BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bourne's Energy?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bourne's delivers bioheat fuel oil, propane, kerosene, biodiesel and wood pellets to the community along with dedicated, exceptional service, equipment sales, installation and maintenance with greener, more efficient choices.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bourne's Energy meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bourne's Energy include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bourne's Energy
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 20, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1947 in VT Business incorporated: 07/16/1965 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lori Barkyoumb, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lori Barkyoumb, Marketing Director
Number of Employees

75

Business Category

FUEL WOOD PRODUCTS PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL GAS-PROPANE FUEL - BIOFUELS DIESEL FUEL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS Air-Conditioning and Warm Air Heating Equipment and Commercial and Industrial Refrigeration Equipment Manufacturing (NAICS: 333415)

Service Area
Bourne's Energy provides their services in ADDISON County VT, CALEDONIA County VT, CHITTENDEN County VT, ESSEX County VT, FRANKLIN County VT, GRAND ISLE County VT, LAMOILLE County VT, ORANGE County VT, ORLEANS County VT, WASHINGTON County VT.
Alternate Business Names
Bourne's Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 10 Canada Street

    Swanton, VT 05488 (802) 868-6221

  • 17 North Main Street

    Waterbury, VT 05676 (802) 244-8667

  • 366 East Montpelier Road

    Montpelier, VT 05602 (802) 223-0902

  • 4477 Main Street

    Waitsfield, VT 05673 (802) 496-3010

  • 72 Lower Main Street

    Morristown, VT 05661 (802) 888-2611 (800) 326-8763

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (802) 888-2611(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 22, 2013 I canceled my contract with Bourne's Energy in-person at their Waitsfield, VT location with their office manager, Shelly, and requested they cease service. Bourne's Energy failed to do as I requested and delivered 200.8 gallons of heating oil at a higher than previously contracted price. I have attempted many times to resolve the issue and find a way to return the heating oil. But, instead Bourne's Energy has failed to act in good faith and has charged me multiple finance charges and failed to return phone calls or emails regarding the issue. As of 11/01/2013 the charges were 1045.92 for account # ******.

Desired Settlement: I refuse to pay for heating oil that I never ordered or agreed to paying for and want them to either take their oil back or I intend to take them to court.

Business Response: Upon receiving this complaint, the notes on the ****** ********* account were pulled and we learned that we had indeed made a fuel delivery after his pre-buy price had passed as he was on auto-delivery.

Our notes show we re-billed this fuel at his pre-buy price and took Edwards account off auto delivery after we spoke with him in August 2013 about both issues of pre-buy price and not being put on will-call.

The ********* account notes show ****** contacted us in November and was very rude to multiple customer service representatives about the situation.

We have since received this BBB Complaint and have reached out to ****** to pump the fuel out of his tank as he is requesting as a last resort. As it stands of today, we have not heard back to schedule a time.

Consumer Response:


The response by Bourne's Energy fails to take responsibility for their own actions and perpetuates lies, additionally, this response shows further intention to manipulate the truth and bully me as a former customer.

I had to demand to speak with a supervisor to even have my account looked at, they never contacted me after writing they would follow-up on my email.  Until I filed a BBB complaint (proving their statement a lie).  Further more, I have been in contact with them by email (I will not speak with them unless it is recorded).  They have been trying to bully me into agreeing to a date for the pump-out.  They have had since April 2013 to resolve this issue, and have only made an attempt to do so after the BBB complaint.  They have repeatedly added additional finance charges as evident by the recent bill statement.  Please see the email correspondence below, which will confirm my statements and prove their previous statements twisted lies.  I no longer feel able to trust them at their word and do not feel safe having their representatives unsupervised at my home.  Especially given their further attempts to lie to the BBB regarding their inaction and lack of accountability.

I wish the fuel pump-out to be supervised by a technician of my choosing, Bourne's Energy to be responsible for the cost of this technician, and a formal letter of apology to be sent to me in writing, detailing their responsibility and accountability for this unresolved issue. 

 

P.S. As you can see from the attachments the finance fees were never waived.  Nor was there any explanation of the bill from 11-18-2013 given to me (and it accompanied another bill with additional finance charges), after requesting one from ******* ******* via email.

See email correspondence pasted below

Email from

******* ******* <********************>11/21/13

Thank you ****** for sending that photo.

I am still reviewing the account and will contact you on your cell phone
once I've discussed the situation with the owner.


 
******* *******
2

****** ******* *******************>Jan 10, 2014 to ****** *********
Hello Mr. *********I have been trying to reach you to pump out the gallons that we delivered. Please call me in order to co-ordinate this.I can be reached at the number listed below Monday from 7:30 am to 4:30pmThank you****** ******s******** *************** ********* *** **** *** ********************** ****** ********* <***************************>Jan 12 (3 days ago)to ******Hello ****** ******s,

My response Jan 12, 2014 to ****** ******s
Thank you for contacting me regarding my repeated requests, emails, phone calls, and report to the BBB.  It is inconvenient and dangerous for you to pump out fuel during this harsh winter.  I recommend we set up a time in April 2014, so I may have time to invite proper representatives to ensure the fuel removal is done safely and accurately.  I am glad we finally have an agreed upon solution to the fuel sent in error.  In the meantime, I would appreciate you ceasing sending statements as this can be regarded as an act of harassment.
Thank you and have a great day,

****** ********* ****** ******s Jan 13 (2 days ago)to ******, ****, ****** *********
Hello **,Thank you for your reply. Based on the fact you have reported this situation to the Better Business Bureau that your goal would be to get this resolved as soon as possible. I understand your concern regarding the delivery that occurred after you had consumed your contracted gallons and have reviewed all the notes detailing the communications you have had with our staff. I have waived all of the finance charges that have accumulated on your account and have placed a hold on your statement. I want to assure you that our staff is experienced with pumping fuel out of tanks and are trained to take safety precautions during the process. We feel we can safely complete your pump-out this week. Can you please provide me with the current tank level and a date and time that is convenient for you, so I can schedule the pump-out?  Thank you   ****** ******s******** *************** ********* *** **** *** **********************

Business Response: We must say we are a bit taken aback by this situation and it's unnecessary escalation to the prospect of court.

There are many harsh words within ******* communications that we simply cannot understand.

We have attached all of our dealings since January 2013 to show our correspondence and cannot see where all these strong accusations are founded.

*** ********* had a pre-buy and was on auto-delivery so fuel was delivered. Unfortunately he had run out of pre-buy gallons and was charged the going rate. We learned of his displeasure with being charged a price outside his pre-buy since his gallons had been exhausted and adjusted his delivery price to reflect his original pre-buy price. He refused this and wants us to pick up the fuel.

Now we are trying to pick up the fuel and he has refused this. We have tried to arrange a time that is convenient with him to pick up the oil, but are being told it's too late to correct this and we are being bullies in trying to do so.  We are very confused and want nothing more than to correct the situation but are being prevented from doing so.

Consumer Response:

:

This continues to escalate due to Bourne's Energy continuing to lie to the BBB.  We had reached a tentative agreement regarding the pump-out (per our email exchanges), where I had suggested April 2014 would give me the time needed to find a suitable technician to supervise their pumping-out the fuel.  But, due to Bourne's Energy lying to the BBB, they had exhausted my trust, and I insisted on a technician to supervise their pumping-out 200.8 gallons of fuel to ensure it was done safely and accurately.  They have instead refused to negotiate in good faith and have continued to lie to the BBB.  I have pasted the latest emails below, indicating that Peter Bourne would contact me today.  And insist that they do so by email.  I want the fuel pumped-out, I want it supervised by a technician of my choosing, I want Bourne's Energy to cover all related costs, and I want a formal letter of apology.  That is all I am asking.  If this continues I will insist they pay for the related court costs in addition to a public apology.  I have already suggested we use a court mediator to resolve this escalating situation.  

 


****** *******
5:36 PM (19 hours ago)
to meEileenLori
 
 
 
 

***** **

Per your request I have forwarded our conversation to Peter Bourne.

He is requesting the best phone number to contact you tomorrow. He will not be available until after 10am so please let me know what time you will be able to answer the number provided.  

Thank you

****** *******

Dispatch Manager

Bourne's Energy

*** *** **** *** ****

******************


From: ****** ********* [mailto:***************************
Sent: Wednesday, January 15, 2014 4:55 PM

 
 
 
 
****** ********* <***************************>
6:14 PM (19 hours ago)
to Debbie
 
 
 
 
Dear ****** *******,
 
Peter can contact me via email.  I am finding it important to keep detailed records of our exchanges since things are likely to go to court.  
 
Thank you for forwarding my emails.

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1