BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

1-800 East West Mortgage Company

Phone: (800) 327-8937 Fax: (508) 573-8326 View Additional Phone Numbers 171 Locke Drive, Marlborough, MA 01752 http://www.eastwestmortgage.com

! There is an alert on 1-800 East West Mortgage Company !

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

1-800 East West Mortgage Company offers residential mortgage lending for the purchase or re-finance of residential real estate. Loan programs are offered for a variety of credit circumstances. In addition to conventional programs both FHA and VA options are available. 

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on 1-800 East West Mortgage Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 09, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1990 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Avenue , Cranston RI 02920
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us/divisions/banking/
Phone Number: 401-462-9617
Fax Number: 401-462-9602
DBR.BankInquiry@dbr.ri.gov
The license number is 20001173LL.

Massachusetts Division of Banks
1000 Washington Street, 10th Floor, Boston MA 02118-6400
http://www.mass.gov/dob/
Phone Number: 617-956-1500
Fax Number: 617-956-1599
The license number is 2750.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Spencer, Senior Vice President Mr. Jeffrey Jones, Compliance Manager Mr. Michael Roy, Director of Corporate Compliance
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeffrey Jones, Compliance Manager
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Roy, Director of Corporate Compliance
Principal: Mr. Mark Spencer, Senior Vice President
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

MORTGAGES-LENDER FINANCING BANKS Mortgage and Nonmortgage Loan Brokers (NAICS: 522310)

Products & Services

1-800 East West Mortgage Company offers the following product(s): FHA Mortgage, Residential Mortgage , VA Mortgage

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
S: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Su: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Check

Visa

MasterCard

American Express

Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states their refund policy is disclosed in writing prior to accepting any fee. A mortgage loan originator can answer any questions you may have about the refund policy. 
Service Area
1-800 East West Mortgage Company provides their services in COLORADO , CONNECTICUT , FLORIDA , INDIANA , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE , NEW YORK & PENNSYLVANIA.
Industry Tips
Adjustable Rate Mortgages Advance Fee Mortgage and Loan Brokers Choosing a Bank Home Equity Loans Mortgages - Broker Newlywed Finances Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    171 Locke Drive

    Marlborough, MA 01752 (800) 327-8937 (508) 573-8000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (508) 573-8000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a follow up to my original complaint.I was refunded my deposit after my original complaint , however I just want to reiterate my dissatisfaction with the company in hopes that other people will not waste their time as I did.I just closed on a refinance with a REAL bank yesterday. The process was so vastly different than my experience at east west that I have to voice it . I first went to east west in august for a refinance after months of getting paperwork for them, canceling a credit card for them,having to get more paper work for them, having them not respond to my phone calls, and having to get even more paperwork for them, having the university my wife teaches at contact them directly, and having them ask for even more paper work they finally sent me a notice that they would not be refinancing my home because of a "lack of credit history"! I guess having owned 2 homes, never being late on a payment, having credit cards for 20 years , having paid off multiple vehicle loans, and having credit scores of 750 and 840 is not enough credit history. After the dust settled I went to a REAL bank which I should have done in the first place. I explained the story to the loan officer at the bank and she asked me some questions and couldn't understand why they had declined my refinance. I gave the bank some basic information, and tax returns and one month later I am refinanced!

Desired Settlement: I only hope my story is read by people before they make the mistake of getting involved with this terrible company.

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. *********** is still dissatisfied at this time.  As the complaintant has acknowledged, we have already responded to his initial complaint (BBB case # *******) supporting our position, and refunded the entire deposit per his desired settlement in the interest of customer satisfaction.  He is not requesting additional settlement at this time, and appears only to be reiterating his original complaint.  As such, we consider this matter settled. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/10/2012 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******* Senior Loan Officer 1-800 East West Mortgage ###-###-#### ***************************** *** ******* is very harassing and I have repeatedly asked him to stop calling and emailing me and he absolutely refuses. He is at the point of harrassment and I need this to stop.

Desired Settlement: I need *** ******* to discontinue contacting me over and over and over again

Business Response: First, I wish to extend an apology to Ms. ****** on behalf of 1-800-EastWest and *** *******. I would have liked to extend the apology in a more personal manner but as her complaint is about harassing phone calls and emails. Calling or emailing her did not seem appropriate. If she would like to speak with me I can be reached at ###-###-####. Second, I want her to know complaint has been taken very seriously by senior management of 1-800-EastWest Mortgage. Significant efforts were made to research and address her complaint.  We are in the process of reviewing our procedures to ensure that customers that do not wish to be contacted are removed from active phone and email lists.

Ms. ****** originally initiated contact with 1-800-EastWest on 3/19/12 with the submission of an online inquiry. At that time the inquiry was assigned to ***. From that point our records indicate that *** made several unsuccessful attempts to contact Ms. ****** by phone and email. On 4/3/2012 *** ceased making phone calls phone number on file and the file was later marked as do not call. However, *** did not mark the file as do not email. Because of that Ms. ****** continued to receive six system generated emails at various intervals with the last being generated on 7/2/12 which was likely the basis of this complaint. As our records only contain one phone number and email address our inquiry into Ms. ******** complaint is limited to those contacts. It should be noted, Ms. ****** could have opted out of receiving emails at anytime through a link contain in each system generated email she received.

The content and the tone of the emails received is far from harassing as seen in the example below of an actual email received by Ms. ******.

Hello,
It has been about a month since you expressed interest in mortgage financing and I wanted to touch base with you. I understand you may not be ready to move forward at this time.  As mentioned in an earlier email, I am eager to offer you information and advice based on the collective experience of 1-800 East West Mortgage. I want to make sure everything has been done to equip you with the information needed to make the right decision when the time comes. So let me suggest a few things to consider whenever you do decide to move forward.

1. How long do you plan to stay in the home? Your decision to take a lower interest rate loan for a few years could put more money into your pocket now.  However, if you’re not staying long, it could prove worthwhile for me to present a cost benefit analysis so you can make an informed decision about the true cost savings.

2. Points or no Points? A point is typically 1% of the total mortgage loan. In general, “higher points” tends to mean a lower interest rate over the life of the loan. “No points” tends to mean lower up-front costs, but slightly higher interest rates over the term of the loan.

3. Make an "Apple to Apples" Interest Rate Comparisons. Make sure you compare interest rates using a constant number of points. When faced with the need to compare rates you should convert each different type of loan into one quoted with
a constant number of points. A 7% rate tied to 2 points is a lot more expensive then a 7% rate with 0 points.

If you would like further information, or if I can help you compare some loans, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
 
As of 07/3/12 both Ms. ******** phone and email address have been disabled in 1-800-EastWest’s contact databases.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

On the bottom of the emails I recieved from *** there was NO option to opt out of the emails. However I did send *** 4 emails to PLEASE remove me from his list and to stop emailing me. He continued to do so and it is beyond frustrating.
I would be more than happy to forward the emails that I sent to *** to any party at First West Mortgage.


 

 

Business Response: Please forward all emails received from or sent to *** to ****************************. We would like to review the emails. Emails *** may have sent in direct response to Ms. ******** inquiry would not contain an opt out. The system gemrated email contains the opt out link. We are taking this complaint seriously but have been given limited information from Ms. ******. Primary concerns are the content of the emails and the time period in which they were sent.  


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to refinance a mortgage in July/August of 2011 through East-West mortgages "$500 closing cost" program. Of these costs, $40 is paid upfront for a credit report, and $360 is paid up front for an appraisal. Assuming the appraisal is favorable to the mortgage terms, additional costs go to the remainder of the closing. The appraiser that was assigned to my file was from a company in the suburbs of Boston, but was selected to appraise my unit in the city of Boston. The majority of the conversations I had with the appraiser was to understand how much I paid for the unit. He seemed focused on determining a current value based on the value paid and amount of money invested in the unit (I had the unit entirely renovated - kitchen, bathroom, electrical upgrades). However, he did not seem to pay too close attention to the value of units in the neighborhood. 1. The appraiser chose 5 "comparable" properties - 4 of them were previous sales, and 1 was still on the market. Of the 5 chosen "comparable" properties, the appraiser indicated that 4 of them were not "similar enough" to weight them in the calculation of my unit's value. If this is the case, then why were those 4 chosen as "comparable"? 2. In addition, the appraiser states that "Sale 2 required the least number of adjustment, least net adjustment and was closest to the subject in terms of proximity; therefore, most weight was given to its indicated value". In actuality, Comparable #4 was actually the least number of adjustments, least net adjustment, and was within a block of my property. I am still unsure as to why Comparable 4 wasn't similar enough to my unit to use in the comparison, but I do know that the only difference indicated on the appraiser was that my unit had a deck and this comparable did not. Even as such, this comparable sold for higher than what I was trying to have my unit appraised at. 3. The difference between Sale 2 and Comparable #4 was that Sale 2 was a ground level unit in the city, while Comparable 4 was second floor, as is my unit. The appraiser valued my unit at the value of Sale 2, and maintains that a ground floor unit is worth the same amount as higher floor units. Additional comps chosen by the appraiser included a unit in the **** *** (a different neighborhood than where I live, so it was disregarded as "not being similar enough") and a unit in *** ******* - not as nice an area. this unit was the appraisers basis for indicating that a ground floor unit is worth as much as a higher floor, because this unit in a non-desirable neighborhood were equivalently priced. 4. After trying to challenge the appraisal for almost a month, I finally got in contact with the appraiser to as questions. however, at the same time, I was informed by my loan officer that the window to close the loan had passed and if I wanted to continue, I would need to start the process all over again. At this time, they would assign an appraiser again, although there was no way to tell who would get assigned to my file. I did hear recently that banks aren't supposed to require a specific appraiser, but it seems that it was even above my loan officers ability to Summary: Appraiser didn't use valid comps and indicates so on his appraisal (indicates he disregarded 4 comps that weren't similar enough) Apprasier's calculation didn't factor in the "valid" comps in his report (disregarded comp 4 which was the most similar to my unit) Couldn't get a response from Appraiser for a month (finally got a phone call back, but the appraiser couldn't look up any of his information due to a power outage) Couldn't get the loan officer to respond to emails (other than to spam me with additional sales offers) until it was too late to do anything

Desired Settlement: If East-West mortgage can't provide an appraiser who is knowledgeable with the city of ******, I should not be held accountable to pay for such appraisal, especially when there is evidence to suggest the appraiser didn't provide an accurate value. In fact, a week after the appraisal, a unit sold across the street for 30K higher than what we were trying to appraise my unit at. This unit was not renovated/up to date. In addition, there is a unit for sale (just listed) in my building for 50K higher than what we were trying to appraise my unit at. This unit doesn't have the outdoor space that my unit has. These go to show that the appraisal was in fact as inaccurate as the appraiser says in his report.

Business Response:

The appraisal of Mr. ********* property was conducted by an independent third party appraiser who is licensed and qualified by the ************ ** ************** This appraiser has significant experience in the market. A review of the appraisal indicates that it was completed under current UDAP guidelines. The resulting value was less than 5% lower than the estimated value provided by Mr. ******* at the time of application. 

In the interest of customer satisfaction, 1-800-Eastwest Mortgage will be refunding Mr. ********* application fee.     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/16/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I applied for a FHA loan with East/West back in early July 2011. We were informed then that we had to give them a $400 application fee, we paid the fee by using my visa card. The payment was paid by my visa on 07/20/2011. Although this is called a non-refundable application fee it states in their paper work that.... " I understand that this application fee is non-refundable unless my application is denied for credit related reasons based on information provided by me at the time of application." We were sent a letter of denial back on 08/11/2011. Our loan processor, "****** ***" tried to talk to the under writer and explain our situation in greater detail. They still denied us. We have contacted ****** ***, and his assistant ******** ******** on several occasions by phone. After leaving several messages and sometimes getting a return call we still have not received our refund! All we get is the run around! Todays date is 09/29/2011 we believe we have been more than patient with East/West.

Desired Settlement: We would like our $400 refund that we are entitled to. Refund can be put back on our credit card, or paid by check and sent to us.

Business Response: Mr and Mrs ****** are not automatically entitled to a refund of their application fee because of a denial for credit related reasons. The Non-refundable Application Fee Disclosure clearly states "Should information provided by me at the time of application be incorrect upon verification and result in a denial for credit reasons the application fee is non-refundable" 

In the interest of customer satisfaction, the application fee will be refunded.  It is expected the credit to their card will be processed on or about 10/07/2011.     

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1