Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Smithco Oil Service, Inc.

Phone: (401) 789-2520 Fax: (401) 789-1096 491 Main St, Wakefield, RI 02879 http://www.smithco-oil.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Smithco Oil Service, Inc. is a full service fuel service business.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smithco Oil Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smithco Oil Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Smithco Oil Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 02, 1989 Business started: 10/01/1985 in RI Business started locally: 10/01/1985 Business incorporated 01/01/1985 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Protection Unit
150 South Main Street, Providence RI 02903
http://www.riag.ri.gov/home/ContactUs.php
Phone Number: (401) 274-4400
The number is #333.

Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Smith, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Smith, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

FUEL OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT OIL BURNERS-SERVICING PORTABLE POWER-FUEL CELLS OILS Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Products & Services

Smithco Oil Service, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Armstrong, Boch, Buderus, Intellidyne, Roth

Smithco Oil Service, Inc. offers the following product(s): Boilers, Oil Furnaces, Oil Tanks, Water Heaters

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
Service Area
Smithco Oil Service, Inc. provides their services in NARRAGANSETT, PEACE DALE, S KINGSTOWN, SOUTH KINGSTOWN & WAKEFIELD, RI.
Industry Tips
Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Smithco Oil Service, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Over Spring Break, we ran out of oil and on Monday March 17th, my roommate **** called Smith Co and we had a prompt delivery of oil added to our tank. We were very grateful to have such quick service but quickly realized that our tank was never primed and therefore would not produce any heat without a technician stopping by to prime the tank. At this point, it was about 4:00 pm on Monday and your company closed at 4:30 pm so we tried to have a technician come out and prime the tank before close (we were more than wiling to pay the $100 fee). We talked to a woman named ******, who was one of the most miserable people that my roommate had ever spoken to in his life. She was quite condescending and when we asked her to have someone come to our aid, she blatantly said that she did not want to send someone out to prime our tank (although we are paying customers) and we could wait until tomorrow. My roommate asked again if we could PLEASE have anyone come help us because our home is freezing and she just kept saying that we didn’t need to have the tank primed (although we kept telling her how we were willing to pay). If we were willing to pay for the service… why wouldn’t she just send the technician out? Then after my roommate said, “okay thank you for your time” and hung up, outraged. Afterwards he came to me and told me everything that had happened and I was quite angry myself, so I told him to call your company again. This time, we got the same woman named ****** who kept telling us there was nothing we could do and to stop calling and then hung up on us. Then we called back again and said, “hello? Is ****** there?” and she completely hung up on my roommate. I cannot describe to you how disgusted I am to know that you let someone work in your company who is a terrible customer service agent and who is not amicable or helpful WHATSOEVER. My roommate was so angered that he had me call for him again and I called back and said, “hello. I think it is EXTREMELY rude for you to hang up on someone like that” and this was when we met *******, who was much more helpful and actually transferred us to a technician. The technician was yet again another terrible example of the people you employ at your business. He kept telling us that he was NOT going to come help us (although we offered to pay) and that he had direct instructions from his “boss” (whom he told us was *******) to not speak with us or help us at all. He then told me to wait until tomorrow and then hung up. I decided to call again and was again directed to this technician who told us that “*******” says you guys can have a goodnight and don’t worry, it won’t be too cold so you guys won’t freeze. I don’t know if your company policy is to provide the worst customer service humanly possible, but if it is, CONGRATULATIONS! You have gone above and beyond to disappoint and disgust a paying customer. If you think the story ends there, you’re wrong. Next, we called the company again and asked for ****** or the technician and we heard ****** in the background blatantly tell the woman on the phone, “tell them I’m not here”. I don’t know who your employees think they are, but they are not better than us and they do not have the power or the stature in life to treat us like garbage. So in a bit of a panic (at whether or not we would be sleeping in our cars for the night) we had my mother call your company and she was told that a notice was sent to the owner of the company and he had not yet responded… which is a completely opposite story than what we received. My mother hung up and called me back to relay the message and she then told me that she believed your company thought we were probably just a bunch of “dumb college kids”. I sincerely hope you don’t believe that, because I will be making a stop by your office within the next week to discuss this “wonderful” encounter to your face and I would love to see a display of your superstar customer service. Working in customer service myself has made me completely aware of what is acceptable and of what is completely TABOO in terms of customer care (and your company is quite taboo). After finally having enough, we called Smith Co once more and I was completely polite and professional and asked what we should do and I was told to cover up and wait until tomorrow. This is outrageous that you offer 24 HOUR EMERGENCY service but would not come to our aid when we were freezing and having an EMERGENCY. I would love for you to define to me what is an emergency in YOUR EYES. We even asked of any other companies that you knew who would be willing to service up and your company literally gave us no response. In a bit of panic, we called the manufacturer of the boiler and had a talk with them and low and behold they knew exactly what customer service is. The man helped us to prime the boiler over the phone (WITHOUT PAYMENT AND WITHOUT RUDE ATTITUDE) and…. now we have heat. Look who won’t be freezing tonight, no thanks to your all-star customer service team! Angered, we called your office once more to say that we did not need service tomorrow and the woman was quite rude and kept speaking over us. My roommate said, “hello this is **** ********** and we do not need your service tomorrow and we will never be using your service again. Thanks.” and the woman responded, “okay that’s nice, bye”. One word for your business… pathetic. To think you can treat the foundation of your business (the customers) like trash, will be the reason for your business crumbling.

Desired Settlement: I don't think I would ever choose this company again and would really want my money back... To think I had to sit here and physically figure out how to prime an oil tank is outrageous.

Business Response: **** ********** contacted us March 17th for a one time cod delivery of $600.00. We told him yes we could make the delivery sometime today and made arrangements with him for payment of the delivery. At no point did he ever tell us he was out of oil completely. If **** had told us he was completely out of oil we would have told him that the oil burner would need to be primed and there would be an additional fee. Never in the conversation did he tell us he was out. We made the agreed delivery early afternnon that day. We log all our phone calls and at 4:25 pm **** called and spoke with *****. **** told ***** that he got oil from us today and he now has no hot water. ***** asked him if he was out completely out of oil when he ordered it today and he responded that he did not know. ***** said we would need to know that because the driver would have needed to prime it. Now it becomes a service call and a tech would need to come out and do it. When I told **** the cost of this he became annoyed and thought that was to much money. ***** asked him if he had tried to reset it because maybe since you had no idea if it was out maybe it wasn't completely out and would come back on by hitting the reset button. She explained where the reset button was located and what to do. **** did as she explained and the unit came back on. ***** could here it come on in the background. **** kept saying they had no hot water but ***** kept trying to explain that if the oil burner had been off all day that it would take a little time for it get up to temperature. It would not happen in the 5 seconds of coming on. She explained you would need to be a little patient and give it some time. She also told him that he may want to contact the landlord because it was his equipment and he may have a service contract with another company and if we came out it could void his service contract for having someone else service it. I can vouch for what ***** had said because I was standing in the room and heard *****'s side fo the conversation and at no point was she miserable or condescending as stated in Ms. ********'s email. After hanging up with **** we were closing for the day and the phones were now turned over to our answering service who handles our after hours calls. **** was now speaking to a different person not the same as was claimed in the email. He proceeded to call our answering service at 5:10 pm, 5:22 pm, 5:40 pm, 6:20 pm and 7:06 pm. This almost  boarders harrassment. The answering service contacted me and I instructed our service tech to call them back and let them know we were not coming out. Our emergency 24/7 service is for our signed up SmithCo Oil Service customers who have purchased our 24/7 emergency service contracts. It is not our fault that that this cod customer let their tank run out of oil.