BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Kerivan-Lane, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kerivan-Lane, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 444-0279 Fax: (781) 449-6618 30 Charles Street, Needham, MA 02494 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.kerivanlane.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Kerivan-Lane, Inc. specializes in residential fuel oil delivery in the Greater Metro area. The company also services their plumbing and heating equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kerivan-Lane, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kerivan-Lane, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 09, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1922 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1922 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 13320.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Lane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Lane, General Manager
Number of Employees

24

Business Category

OILS OIL BURNERS-SERVICING OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Products & Services

Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bio Fuels, Boilers, Gasoline, Home Heating Fuels, Oil & Gas Heating Equipment, Plumbing Fixtures, Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel, Water Heaters

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashier's Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Alternate Business Names
Kerivan-Lane Oil
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 30 Charles Street

    Needham, MA 02494 (781) 444-0279

  • PO Box 920141

    Needham, MA 02492

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Technical Support
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to file a complaint about oil delivery company called Kerivan Lane who mistreats customers and uses abusive language. I had called their customer service to clarify my bill and spoke to General Manager (***** ****) who used abusive language because I was my native language wasn't English. He refused to explain the bill where I had full tank of oil delivered on Jan 10 and I paid the full amount of $1029. Then within 10 days they delivered and send me another bill. I wanted to clarify because my house was empty, so it couldn't have consumed that much of oil. Also they lied to me about cleaning the oil furnace. I had HVAC professional who recommended cleaning oil furnace and the service professional kept saying he completed the job last summer and it doesn't need any service.

Desired Settlement: Don't use abusive language and run professional business without scamming customers.

Business Response: To Mr. ****** *******: First of all, you speak English very well and I had no problem understanding your question regarding the oil delivery.  So let's review your question.  We filled your tank on Jan.10.  Twelve days later on Jan.22, we returned to make a scheduled automatic oil delivery to your tank.  We delivered 31 gallons.  Between Jan.10 and Jan.22, we had below average temperatures equivalent to 392 degree days.  A degree day is how we measure how cold it is.  As I had explained to you multiple times, because your house is empty and unoccupied, it does not mean that you do not burn oil.  You still need to keep your house heated, otherwise your pipes will freeze.  Therefore, the 31 gallons delivered was used to heat your house between Jan.10 and Jan.22.  So that answers your question as to why you used 31 gallons. When I spoke to you yesterday on Jan.28, I explained this to you.  During that conversation, you had said that a HVAC professional who cleaned your ducts, said you needed your furnace cleaned.  Even though we had tuned your furnace for the prior owner before you purchased the home, I had told you that we will be happy to tune the furnace again at no charge.  Therefore, we tuned it up yesterday. Today on Jan.29, you called my cell phone and again started talking to me about the 31 gallon oil delivery.  Again, I explained to you multiple times as to what took place.  I did lose my patience because this is not a difficult concept to understand.  I apologize for losing my patience and my poor choice of words. I think it's best we do not do business and I will write off the 31 gallons delivered.  As of this moment, your balance is zero. Just as my words to you when I lost my patience were not necessary, your harsh words to describe our company and its practices are inappropriate.  Any action to defame our company or its employees will be dealt with appropriately.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Feb. 10, 2011 ******* **** replaced my blower motor, bearings and shaft for a charge of $499.00. Other than a squeaky belt noise and a [new] tremendous force of air from the heat vent it seemed okay. In Oct. 2011, my heat shut off and I discovered that the circuit breaker had tripped. I reset breaker and the furnace came back on. When this happened again, I called my present oil co. who sent a service tech. out. He suggested replacing the blower motor. I said that that couldn't be the problem as it was brand new. He asked me why the blower motor was so big and said that it was "overkill" but I decided to change the cicuit breaker instead. A month later the new breaker tripped. I had an electrician check the wiring on the furnace and circuit breaker box which turned up nothing. So, aprox. mid Jan. 2012, my adult son called ******* ****. He spoke to **** ******** and explained the problems we were having. **** told my son that he would get back to us. He never did. When the new breaker tripped again I had my ser. tech come out for the second time. He again suggested replacing the blower motor and I finally agreed. When I looked up the specs. for my furnace [Lenox elite 80 model OF24-105] it showed a 1/4hp blower motor. This meant that ******* **** had replaced my original 1/4hp b. motor with a 3/4hp b. motor. So we called ******* **** once more and spoke to Mr. ***** ****. He insisted the the 3/4hp motor was taken off my furnace, rebuilt that same day by a company in Dedham[I'm assuming ****** ******** ***** *** ****] and put back on. When I told him that the specs. show a 1/4hp motor he still insisted that this was my original motor and that it could have come this way from Lennox. I told him that this explained why it was blowing the air so forcefully compared to before replacement and was causing the breaker to trip. ****** **** * improperly replaced my original motor with one 3 times the hp. I said that possibly they were given the wrong motor[from ****** ******** ***** *** ****] and he stated that they had never been given the wrong motor before. When he told me " you can talk until you're blue in the face", I immediately ended the call and decided to do some research. 1. Called Lennox [maker of my furnace] They confirmed that my furnace came with a 1/4hp blower motor and would not be set up to accomodate a 3/4hp motor. 2. Called my ser. tech who installed the correct b. motor. He stated that he didn't know why they put such a large b. motor in and that some of the hardware in that compartment had been removed to fit it inside! 3. Called ****** ******** ***** * **** in Dedham, they said that most motors are not worth rebuilding, that they have many new and some rebuilt motors and always replace with the same hp unless requested otherwise. He suggested that ******* **** probably had that 3/4hp motor. 4. Went online to ********* [maker of motors] They have a "time saving motor replacement tips" page "prepared for the motor replacing serviceman" It states that replacing a motor with larger hp can cause the motor to be underloaded which can cause it to overheat and cause overload trips aka tripping the breaker. Too strong a motor causes overheating! Also states that amps is more important than hp when replacing a motor. My present blower motor has 5.9 amps. Fasco states a safe replacement range would be 4.50-6.6amps. ******* **** 's 3/4hp draws 11amps [printed right on the motor]! This 3/4hp motor definitely caused all my problems. I lost my heat several times for an hour or so at a time. The breaker wouldn't always come back on right away, evidently because the motor had to cool down. I changed a perfectly good breaker and also had an electrician check the wiring. This has caused me alot of stress and aggravation as well as time and money. Since the 3/4hp motor has been replaced with the correct hp by my current oil company everything is running smoothly.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $499.00 back and they can have their 3/4hp motor back.

Business Response: ************ did not bill the customer for the motor.  The $499.00 is for rebuilding the blower shaft and the bearings, NOT THE MOTOR.  The customer keeps insisting that ************ billed her for the motor.
 
I understand why she is upset about having a larger motor on the system than should be there.  However, we do not have any record of installing a blower motor.  I do not know who installed the 3/4HP motor; I can only assume it was always in the system.  To resolve this issue, I will pay the bill for replacing the motor by her current oil company.  I will require the copy of the bill and we will write her a check.  I do not want the motor back because we did not provide one.
 
I need to repeat that the $499 bill was not for the motor.  Therefore, it has nothing to do with this settlement.

Consumer Response:

Mr. **** is well aware (per phone conversation on 2/6/11) that I did not pay for the motor replacement because I had purchased a a service contract with my current oil co.  I can find out the cost if needed.  So,  that was a "empty" offer.  During our conversation,  I explained to him that I felt that the job was poorly done and that they were unfairly enriched (499.00).   Mr **** told me that he had my records in front of him.  He stated, several times that the records showed that my motor was taken out , rebuilt, painted and reinstalled.  Now, suddenly there is no mention of that.  I feel that I have been taken advantage of.  I thought his company would have more integrity than this!  I  still feel that I should be reimbursed for part of the original expense. Why can't you be fair and do the right thing!

****** ****

 

 

Business Response: Dear Ms. ****:
************ rebuilt your blower unit and the bearing assembly.  We never did anything, but reconnect your existing motor to the rebuilt blower.  You paid $499 for the cost of rebuilding your blower unit.  That had nothing to do with the blower motor.
 
You paid for a service plan with your current oil company and they replaced the motor as part of the service plan.  Therefore, I will refund you the cost of the service plan.  Please submit the copy of your plan and I will send you a check.
 
Regards,
***** ****

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********

Regards,
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After satisfing the oil delivery service with Kerivan lane (2 year contract-auto delivery, tank inspected on 8/1/09 by Kerivan lane representative, full tank on 8/5/09, 1st delivery on 10/20/09), I made a phone call to kerivan Lane (late summer 2011), and got confirmation with Kerivan Lane representative for the cancellation of service after fullfilling 2 year contract, nothing else that I need to do. I was very suprised to recieve oil service from kerivan Lane on Nov 18th 2011, bill was left in my mailbox. I called Kerivan lane, and the representative DENIED such confirmation of my cancellation and want me to pay for this unauthorized delivery. I told them I was not going to pay for this unauthorized delivery. They started cursing at me, and started being very unprofessional. In the past, all other oil companies that I work with, I fulfilled contracts and called in to cancelled service after contract fullfillments, I have not got unauthorized delivery nor any compliants. Therefore, I am very suprised with this and think this type of fraud action is not accetable for consumers and actions need to be taken to correct this.

Desired Settlement: Apology and corrective future measures to prevent kerivan lane from doing this type of unauthorized actions to other consumers.

Business Response: As claimed by Mr. ***, he never called our office to cancel his account.  When asked, Mr. *** was not able to recall who he had talked to.  We always identify ourselves on the phone. When an account is cancelled, we make detailed notes and follow standard procedures to update the account and statistics.  Delivering oil after an account is cancelled is not our practice as two oil companies delivering oil to the same house raises serious issues for all concerned. We offered Mr. *** two options.  One is that we pump out the oil we delivered from his tank.  The other is that if Mr. *** wants to retain the oil we delivered, Mr. *** pays for that oil at our cost.  Mr. *** has refused to do either and intends to keep the oil we delivered without paying for it.  Our offer to Mr. *** of selecting either option is still good.

Consumer Response:

This is where Kerivan Lane and I have disagreement.   They claimed that I never called to cancel
the service, and since they do not have a recorded line, it’s difficult to
proof anything.  Kerivan Lane could
easily say they didn’t receive cancellation calls/notice, and continue oil
delivery.    Kerivan
Lane also said typically current oil company should call kerivan lane and this
way they know the service is cancelled. 
How does a typical consumer know about this, this was never told before.  Kerivan lane also never provided me the option
to pump out the oil on the phone.  This
is the 1st time that I am notified this option and it’s through an
email from this BBB response. 

Given the inconsistency with what Kerivan Lane claims/disclaim
on the phone and even through this email, I think a better system needs to be
implemented and this may be best done in a legal manner and prevent further
misunderstanding with future customers. 
I strongly suggest Kerivan Lane:

Condition 1) Install a recorded line to be courteous to consumers
and also keep track of phone conversations.

Condition 2) Kerivan Lane needs to draft a well written
contract including details regarding cancellation policies and have both the
consumers and Kerivan Lane representatives signing them, for all current
customers and future customers.  Both
customers and Kerivan Lane should receive a copy of this agreement as
acknowledgments.

If both of these (conditions 1 and 2) are implemented
legally, I am open to the option of a reverse pump.  However, I will still need a written contract
between Kerivan Lane and myself that incase kerivan Lane causes any property
damage during the reverse pump process, Kerivan Lane be fully liable
financially.

Business Response: Kerivan-Lane has hundreds of customers that have been under contract.  Our contracts are explicit and straight-forward.  They require both parties to sign and we have never had a complaint such as this.  However, we do plan on adding a statement clearly stating that the customer will remain on automatic delivery unless they specifically cancel in writing.
 
At this time, we have no plans to record our phone conversations with our customers.  We have very strict office procedures for handling the cancellations.
 
Kerivan-Lane will offer the oil to Mr. *** at our cost as of the date of the delivery.  This offer clearly is to the benefit monetarily to Mr. ***.  We hope that this matter is resolved.  Otherwise, we will have to proceed in other direction in order to get paid.
 
Kerivan-Lane thanks Mr. *** for his business.  We have listened and responded to Mr. ***’s concern.  We would now like to get paid for the oil that Mr. *** has used.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1