like to keep this complaint open until I recieve the book , then I will consider it closed . I will notify the BBB  upon recieving the book  thank you

1/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My daughter was told that her poem would be published in a book from the America Library Of Poetry. This company never sent a signed copy of the book my daughters poem was supposedly published in. I sent in a check back on 8/16/13, which this check was cashed 8/29/13 with a delivery date of 4 to six weeks. I have yet to receive this book nor any refund of monies. How many people/ children have they done this to? Its sad because schools are promoting this company. I do not have money to throw away. Im a single mom that has been taken advantage of. My daughter sits and wait and wait for this so call book to arrive in the mail. They will not answer the phone to even speak to a representative.

Desired Settlement: The return of my money and a apology to my daughter for getting her hopes up of being published.

Business Response: We received your daughter's signed release form authorizing publication of the poem and rour child's name and poem appear in the book, **********.  We also received your family’s order. Please understand that publication is not automatic. We must receive the release forms back before we are authorized to publish the poems. The book you purchased was not already printed at the time you placed your order, since we have to wait on release forms to have poems in the book.  Producing a book is a long process, and it is right on schedule.  The letter (in the circle on page two) and the order form (which you filled out and returned) both stated that delivery should be expected in December, and that timeframe did not change. Please confirm you have now received your daughter's poetry book.