BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Dupuis Oil Company?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dupuis Oil Company

Phone: (800) 322-5025 Fax: (401) 727-7538 View Additional Phone Numbers 401 Walcott St, Pawtucket, RI 02860 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dupuisoil.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Dupuis Oil Company, a full service oil company, offers a wide variety of plans based on their individual needs. The company states these include automatic delivery of fuel, price protection and easy payment plan options.  The company services include oils, fuel, geothermal heating and cooling, specialty heating equipment and systems, and light residential HVAC services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dupuis Oil Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dupuis Oil Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dupuis Oil Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 01, 1974 Business started: 01/01/1898 in RI Business started locally: 01/01/1898 Business incorporated: 10/01/1918 in RI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov

Type of Entity

S Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Marc Dupuis, Treasurer Ms. Carolyn Palo, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marc Dupuis, Treasurer
Customer Contact: Ms. Carolyn Palo, Office Manager
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

FUEL RESIDENTIAL & LIGHT COMMERCIAL HVAC SERVICE PORTABLE POWER-FUEL CELLS HEATING CONTRACTORS HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING SPECIALTIES OILS GEOTHERMAL HEATING & COOLING Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
T: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
W: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
Th: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
F: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM
Su: Closed
The office is closed Saturday's from 3rd Saturday in April until 3rd saturday in October
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
American Express,
MasterCard
Discover
Alternate Business Names
Moreau Oil Oil Central
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    401 Walcott St

    Pawtucket, RI 02860

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (401) 722-4445(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of August 2013 I had closed on my new home, I was contacted by *** of Dupuis Oil who wanted to meet at my home, she was referred to me by a family member. I met with *** who was nice and polite at first, we took a walk around my basement where she quickly slapped a Dupuis Oil sticker on my boiler, I didn't make much of it at the time as I was crunched for time. She wasted no time in bringing the company "contract" out and telling me about the service real quick without really asking if its something that I even wanted. I was in a hurry and was a referral from a family member but that doesn't excuse the fact that I was pressured into signing the contract. *** was very pushy and persuasive in her story of how she left ***** for Dupuis and that Dupuis is by far the best oil company in the RI market. She handed me the contract, told me to sign it, asked for my social and then quickly handed me magnets and just wanted to leave. She got into her car and handed me a sticker to put on my oil fill tube instead of her doing it. She is a typical sales person, say what they have to say to get you to sign the contract, I have regretted it ever since. A week later I emailed *** about a contract with Dupuis at my rental property with 3 units on September 16, 2013, because I did not want to go back to ***** and I didn't know any other oil companies in the state with service contracts. I never heard back from her, she never reached out and when I did call her she told me that "she was extremely busy and that she didn't have time to talk, call me back in October" I never called her back because of such a lack of professionalism and the desire to help a new client. Today November 25 my tenants heat stopped working, I called Dupuis November 24 to have an emergency service performed, we were given a time of 7PM to have a tech sent to the home, at 9:00PM no one showed up, I called and spoke to *** and told him no one went to the home, he eventually sent someone out at 9:30PM and all the tech did was reset the boiler disregarding what we had told *** that resetting the boiler wasn't working and that the boiler would still shut off. The tech left the home and the boiler shut off right after they left and never came back on. My tenant sent me a picture of their thermostat at 6:00Am showing the temp at 47 degrees! I called Dupuis to voice my complaint that I have been trying to secure a service contract on my rental property with Dupuis since September and now deep into November and the first real cold a boiler stops working. I spoke with *** at first who was helpful but needed to send me to *** the Service Manager who I spoke to the previous night. He informed me that there was nothing they could do the previous night, and that I would have to contact *** to find out why she never responded to my email, he told me about their service contracts and they were far inferior to *****'s so I told *** I would go to *****. ***** couldn't do a same day service so i called *** back, I again told him that I am frustrated that *** never contacted me back and he informed me with a snicker that "*** has a different story" I asked him what ***'s story is, he informed me to talk to *** about that, I then told him "I left ***** for Dupuis to get ignored by *** and then this attitude on the phone by you, why don't you go **** yourself" and hung up. I warn everyone to read their contract before you sign, especially when dealing with *** and ***, they are extremely unprofessional. I will NEVER deal with Dupuis again, I was pressured into signing the contract and have received the most unwelcoming customer service and experience with this company except for their answering service. I no longer want to deal with this company or its ignorant employees, I want a refund of my service contract and an apology from *** for her blatant disregard for customer service and her "different story" excuse.

Desired Settlement: Refund of service agreement charge, destruction of all my personal identifying information on file and a formal apology from *** and *** for their blatant disregard for customer service and her "different story" excuse.

Business Response: This is in response to complaint #*******   I met with **** on August 15th, 2013 not the end of August as stated. The family member who referred **** to me was his wife ********* who I had handled a previous property for at ***** **** St. **********, RI while working at another oil company. I arrived on time to ****’s property in ******** as did ****.  After introductions, **** realized he had no key to his new home.  He called his wife and after twenty or twenty five minutes of waiting for her **** decided to climb to the second floor and gain access that way.  This is over a half hour after I arrived for the appointment.  Perhaps that is why he was “crunched for time”. I went into the basement with **** and reviewed operation of the boiler and safety features as I have done for twenty-five plus years. I did put a sticker on the boiler with our emergency number if he should require our services. There was no objection to this.  We reviewed the service contract for the heating equipment he had and I offered **** a two- year service plan for a one year charge. I explained the terms and conditions of the contract and he agreed it was a good idea as the boiler needed a tune up. I continued to take a credit application including social security number and employment.  I reviewed the pricing plan and oil tank information sheet as well.  At that time I did ask **** to sign the credit application, pricing sheet and oil tank sheet.  He did, and I provided **** with a copy of all three documents and the service contract and magnets as well. I wished him well in his new home and reminded **** to call Dupuis to schedule a tune up for the boiler.  At no time did **** say he wanted to think about using our services nor did he hesitate to sign the required application to set up his account at Dupuis Oil Co.  I do not remember **** calling me, however he did email me more than once regarding financial planning for me as that is his occupation.  I politely declined to meet with him and thanked him.  Dupuis billed **** for the service contract. I never received a call or email that he did not want the service contract. In fact, we delivered oil as well as tuned his boiler at his request. He paid for the oil and service contract late including the finance charges. It does surprise me he would want to set up his wife’s property on **** St. in ********** as he “regretted doing business with me ever since”.  From August to November 25th **** did not set up the **** St. property with Dupuis and he found himself with no heat at the rental home. I never spoke to ****. He called our office and spoke to *** our service manager who advised him to call me.  We cannot service an account we don’t have.  I needed to set up this location as I had his home. We need an account number to dispatch service.  He also stated the work should be done at no charge as the account should have been set up previously.  After **** declined to call me, he used profanity and hung up on ***. Perhaps *** is due the apology. Had **** set up accounts for the **** St. property we would have gladly serviced the property.  Dupuis Oil Co. has been in business for 115 years and value our A+ rating with the BBB.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dupuis oil company came to my house last year with a very polite old person and checked everything on my heating system to make me fill out a contract I said i would prefer to call for delivery when needed and it was agreed that way, this summer i kept receiving calls from dupuis to make my boiler tune up witch was done in april of this same year and they kept calling and send adds stating that was a free tune up and was overdue, so i called to the company and the scheduled the tune up and the lady that answer the phone also told me it was a free tune up. So on October 10th in the morning the dupuis tech showed up to do the tune up i explain the guy i had the tune up done in april he said that was ok we was still going to do it because it was a free service was included in the price of the oil " witch i tough it was strange" but i let the guy get on with is job ( preformed pretty slowly and very chatty 2 hours later he left. this week i received a bill from the company charging me $228.71 for service tune up which i feel robed as i was giving bait advertisement over something i didn't even needed.

Desired Settlement: want the bill adjusted i will pay for the parts as i think is fair but wont pay for the labor as i had no need for it and have friends in the trade that make my tune ups for free like i had it done in april

Business Response: We disagree with the customer.  We do not promote or advertise free cleanings.  If a customer purchases a service contract then the cleaning is included but they have to pay for the service contract.  Regarding the claim that we told him on the phone that it was free.  That is not true.  We record our phone conversations and we reviewed the two conversations that we had with a women regarding scheduling the appointment and we where never asked about or discussed cost.  The cleaning reminder card states nothing about the cost or being free.  It only asks that you call the office to make an appointment.  If the customer informed us that the boiler was cleaned by someone else in the spring then we would have updated our records to reflect that and not scheduled an appointment.  The technician did not say that it was included with the oil delivery..

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. Please add your rejection comments below.  [I request a meeting between the technician employee that cleaned my system and the company owner face to face so that we can clarify this issue because your technician lied to me telling me that the cleaning was free, also took 2 hours and 15 minutes to swap two filters and put a burner tip on the burner system that didn't needed.]  

Business Response: If a discussion on cost was necesarry it should have been done at the time of making the appiontment, not when the technician arrives at the house.   I am sorry if ** ****** was confused on the cost associated with the cleaning but just like our policy on not doing "free cleanings" we also do not send technicains to customers homes to see if they would like a cleaning done or not.  All that being said, We would be happy to meet with ** *******
Please advise to the time and date.


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first contacted Dupuis Oil Company on 6/11/12 indicating my interest in contracting their company for oil services in the upcoming months. I received a prompt and courteous call from a gentleman named **** who made an appointment that same day to come to my house to discuss my needs. **** took a tour of my basement and examined both my boiler and oil tank. He indicated to me that my tank was old but was not leaking and held together by an older style of manufacturing (I belive the term "belt" was used). He also indicated that my boiler (newly installed in Dec 2011) was in very good condition. **** then met with me in my kitchen and discussed a contract for the upcoming year. He suggested a service contract which would meet my needs. I signed the contract and agreed on a service contract fee. **** indicated to me that no check would be needed; I would be billed for the fee. He also provided me with the obligatory Dupuis calendar, mugs, and placed Dupuis Oil stickers on my boiler, my indoor tank, and my outdoor feed pipe. **** then asked me for my Social Security number. When questioned, he stated it was for credit purposes. I reluctanly agreed since I had signed the contract. I was asked to place my SS# on a small sheet of paper which **** placed in his briefcase. He left by 6pm. The very next morning, I had a letter in the mail from the service manager stating that my tank and feed pipe were not satisfactory to meet Dupuis' insurance standards and that it would cost me approximately $1900 to replace these. When I called the service manager, I was told that my contract was not in effect. I questioned the fact that Dupuis stickers were on my tank, boiler, and feed pipe and that the company now had access to my SS#. The serviced manager was apologetic and could not tell me why this occurred. He assured me that my SS# would not be shared with anyone. This left me feeling insecure. While I realize that the company has certain insurance standards which must be kept I was led to believe that I still had a signed contract and that my personal information was gathered from me with without just cause.

Desired Settlement: I want BBB to be aware of this practice and take action so that other consumers aren't forced to give out their Social Security information under the false notion that a service contract is in place.

Business Response: We will look into complaint and reply next week.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********

Regards,


**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1