Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Home Care Services, Inc.

Phone: (800) 498-4201 Fax: (207) 773-6140 650 Main St, S Portland, ME 04106 http://www.homecareservicesmaine.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Home Care Services is a home medical equipment company. The company provides hospital beds, bath aids, oxygen, power wheel chairs, walk aids, medical and hospital equipment and supplies to people in need of home healthcare.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Home Care Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Home Care Services, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Home Care Services, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1993 in ME Business incorporated 08/09/1993 in ME
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Berryman, President Mrs. Sherry Berryman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Berryman, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Sherry Berryman, Vice President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

MEDICAL EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES HOSPITAL BEDS-RENTING WHEEL CHAIRS OXYGEN PRODUCING EQUIPMENT OXYGEN Medical, Dental, and Hospital Equipment and Supplies Merchant Wholesalers (NAICS: 423450)

Products & Services

Home Care Services, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Bard, Comfort Company, Drive, Golden, Hollister, Invacare, Jay, Joerns, Mason, Nova, Respironics, Sunrise, Tilite, Triquality, Tuffcare

Home Care Services, Inc. offers the following product(s): Bath Aids, Cushions, Hospital Beds, Incontinent Products, Ostomy, Urologicals, Walk Aids, Wheelchair

Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they have a seven day return policy with items in packaging and original receipt.  Bath aids are non-returnable, non-refundable    
Service Area
Home Care Services, Inc. provides their services in MAINE.
Industry Tips
Medical Alarms, Systems & Monitoring

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I picked up my walker in April 2014 (ordered 1/24/14), before taking it home, I asked what I would be responsible for, the woman went to look at some papers, came back and said, “No more than $25.00”. Because of this answer, I took the walker home. If I knew it would be more or the possibility of it being more out of pocket expense then I would have reconsidered accepting the walker and looked for a different option. They should’ve checked with both of my insurance carriers prior to giving me the item. I ordered in January-they had plenty of time to bill insurance.

Desired Settlement: To pay no more than I was quoted when I picked it up, $25.99

Business Response:

 This client purchased a walker and had two separate insurances and unfortunately he had not met his deductible on either one which makes him responsible for payment.  If he has any further complaints he can call Medicare and Harvard Pilgrim and they will fill him in on his insurance benefits.  Unfortunately, we can’t control and individual’s insurance policy we are held responsible for knowing if we have met a deductible or not.  I am sorry this individual does not want to take responsibility for his insurance issues but we have done nothing wrong. 

 

Thank you for informing us of this issue, but as far as I am concerned the issue is closed.

 

Thank you

****** ********

Home Care Services