Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Boston Pack and Ship

Phone: (781) 849-8696 Fax: (781) 849-8634 View Additional Phone Numbers 144 Lundquist Dr, Braintree, MA 02184 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bostonpackandship.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Boston Pack and Ship offers packaging, crating and shipping services for large, awkward, heavy, valuable or fragile items. They also provide out-of-state small load household moves. The company will arrange foreign or domestic delivery for their clients and phone estimates and pick up services are available.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boston Pack and Ship meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boston Pack and Ship include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Pack and Ship
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 09, 1988 Business started: 09/09/1988 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1999 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gene Sullivan, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gene Sullivan, President
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

PACKAGING SERVICE SHIPPING SERVICES PACKING & CRATING SERVICE PACKAGING MATERIALS Packing and Crating (NAICS: 488991)

Alternate Business Names
Global Pack Partners, Inc.
Industry Tips
Moving Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made an agreement with above company both verbally and by email - I informed them of my items to be shipped from MA, USA to LondonUK. They estimated the amount to be $1,200 pick up from door deliver to port after I told them of my items. I expressly told them that my items were contained in a 7 X 10 ft storage unit and I had a few more items to pick up from my home (a TV boxed, two bikes, a box and two suitcases). THey picked up my items. I returned to the U.K. and immediatley contacted them about my shipping. I emailed them three times and received no reply,. After three weeks I finally heard back from them that my items were ready to be shipped and now cost $5700. I have tried to find out why their amount is so grossly exaggerated from the original estimate. They have come back with many excuses about their hidden costs. They have even boxed items that I did not request or was advised of. I have shipped a larger amount of items twice in the last three years to and from London U.K. to MA and vice-versa - never over $3,000 - door to door all inclusive. I originally picked this company a) because of their estimated cost and b) because they claim to be a member of MMA - the MAssachusetts Movers Association. However when I contacted MMA they have told me they are illegally using their logo and advised me to report to the BBB. I have compalined to them but htey will not reduce the price to a more competitve, reasonable amount and have failed to respond to the complaint of illegally using logos from the MMA. They have also told me that their delay was due to my amount of goods and packing and then changed their excuse to the delay was becasue they were busy with school kids baggage that needed shipping. Very disatisfied with their respons - they have agreed to release my items if I pay them but they have not told me how much them now want me to pay them. I do not trust or have confidence that I will get good service.

Desired Settlement: I want them to give me a reasonable price to ship my items or release them so that I can find another company to complete a shipping service. I really have lost confidence in them especially as they mislead by false advertising. I would agree for them to ship my items for no more than $3,000 which is what their competitors are charging DOOR TO DOOR!. I ahve now moved to the UK and am waiting for a resolution.

Business Response: Please be advised that we take our BBB rating very seriously. Attached is the email the customer received from us explaining the service and the pricing. Please note the date. The customer received this prior to us doing the job. I have highlighted the areas that she claims to have known nothing about. This was also explained to her over the phone. After we picked up, packed and palletized the shipment the customer was called with her pricing. She had 4 pallets (62x42x60, 57x40x63,x84x43x67 and 48x39x55). the total was 376 cubic feet. I can only assume the customer had no idea how much she had to send and obviously did not read her email. The customer became extremely upset with us for not renegotiating with her after the fact. The customer tried to convince us to cut the price by launching accusations and mistruths all while ignoring what she had received in writing. The customer threatened to use another shipper if I did not reconsider. This is not how we do business. Despite the fact that we had done the pickup, the packing and the shipping documents, I decided it was best to nicely suggest she continue with someone else. The customer was not happy with my suggestion. We are packing and shipping company so this was not an ideal end to a job but due to the actions of the customer I believe it was for the best


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Boston Pack and Ship
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)