BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical

Phone: (781) 289-3536 228 Central Street Suite 1, Saugus, MA 01906 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.addarios.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Addario's Plumbing, Heating, Cooling and Electrical is a service plumbing and heating shop specializing in residential and light commercial service and installation.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 27, 2002 Business started: 10/01/1998 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/2003 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters
1000 Washington St, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/pl/
Phone Number: 617-727-9952
Fax Number: 617-727-6095
The license number is 13106.

Massachusetts Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters
1000 Washington St, Boston MA 02118-2130
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/licensee/dpl-boards/pl/
Phone Number: 617-727-9952
Fax Number: 617-727-6095
The license number is 3102.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Steven J. Addario Jr., Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven J. Addario Jr., Member
Customer Contact: Ms. Maria Ardagna, Chief Operating Officer
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL OIL BURNERS-SERVICING HEATING CONTRACTORS ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL DRAIN CLEANING Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Service Area
Addario's Plumbing Heating, Cooling, & Electrical provides their services in ALLSTON, BEVERLY, BOSTON, BRIGHTON, CAMBRIDGE, CHARLESTOWN, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, EAST BOSTON, GLOUCESTER, GROVE HALL, HYDE PARK, JAMAICA PLAIN, MATTAPAN, MISSION HILL, READVILLE, ROSLINDALE, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, SALEM, SOUTH BOSTON, UPHAMS CORNER & WEST ROXBURY, MA.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Electrician Hiring an Electrician - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 228 Central Street Suite 1

    Saugus, MA 01906

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint: On the morning of Saturday July 27, 2013, I discovered water covering the basement floor and more water slowly leaking out of the hot water heater. This hot water heater had been purchased within the 9 year warranty. We called the store were it was bought and were told it was still under warranty. We went to the store to get a replacement, returned home with it and moved it to the basement next to the leaking unit. We called several pluming contractors, and Addario's Plumbing and Heating indicated they could come to the house to install the new unit, however because it was the weekend there would be a $200 emergency service surcharge. An inquiry as to the total cost to install the new unit was answered with we’ll see when we get there I agreed to the $200 emergency service charge. When the service technician arrived he indicated that the price to install the unit was going to be approximately $1,200. I countered that seemed unreasonable and was told that because I already had the new unit, had emptied the old unit of water he would be fair after he saw how much work was involved. The removal of the old unit and installation of the new unit took approximately 4 hours. I returned the old unit. At the conclusion of work I was told that the cost was to be a little less that the $1,200 , it would be $939.00 plus the $200 service fee totaling $1139.00. The bill was not itemized in any way. I argued that the price seemed exorbitant for the work done. Even at something like $100/hr plus the $200 emergency charge was much more than reasonable. When asked about a break down of the bill, we were told that could not be done. Several phone calls to the company went unreturned. I asked specifically to talk with the billing department or a supervisor. It was 5 days later when I called for the 6th time that I was able to talk to ***** who handles the billing. She insisted that they do not charge by the hour but by the job. I tried to explain to her that he was here for 4 hours and did not have to purchase the new unit or return the old heater. The technician did call me back to argue that his work was done correctly and there should not be a dispute. I agreed with him that his work was indeed fine, however, the total cost for 4 hours of work were totally out of line especially when I had provided the heater and returned the old one. It is for these reasons and the gross exaggeration of the cost for the work done by this company that I am making this complaint..

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $400.00

Business Response:

On Saturday 27,2013 Addario's received and emergency call from the *********'s stating that their water heater was leaking water. We explained that there is a $200.00 emergency fee which the customer agreed to pay. The customer's water heater was under warranty by GE and yes the customer picked up the new water heater and returned the old to Home Depot. My plumber explained to Mr. ********* that our normal cost to replace a warranty hot water heater is $1067.00, but because we didn't have to pick it up or return the old he would take off $128.00 bring the install down to $939.00 plus the $200.00 emergency fee totaling $1139.00 include in this price is a $70.00 permit free. We also had to modify the gas and water feeds to accommodate the new water heater height; which is considered upgrades and we did not charge for. Mr. ********* signed for work authorization prior to starting the install and upon completion of the install. My plumber explained the entire process including the upgrades that were needed. My plumber did not deal with Mrs. ********* during the install process he was dealing with Mr. ********* who authorized the work.

Addario's uses flat rate pricing, we do not charge by the hour and I explained that to Mrs. *********. I also explained to her that a normal install takes approximately 2 hours and my plumber was there for 4 hours due to the upgrades that they were not charged for. Should you need any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

***** *******
Operations Manager
Addario, Inc.
************
*****@addarios.com

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fraud.Statement, about Service(Partial)..

Desired Settlement: Present their Services, Honestly

Business Response: Customer signed all the paperwork approving the price prior to us making the repair.  The customer also signed after the repair was made; drain is clear and working properly.  Customer supplied us with credit card information as his form of payment. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I reject the opening line from Addario's I signed nothing prior to the job being done. **** the pluber quoted me a price from a book he called INDUSTRY STANDARD PRICING I thought6 it was high but I accepted it because he showed me the BOOK. I Sub'qly found from two other plumbing companies, ASAP for one saying there is no standard book for pricing. I quoted the exact work that **** did. Their price was between $240.00 and $280.00. I called and spoke with ***** ,Office Mgr.to negotiate a lower price. She adamantly refused to discuss anything. I'm still open for discussion.

Thank you,
**** *****

Business Response: Initial complaint was laundry in the basement was backing up through the slop sink.  Which we snaked and cleared that drain,  we also explained to the customer that we would have to snake a 2nd drain, which we did and explained the additioanl charges of $225.00 beccause the two drains tied in together under the floor and needed to be snaked out 25' to the street and that we can not see through the floor prior to finding out the 2nd drain also need to be snacked.  Both drains are clear and operating properly. As far as rejecting my opening statement, I have in my possession which I have attached the signed paperwork that states "I hereby authorizes you to proceed with the above work at the upfront fee of $408.59. My plumber **** explained to the customer the prices he was quoting was Addario's Standard Pricing. I don't understand how a licensed plumber could travel to a customers home snake and clear (2) drains for the prices mr. ***** is quoting. Both drains are cleared and working properly.  Mr. ***** sgned acceptance of the work performed and gave us his credit care as a form of payment.  All pricing was given prior to the start of the work which is normal business practice at Addario's.  Addario's strides for customer service.  We are willing to refund Mr. ***** 10%.

***** *******

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I would like to reduce this argument to as few words as possible. The Main issue...and really, the only issue, is whether I was lied to...and Set Up to accept an outrageous Price, for the Services rendered.I was told by "****" , the plumber, -That Hourly rates do not apply any longer because we go by INDUSTRY STANDARD PRICING. A looseleaf notebook was shown to me that indicated the price to snake a kitchen drain,~up to 25 ft. is, $408.59. The Book appeared to be authentic and since that is The Industry Standard Price, I accepted. An additional $225.00 was added, "off the cuff",for the 2nd line, (Not from,The Book) No Invoice, was drawn up for me to sign until this part (Snaking Lines) of the complete job was closed up & finished.It was approximately 5 pm.(quitting time.) ****, THEN, drew up the Invoice and asked me to sign it in the two places next to the X's. He then said, He would return in the morning with parts and a price to fix the two leaking pipes under the laundry sink and the kitchen sink-trap. Ring nuts were broken from the excessive weight in both Set Tubs. They were full of drain water. **** did call, as promised, to inform me that the additional cost for parts & labor would be $1530.00. I told him I thought that price, was very high..and I would seek to find a "Better Price", elsewhere. ******* Plumbing & Heating, of ********,Ma. finished the job for $883.00.I think the above, answers *****'s first two paragraphs. Her third paragraph is a blatent Lie. **** most definitely said-"Industry Standard Pricing, was what he had to "GO By." and the Book, was Industry Standard Pricing. By the way, I called the Mass. Division of Plumbing and Gas Fitting,(on 6/28/13) and THEY never had heard of - Industry Standard Pricing.....for clearing clogged lines.If ***** has a problem understanding..How two drains can be 'snaked clean' for the Prices quoted to me, by Experts in the Field, ...(**** ****** Inc. & **** ****** Plumbers)~ I have no control over what ***** thinks.*****'s next to last statement was covered in my second paragraph.As for *****'s, 10% Offer, I reject it, and stand on my original request. I Believe this is a generous settlement on my part..

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Horrible experience with this company... Had a plumbing issue and they said that they'd charge $60 to come take a look, a dispatch fee that would go away if I chose to have them do the job. The guy gets here and then says that he can't get to the leak so it'll be a fee of $185 for him to look at it and tell me whats wrong. Also, that the fee is separate from the fee for service. What a ripoff..... So either pay the $185 to look at it or $60 because he came over and did absolutely NOTHING!!! So I paid them the $60.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. It was totally a bait and switch. I was duped!

Business Response: On February 6, 2013 Mr. ******** called our office and placed a service call for leak from the 2nd floor bathroom to the 1st floor.  We explained there would be a dispatch fee of $59.95 to to get the plumber to his home.  We would then give him a price to make the repair and if he decided to have us do the repair the $59.95 would be waved and he would just pay the cost of the repair.  When we arrived on site and saw the leak we explained to Mr. ******** because it was not visable to the eye that we would have to get into a more in depth investigation to detemine were the leak was coming from and that the $59.95 would be waived and the diagnostic investigation would cost $185.00.   Mr. ******** did not want to pay for a more in depth diagnostic so he paid us the $60.00 and asked us to leave.  Again we explained how our pricing works prior to us going out to the customer's home.  Addario, Inc strives for customer satisfaction. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the morning of Saturday December 17th 2011, I noticed that the hot water was no longer hot. I went down to my basement to discover a 1/2" of water covering the basement floor and more water slowly leaking out of the hot water heater. This hot water heater that had only been installed 3.5 years ago was already in need of replacement. Since the original installation had been done through a **** ***** contractor, Addario's Plumbing and Heating, and their number was on the defunct hot water heater, I called them for service. The man on the phone informed me that because it was a weekend, that there would be an emergency service surcharge of $200. As
an alternative, I was offered service on Monday, but I would be without hot water for the weekend. Because I have two small children, I agreed to the $200 emergency service charge. ***** took my information and the information about the model of the hot water heater. I inquired about the warranty on the broken hot water heater and he indicated that I should get a significant amount of money back since it was only 3 years into an 8 year warranty. He told me however, that since it was the weekend and the warranty department for the hot water heater company was closed, he would be unable to get me the information about the warranty refund. When the service technician arrived, he provided us with a written bill in the amount of $1,704, the bill was not itemized in any way so I asked what the cost breakdown was. He said there was the $200 emergency fee and the $75/hour
for <3 hours ($225) and the cost of the new heater. By my math that made the new hot water heater $1,279. Of that $1,279 I was informed that his expectation was that I would receive a refund of about 60-75% of that or approximately $900 and that my out of pocket costs would be around $500. Reluctantly, and against my better judgement, I signed the receipt based on this information and the technician's assurance that "we don't rip people off." The heater that he brought was not quite the same model and there was some concern that it would not fit into the space of the existing heater because it was shorter, but wider. After some measurements, it was determined that the heater would fit both in the space and down the stairs into the basement. He was alone so it was necessary for me to assist him in carrying out the old hot water heater as well as carrying in the new hot water heater. Once the old heater was removed and the new heater in place, the technician worked alone. After less than three hours, the technician indicated that he had finished his work. It was on Monday that I discovered
his assurances to be untrue. The refund for the heater under warranty was only $379 and I would be responsible for $1,325 of the $1704. I looked up online what the price of the brand new heater was. It retails for $410. So while the refund was in line with the 60-75% anticipated, the cost of the heater itself was far less than was indicated to me. This would mean that, taking into account the $200 for emergency service, and the $379 received
from the warranty, the cost of installation was $1,125 which would mean the technician, working at $75/hour had been in my house for 15 hours. The only paperwork Addario's has provided to me through my credit card company is an application for a permit, the permit itself was never produced, so there is uncertainty as to whether or not the installation was done according to actual regulations. It is for these reasons and the gross dishonesty of this company that I am making this complaint. They preyed upon a family in a difficult situation and gave assurances that were untrue. I made a call to **** *****, who it turns out no longer use Addario's to install heaters, and was quoted $868 for the same installation less my warranty of $379.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund in the amount of $900

Business Response: We contacted the customer to make a good faith effort to resolve the complaint and offered a fair and justified settlement, but he declined and did not want to negotiate.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/30/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had hires Addario's heating and plumbing for my tank less water heater installation. They did the installation and water heater is working properly. But when doing the inspection the inspector from ***** ******* Town told us
we need to have a hard wire CO2 detector installed, right now we have a battery operated CO2 detector in the basement. The technician who was here from Addario's told me its ok someone from the office will be calling me back with a appointment for electrician do get that installed. I never got a call for more and 10 day so I called the office to find out what's going on. They said they though it was all taken care of, I asked them don't they have any documentation mentioning that how far the work was done, what was done and what needed to be done. They said they will call me back and let me know what's going on. I been calling them everyday after that conversation, every time I call its a different person there so I have to explain my story to everyone and they will say let me talk to ***, or ***** or ***** etc and call you back, that never happens. I had talked called couple days ago and talked to ***** and made her transfer the call to ***, he said he will talk to the inspector to see if we don't need to install a CO2 detector at all and will call me back, that never happened. So I called today morning and again talk to 4 different person and explained my story and then finally got *** on the line who now says I never told you i will call you back, I told you i will talk to the inspector. This company should be shut down. I was looking at their customer complains on yelp, after reading all the reviews I regret not reading those before I hires this armatures. I please request BBB to take some action against this company. They are not professional at all once they have
the money they just ***** their customer.

Desired Settlement: I would like an apology, the work to be finished 100% and some cost refunded back to me for all this stress I had to deal with, and the work is still not finished.

Business Response: There was a misunderstanding with the tech and the inspector when taking the inspection. The vent is at the right height where a hardwired CO detector is not required. Once we informed the inspector of this he said it was all set and we then informed the customer. There may have been some lag time in between waiting on some phone messages between us and the inspector. These sort of things happen but nothing that would impede the operation or put the customer under some
or any stress. No appointment with any electrician was ever made because there was no need for one. He said to my brother on the job we did a great job and he was happy with the service and turnaround time by us, then in the same breath
he says that he may file a complaint after the having the lag time in between the communications. If he feels like we put him under some undue stress we are certainly sorry for that. The project is completed properly. Every story has two sides and Addario's has thousands of happy customers over the course of its 14 years in business and will continue to serve people to the best of our ability.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1