Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

MacFarlane Energy

Phone: (781) 326-9500 Fax: (781) 326-9505 95 Bridge Street, Dedham, MA 02026 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.macfarlaneenergy.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

MacFarlane Energy specializes in the home heating business, providing the quality service to individuals, families, and commercial properties throughout Boston and Eastern Massachusetts for more than sixty-five years. The family-run business, originally known as Peter MacFarlane,Inc. and MacFarlane Oil, was founded by Peter MacFarlane in 1946. Heating oil delivery, energy efficient system design and installation along with air conditioning and heating heating equipment services are just some of the energy solutions provided.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MacFarlane Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MacFarlane Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

90 Customer Reviews on MacFarlane Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 89
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 90

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1934 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1961 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-000560.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is RT-002982.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is PM-023754.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Scott D. MacFarlane, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Scott D. MacFarlane, President
Number of Employees

48

Business Category

OILS GENERATORS - MAINTENANCE GENERATORS WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING SHEET METAL WORK OIL BURNERS-SERVICING OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT HEATING SPECIALTIES HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING HEAT PUMPS GENERATORS-ELECTRIC GAS BURNERS FURNACES-HEATING DIESEL FUEL AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS-REPAIRING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CLEANING & PURIFYING EQUIPMENT All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

MacFarlane Energy sells the following brand(s): Beckett, Buderus, Burnham, Energy Kinetics, Honeywell, Slantfin, Superstor, Taco, Thermopride, Viessmann, Weil-McClain, York

MacFarlane Energy offers the following product(s): Air Conditioning, American Standard, Boilers, furnaces, Gas, MegaStor, Radiant, Smith Boilers, Solar, Water heaters, Whole-house standby generators

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Cash
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Service Area
MacFarlane Energy provides their services in ALLSTON, ARLINGTON, ASHLAND, AVON, BEDFORD, BELMONT, BILLERICA, BOSTON, BOSTON CLG, BOSTON COLLEGE, CAMBRIDGE, CANTON, CHARLESTOWN, CHESTNUT HILL, CONCORD, DEDHAM, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, DOVER, E ARLINGTON, E CAMBRIDGE, E WATERTOWN, EAST ARLINGTON, EAST CAMBRIDGE, EAST WATERTOWN, EAST WEYMOUTH, EASTON, FOXBORO, FOXBOROUGH, FRAMINGHAM, GROVE HALL, HANSCOM AFB, HARVARD SQ, HARVARD SQUARE, HOLBROOK, HOLLISTON, HYDE PARK, JAMAICA PLAIN, LEXINGTON, LINCOLN, MATTAPAN, MEDFIELD, MEDWAY, MILLIS, MILTON, MISSION HILL, N CAMBRIDGE, N WEYMOUTH, NATICK, NEEDHAM, NEEDHAM HEIGHTS, NEEDHAM HGTS, NEWTON, NEWTON CENTER, NEWTON CENTRE, NEWTON HIGHLANDS, NEWTON HLDS, NEWTON L F, NEWTON LOWER FALLS, NEWTON U F, NEWTON UPPER FALLS, NEWTONVILLE, NONANTUM, NORFOLK, NORTH CAMBRIDGE, NORTH QUINCY, NORTH WALTHAM, NORTH WEYMOUTH, NORWOOD, QUINCY, RANDOLPH, READVILLE, ROSLINDALE, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, S WEYMOUTH, SHARON, SHERBORN, SOMERVILLE, SOUTH BOSTON, SOUTH WEYMOUTH, SQUANTUM, STOUGHTON, SUDBURY, UPHAMS CORNER, W SOMERVILLE, WALPOLE, WALTHAM, WATERTOWN, WAYLAND, WELLESLEY, WELLESLEY HILLS, WELLESLEY HLS, WEST NEWTON, WEST ROXBURY, WEST SOMERVILLE, WESTON, WESTWOOD, WEYMOUTH, WINCHESTER, WINTER HILL, WOBURN & WOLLASTON, MA.
Alternate Business Names
MacFarlane Energy Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MacFarlane Energy has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had a Buderus boiler with a Logamatic controller installed in December 2013 - a purchase in excess of $12,000. Since then, we have had numerous service calls to add ress issues with the boiler. In December 2014, we have woken up to the boiler not working. Resetting the boiler seemed to work - however this is not a fix that should be needed as a normal course of operation. The last service call on 12/15/14 states: "...been recycling and locking out on high ohms. Has semi-solid nozzle, replaced with solid, took readings, went thru fuel system. 350 300 12%co2 0 smoke Today (1/8/15) we have another technician on site explaining that the way the direct vent exhaust system was set up was not optimal, resulting in cold air reaching the boiler and making it impossible to light. As well, I am told "they are replacing a lot of those valves lately." ISSUE: the unit should have been installed with the proper parts and with the proper set up (ventilation) to work optimally. I was charged $153.40 for a service call to replace the know-defective valve on this Buderus unit. I have not been charged (yet) for this newest service call - When I called service, "***" seemed agitated at my description of the issue. When I asked what the long term solution might be to ongoing issues he responded "if you think we are sitting over here not caring about fixing your issue, you're wrong."

Desired Settlement: This system should be evaluated by a professional installer and replaced if necessary. At the least, all of the nuances (as described above such as known defects) should be handled. Refund any payments that are related to lack of operation due to the install, defective parts, etc.

Business Response: The customer had us install a boiler in December, 2013. Originally the boiler was to be vented in the chimney and the customer wanted to finish the basement and move the boiler to the rear of the house. To install the boiler in the location desired by the customer the boiler would have to be direct vented as there was no chimney in the rear of house. All work was followed to code and inspected by the town inspectors. 1.) June 2, 2014 Customer called us to check the system. Hot water was stratifying up the return pipe on one zone when the hot water zone was running. We installed a check valve and that took care of the problem.2.) July 4, 2014  The customer's electrician doing work in the basement cut the wire going to the new boiler. We ran a temporary wire to a recepticle plug to give the customer hot water on the Holiday.3.) September 19,2015 we had our electrician repair the cut wire4.) December 15, 2014 Customer called that they were re-setting the boiler. Our technician replaced the oil filter and nozzle as it had been a year since we installed boiler. He installed a .75 60 B oil burner nozzle(B is a solid nozzle). The original nozzle was a        .75 60 W nozzle (W is a semi-solid nozzle. ******* ****** *** and ****** *** ****** *** suggest that either nozzle is recommended. The pump pressure on the ****** ****** comes set at 140 PSI. 5.) January 8, 2015 Customer called with no heat. Our service tech installed a smaller nozzle and increased the pump pressure from 140 to 200 PSI to give better atomization of the oil. He did this because when the air coming into the oil burner is below zero      the oil was more difficult to ignite. 6.) February 28, 2015 Customer called with no heat and burner wouldn't light. I met the technician at the house. we installed a .75 60 W(semi-solid) nozzle and adjusted the electrode slightly.There were no burner related problems on this unit until December 15, 2014 when the unit was one year old. Oil burners should be cleaned and checked once a year. It had been a year. Also, the three times that the burner the burner would not light the outside temperature was below zero. Part of the problem that the customer might be having is the quality of the heating oil. He does not purchase his heating oil from our company. We treat our heating oil so that it hopefully burns better. I TOLD THE CUSTOMER THAT IF HE USES US AS HIS FUEL SUPPLIER I WOULD GIVE HIM A SERVICE PLAN FOR TWO YEARS AT NO CHARGE. I think the customer is all set but he must have his new unit serviced once a year by a qualified service company. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

90 Customer Reviews on MacFarlane Energy
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart