Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates

Phone: (781) 239-3550 Fax: (781) 239-3272 372 Washington Street, Wellesley Hills, MA 02481

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates is a multi-disciplinary mental health group practice dedicated to providing mental health services to children, adolescents, adults and families. The company states that consumers should call for more information and appointments between the hours of 9am-7pm; Monday through Thursday, and 9am-6pm; Fridays.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1997 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Board of Registration in Medicine
200 Harvard Mill Square, Wakefield MA 01880
Phone Number: 781-876-8200 or TTY: (781) 876-8395 or Consumer Hotline: (800) 377-0550
Fax Number: (781) 876-8383
The number is 53793.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Bruce Black, President
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Bruce Black, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates offers the following product(s): Counselors-Marriage, Family, Child, and Individual, Mental Health Services

Service Area
Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
Bruce Black, MD, PC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Comprehensive Psychiatric Associates has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    372 Washington Street

    Wellesley Hills, MA 02481


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife had an appointment with the company listed in the complaint. Upon arrival they collected her insurance information, and a $25 co pay. Without giving my wife the opportunity to explain what she needed help with, Dr. ******** insulted, humiliated, and upset my wife to the point of tears. She was not in the office more than 5 minutes before the condesending and derogatory remarks began. She walked out immediately. I spoke to ****** ******, the assistant director, who told me she would not refund my co pay and that we had a difference of opion about what happened. What happened was that my wife went to this organization for help, and was spoken to and treated in a manor less than proffesional. No service was provided.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $25 co pay check returned. I would like the insurance claim canceled. I would like a letter of apology from Dr. ***** the director of the company. No service was provided.

Business Response: We will not be able to respond to this complaint due to patient confidentiality restrictions.

12/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This practice is extremely unprofessional when it comes to billing & insurance matters. They will not even let you book an appointment unless they have your credit card on file. This type of practice is supposed to be specializing in helping people with depression, anxiety, etc & after trying to call there to even book your first appointment you have instant anxiety. They are so concerned with making money that it takes away from the patient care. I have worked in health care for over 13 years and have never seen anything like it. I work a perdiem job & was called in to work on a day that I had an appointment. I called 1 day before to cancel my appointment & within a week I received a $100 bill in the mail for not cancelling within the 48 hour window. I called the office and was treated very poorly by the front desk staff and was told that the doctor would have to make the call on whether they would charge me that amount or not and I would receive a call back. I never received a call back but then a couple weeks later received another $100 bill in the mail stating that if I didn't pay the bill it would accrue interest. I called the office again and left a voicemail and again never received a call back. Third time calling I was treated poorly again and was told that they would have the doctor call me back. Finally, the next day i received a call from my doctor who told me she only had a minute to speak with me. I explained to her my situation and asked her if she would waive the bill. She said the best she could do was lower it to $50. Having just gone through a divorce and trying to get back on my feet I don't have $50 to pay for this type of situation and explained this to her but she would not budge and was very rude on the phone. I just feel that a practive like this should be alittle bit more lenient in these situation. I am very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I don't feel as if I should have to pay this money due to the fact that I was called in to work that day. I also feel that they should treat their patients with more respect & patience especially in the type of practice they run. Not good patient care.

Business Response: We are unable to respond to this complaint because of our legal and ethical obligations to keep all communications with our patients confidential.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.