Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc. is a residential and commercial local, interstate and international moving company. The company offers storage, craning, moving and unpacking services as well as a furniture elevator.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc. include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 29, 1990 Business started: 01/01/1980 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1985 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Department of Telecommunications and Cable
1000 Washington Street, Boston MA 02118
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dtc-lp/
Phone Number: 1-800-392-6066 or 617-305-3531
Fax Number: 617-988-8288
The number is 7133.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry O'Toole, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry O'Toole, President
Number of Employees

250

Business Category

MOVERS FURNITURE REPAIRING & REFINISHING STORAGE-HOUSEHOLD & COMMERCIAL PACKING & CRATING SERVICE MOVERS-INTERSTATE Used Household and Office Goods Moving (NAICS: 484210)

Alternate Business Names
Box Xpress Gentle Giant Moving & Storage Gentle Giant Restoration and Conservation
BBB Program Participation

BBB Community Patrons
BBB Community Patrons are like-minded businesses that see ethics as the key factor in creating a stronger, healthier business community.

BBB Community Patrons' additional financial support enables BBB to pursue distinctive, mission-based programs focused on ethics that would not be possible if not for the generous backing from BBB Community Patron Sponsors.

Licensing

Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission and Division of Public Utilities and Carriers

Industry Tips
Finding a Reliable Furniture Store - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Mover - 5 Tips - Video Moving Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Gentle Giant Moving Co., Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Burlington Avenue

    Wilmington, MA 01887 (978) 988-7942

  • 117 Elliott Street

    Beverly, MA 01915 (978) 922-2553

  • 125 Amaral Street

    Riverside, RI 02915 (401) 453-4400

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    199 Constitution AvenueSte 5

    Portsmouth, NH 03801

  • 25 Grove Street

    Franklin, MA 02038 (508) 298-6061

  • 29 Harding Street

    Somerville, MA 02143 (800) 442-6863 (617) 661-3333

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    29 South Depot Plaza

    Tarrytown, NY 10591 (914) 997-0019

  • 360 Cedar Hill St.

    Marlborough, MA 01752 (508) 620-1177

  • 40 Grissom Road, Unit 2K

    Plymouth, MA 02360 (508) 747-5525

  • 422 Hillside Avenue

    Needham, MA 02494 (781) 453-8788

  • 531 Main Street Rear

    Acton, MA 01720 (978) 263-0003

  • 65 Bay State Drive

    Braintree, MA 02184 (781) 340-9999

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    71 S. Orcas Street

    Seattle, WA 98108 (216) 203-0426

  • 5 Pine Street extension  6 south st

    Nashua, NH 03060 (603) 886-3500

  • 7351 Lockport Place, Unit H

    Lorton, VA 22079 (703) 372-2589

  • 3827 Barringer Dr.

    Charlotte, NC 28217

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 7, 2013, I booked two hours total with two movers from Gentle Giant as a going away gift for my nanny, who was planning to pack up her entire apartment into a *****, drive 1,000 miles, then unpack the truck, with only her husband to help. Before I agreed to work with Gentle Giant, I spoke extensively with **** ******** about this unique situation. Since this was not my move, and I would not be on sight day of, and therefore had no control or ability to sign off on charges, **** agreed that the total hours would be capped at the two hour minimum. Our nanny understood that this gift was a gesture, and that we were not able to pay for the entire move for them (much as we would have liked to). She was just thrilled to have help with the heavy furniture. At no point did Gentle Giant or **** contact me to tell me the crew was extending their stay beyond the two hour cap. When I discovered the charges on my ******** ******* bill, I found that they had billed me for nearly four hours of work, plus a $100 additional surcharge, which was never explained. (Online reviews suggest this might be a pet surcharge --- our nanny has a cat --- though no where in Gentle Giant's contract does it mention such a fee, and no one from Gentle Giant has ever called me back to explain the excessive bill.) Gentle Giant offered a voucher to fix the problem. But a voucher is useless when I live in a home I have no plans to leave anytime soon. And in order to use this voucher, I would need to spend hundreds of dollars more to meet their minimum service requirements.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $100 fee, which was never mentioned, nor was it listed on the Gentle Giant contract. Refund fees charged beyond the agreed upon two guys for two hours.

Business Response: Good Afternoon, I hope all is well and I apologize as there must be some sort of confusion that I would like to clarify.  I do want to thank you for choosing Gentle Giant for moving services.  I have looked over your file, Estimate and bill for this particular job. First and foremost,  I want to clarify that Gentle giant does not charge extra fee's for customer's with pets. The company never has been in this practice and never will. (however, the company does charge an additional  fee for abnormally large items such as, 600lbs safes etc. But, those charges are discussed with the customer beforehand so there are no surprises.  Looking over the paperwork for your job, there was no additionally fee for any such services. I do notice on your Bill that you prepaid a non-refundable $100 deposit to hold your move date and that $100 was deducted from the balance of your bill. Your total bill came to $626.25 then the crew chief deducted your $100 deposit, leaving $526.25 due for the moving services.  It is also important to note that the Crew Chief crossed out the $30.00 fuel charge, saving you an additional $30.00. Moreover, Gentle Giant runs jobs that are either booked as a 4 hour minimum or a 2 hour minimum jobs. Morning jobs, which are bigger jobs are the 4 hour minimums and afternoon jobs are smaller and booked as two hour minimums. Gentle giant does not do "capped" moves for 2 hours etc, because our crews get paid on an hourly basis and if a customer has more items or more packing for the crew to handle that the customer did not discuss during the booking process it makes the moving process go  longer. Meaning, if the moves were Capped at 2 hours they would have to stop the job without completing services, and that is something the company would never do to any customer.  ****, has been a sales person with Gentle Giant for over 10 years and knows the importance of the sales process and understands that the unexpected can occur on a job to increase the amount of time a move may take etc. I have pulled the original estimate that was emailed to you on 8/5/2013 that included charges for a 2 man crew to work between 2-3 hours at an hourly rate of $167.00. The estimate total came to $567.66.  (The difference between the estimate and final bill for this move was $58.59) This move was only slightly above the estimate that your salesperson provided prior to moving.  Additionally, the Bill for the move does not include any additional charges, only the $30.00 fuel charge that was waived and the $100.00 deposit that was deducted from the total. I certainly hope that this note clarifies the charges from your August moving bill. Again, I apologize if there was any confusion on your bill in August. Kindest Regards

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.    

Business Response: Good Afternoon, Thank you for the response.Typically, when these types of situations arise, the issue gets handled in-house during the phone call when the customer calls in. It is an extremely rare situation when one of our customers log a complaint with the BBB the day after they call into the company to inquire about an issue surrounding their move. More often than not, our customer's appreciate how we take the time to explain and work through their concern with a real conversation. They often say it is refreshing to speak with a live person and remind us that this approach is lost with a lot of business's now in the world of social media and instantaneous results. We try our best to  explain not only the bill to them, but spend time giving them more of a background on our company and values of putting service ahead of the dollar. Because of that reason, we always take the time when a customer calls in on an issue to have a conversation with them and include them on the conversation.  As a company we value customer service and even though this issue was brought to our attention over 6 months after the move occurred we wanted to have a conversation about it.  It is important to note that per the letter of the law, as a company we could have chose to let this issue go and do nothing as it was reported multiple months after the deadline to report a claim and we would have been within our legal right. However, that is not how we want to operate. Instead, we wanted to explain the situation and work to clarify any confusion. Therefore,  we will pay you $100 if that is what it takes to make you walk away feeling satisfied. Kind Regards

10/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DAMAGED FURNITURE.

Desired Settlement: I was charged,and paid $1266.00. The furniture alone is worth at least $1600.00 this furniture was dropped and caused permanent damage.i notified American Express co also.all I want is for an insurance adjuster to come out to my appartment.i have got no response from gentle giant moving co.all they sent me was a handy man with a bucket of paint.please help me with this matter.thank you ***** *****

Business Response: Good Morning,  I hope this finds you well. I want o address the following BBB complaint from our mutual customer. At the time that this complaint was sent we were already in the process of working on this customer's claims.  Unfortunately, the items that appear to be damaged are Particle/Press-board furniture. Accordingly, these items are not covered items by any moving company in Massachusetts because the items cannot withstand moving and are easily damaged.

Therefore, the customer wanted us to send out an Insurance Adjuster to look at the particle board furniture. If we sent out an insurance adjuster the claim would have been denied outright, as there is no insurance coverage for particle board items because the material is just not sturdy, especially during transit.  Instead, out of good faith we have offered to send out another vendor in the hopes of possibly  repairing the items and the customer was not happy with this offer. As a company we were looking out for our customer.

Moreover, the day that this complaint was filed we were in the process of trying to reach the customer to get manufacturing information on the items so we could try and order replacement parts to fix the ones that were damaged. (Now mind you, these items are not covered in the moving industry because they are easily damaged, however we are looking to work with the customer to bring this to a resolution. Therefore, I am slightly confused as to why a complaint has been filed when we are and have been working on this issue with the customer.) Again, although there is no insurance coverage for these particle board items and the state does not require moving companies to cover them because of the composite material that is easy to break or come loose, we are still committed to helping the customer out in making sure he is happy with the resolution. We request that you allow us to finish the claim process before escalating this complaint further.

8/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The written contract that I signed with ***** ****** stated that Gentle Giant would help us move on Thursday June **, 2013 between the hours of 12 to 4 pm, and they would arrive with two movers. The movers failed to arrive within the hours stated by our contract. They arrived after 4 pm and because the truck that was scheduled to arrive for our job (out of the Needham, MA location) did not complete their morning assignment in time, Gentle Giant sent a different truck (from their Somerville, MA location) with three movers and then required me to pay for the third mover which was an additional cost beyond what my original contract stated of $217 per hour. We were not only inconvenienced by the delay in them arriving after the time scheduled, but were also forced to pay for costs beyond our original contract to complete the move that day which seems very dishonest to me as a consumer. It seems they overbooked their morning schedule and could therefore not accomodate our needs and did not live up to their end of the contract.

Desired Settlement: I would like Gentle Giant to completely reimburse me for the cost of the third mover. I paid a discounted rate to get the move done on time, but I feel this was completely unfair and they should have waived that cost of adding a third mover after inconveniencing me and my time, especially as this was something that I did not request. They failed to meet up to their end of our written agreement. I am seeking a credit of $434 for my time and inconvenience in this matter and to cover the cost of the third mover that I did not schedule per my contract.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Consumer Response:

5/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable