BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Aurora Fuel Company, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aurora Fuel Company, Inc.

Phone: (401) 345-5996 191 Pulaski Street, West Warwick, RI 02893 http://www.aurorafuelco.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aurora Fuel Co., Inc specializes in  heating fuel for both commercial and residential customers.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aurora Fuel Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aurora Fuel Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Aurora Fuel Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 08, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2007 in RI Business incorporated: 07/20/2007 in RI
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston RI 02920
http://www.dlt.ri.gov/jobseeker
Phone Number: 401-462-8000
Fax Number: 401-462-8872
mmadonna@dlt.ri.gov
The license number is 31.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Johnson, Principal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wayne Johnson, Principal
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

FUEL Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
Discover
Debit Card
Service Area
Aurora Fuel Company, Inc. provides their services in KENT County RI.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aurora Fuel Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 191 Pulaski Street

    West Warwick, RI 02893 (401) 345-5996

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did purchase 150 gallons of heating fuel from this company that was allegedly delivered on friday 01/25/13 for the price of $3.48 @ gallon. I did check my tank of fuel on the morning before I left for work and at that time the tank had 1/4 of fuel, the company's truck delivered some fuel but it was not 150 gallons because when I came home I did check the fuel gauge and it did go up only 1/4 of a tank to 1/2 full. I did call the company the following day saturday morning and I did explain to the lady that I did not receive 150 gallons, she immediately told me that my fuel gauge is not working right and offered a phone number to a technician and I told her that I am a tech myself and there is nothing wrong with the gauge. At that point she said that she will have the owner of the business to call me back and I said that it was ok, the owner never called me back and I did call them again on monday morning at that time the lady asked me what i wanted her to do about it and I said that I was expecting a phone call from the owner and she told me again that the owner will call. Nobody called me and I am out of $522,00. Please help me with this situation because that is a lot of money. Thanks in advance ** ******

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern: I spoke with the customer on Monday, February 4, 2013. He explained to me he thought he had nor received the 150 gallons of fuel he ordered. I told him I would look into it and get back to him within the same day. I looked up his invoice, as each stamped by a meter (calibrated by the State of RI_, and found that 150 gallons of fuel was delivered. I explained that he had received 150 gallons and offered to send him a copy of the invoice if he wanted. He said he was good with the explanation and he would look into the gauge on his tank. I would have responded immediately, but was out of town Jan. 25th-Feb. 3rd, 2013. I also believe my office could have handled the situation differently and have addressed them accordingly. Sincerely, ***** ******* Owner

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ******** Mr ***** was not honest with me amd I did not tell him that I have a faulty gauge.I told him that I am a technician myself and there is nothing wrong with my gauge,I will say this if his company delivered 150 gallons of oil to my residence why do I have to buy another 150 gallons of oil tomorrow 2/18/13 in one month, that will make 300 gallons in a 265 gallons tank. Regards, ******* ******  

Business Response: On January 25, 2013 Aurora Fuel made a delivery to Mr. ****** at * ****** ****** **** *******, RI. At last I spoke to Mr. ******, I explained that all tickets are metered and his invoice indicates that he did receive the full amount of oil ordered. I also explained that all meters are certified by a state (RI) facility. I told him that if he wanted I would send him a copy of his invoice. He stated that he understood and did not want a copy of his invoice. I also suggested that maybe his gauge was hung up, which can be common. Since then the BBB has informed Aurora Fuel that the customer is not satisfied. In response, I have enclosed a copy of the invoice showing the full amount of oil ordered was delivered. In his complaint, he indicated that he was a “technician” and there was nothing wrong with his gauge. However, I spoke with Mr. *** ****** from the Department of Labor, License Regulation (###-###-####) and was informed Mr. ****** does not have any license as a technician, plumber or even contractor, within the state of RI. Mr. ****** indicated that he has a 265 gallon tank, which is not correct because a standard tank is 275 gallons. Furthermore, it is not uncommon for someone to utilize 150 gallons of oil in a month.  Aurora Fuel is committed to customer satisfaction. Full amount of oil ordered is always delivered. I am a little confused about his claim since his invoice clearly shows he received the full amount of fuel. Quite honestly, there is nothing more to resolve.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. This guy is so deceiving and I hope that you do not believe anything he says.I am certified by CFESA as a master tech but it is ok he can keep the money and I will take a page out in the local newspaper about his business practices. Regards, ******* ******  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1