BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Titan Oil?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Titan Oil

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 272-0239 14 Maryvale Road, Burlington, MA 01803 http://titanheatingoil.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Titan Oil, LLC. specializes in residential and commercial oil delivery and services.  The business services include but are not limited to fuel heating, installations of boilers, furnaces, hot water systems, baseboards, oil tank and furnace cleaning and replacements.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Titan Oil meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Titan Oil include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Titan Oil include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Titan Oil
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 15, 2013 Business started: 07/01/2011 in MA Business incorporated: 08/03/2011 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Room 2133, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
eopsinfo@state.ma.us
The license number is BU-141343.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Walthall, Owner Mrs. Melissa Walthall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Walthall, Owner
Principal: Mrs. Melissa Walthall, Owner
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

OIL BURNERS-SERVICING BOILERS-SUPPLIES & PARTS OIL BURNERS-EQUIPMENT FURNACES-HEATING BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING ELECTRIC HEATING ELEMENTS FURNACES-INDUSTRIAL BOILERS-NEW & USED OIL TANK REMOVAL & INSTALLATION BOILERS - SALES & SERVICE OILS HEATING SPECIALTIES Fuel Dealers (NAICS: 454310)

Service Area
Titan Oil provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
Titan Oil, LLC.
Industry Tips
Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 14 Maryvale Road

    Burlington, MA 01803 (781) 272-0239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1409

    Burlington, MA 01803

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a boiler installed in my home. All but like 10% of the final balance was paid before installation took place. The remainder was to be paid at about six weeks later. I was to receive a rebate which I was going to use to pay off the balance and the contractor was aware of this. There was a delay in my rebate. In the mean time my new boiler stopped working on 3 separate occasions. I also offered many times (before the payment was due) if I could make payments and was told no wait and pay it in a lump sum. Anyway the last time the boiler went off i was really hesitant to even bring it to the companies attention as the person I was dealing with was very defensive and argumentative. As soon as I did she jumped that I was trying to get out of paying the balance. which I wasn't. I then got a myriad of nasty emails. I also noticed there is an oil line replacement listed on my invoice for an oil line that was never replaced. I was hesitant to bring this up for fear of another attack but I wanted the issue resolved. I emailed with a "settlement" deducting a few hundred dollars for the oil line and harassing emails. I was then met with another round of mean emails calling me names and just not being very customer friendly. When it became clear we could not reach an agreement I stated my intention to contact the BBB and was met with an email in which I was accused of being threatening when my only intention was to find a third party to mediate since it was obvious we would not reach one on our own. I honestly just want this resolved. What's fair is fair and no customer should ever be treated or talked to in the way I have experienced. Weather I owed a balance or not I should be able to speak of any issues I have with out being met with these long argumentative emails.

Desired Settlement: I offered $800 on an $1,100 balance. I believe this would be a fair and amicable settlement.

Business Response: Please see my response attached along with documents.Thank You and I look forward to hearing from you on this matter.

*******
Titan Oil

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and I am accepting it.  While I do not agree with pretty much anything that was said in the response, I do wish to put this behind me.  That has been my problem from the beginning with Titan.  ******* wants to just keep at it. We came to an agreement yesterday in yet another unprofessional email that she sent me! But again I want to put it behind me and move on.  Its so funny because in all this ******* still has never addressed the issue of an oil line I was charged for but that was never installed.  In any event I have no interest in throwing stones back and forth with ******* or Titan. I only wish her and Titan to stop contacting me.  I have determined that via email on Nov 7th Titan oil and I were able to reach an agreement on complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had the service from Titan Oil regarding the oil burner clean up and part repair before Christmas. The company guaranted to send us invoice by email, however, We never received the invoice. We called and emailed the company a couple of times, and they are cheating again and again.

Desired Settlement: Send us the invoice.

Business Response: I was very taken back to have received this letter in the mail, as you might imagine. I received a call from ********* **** a few days before Christmas this past December 2012 asking if we could come out and do a cleanout on a system in **********, this was a home he owned and rented out. He also explained that there was an issue with the hot water he was hoping to have fixed as well. I took all of his information and scheduled his cleanout that very same day because he was concerned and asked that we get it done ASAP. Also having Christmas in a few days I knew we would need to have this done before the Holiday break. We happened to have some time available that day so we did squeeze him in. **** went to the home in ********** that day the tenants were telling **** about a problem with the furnace that they were having. After **** looked the system over and performed the cleanout he then called Mr. **** to tell him that he had found the problem and that he could fix it, but he would have to call the office to schedule another time for **** to come back and fix it.  Mr. **** called me back again and told me that he would like to schedule the appointment for **** to come fix the problem. I then went over the total cost with him and I asked him how he planned to pay? He said he would be paying by credit card which he had given me over the phone. We scheduled the appointment to change the part and he then asked me about an invoice, I explained to him that we do not bill we are a COD company so he would have to pay at time of service and that I could send him the credit card receipt via email.  I thought he understood what that meant and we were on the same page, however I learned that we were not and he didn't completely understand what I had said to him that day. I do believe it was not his fault or mine, I believe it was due to the language barrier as he does not speak English clearly enough and I did have some trouble understanding him. He called me in January 2013 asking for the invoice from the work we had done just before Christmas. I was confused and told him I had sent that receipt to him. I explained I had already sent that to him via email. He said that he was waiting for the invoice. I explained to him that when we has talked before I thought he understood that there would be no invoice just the receipt from the credit card. He then began to get angry and demanded an invoice. I told him I would have to put something together for him, but that I thought he understood and was satisfied with me emailing the credit card receipt. I told him due to him maybe not understanding me and vice verse that was causing this issue. I then explained to him that I was very busy as the Holidays had just passed and we had been on vacation from work and only just returned. I told him I would do my best to get something together for him soon. He then called my office every other day asking for this invoice. I told him each time I was doing my best and he would have something as soon as I could get it to him. Then he files a complaint with you on January 14th 2013, that is not even a full month from date of service, plus add the Holiday week off and that is even less time. As I stated the credit card was charged on December 25, 2012. I am just completely disappointed, Mr. **** called us and sounded desperate to get someone over there as he knew there was a problem with the hot water. We did our best to accommodate him as far as I am concerned, as we do for all our customers and then we get this. We took care of his problem ASAP, the credit card transaction was actually done on Christmas Day and emailed to him. We go on Holiday break and then before a month has even passed he is filing a complaint with BBB. I am just disappointed at how many people we help on a daily basis and how easy it is for one person to completely tarnish your reputation, as in this situation, its very upsetting! I take pride in my business as this is mine and my husbands company, and this is just very discouraging that a simple misunderstanding between Mr **** and myself due largely to a language barrier and now I am responding to the BBB. Thanks and contact me if you have anymore questions or need anymore documentation.

*******
Titan Oil

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I think she lied again in the response to BBB.

First, she said her company is COD company and can't issue the invoice to the customers. This is weird, as I know any company in the U.S.  including partners, com, LLC, cooperated company should be able to provide invoice to customer regarding the service charges. They charged $475 from my credit card, and I want to know where these charges come from.

Second, she mentioned in the letter that she had emailed me the receipt after service done, this is totally wrong. I never received any receipt from her. If she did, she should have it in the folder of sent email. Otherwise, she lied again. This is the reason I had called and emailed her to request a copy of invoice/receipt before I complained to BBB.

Third, nearly a month ago, she got the BBB letter and called me to explain why she couldn't issue the invoice to me. I argued with her and she left the phone message to me indicated she will send me the receipt by the end of that day. This was lying because I didn't get any email receipt from her. 
 
Taken together, I was not satisfied by their explanation.   

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1