Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Lawrence-Lynch Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 352-7188 Fax: (508) 457-1825 View Additional Phone Numbers 396 Gifford St, Falmouth, MA 02540 http://www.lawrencelynch.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lawrence-Lynch Corp. is a family owned contracting company with over 35 years experience specializing in the many sectors of the civil construction industry. From parking lots to airport construction projects, excavation, site development, hot mix asphalt and recycling, we also offer sand/gravel products and heavy equipment rentals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lawrence-Lynch Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lawrence-Lynch Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lawrence-Lynch Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2004 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher M. Lynch, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher M. Lynch, President
Number of Employees

112

Business Category

PAVING CONTRACTORS UTILITY CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL TENNIS COURT CONSTRUCTION SIDEWALKS & WALKWAYS SAND & GRAVEL HANDLING EQUIPMENT SAND & GRAVEL ROAD BUILDING CONTRACTORS GRAVEL EXCAVATING EQUIPMENT EXCAVATING CONTRACTORS ASPHALT & ASPHALT PRODUCTS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Service Area
Lawrence-Lynch Corporation provides their services in BARNSTABLE, BROCKTON, EDGARTOWN, NANTUCKET, PLYMOUTH & SIASCONSET, MA.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Health Insurance Hiring a Paving Business - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Excavating Contractor Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 396 Gifford St

    Falmouth, MA 02540 (508) 548-1800 (800) 352-7188

  • PO Box 913

    Falmouth, MA 02541

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Lawrence Lynch Co. is doing work at an active work site. They were cutting stone for a wall. The shards of stone were in the intersection of *** and ***** ****** Road ****** Ma and is still an active site. On Monday November 28, 2013. I reported to the Police Department of me running over the shards that were in the roadway. It gave me and my rims total disrepair. Immediately, I had to get my spare on the car and another tire put on. At that time I put the car away for the winter. I reported this to my insurance co. and the police department. My dad at that time took a turn for the worst and I was gone until Feb 5, 2014. I then followed up to tell all that I was home and wanted this cleared up. As the snow melted I did take pictures of the wall and road. Lynch Corporation denies their responsibility in this case. Today, April 25th they say they had a subcontractor in this area of the job. Meanwhile I have had phone calls from ***** *******, claims, asking me to describe the men there. I was in busy traffic and the police and contractors wanted me just to move. I had to flats and the auto company down the street even wrote a letter describing the incident. I have had to pay my $1,000 deductible and Laurence Lynch will not give me the time of day except to say NOT OUR REPONSIBILITY, IT IS A CONDTRACTOR WE HIRED ON THAT DAY TO DO THE WALL. This is not acceptable and I want at least my deductible back. The insurance company covered the overage which is about $600. I WANT Lynch to be responsible for the contractor who has had to prove liability insurance to work under them. This is not legal or fair to a consumer who in fact has a new car with less than 6000 miles. Ms ******** has been completely un respectful and nasty by calling me and asking non important questions like what did these guys look like... She has been very difficult to work with and her attitude is worse

Desired Settlement: I want a refund to me for $1000 dollars and my insurance co. I am sure wants their $600 that they have put out. I am not look for anything other than car damages that they are responsible for. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Business Response: Good Morning: - I had previously replied via this site on 05/06/14.  I apologize that it was not received on that date.   On Thursday, 03/07/14 CLAIMANT called Lawrence-Lynch Corp and spoke to Our Claims Coordinator.   She said that 3 months earlier, in November 2013 while driving at the intersection of Route *** and ***** ****** Road in ****** her 2013 Scion sustained damage.  She said the man on the job gave her another general contractors name and on 11/18/13 she contacted them.  She said about 3 weeks prior to calling Our Claims Coordinator on 03/07/14 it now comes back that they (the other contractor) weren’t at that site.  (Research by Our Claims Coordinator showed that the other contractor had a project at the other end of Route ***.)   Our Claims Coordinator researched the schedule reports and payroll records on 11/18/13.  It had rained on that date and no one from Lawrence-Lynch was there.  CLAIMANT called back later that day and advised that she was mistaken and the incident took place on Monday, 11/25/13.  She said the workers were putting in a stone wall, jack hammering, using a small sweeper (not like a big town sweeper) and a guy with a broom behind the sweeper gave her the other contractor’s name.  She said shards of stone were going out onto the street which caused damage to her tires and rim. On 03/07/14 Our Claims Coordinator also received a call from Commerce Insurance, CLAIMANT’s insurer and Our Claims Coordinator advised that she was researching and would let her know of her findings. Our Claims Coordinator spoke to the Lawrence-Lynch Project Manager and he gave her the name of the subcontractor.  She also spoke to the Project Superintendent who had no knowledge of the incident.  She called the subcontractor and spoke to the office manager.  He did not believe it was them.  Our Claims Coordinator requested that the office manager call and speak to the workers who were on the job on the 25th of November.  The office manager said he spoke to the foreman and the 2nd in command on the job that day.  He said 1) there were no reports of the issue, 2) they did not use a jackhammer while doing wall, 3) there was no sweeper for that type of work, 4) there were no complaints about tire damage and 5) his worker  who would have been sweeping does not know and did not provide the name of another contractor.  In an attempt to find out who CLAIMANT spoke to Our Claims Coordinator did ask her to describe the person.  Limited information was provided which did not lead to a specific person.  At that time CLAIMANT also said it was a cutting machine that caused shards to come off the stone and it was not a jackhammer.   On Monday, 03/10/14 Our Claims Coordinator called the ****** Police Department to see if there was a report of the incident.  Since there was a Detail Officer on the project on 11/25/13 Our Claims Coordinator also attempted to contact that person as well.  A ****** police offer called back.  He said he took the initial report which he thought was days after the incident.  He said after CLAIMANT left he took a ride out to the area and didn’t see any loose rocks.   The Officer called back several hours later and said he spoke to the Detail Officer and he has no recollection of the Scion stopping. Our Claims Coordinator then contacted the state Resident Engineer in charge of the project.  He stated he was on the project on 11/25/13 and did not see or hear about this incident.  He said the subcontractor in question was on the project that day but not doing anything that would cause materials to be in the roadway.   On 03/11/14 Our Claims Coordinator called Commerce Insurance, CLAIMANT’S insurance company and advised of research thus far.  She told Commerce she had spoken to the Project Manager, Superintendent, State Resident Engineer, Subcontractor and the ****** Police.  The Subcontractor said he had spoken to several his employees and the Police spoke to the Detail Officer.  She explained that Lawrence-Lynch Corp was not working that day, there was no sweeper onsite as described, and no one could confirm the incident or any materials in the roadway.  Commerce advised they would call CLAIMANT and let her know we spoke and the results of our investigation. We did not hear from Commerce or CLAIMANT for over a month.  While Our Claims Coordinator was on vacation the week of 04/07 to 04/11/14 a package came in from Commerce.  The letter was dated 03/25/14 and it was the first written correspondence from CLAIMANT’s insurance company.   The correspondence and pictures were reviewed with the Project Manager the week of 04/21 to 04/25.  A claim was opened with Lawrence-Lynch’s insurance company / third party administrator.  After several days and a claim number and adjuster was assigned.     On 04/25/14 CLAIMANT had called the Lawrence-Lynch office and again spoke to Our Claims Coordinator at length.   Our Claims Coordinator said she had researched the incident and could not find anyone who was doing the type of work described on the dates mentioned.   CLAIMANT was very upset and became confrontational making legal threats and stating she could not deal with Our Claims Coordinator.   Our Claims Coordinator told CLAIMANT that it was turned over to insurance and her insurance company and Lawrence-Lynch insurance company would handle going forward.  Our Claims Coordinator told me that our third party administrator sent a tender letter to the subcontractor and their insurer and that they spoke to claimant advising of same.        We take all reported claims seriously and investigate the circumstances of each claim in an attempt to find out what parties were involved.  It unfortunately took more time than normal due to the late reporting and lack of findings. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do not accept the response that was given. Nothing has been resolved and no communications have been made.

Business Response: As a recap - Upon a thorough investigation Lawrence-Lynch concluded they were not working on the project on the day in question and further that no one could confirm the incident took place on this project (prior reply details this).  Since there was a subcontractor working on that date, our insurer sent a tender letter to them and their agent and their insurance carrier assigned the case a claim number. The Claimant advised she had received payment from her insurance carrier to repair her vehicle and was seeking payment for her deductible. I learned from our agent that since the Claimant accepted payment from her carrier it is her insurance company’s role and responsibility to recover from others what was paid including the deductible and that any person who receives payment must transfer to their insurer his/her rights of recovery against any other party.  The Lawrence-Lynch adjuster explained this to the Claimant as well.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.