BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Thriveworks?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Thriveworks

Phone: (617) 395-5806 View Additional Phone Numbers 872 Massachusetts Ave Ste 2-2, Cambridge, MA 02139 http://www.thriveboston.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Thrive Boston Counseling; also doing business as Thrive Counseling LLC, provides mental health counseling, life coaching, and psychotherapy services to individuals, couples and families. We help clients with depression, anxiety, addictions, and other life issues.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Thriveworks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Thriveworks include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Thriveworks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 03, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2008 in MA Business incorporated: 09/23/2008 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 6934.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Anthony Centore , Director
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Anthony Centore , Director
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES LIFE COACH PSYCHOTHERAPISTS PSYCHOLOGISTS COUNSELORS-MARRIAGE, FAMILY, CHILD & INDIVIDUAL Offices of Physicians, Mental Health Specialists (NAICS: 621112)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Su: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Thrive Boston Counseling Thrive Boston Counseling and Psychotherapy Thrive Boston Therapy Thrive Boston Therapy and Life Coaching

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Thriveworks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 872 Massachusetts Ave Ste 2-2

    Cambridge, MA 02139 (617) 395-5806

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (781) 894-2753 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Thriveworks when I was looking for career counseling as I was unemployed and looking for a fresh perspective on my job hunt. I spoke with ****** in their "support team" and asked about their services. When she said they offered career counseling, I signed up for a session with one of their counselors who I was told had many years of experience in that field, ******* ********. I feel that I was fairly clear that I was looking for career counseling as opposed to mental health/career counseling (which will come into play shortly). This 45-50 minute session was going to cost $130 and I planned to pay out of our Health Savings Account, as opposed to going through insurance. It is worth noting that I thought it was odd that insurance would pay for career counseling. I attend my session and in the initial questioning, I say that what I'm looking for is career counseling, a fresh perspective on my job hunt, and possibly thoughts on some different directions I can take my search based on my skills. ******* said something to the effect of "well I can't do that right now", and explained the limitations of a single session. Let the record show that other initial questions involved "how is your relationship with your father? With your mother? " and "how was your childhood" which are questions I don't necessarily feel are relevant for career counseling. The rest of the session was basically an attempt at career counseling, which didn't really add anything new to my job search and there was no real inquiry into my skill set etc. While I'm sure that ******* is a very talented and accomplished mental health/ career counselor, he was not able to deliver what I was looking for in a session which was more of a skill assessment and career advice/counseling. In my first call to Thriveworks after the session, I voiced my disappointment to ****** explaining that I felt like I had been duped into coming into to talk to a shrink, and didn't really get any new advice on new directions my skill set could take me. I asked her to refund at least a portion of my $130 to which she replied she would speak with her clinical director and get back to me shortly. Well about 3 months go by and as I don't see a charge on the account, I assume that they have decided not to charge me so I leave it alone. However, we later receive a statement seeing that they have charged the account. This is about 2 months after the original session and phone call, and they never called me back to come up with a solution. So I call and speak with ****** again, who is apologetic for not getting back to me, and she says once again that she will speak with her clinical director and call me the next day. That was last week and I have not received a call back and as a result, I am filing this complaint. I feel like I the advertised career counseling service was more of a mental health session and the follow up on getting this resolved has been terrible.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the $130 for my session with ******* ********.

Business Response: I contacted Mr. ********* regarding this incident.  I apologized for the delay in our response.  Mr. ********* was, indeed, a client of ours. He came for one therapy session in July, in search of career counseling.  He was looking for a type of service that we do not specifically provide.  Since we focus more on mental health counseling, and not on career-type counseling, we were not the best fit for him.

He reached out to us after this appointment, and again in mid-October 2013, asking if we would consider a partial refund of his money for the session that he attended on July 23, 2013.  He stated to one of our scheduling team members that he had noticed the fee on a recent credit card statement and remembered that he had wanted to contact us regarding a refund.  

We failed to address his concern in a timely fashion.  We have addressed Mr *********'s concern by refunding $75 of his $130 fee, which is more than his initial request for a reimbursement of half of his fee. 

When I spoke with him on 11/04/13, he explained that he felt that the information on our website is misleading, with regards to career counseling.  I met with our Director of Marketing today (11/05/130 and we will be revising the wording of our current information in efforts to be more clear and transparent regarding the services we provide.

Regards,
******* *******
Director of Clinic Operations

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

It is worth noting that although their website is a little misleading, it was more the conversations I had with their support staff that had me convinced that they would be able to help me out.  However, as stated above, I am satisfied with the follow up by **** and am glad that they will be looking into changing the way the advertise their business as well as the way they talk to prospective clients about it.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We tried to schedule several appointments with counselors at this business for couples counseling. We specifically requested a female counselor, and said we did not want the male counselor they offered. We were given an appointment with *** ******* ***********. The appointment was cancelled by phone as we walked in the building. Since the customer service rep indicated that it was the doctor's mistake she told us that the doctor herself would be calling to apologize and reschedule. She never did. We tried to reschedule- they rescheduled us an appointment with the original male doctor,. We were not aware of this until we got there so we went to the appointment and tried though we were both really uncomfortable, and he was very professional. Additionally there was communication barrier with him due to language issues. We might have considering trying further with
him, but we both truly had a hard time understanding him (and it seemed he did with us) and since we explicitly requested a female counselor we decided to try again. We then tried to reschedule with *** ******* ***********. We got another appointment. We had completed all of their paperwork in advance and provided it to them at the previous appointment, but apparently they dont have access to it. We were told specifically that
she would. When we arrived we were told we needed to take time from our appointment to complete it again. While we were filling out the paperwork, another woman entered the office and spoke to the doctor. It appeared there were 2 people there for the same appointment. The doctor left to check the schedule. She returned and told us we would have to reschedule because the scheduling people made a mistake. She did not apologize. I said
we would not be coming back to their service ever again. I explained that we had been rescheduled more than once with her and we had been basically deceived into going to another doctor in that office. She made no apology or excuse. She said we could return in 3 hours for an open slot, but we had now twice arranged to take time off from work and we could not make that appointment and we both felt there would be no therapeutic affect since
we were both so incredibly disappointed in her lack of professionalism and inability to take responsibility for what happened. I subsequently phoned the scheduling office to tell them what happened. They said it was the doctor's error, that we were scheduled for that time and the doctor made a mistake. This was the only time I heard a sincere apology for what happened. We were very upset. It claims on this business's website that "your first appointment is this week." It has been nearly a month. We feel deceived, like we wasted so much time attempting to get an appointment with these people which we could have spent trying to find another doctor with some
level professional ethics. We were incredibly flexible in our scheduling, but they could not find a way to actually get us an appointment. We were willing to accept a mistake- even two, but 3 times we were deceived by these people. The primary function of their business is to provide professional counseling assistance to people in times of emotional need or crisis. Even with all of the mistakes, any person with common sense and who is supposed
to have an understanding of the human mind would have said they were very sorry. Those should have been her first words. But clearly, this is missing from *** ************* professional skills and repertoire. Considering this, we think their behavior was appalling and they should not have an "A" rating for service. Nobody should have to deal with this but especially not people in the middle of a very difficult time.

Desired Settlement: I wished we would have gotten a sincere apology from the doctor, since this is supposed to be a professional therapeutic environment but we didn't. If possible I think they should take down their claim that the first appointment
will be in a week. This is clearly not feasible for them. This business should not have an "A" rating from the BBB, if this is how they treat their clients.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:
I am writing to inform you that Thriveworks Counseling & Life Coaching has made a formal response to complaint. We regret the unfortunate circumstances surrounding this incident and have made our best effort to resolve this issue with our client. I have included a copy of my response to *** *******, as well as the letter that was sent from her therapist, *** ******* ************ I rust that these measures will adequately bring resolution to this complaint. At Thriveworks Counseling & Life Coaching, we seek to provide the highest level of care for each of our clients. While this complaint was painful to learn of, we recognize that we have areas that are in need of improvement. We have addressed these areas
and will continue to seek ways to improve the quality of service that we provide to each of our clients.Please contact me if you require additional information regarding this incident. I would be more than happy to do whatever it takes to bring resolution to this matter and restore Thriveworks Counseling & Live Coaching to its exemplary status with the Better Business Bureau ******* ******** Executive Director of Operations My name is ******* ******* and I am the Director of Clinic Operations for Thriveworks/ThriveBoston. It has recently come to my attention about your experience at our Boston clinic on May 17, 2032 and June 5, 2012.

I would like to begin by extending my most sincere apologies for your recent counseling experience with ThriveBoston. I am truly sorry for your negative experience with us. Your time is very valuable; so when I learned that two of your three sessions were cancelled due to doublebooking, I was deeply grieved for you.
I assure you that this is not our standard operating procedure at ThriveBoston. You have my word that this situation has been addressed and measures have been taken to prevent this type of situation from happening again. If you are willing
to give us another chance, I would like offer you the opportunity to return to us. In an effort to earn your trust, I would like to offer you the opportunity to resume couples counseling with either *** ******* *********** or another fernale therapist.

Should you decide to return to ThriveBoston, I will authorize a waiver of your Copay of $30 per session in the amount of eight (8) counseling sessions. I would like for you to contact me directly to schedule these appointments. Thank you for showing the courage to formalize a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. While the information shared in this report is unpleasant for me to hear, I recognize that we have some areas in need of improvement. I was surprised to learn of your initial cancellation and shocked to find out that it happened twice. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention. These matters have my full attention and I will work hard to ensure that they do not happen again. Once again, please accept my apologies. It is our goal at ThriveBoston to provide quality care to each of our clients in a manner that is both caring and professional. I trust that I have addressed your concerns If not, however, I am more than willing to schedule a time when we can talk on the telephone. If you would like to schedule a time to speak by phone, please  let me know of the day and time that would work best for you.

Sincerely,
******* *******
Director of Clinic Operations
***********************
£*************

Dear *** ****** *******, I am writing to apologize for your dissatisfaction with our services at Thrive Boston Counseling and Life Coaching. I am aware that there was an error in rescheduling your appointment, and that this happened two times in a row. I am very sorry that this occurred, and I am 100% at fault for this error. It is rare to have one scheduling mistake, let alone two in a row, and I can only imagine how frustrating such an experience would be I also strongly
regret the way I reacted to you when you came in for intake. I feel my reaction was not well thought out and the situation could have been handled more professionally. Again, I am truly sorry. ******, I want you to know that your feedback
is appreciated, as I plan to use your feedback as a teaching moment. ******, I can imagine that your previous experience has not led you to think well of Thrive Boston, or me. However, if you are willing to give us another try,I would like it
to be on us. I would like to offer you 3 cash-pay sessions on us. Or, if you are using insurance, we would like to provide 8 sessions of co-pays on us. You could reschedule with me, or with any provider at the office. I am aware that you wanted to see a female counselor, and we do have two other female therapists at our practice. If this is something you are interested in, just call us at ###-###-#### and our scheduling team can set you up. Also, if you wish to reach me directly, please feel free to do so anytime by calling ###-###-####, extension #***. ******* ************ Psy,D. Staff Psychologist

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I received the apology and their offer. Although I will NOT be taking them up on their offer of returning (as it would not be productive), I appreciate and accept their apologies. It meant a great deal to me, especially the doctor's letter.I would caution this business against using off-site schedulers, as it appears they cannot effectively communicate with the doctors. What happened to me could easily happen again if this continues unchanged. The fact that it happened more than once
to me is evidence of this. Regardless of how good their actual services are (I have no basis for judgment), if they have terrible internal communication, it damages their credibility as a provider of guidance and therapy.Thank you all for you assistance in addressing my concerns.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1