This business is not BBB accredited.

Titan Oil

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 272-0239 14 Maryvale Road, Burlington, MA 01803 http://titanheatingoil.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Titan Oil, LLC. specializes in residential and commercial oil delivery and services.  The business services include but are not limited to fuel heating, installations of boilers, furnaces, hot water systems, baseboards, oil tank and furnace cleaning and replacements.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Titan Oil include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Titan Oil
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2011 in MA Business incorporated 08/03/2011 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-141343.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Walthall, Owner Mrs. Melissa Walthall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Walthall, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Melissa Walthall, Owner
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

OIL BURNERS-SERVICING BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT FURNACES-HEATING BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING ELECTRIC HEATING ELEMENTS FURNACES-INDUSTRIAL BOILERS-NEW & USED OIL TANK REMOVAL & INSTALLATION BOILERS - SALES & SERVICE OIL TANK INSTALLATION OIL TANK REMOVAL OILS HEATING SPECIALTIES Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Service Area
Titan Oil provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
Titan Oil, LLC.
Industry Tips
Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Titan Oil has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14 Maryvale Road

    Burlington, MA 01803 (781) 272-0239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1409

    Burlington, MA 01803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I believed to have signed up for automatic delivery with Titan Oil. The owner initially agreed that I had signed up for auto-delivery and that they had made a clerical error; now she is blaming it on me. (Their failure to deliver oil resulted in my going 20+ hours without oil in sub-zero temperatures. I incurred additional expenses resulting from their not automatically delivering oil as I asked them to do when I signed up as a new customer.) The owner is now PUBLICLY claiming that I am a liar--that I never requested automatic delivery. 2. The company advertises "24/7 emergency service"; however, when I called with the emergency that I was an existing customer and I ran out of oil, the company was unable and/or unwilling to provide any service (particularly upsetting since I addressed this specific concern with the customer service representative when I initially signed up for auto-delivery). (The owner is now saying that that "emergency service" applies only to burner service, but it does not say that on their website, and the representative who created my account specifically told me that it would be Titan's responsibility if I ran out of oil.) 3. The owner (*******) called me at 4:02pm Sunday 2/15/16 and "GUARANTEED" that they would deliver oil the following morning. When I called the next morning to get the time for that delivery, she refused to provide the product and service that she had GUARANTEED the day before. 4. The owner of the company has publicly made additional false claims about me (published on facebook--I have saved the screen shots). I believe her false assertions qualify as libel. (I attempted to write a review on bbb.org (prior to the owner making libelous claims about me), but it appears that the company may have taken down that particular listing for their company on bbb (although they are still using this listing which I am using to file a formal complaint against them).

Desired Settlement: 1. I want a PUBLIC apology for making false claims against me. I want all libelous accusations taken down, and an apology permanently put up in their place. 2. I want to be reimbursed for all expenses incurred as a result of Titan Oil not providing auto-delivery/ not providing the emergency service that I required: the cost of restarting the burner (an expense that the representative said I would not be responsible to pay if I ran out of oil as an auto-delivery customer), the approximate cost of running electric space heaters for 20 hours in sub-zero temperatures so that my pipes would not freeze; the marginal cost that I incurred to procure oil in this emergency situation (as opposed to getting it at the rate I should have received, had the company provided timely automatic delivery as I requested at the time that I became a customer).

Business Response: I have secured a lawyer and this will be handled via the courts. This woman has set out to destroy our reputation. She was not an existing customer we delivered oil to her one time on December 16, 2014 that's the one and only time we delivered oil to her. She and her boyfriend threatened me her boyfriend screamed into the phone at me in with such anger I honestly was in shock. He screamed in a way that no person should ever be spoken too. We will NOT be blamed because they ran out of oil on a Sunday in the middle of a blizzard. I have documented everything from the day ******* called first called us to request an oil delivery that was December 13, 2014 up until now and it WILL ALL PROVE what I am saying is the truth!! *******'s false accusations and the time she has spent to seek all online outlets to spread her false story only proves further what her true intentions are!! I look forward to fighting this in court as this is totally wrong and we will not be held responsible or blamed for a mistake ******* made. 

I was an existing Titan Oil auto-delivery customer when I ran out of oil on the coldest day of the year. I called their "24/7 emergency service" line, and was told that the trucks were snowed in, and that they would not be able to provide any service at all for over 12 hours--even though I have TWO CHILDREN, even though the failure to auto-fill my tank was their fault, and even though overnight temperatures would be below 0. Long story short (hours after my initial emergency call to them), the owner personally "GUARANTEED" that they would deliver oil the next morning. When I called the next morning (after 18+ hours without oil in sub-zero temperatures), the owner (Melissa) said "I thought about it, and we're not going to help you because you posted a negative comment about our company last night." (You know, because I had the AUDACITY to be angry that my oil company failed to deliver oil, wouldn't make good on their "24/7 emergency service" claim, and left me with no oil all night.)

Not only did they not provide oil or service, the owner was aggressive and abusive to both me and my boyfriend over the phone. She clearly had no desire to do anything about the problem, and as the hours passed, she even tried to shift the blame to us. She was awful, the company response was awful, and I would absolutely NEVER recommend this company.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a boiler installed in my home. All but like 10% of the final balance was paid before installation took place. The remainder was to be paid at about six weeks later. I was to receive a rebate which I was going to use to pay off the balance and the contractor was aware of this. There was a delay in my rebate. In the mean time my new boiler stopped working on 3 separate occasions. I also offered many times (before the payment was due) if I could make payments and was told no wait and pay it in a lump sum. Anyway the last time the boiler went off i was really hesitant to even bring it to the companies attention as the person I was dealing with was very defensive and argumentative. As soon as I did she jumped that I was trying to get out of paying the balance. which I wasn't. I then got a myriad of nasty emails. I also noticed there is an oil line replacement listed on my invoice for an oil line that was never replaced. I was hesitant to bring this up for fear of another attack but I wanted the issue resolved. I emailed with a "settlement" deducting a few hundred dollars for the oil line and harassing emails. I was then met with another round of mean emails calling me names and just not being very customer friendly. When it became clear we could not reach an agreement I stated my intention to contact the BBB and was met with an email in which I was accused of being threatening when my only intention was to find a third party to mediate since it was obvious we would not reach one on our own. I honestly just want this resolved. What's fair is fair and no customer should ever be treated or talked to in the way I have experienced. Weather I owed a balance or not I should be able to speak of any issues I have with out being met with these long argumentative emails.

Desired Settlement: I offered $800 on an $1,100 balance. I believe this would be a fair and amicable settlement.

Business Response: Please see my response attached along with documents.Thank You and I look forward to hearing from you on this matter.

*******
Titan Oil

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and I am accepting it.  While I do not agree with pretty much anything that was said in the response, I do wish to put this behind me.  That has been my problem from the beginning with Titan.  ******* wants to just keep at it. We came to an agreement yesterday in yet another unprofessional email that she sent me! But again I want to put it behind me and move on.  Its so funny because in all this ******* still has never addressed the issue of an oil line I was charged for but that was never installed.  In any event I have no interest in throwing stones back and forth with ******* or Titan. I only wish her and Titan to stop contacting me.  I have determined that via email on Nov 7th Titan oil and I were able to reach an agreement on complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.