Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Genove Oil & Air Company

Phone: (781) 893-9191 Fax: (781) 893-6607 53 Williams Street, Waltham, MA 02453 http://www.genoveoil.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Genove Oil & Air Company specializes in home heating oil and Bioheat delivery, heating installation and service, oil burners, furnaces, hot water heaters, air conditioning service, repair, and installation. The business also does natural gas service and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Genove Oil & Air Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Genove Oil & Air Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Genove Oil & Air Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 1993 Business started: 04/01/1977 in MA Business incorporated 01/31/1986 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-018261.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Pescosolido, Office Manager Mr. Philip J Pescosolido, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Pescosolido, Office Manager
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

FUEL WATER HEATERS-DEALERS OILS OIL BURNERS-SERVICING OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS GAS FITTERS FURNACES-HEATING FURNACE SALES & SERVICE BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Method(s) of Payment
Check
Cash
Money Order
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Service Area
Genove Oil & Air Company provides their services in ALLSTON, BOSTON, BRIGHTON, CAMBRIDGE, CHARLESTOWN, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, E CAMBRIDGE, EAST BOSTON, EAST CAMBRIDGE, EAST LYNN, FOXBORO, FOXBOROUGH, FRAMINGHAM, FRANKLIN, GROVE HALL, HARVARD SQ, HARVARD SQUARE, HOLLISTON, HOPKINTON, HUDSON, HYDE PARK, JAMAICA PLAIN, LAWRENCE, LYNN, LYNNFIELD, MARLBOROUGH, MATTAPAN, MELROSE, MISSION HILL, N CAMBRIDGE, NATICK, NORTH CAMBRIDGE, READVILLE, ROSLINDALE, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, SOMERVILLE, SOUTH BOSTON, UPHAMS CORNER, W SOMERVILLE, WEST LYNN, WEST ROXBURY, WEST SOMERVILLE, WINTER HILL & WRENTHAM, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Genove Oil Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • 53 Williams Street

    Waltham, MA 02453 (781) 893-9191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The purpose of this letter is to dispute unreasonable charges from Genove Oil company, stemming from repairs to our furnace in November 2014. For context, in early January of 2014, when the temperature was very cold, our 9-10 year-old downstairs gas furnace stopped working and had an error light come on indicating some sort of blockage, intake or pressure switch issue. We looked up Genove Oil, located in *******, on the internet, and saw that they specialized in gas furnaces, among other things, and had decent reviews, so I (****** ***********) called Genove Oil, located in ******* MA, to come and look at it. They came and looked at it a day or so after we called, and said they had figured out what it was, a faulty pressure switch, and they invoiced us $263 for 2 hours of labor diagnosing the problem, and another $188.81 to replace it, which was $131.50 for labor, and $53.94 for the part. Two weeks later, the furnace stopped working again, and that same error light code came on again, and Genove Oil came out again, and this time, said it was the inducer motor that need to be replaced, and we were freezing and needed it fixed, so we relied on their analysis and asked them to repair it, and paid them $351.32, which was the cost of the part ($330.65) and tax, and they comped us the labor, likely due to our questioning their initial diagnosis and the expenses. Although we paid them another $351, we were not happy about it, as we felt the initial diagnosis was inaccurate, and that we had paid to fix the problem twice. We also had to run space heaters to keep the floor properly heated to avoid basement pipes from freezing, etc ..., which was additional cost, but we have not had a problem since, so the second fix worked. That said, this complaint is more about what happened later in 2014. On or about November 12, 2014, our upstairs furnace, (a 9-10-year old American Standard gas furnace) stopped working and showed an error light indicating an issue with a high pressure switch or sensor. We had Genove's number handy, figured the first episode was just a fluke, and needed a company quickly, so we contacted Genove, described the error code, and asked that a repair person come to look at the unit, diagnose the issue, and, if possible, repair it. A day or so later, Genove repairman inspected the furnace and told us that the whole inducer fan motor unit was defective and needed to be replaced (along with and surrounding cylinder, I believe), and that it would be $600 or more to fix. Both my husband and I spoke with two Genove staff and asked if it could be a sensor or anything else, but they stated that it was the inducer fan that needed to be replaced to fix the furnace, and that the fan in these furnaces usually lasted only 6-10 years. Having three small children and with cold temperatures at night, we asked them to fix it; we paid them $645 (which Genove required be paid up front) by credit card that day to cover the cost of the part, and for two hours of labor ($263). Two days later, the same upstairs furnace shut down again and showed the same error code. We called Genove to inform them that the unit had malfunctioned again, with the same error code, and that the replacement of the fan had not worked, and they sent a repairman. When he arrived, he told me had looked at the furnace, and had purchased and picked up another part at a nearby part distributor, however, when he arrived to install it in the furnace, the unit had started working and he realized, based on his read of the same error code, that he had purchased the incorrect part; he clarified that instead, a circuit board was needed to modulate the heat. I pointed out that the unit generated the same error code since it first malfunctioned. When asked why this issue wasn't properly diagnosed the first time when the repairs were initiated the previous week, he insisted that the inducer fan (the first part that was replaced) had failed, and the circuit board had also failed, and both issues were independent of one another. He also conveyed that a new circuit board costs approximately $50. Since he did not have the circuit board part to complete the repair, he left our residence. That night the unit flashed the same error code and there was still no heat. (Because outside temperatures had dipped below 30 degrees, we had to purchase an additional expensive space heater heat the bedrooms where our family of five sleep.) The same repairmen returned the next day and installed a new circuit board. The unit has functioned properly since that time. A Genove supervisor named ***** contacted me in early December, 2014 to confirm that the unit had been working properly and also to inform us that we owed Genove approximately $1,000 for over 5 hours of labor and parts (including for time a Genove staff person getting the wrong part and having to return the next day to get the right part). I informed him that their staff initially misdiagnosed the source of the problem and that we had already unnecessarily paid $645 for the inducer fan to be replaced, and that we should not be responsible for the additional labor and part since their repairman did not properly diagnose the issue the first time. ***** insisted that it was sheer coincidence that both parts had malfunctioned at the same time, and that both replacements were necessary, but said that we would not be charged for the additional 5 hours of labor and there would be no further charges. Soon after this call we began receiving multiple invoices for outstanding charges. On December 23, 2014, we received two invoices from Genove, both showing a balance owed of $487.16 (invoice # ****** and ******), one for $355.66, showing $131.50 owed, and one for $131.50 showing $335.66 owed. I contacted Genove on January 16, 2015 to discuss the invoices. I explained my earlier discussion with ***** that took place in December. He reviewed our record over the phone and acknowledged that there was a note on our account indicating that we should not be billed for the labor, and he stated that he would remove the $263 for the labor costs, leaving a balance of $224.16 for the parts. We stated that we felt that was still unfair given the misdiagnosis and payment of nearly $700 earlier to fix the same problem, but **** insisted we owed Genove the $224.16, stated that our gas furnace was "very complex" and made some sarcastic remarks. On January 30, 2015, I called Genove again and attempted to resolve the situation a final time, but they still insisted on being paid the $224.16. We feel that both of these service appointments were negligently handled, that we have been taken advantage of, that most the billed and paid costs, and certainly the outstanding costs are unfair and unreasonable, the service poor and/or deceptive, and that Genove misled us into thinking the second fix in November 2014 would be under $50 at the most, and not almost $500. Although there's a possibility that our two experiences with Genove are a wacky coincidence, we think that is not likely, and that it is more likely that this is a pattern, likely for other Genove customers, where Genove attempts to repair the defective unit during the first service call, speculates about what the source of the problem might be, or requiring an unnecessary second visit, additional labor and other costs, etc .... All of this is just wrong and unfair, if not worse.

Desired Settlement: When speaking with Genove's staff (***** and ****), I just wanted to resolve the issue amicably and move on, including having them honor their earlier quote, to charge us $50 or not at all for the second November service visit and repair, which we relied on in making our decision to move ahead. We could very well have asked for a full or partial refund from the first visit when the issue was misdiagnosed which cost us $645; or for the earlier mistake, error in their favor they made last January, where they double charged us for the first time, and it cost us $400 or so more than it should have. However, instead, to move on and put this behind us, we are simply requesting that Genove honor their promise, and resolve this by removing all current remaining charges ($224.16 plus tax) for the repairs, and send us an invoice showing no balance owed.

Business Response: Dear ****** and ****,
                             We are very sorry to hear about your frustrations. We are a family run company, with over 35 years of experiece, and we pride ourselves on our great reputation. Our technicians strive to always diagnose the service problems correctly, and fix the problem in a timely matter. We hold our technicians to very high standards, we try to go above and beyond for our customers. For the service call in question, the technician worked for 5 hours and we only billed you for 2 hours. And since then in good faith we creditied you those 2 hours also, so the only bill that is outstanding is for the parts. Even though we feel that crediting you the labor was more than fair, and that we are due the balance of $224.16, we are willing to take the loss and wipe the balance clear. We truly pride ourselves on our work ethic, and would never want a customer to feel that they were treated unfair. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

****** And **** ***********

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/2/14, with a serious winter storm coming, we discovered our furnace was not heating. We called Genovo and they sent a technician at 9 am who worked on the furnace and did not document what work he performed, but charged us $330, and left. It became obvious within an hour of his leaving, that the heat was still not working and we called and he returned at 3 pm. He told us that he could not repair the furnace, as he needed additional information. At this time, it was a serious winter storm, he said he would call back in the morning and he "hoped we had space heaters." We have a one year old baby and the weather was below zero. As the technician never called back, we contacted another company and they discovered that the work he'd done had damaged our furnace, possibly beyond repair and have spent the entire day on 1/3/14 attempting to fix it. We will incur significant expenses and we and our daughter have been without heat for over a day, in severe weather conditions. We are still awaiting the outcome of the furnace repair/replacement. We have never received a receipt or any call back from Genovo.

Desired Settlement: We would want a refund of the fee we paid for the "repair" and as Genovo damaged our furnace, we would insist on detailed documentation of the work done by the technician and payment toward the additional repair that we have incurred due to the work done by Genovo

Business Response: We are very upset by ****'s experience. There was miscommunication that took place on our part that led to the issues she describes. Our tech returned to her home late on the day of the storm and because supply houses had closed early was unable to get the part required to fix the system. He suggested space heaters would be needed given the situation. They told him they would be able to get them, otherwise we have spare heaters that we are able to lend out in such cases. He did not volunteer this information once they confirmed they would be getting heaters. We ordered the part once he returned to the office. Our tech's bring back their work orders, submit them to the Service Manager, who enters them in our back office system which sends the customers the documented work. We did send **** the invoice once it was entered. The technician replaced an igniter which could not have caused the damage described. We refunded the total charges to the card on file immediately after hearing about this experience from ****** (****'s mother). This level of service was an aberration which was partly caused by the storm and we are very sorry.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.