Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc.

Phone: (802) 655-6683 Fax: (802) 264-8521 View Additional Phone Numbers 276 E Allen St Ste 6, Winooski, VT 05404 http://www.vtmoving.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc. provides local and long distance moving and packing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2010 Business started: 01/05/2006 in VT Business incorporated 01/05/2006 in VT
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
87 State Street, Room 305, PO Box 338, Montpelier VT 05601
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/about/contact/offices/displayfieldroster.aspx
Phone Number: (802) 828-4480
Fax Number: (802) 828-4581
The number is 590583.

United States Department of Transportation
1200 New Jersey Ave, SE, Washington DC 20590
http://www.dot.gov/
Phone Number: 202-366-4000 / TTY = 1-800-877-8339 or 855-368-4200
The number is US DOT #1596307.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Morway, President Ms. Jennifer Morway, Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Morway, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Robert Morway, President
Number of Employees

7

Business Category

MOVERS PACKING & CRATING SERVICE STORAGE-HOUSEHOLD & COMMERCIAL MOVERS-INTRASTATE MOVERS-INTERSTATE Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Industry Tips
Hiring a Mover - 5 Tips - Video Moving Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 276 E Allen St Ste 6

    Winooski, VT 05404 (802) 655-6683 (802) 527-8200 (802) 253-2220

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract 2/19/16 for a move from Barre Vt to Ocala Fl. The amount was $3679.00 for an estamates weight of 4,177 lbs Transportation based on 4177 lb= $3356.26 Fuel surcharge. 1%=. $33.57 Insurance surcharge. 4%=. $134.25 Origin charge. $72.47 Destination charge. $83.33 I called the Thursday before our move 3/31 and spoke with ****** and she said yes everything is set and ******** would be contacting me to let me know what time the movers would be coming the following Thursday 4/7 I didn't hear anything so I called the next Tuesday and spoke to ***** and she said yes you move is all scheduled and I see now that your load won't arrive until May 14 or 15th because the other customer that was going to share the truck changed their moving date. Of course I said we can't be without our furniture and belongings for a month and a half . She said well then you will have to be an exclusive and it will cost more. The next day I got another estimate . They changed the weight to 5990lbs. Transportation based in weight = $6311.14 Fuel surcharge $63.11 Insurance surcharge $252.45 Valuation charge. $179.00 Origin charge $145.50 Destination charge. $167.30 And then they charged for packing $2415.02 And we did our own packing. So the total was $9533.52 I called and talked with ****** again and told her we did our own packing so the $2415.02 should come off so she said ok. So that same day we got another estimate from her Transportation based on 4177 =. 7881.51 notice less weight and higher price Fuel charge. $73.82 Insurance surcharge. $295.26 Valuation charge. $179.00 Origin charge. $144.94 Destination charge. $166.66 Packing. $143.18 Total. $8384.37 So I called ****** again and asked why the weight was less and the price was more. She said well let me figure it again . Next estimate Transportation based on 5990. = $7212.74 note they keep the weight high Fuel Surcharge. $72.13 Insurance surcharge $288.51 Valuation charge $179.00 Origin charge. $166.28 Destination charge $191.20 Packing. $114.56 Total $8224.42 I called ****** again to with questions on the charges again I got another estimate It was an email that said he cost for just moving was $9500.00 without any other charges so I called her again and got yet another estimate It was an estimate without any breakdown for the amount of $9732.91 so I called her again Next estimate Transportation based on 5990 lbs still didn't change the weight Fuel surcharge. $85.65 Insurance surcharge. $342.61 Valuation charges. $179.00 Origin charges. $197.46 Destination charge. $227.05 Packing charge $136.02 Total $9732.91 So at his point we had no choice as we were leaving Vermont in 2 days and keep in mind all of these estimates came in 1 day. So the movers arrived and moved us. On our trip to floriday I received an invoice from ******** ************** based in 5020 = $8565.12 Packing. $392.42 Origin $197.40 Destination $227.05 Valuation. $178.00 Insurance surcharge $179.00 Total $9989.31 ****** couldn't explain to me why the prices kept changing first she said maybe the fuel surcharge had changed then she said she out wrong figures in the system. Seems like they got us . It's money we were planning on but had no choice to pay or wait for 6 weeks for our shipment which seems rediculious. I have all the emails and estimate if needed. I am and was so frustrated with this company.

Desired Settlement: i would like a clear explanation and also a refund of some of the charges as they were far above what wa quoted

Business Response: Thank you for sending this message in and providing us the opportunity to respond.  Let me start off by stating we are deeply sorry for all of the confusion and frustration regarding your relocation.  The original estimate emailed to you and quoted was for an “in-route relocation.”  This essentially means you have a smaller shipment and the most cost effective way to transport it is to send with another shipment, priced as an in-route price.  The shipment planned to pick up in Florida after delivering your items had a closing issue.  The customer called to let us know they would not be able to have us pick up their items because their buyer walked away last minute.  Situations like this are rare, but unfortunately do happen in this industry.  Due to this, we would not be able to complete your relocation at the in-route price because we did not have another shipment to go with.  The options presented at that point were for us to pick up the items and hold them here (all at no additional cost) until the next available shipment (which at that time was May 4th or 5th), have us contact other moving companies and see if we could get your items on one of their trucks and you on their schedule, or an exclusive relocation which means paying full price for the truck for the relocation.  When you requested the rates for exclusive use of the truck, ****** ran the numbers through the tariff and provided an estimate.  The packing numbers were in the computer from 2/25 when you had requested an estimate for packing boxes.  When the boxes were entered into the computer, it also calculates the estimated weight for the boxes and adds to the total (the reason the first estimate was 4,177 pounds and the second estimate was 5,990 pounds).  She then removed the packing and resent the estimate.  The current fuel surcharge is 1% (which charges 1% of the transportation charge).  ****** did give you 5% off of the exclusive charge for your relocation on your estimate, and your actual charges at the end.  The total charges were based on your actual weight of 5,020 lbs. (the original estimated weight was based upon a list of items your provided, and not an in home estimate).  After reviewing your file on Tuesday and entering your totals into our payment database, an error was found.  The actual weight field did not save when computing total charges, which means you were charged on the estimate of 5,990 pounds, as opposed to the actual weight of 5,020 pounds.  This means the total bill should have been: Transportation:  $7,591.14 Packing:  $392.42 Origin:  $165.48 Destination:  $190.29 Fuel:  $75.91 Full Value Coverage:  $179.00 Ins. Surcharge:  $303.65 Total charges:  $8897.89 This computes to a $1,091.42 overpayment on your account.  A check will be mailed immediately to you (please confirm the correct mailing address).  I hope this explanation helps, but understand your valid frustration.  This is not the way our company normally operates, and your file seemed to be cursed with issues.  I again personally apologize for all of the confusion and hope our quick handling of the situation helps alleviate the frustration.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. My mailing address for the check is ****** **** **** ***** ** ***** ****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Vermont Moving & Storage, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)