Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

South Shore Therapies

Additional Locations

Phone: (781) 335-6663 Fax: (781) 335-6686 163 Libbey Industrial Park Way Suite 302, East Weymouth, MA 02189 View Additional Email Addresses http://southshoretherapies.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

South Shore Therapies specializes in therapy for children with special needs. These services include Sensory Integration, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy,  Listening Therapy, Feeding Therapy and more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that South Shore Therapies meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for South Shore Therapies include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on South Shore Therapies
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 24, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MA Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 01/01/2003 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 985.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Howard Szklut, Administrative Director Mrs. Stacey Szklut, Executive Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Howard Szklut, Administrative Director
Number of Employees

19

Business Category

OCCUPATIONAL THERAPISTS PHYSICAL THERAPISTS BIOFEEDBACK THERAPISTS HEALTH CARE SERVICES-SPECIAL NEEDS CHILD CARE CONSULTANTS Offices of Physical, Occupational and Speech Therapists, and Audiologists (NAICS: 621340)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Service Area
South Shore Therapies provides their services in BARNSTABLE County MA, NORFOLK County MA, PLYMOUTH County MA.
Industry Tips
Au Pair Services Au Pair Services - 5 Tips - Video Babysitting and Day Care Services Finding a Reliable Babysitter or Caregiver - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Au Pair Service - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 163 Libbey Industrial Park Way Suite 302

    East Weymouth, MA 02189 (781) 335-6663

  • 42 Winter Street Suite 25

    Pembroke, MA 02359

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: South Shore therapies submitted billing on behalf of my son to our health insurance and even after his claims were denied they never notified us and continued to see us weekly. They continued to book appointments with my son at 130 per session while insurance continued to deny the claims. Finally I was called because they were nbot charging my card on file for the deductible as they were suppose to do. Only after I questioned the reason they had not been charging me for my deductible did they realize there was something else wrong with my account (months after my insurance originally denied my claim). Then I had to go through an appeals process with my insurance company to try to get the back appointments covered because of South Shore's mishandling of my account. My insurance company declined to cover again and then this company that caused the issue if the first place sent me a bill for all of the previous appointments. Not only do we now have a bill that is outrageous and more than the insurance company would have paid per visit but we can no longer afford giving my son speech therapy because we have to pay off this enormous bill. It is totally unacceptable that my son is suffering because of the poor management of his billing and insurance claims with South Shore Therapies. They never attempted to fix this or offer any solution. I am very upset at their customer service and question whether this was an intentional business practice. If a business does something to damage their customer to should at least try and make it right which this company has not done.

Desired Settlement: To have the bill reduced or changed and to have the appropriate customer service contact and set up a reasonable way to pay back a reasonable amount. Also, I would like to have the company acknowledge their responsibility in this mess.

Business Response: Re…   complaint  #********To whom it may concernWe at South Shore Therapies work diligently to give our clients a transparent experience at our facility.  We go to great lengths to explain to parents what expenses are covered based on diligent insurance checks and past experience.  If there is an issue, we make every effort to resolve these issues with the third party payers.  We try our best to alert families up front as to their bottom line exposure, however occasionally there is a situation beyond our control that needs to be resolved.  At South Shore Therapies we have a protocol to escalate any clients’ complaints about their accounts or claims to upper level management so that we can work reasonably with the families to find a suitable resolution.  In this instance our understanding was that the parent was going to work directly with the insurance company in an attempt to resolve the matter and that if they were unable to resolve the matter they were willing to settle any outstanding balance.  Because the parent never indicated to us that they felt  South Shore Therapies was responsible for any mishandling of this account, this case was not brought to the attention of upper management.  Therefore we were not given an opportunity to resolve the situation.  This is the first time in 12 years of operation that a complaint was filed against South Shore Therapies.  We stand behind our product and service, and take any complaint very seriously! We are in the process of reaching out to the complainant to better understand what happened in this case.  Whether it was an internal breakdown or a misunderstanding will be determined.  In either scenario we will come to an amenable resolution with our client.  Once we have the resolution in place I will send additional information to The Better Business Bureau to update our file.Thank you****** ******Vice President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I appreciate the response but this clearly indicates that upper management is not aware of the situation regarding ****** ******** nor how it was mishandled by it's staff.  I spoke with South Shore Therapies in depth as well as the insurance company and while I am still trying to appeal the denial through the insurance and through the attorney general's office the fact of the matter is that South Shore Therapies was receiving rejection notices on my son's claims and never informed us. Had there not be another error on their part with billing the deductible it is very possible this would have continued to go on.  The reality of my compliant is that my son had been denied therapy since the first week of March and I was not notified until the end of August.  Months of speech therapy became my responsiblity to cover along with a hefty copayment.  At no point were any accomodations made or responsibility taken on their part.  Due to this massive failure of the therapy provider my son suffered because we could no longer continue to pay out of pocket with almost a 3000 bill due to South Shore Therapies. Regards, ****** ******