Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Kerivan-Lane, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 444-0279 Fax: (781) 449-6618 30 Charles Street, Needham, MA 02494 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Kerivan-Lane, Inc. specializes in residential fuel oil delivery in the Greater Metro area. The company also services their plumbing and heating equipment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kerivan-Lane, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kerivan-Lane, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kerivan-Lane, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1922 in MA Business incorporated 01/04/1960 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
The number is 13320.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Christopher Lane, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Lane, General Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Kerivan-Lane, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bio Fuels, Boilers, Gasoline, Home Heating Fuels, Oil & Gas Heating Equipment, Plumbing Fixtures, Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel, Water Heaters

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashier's Check
Money Order
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Alternate Business Names
Kerivan-Lane Oil
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kerivan-Lane, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 30 Charles Street

    Needham, MA 02494 (781) 444-0279

  • PO Box 920141

    Needham, MA 02492


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to file a complaint about oil delivery company called Kerivan Lane who mistreats customers and uses abusive language. I had called their customer service to clarify my bill and spoke to General Manager (***** ****) who used abusive language because I was my native language wasn't English. He refused to explain the bill where I had full tank of oil delivered on Jan 10 and I paid the full amount of $1029. Then within 10 days they delivered and send me another bill. I wanted to clarify because my house was empty, so it couldn't have consumed that much of oil. Also they lied to me about cleaning the oil furnace. I had HVAC professional who recommended cleaning oil furnace and the service professional kept saying he completed the job last summer and it doesn't need any service.

Desired Settlement: Don't use abusive language and run professional business without scamming customers.

Business Response: To Mr. ****** *******: First of all, you speak English very well and I had no problem understanding your question regarding the oil delivery.  So let's review your question.  We filled your tank on Jan.10.  Twelve days later on Jan.22, we returned to make a scheduled automatic oil delivery to your tank.  We delivered 31 gallons.  Between Jan.10 and Jan.22, we had below average temperatures equivalent to 392 degree days.  A degree day is how we measure how cold it is.  As I had explained to you multiple times, because your house is empty and unoccupied, it does not mean that you do not burn oil.  You still need to keep your house heated, otherwise your pipes will freeze.  Therefore, the 31 gallons delivered was used to heat your house between Jan.10 and Jan.22.  So that answers your question as to why you used 31 gallons. When I spoke to you yesterday on Jan.28, I explained this to you.  During that conversation, you had said that a HVAC professional who cleaned your ducts, said you needed your furnace cleaned.  Even though we had tuned your furnace for the prior owner before you purchased the home, I had told you that we will be happy to tune the furnace again at no charge.  Therefore, we tuned it up yesterday. Today on Jan.29, you called my cell phone and again started talking to me about the 31 gallon oil delivery.  Again, I explained to you multiple times as to what took place.  I did lose my patience because this is not a difficult concept to understand.  I apologize for losing my patience and my poor choice of words. I think it's best we do not do business and I will write off the 31 gallons delivered.  As of this moment, your balance is zero. Just as my words to you when I lost my patience were not necessary, your harsh words to describe our company and its practices are inappropriate.  Any action to defame our company or its employees will be dealt with appropriately.