Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.

Phone: (401) 921-1971 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 Evergreen Avenue, Warwick, RI 02888 http://www.evergreenplumbingri.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Evergreen Plumbing & heating Co., Inc. i a family owned and operated business specializing in all types of service work for both residential and commercial projects, including plumbing (faucets, sinks, drain pipes, toilets, showers, tubs, valves, garbage disposals), heating (oil, gas, hot water, steam heat, radiant), drain cleaning, remodeling and new construction projects.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

17 Customer Reviews on Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 14
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 17

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 2010 Business started: 02/24/2010 in RI Business incorporated 02/24/2010 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston RI 02920
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/
Phone Number: 401-462-8000
Fax Number: 401-462-8872
mmadonna@dlt.ri.gov
The number is MP002094.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Mastroianni, President Ms. Marianna Mastroianni, Office Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Mastroianni, President
Principal: Ms. Marianna Mastroianni, Office Administrator
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT-ROOM UNITS AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS-REPAIRING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING, DRAIN & SEWER CLEANING PIPE FITTINGS BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING GARBAGE DISPOSALS-HOUSEHOLD PLUMBERS - COMMERCIAL RADIANT HEATING DRAIN CLEANING REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
MasterCard
Visa
Discover
Service Area
Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2 Evergreen Avenue

    Warwick, RI 02888 (401) 921-1971 (401) 921-2971

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After repeated failures I experienced with a home Boiler purchased from Evergreen Plumging, they determined that the problem was a defective Heat Exchanger that was leaking on electrical components and causing multiple failures.. Evergree first encouraged me to contact *********, the manufacturere of the boiler, to see if I could get a wholesale replacement for the unit which Evergreen labelled " a *****". ********* refused, saying they were only responsilbe for parts replacement under my warranty.. In Feb, 2013 Evergreen replaced the heat exchanger at a cost of $550 to me.. In 2014,Evergreen noticed that the new Heat Exchanger was also leaking. They chose to plug the leak with silicone rather than again replace the Heat Exchnager. On 1/6/2015, the system again failed, "adjustments" were made to the boiler and declared "fixed". Two days later, another system failure and Evergreen determined that there was a bad Control Board. A few weeks later, I experienced another system failure and decided to engage a different Plumber. ******* Plumbing, Wakefield R.I. told me that the leaking Heat exchanger had caused extensive corrosion in the boiler and that I was likeley to experience further issues, since the unit had been so severly compromised. On Feb 27, 2015, the boiler again shut down in sub-zero weather. I was then told by *******'s general manager, that the system was beyond repair and that they, in good faith, would not continue to service such a unit. With sub-zero temperatures, I was left with little choice but to have replacement unit installed by ******* at significant cost to me. All told, the original boiler cost $6200, there were well over $1500 in repairs, and the replacement unit cost another $6900.

Desired Settlement: I hold Evergeen responsible for incorrectly fixing the problem with the heat exchanger, that ultimately resulted in unnecessary repairs and, ultimately, in catastrophic system failure. I want to be reimbursed for the failed unit (pro-rated) and ineffective repairs. I estimate this to be $6150, since the life of the boiler should easily be 20 years (reimbursed 75% of the cost of th unit) and there were $1500 in unnecessary repairs

Business Response: March 31, 2015RE.*** ******I totally understand the customer's frustration with thisparticular unit.Evergreen did stand by its 1 year parts and labor warranty.We were instructed by the manufacturer every time we were called out to performany work on the unit.********* recommended us to change out the heat exchanger that was compromised,we did with the customer's permission.The customer knew up front the cost of the replacement because the unit was notcovered under our warranty any longer as the warranty had expired on 12/14/11.When we were called the second time we again did what ********* recommended.I understand the customer's frustration with this unit but unfortunatelyEvergreen did not manufacture this unit.We always try to help our customers with any manufacturer's defects and thiswas the case here also.We feel, we did everything possible to help this customer and we are notresponsible for a unit that was recalled and compromised by the manufacturer.We did all we could to correct the issue and we are not responsible for anyrefund to the customer.The customer has also stopped payment through the credit card company he usedfor payment and we are in arbitration for that issue as well. In essence the customer did not pay as of right now. As Evergreen has notcollected the money from his credit card.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Blaming ********* by saying Evergreen was "just following their instructions" is sympomatic of the p***lem I have described.  It is irresponsible to know that a unit is leaking water on electrical components and ignoring the situation.  It was evident to Evergreen that the "fix" (regardless of who recommended it) was inadequate and ultimately resulted in the failure of the system.  And, while Evergreen's warranty on labor may have expired, I still had a warranty on parts.  Had I been given the option, I would have agreed to on once gain replacing the heat exchanger.  As onerous as this would have been, it would have been better that a complete system replacement which ultimately cost many times the cost of a new Heat Exchanger.  The following is a quote from Boucher Plumbing whom I called in when it became clear to me that Evergreen was not properly addressing this p***lem "Actually, *** showed me the photos of your system this afternoon and it still surprises me when I see equipment which seemingly has been installed/maintained without proper consideration of manufacturer specifications. without proper consideration of manufacturer specifications. surprises me when I see equipment which seemingly has been installed/maintained without proper consideration of manufacturer specificatioshowed me the photos of your system this afternoon and it still surprises me when I see equipment which seemingly has been installed/maintained without proper consideration of manufacturer specifications. From what *** said certain interior ********* components were exposed to moisture and may have been compromised beyond what was evident and repaired today.? When I send you a copy of your paid invoice it will have a comprehensive scope of work and I will also include photos providing visual detail to his diagnosis and repair. Regards, ****** ******    

Business Response: It was absolutely not irresponsible for us to follow the protocol of the manufacturer, it was mandatory for us to do so. When work is done on any boiler it is required by the manufacturer for the contractor follow their instructions and guidance. Protocol must be followed in order for the manufacturer to stand behind their product. As Mr ****** said, Evergreen Plumbing's warranty on labor had expired and then the system failed. This boiler actually had a recall and should have been replaced with an upgraded model. Unfortunately, Mr ****** did not respond to the manufacturer's recall but instead hired another contractor to replace the boiler. Evergreen responded to all Mr ******'s requests including asking us NOT to replace the heat exchanger the second time which was covered under manufacturer's warranty because he would have had to pay the labor charge. We absolutely provided service above and beyond what would be expected and spent countless days working with Mr ****** and the manufacturer of the boiler to resolve every issue this boiler developed.The following is the review Mr ****** gave Evergreen Plumbing and Heating. *** ******Westerly, RI3/2011 In all Our experiences with service companies,and there are many because We own multiple investment properties, This is just about the most pleasant experience We’ve ever had . From the prompt and courteous way the initial estimate was done. The professional Advise in dealing with the town public works dept. And the start on time and completion on time of what I thought to be a complex project. Evergreen plumbing ,and especially **** ***********, its president, Handled this easily with great results and at a very reasonable price. I will certainly recommend them to all My friends .

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.This is total fiction.  I never received anything about a recall and I certainly would have expected Evergreen to let me know about any recall.  Is there any proof of this claim?  I called ********** and they had no information on a recall.  Also, I was never asked about replacing the heat exchanger again.  Why would I continue to have a faulty exchanger leak on components and have them continue to fail?  Does this make any sense at all?  I thought that evergreen had fixed the faulty heat exchnager with an expoxy, but this did not work and the unit was ruinedi find this a desperate move by a company that knows it screwed up but won't admit it.  Regards, ****** ******    


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

17 Customer Reviews on Evergreen Plumbing & Heating Co., Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart