Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Blanchard Oil Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (802) 754-2389 Fax: (802) 754-6235 View Additional Phone Numbers 30 Railroad Ave, Orleans, VT 05860 http://www.blanchardoil.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Blanchard Oil Company is a full-service home heating and plumbing company. They provide delivery of oil, propane, kerosene and diesel for residential and commercial accounts.  The also offer all plumbing and heating related services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blanchard Oil Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blanchard Oil Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1981 in VT Business incorporated 01/18/1983 in VT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Vermont Department of Public Safety
103 South Main Street, Waterbury VT 05671
http://dps.vermont.gov/
Phone Number: (802) 241-5000/888-545-7598
The number is Paul Poirier.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Blanchard, President Mr. Matthew Blanchard, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Blanchard, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Blanchard, General Manager
Number of Employees

13

Business Category

OIL BURNERS-SERVICING GAS-PROPANE FUEL KEROSENE PROPANE GAS PLUMBING PLUMBING PLAN SERVICES PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL HEATING SPECIALTIES HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HEATING CONTRACTORS FURNACES-HEATING OILS Plumbing, Heating, and Air-Conditioning Contractors (NAICS: 238220)

Service Area
Blanchard Oil Company provides their services in BLOOMFIELD, BRUNSWICK, GUILDHALL, MAIDSTONE, NEWPORT, SAINT JOHNSBURY, ST JOHNSBURY & WATERFORD, VT.
Alternate Business Names
Blanchard Oil Company, Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30 Railroad Ave

    Orleans, VT 05860 (802) 754-2389 (877) 825-2389

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 85

    Orleans, VT 05860

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a convenience store, I use a propane for heating and cooking, I did smell a fume inside the store, so I called the company for help, the service man show up and said, just the snow blocking the vent, I called him back again, cause the customer complaint about the smell, this time he said, need cleaning, I said we did clean the unit and the filter was changed also, he was very mad because the call was 4:00 am, and also propane furnace is clean and don't need that much repair, so he said you need two part to the unit, I said give me a price and write it down, he called me and said are you sitting down, I asked him why, he said because is going to cost you $8000.00 and labor with two guys total $12000.00, I told him a new one is cost $2100.00, he refuse to write it down, I called the owner of the company, he tried to cover up for him, when I called him and I did ask him to write it down, even I send him an email, no respond, then he talked to another supplier not to serve me, I got left in the cold with no heat plus, he picked up the tank full of propane and I did not get any refound until today. $200.00 and also $390.00 propane.

Desired Settlement: No body want to serve me or supply me with propane to my business, that what he wanted me to do, pay $12000.00 or no service and I have a customer as witness. we are a small town of 5000 people, we have no option at all, pay or no service.

Business Response: On 03/04/15 we received a call from the customer complainingof an inoperable heating unit.  We sentour technician on-site, where it was determined the unit was defective.  Per state propane safety regulations, wedisconnected the heating unit from our propane tanks we had on site, andexplained to the owner the repairs that were needed. The owner asked us for an estimated cost of repair.  Our technician gave him a rough estimate,and the customer declined to authorize repair at that time.  We informed him he was free to have theheating system repaired by another licensed propane technician of hischoosing.  The customer told us he wouldjust fix it himself or have a friend of his repair it.  We advised against having anyone notproperly licensed in propane service from attempting repairs, and that beforewe could re-connect our propane to this heating unit, we would need to inspectthe unit again to verify any repairs made brought the unit back in tocompliance. Days went by, and the heating unit remained untouched.  The customer became irate that we would notignore safety regulations and just re-connect the propane to the defectiveheating unit.  We again tried to explainthat we could not do this.  The customercontinued to be upset, calling us names and threatening legal action.  We reached out to the ******* ********** ** ****** ******, the president of the ******* **** ******* ************ as wellas the Attorney General’s Office to explain the situation; each of whom backedus in our “safety first” stance as we were following state and industryregulations, and stood behind us in our stance that re-connecting thisdefective heating unit obviously posed a potential safety hazard. We tried again to explain these safety implications to thecustomer, but he remained very upset. At this point, we notified him that since he was obviously dissatisfiedwith our service, and our relationship had grown so contentious, he would bebetter off finding another propane supplier. We sent him a letter notifying him of the date we would be picking upour propane tanks, while giving him sufficient time to find another propanesupplier of his choosing. The customer alleges we gave him a repair estimate of$12,000, which is just ludicrous.  Healso alleges we contacted another propane company not to serve him, which isalso untrue.  Lastly, he says we havenot credited him for the propane that was in his tanks when we picked them up –also incorrect. The customer keeps saying we have “done himwrong.”  We are not sure exactly what hethinks we have done wrong.  He had adefective heating unit.  We are bound byboth industry and state safety regulations to disconnect propane service fromdefective systems until proper repairs have been made.  It is important to keep in mind that nothinghas prevented him from having it repaired (by us or any other qualifiedtechnician), and at no time was there anything preventing this customer fromfinding an alternate propane supplier who could make these repairs and restorehis propane service.  Instead, heresorted to threats and bullying to attempt to force us to ignore safetyregulations and restore propane service to a heating unit we all knew to bedefective.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]
Dear Sir and Madam
I did send an email to you, I did forget to say, I have that feeling he got upset, because I called him at 4:00 am that day and I remember him saying, that he did work 14 hours that day, that why he did not want to do nothing's, what else is upset him, I have nothing to do with the guy, I have no problem with nobody. Thank you. #********, I did send attatchment with my email also.
Thank you

Regards,

***** *******  

 

Business Response: We are not sure what relevance any of this has to your original complaint.  In fact, we’ve lost sight of exactly what your complaint is. 

To re-cap:  You called for a service issue.  We responded.  Your heating unit was found to be defective.  For safety reasons, we
took your unit out of service, as we are obligated to do.  You then spent the next week trying to force us to restore your service without proper repairs being made to the defective
unit.  After enduring over a week of harassment and threats, we gave you notice we would be picking up our propane tanks, and you should find another supplier.  You were credited for the
propane remaining in the tanks.  During this time, nothing prevented you from having someone of your choosing make the necessary repairs, so your heating unit was no longer a hazard to yourself or
your customers.  As well, nothing has prevented you from obtaining a new propane supplier.  So what exactly have we done wrong?  We followed state and industry regulations by isolating a
potential hazard.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

As I stated before and I will stand by my value and I wrote before, when I called them, ***** who in charge of the service show up and exactly told me just need to clean the vent from the snow, because it can't breeze, I said to him please go and brush the snow away, so I don't get nocomplain from my customers, he went on the roof after 15 minute he came down and said it should be ok. I paid him $200.00 before he left the store.
I called him again and informed him, that the fume is still coming into the store, he show up and he told me it look like the unit need good cleaning, I told him please go ahead and clean it, he told me he brushed some dirt for now, he will do it when it warm up, after he left, I still can smell the fume again, he was kind of upset, he went on the roof and came down after short time, not long and he said to me he just tagged the unit and shut it off, so nobody can use it or put it on, then he said I need two part to fix it, I was very surprised by his reaction and he told me can you sign this paper, which said I can't put it on, I did not refuse to sign it, I did sign it and I told him, you just said nothing wrong with the unit, need just cleaning, very shocking, I told him ok let me know what I need and give me an estimate, how much is going to cost, because I need heat, is very cold here, he never called me at all, I called him and I told him what is going on, you said you going to call me, this is business, his respond to me, am busy and I have a lot of work, my respond to him, was will you please try to call me as soon as possible, he said he will call me in an hour, he called me and said to me, are you sitting down, I asked him why, he said because you not going to like what am going to tell you, I told him go ahead, he said to me and I have a witness heard every things beside me listen to him at the same time on speaker phone, I never have the phone to my ear never ever, when the customer heard him, I sill can hear his reaction, what, what, the new unit cost only $2100.00, plus propane furnace is not like oil furnace, nothing to it, he said $8000.00 plus labor, why in the world I got upset and I was shocked, if he did say $1200.00 like he claim, will never be an issue at all.I can't believe it, he deny it. well I can prove it by a customer and also request the whole conversation and prove it to everybody that I said the truth and I repeat it again, he told me $8000.00 and plus labor.He said that I will fix the unit my self, I never said such or a friend is going to fix it, I been in business for 50 years and I know well, have to be licenes person to fix any of the fixture or furnce or anything's to do with commercial, that why when he ask me to sign the paper I did sign it and never question it at all, never ever at any times I said I will fix it myself, is that make since to anybody.He keep creating a lot of problem for himself and keep on making story and he can't remember what he said last times to me and keep do the wrong things, I been in business for so long, I never ever have to deal with such. I called another company is called **** *****, every times I leave a message to call me, nobody called me, so I called the home office, I told them what happened, she told me, the manager is going to call you tomorrow morning, he did call me and I asked him why you did not return my phone call, he said, I was busy, so I told him, you been talking to the other company, that why you don't want to serve me, he admitted to me, yes.When he shut the tank, it was just filled, he took the two tank full, one which for heat and the second one for the kitchen, he shut the two tank, if he is honest person, why in the world he shut the the other propane tank for the kitchen, I had to call the company and ask them why did you shut the other tank, which we cook breakfast for the customers and lunch, I did advice them to open the second tank to the kitchen, and I asked what is that have to do with the heat, I did make the call at early morning, they did show up at 1:00 pm, I did lose the morning customers, then he want make sure that am not going to have business at all and he want to hurt my business, then he send me a letter to inform me that he will pick up the tank, I did advice him not to do so and I wrote an email also, not to do so, but they did pick up the two tank and they took my reglator that belong to the store. as you see I tried every thing's possibe, he was very mean and set his mind on hurting me.even when he came to store, the first time to look at the system, before he left I gave him $200.00 cash in advance. until today I have no propane and nobody want to serve me. I have one more company to ask and see what happened, I will inform you with the result.he said I bully them, what happened when he use to call me nice man and the best paying customer. I have  the right to tell him and advice him not to touch the tank at all, because of my business, and the propane is paid for it and I never owe them a penny and when they bring the propane to the store, they get paid at once, not a minute late, he use to tell me you are a very nice guy and am the best paying customer. why he took the second tank, I need an answer? one of the tank is full and I have witness and the second one is 75% full.  and the invoice prove of it. and the date.I called more than 15 company to come to fix and supply me with propane, every one said we don't serve the area.I filled application on line which was the last one I had contact with, they said we don't serve your area.I did call the Attorney General office and they requested from me to write everything's down and send it to them and they will give me special look at my case,, because I own a business, I did send a full story to them about what happened to me, that why he mention in his respond, he did send the Attorney General his story, because I have to take care of my business. I have no choice.In my business, I get to deal with a lot of people. I saw a truck say air condition, so I did ask the guy is he license he said yes, I told him I have a problem in the unit, can you look at it, he said to me, he can look at the air condition only, because he is not license for propane, I told him ok, he went up on the roof and looked at the furnace and came down and ask me where is the breaker, he put the breaker on and the air condition is working no problem, so he shut everything's back because I don't need air-condition, it's so cold here.I will call somebody license out of the town and I am willing to pay extra money to get somebody to look at it and I will let you know with the result.Thank you again for your help


Regards,

***** *******