BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Business Solutions Online
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 2007
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Number of Employees

16

Business Category

MARKETING PROGRAMS & SERVICES

Industry Tips
Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? Is Your Digital Marketing Outdated? - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Business Solutions Online has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of NR.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 220-1899(Phone)
X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Business Solutions Online in Aug 2013. They promised marketing, LLC, webpage optimization, etc. I told them at the time I wanted an S Corp, not LLC. Then I did not hear from them for over a month. Nothing was done for my business. Then I heard from ******* ********* on 9/17.I paid the company $4995.00 plus another $2000 for the mentioned items. None had been done except being put in contact with Unique credit counseling to get my credit improved. I called the company many times and did not get return calls. When the paperwork and folder for an LLC arrived at my door with a business name I did not choose I called BSO and told them I did not want a LLC. I had to leave a message. No one called me back. Now in Jan 2014 I needed to move ahead with the business and went with another company who have kept in contact with me. THE Corp has been established and all the programs including face book and a great website have been established. Today Mr ********** called me and wondered why I had not called them. I told him I had called I requested I be refunded the money for the S-corp they did not supply as well as all the other. . He became animated and rude and said "that is not how things are done". "it was your response ability to call us". He did not accept the fact that I had called and got no response. I had to move on...but he went on saying that I have too much paper work for me to handle and said I was interrupting him and he did not like it.! Finally when he went on telling me I was wrong, etc. I had had enough and hung up the phone. Their agreements contain mostly all the Legalese of how we have to abide by and cannot get our money back after 15 days!! That should have been a red flag for me. What a crock. How does anyone know that they can fulfill their duties after 15 days. I am only asking for refund of money they did not use on my behalf. I am tired of these companies calling people who are starting businesses and preying on them, getting this money and them doing nothing. He does not get it that from AUGUST UNTIL JANUARY is too long to wait while they get their act together. I believe they are preying on us out there since doing online business is new to most of us. The credit repair people only wanted more money and were interested in getting me to invest in their companies. Hardly what I need at this point.

Desired Settlement: I expect that they should be honorable and give me the refund for activities they did not do. I have a credit repair company working with me and doing a great job. And it is NOT Business solutions Online.

BBB's Final Determination: Business is out of business.

12/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I never authorized this advertisement.

Desired Settlement: I don't want to be held responsible for this bill because I am not paying , since i did not approve this as.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

10/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are being billed for a service that we did not request nor authorize. A staff member received a phone call from someone at Business Solutions Online (BSO) telling them that our subscription was up and it was time to renew. The staff member explained that they needed to speak to a manager to authorize it. The BSO rep said the staff member's name was on the account and that they had to authorize it. Our staff member explained that the manager needs to approve it and the manager was out of the office. Our staff member requested that they fax us the form for our manager to review, but they never did. A week or so later we received an invoice for $869. Our manager was alerted. Then our staff member received another phone from BSO requesting payment. Our staff member told the BSO rep that we were not paying it and the BSO rep said they had them on tape and that we have to pay. Our staff member told them it was fraud and that we will not be paying it. The BSO rep said something about a contract and that the phone conversation was being taped. The BSO rep was told again that they needed to speak to our manager, who was again out of the office. Our manager called BSO back and left a message. The BSO rep called back and was told that they still needed to speak to that manager although the manager had tendered their resignation but was still completing some small projects. The BSO rep got very snippy with our staff member. Our manager did finally speak to a BSO rep and they told the BSO rep that we were not paying for advertising we did not request. The BSO rep was very rude to the manager. A BSO rep has called since and left 2-3 messages requesting payment.

Desired Settlement: We want BSO to stop contacting us, cancel the invoice and to remove us from their data base.

Business Response: We have been trying to reach Ms. ****** ******** in order to discuss and resolve this issue.

Business Response: THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business Solutions claims we owe $ 869 for online advertising that we did not want. They did this to us last year too and we gave in and payed the bill but they told me they cancel any ads and never contact us again. Now they are back to claiming we owe them money again. We absolutely refuse any obligation to this bill.

Desired Settlement: We will pay $0. I would also like to get a statement showing we owe nothing with a personal signature from someone in the company and a letter saying they will never contact my business again.

Business Response: Our records reflect that this is the ONLY invoice we have ever sent to ******* ******* ******, we have not received payment in the past, and we do have proof of authorization for this service and invoice. Mr. **** ********* spoke with our representative ****** on August 8, 2011, we did receive permission to fulfill the order and send the invoice to his attention. We have left hand written messages for a call back in order to resolve this a timely and amicable fashion.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]There has NEVER been a hand written response sent to me,only 2 phone calls by people that were very unprofessional and hard to talk to. I even asked them to have the salesman call me that supposedly sold me the ad and no one ever called or could show where I signed a contract for the ad. I assure you I never signed up for this advertising and will not be convinced otherwise. WE NEVER BUY THIS TYPE OF ADVERTISING  

Regards,

* **


 

 

Business Response: THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has called my company several times in the past months harassing me and my wife saying that we owe charges for advertisement that we did not request. (My business is registered in the national "do not call" list since May 2008) First of all, it is a Federal Offense for this company to call me at all, second, I have not authorized any type of advertisement from this company. This company has sent me an invoice stating that I owe $889.00 for advertisement. When my wife called the company to say that this invoice must be an error because we have NEVER done business with this company, she was told by a company representative named **** ****** that I had authorized the sale and he played a recording in which I am answering questions such as my name and address. When I answered "yes" to these questions, then he said that I had authorized the sale. I did not agree to the recording of our conservation and I will not pay this invoice.

Desired Settlement: I think that this company is acting in a fraudulent manner and I think that this company needs to be investigated and this company should be put out of business. I have read the over 60 other complaints filed with the Better Business Bureau on this company and all the other complaints state exactly what I have stated. Something should be done to protect the consumer from this fraud!

Business Response: Our records indicate that only 1 call was placed to Mr. ********** on August 16, 2011, this was a sales call from our rep. ***** (confirmation of this sales call was recorded). With regards to our company "committing a federal offense" by calling, we would like to make it very clear, as per the FTC, The National Do Not Call Registry is only for personal phone numbers. Business-to-business calls and faxes are not covered by the National Do Not Call Registry. Fell free to verify this by going directly to the site (question 14) *************************************************** We do have proof of authorization for our services, i can assure you that we would not fulfill an order based solely on confirmation of name and address as stated in the complaint. Mr. ********** was told  that the call was being monitored to ensure that the listing and invoicing information was accurate, he did not decline to be recorded. We will work closely with our customer in order to resolve this in a timely and amicable fashion. Thank you for your attention to this matter.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

The call on August 16, 2011 came to my cell phone number and I have the cell phone records to prove this. With regards to the conversation being recorded-not all of the conversation was recorded only the parts that would work to your benefit. I specifically remember stating that I DO NOT want this advertisement. Also, why is there over 60 other complaints from other businesses stating the exact same thing that your company was misleading and tried to trick the customer into buying a product that they clearly did not want? That is fraud!

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

Business Response: THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company contacted me stating that I, as the owner, authorized an advertisement for the website ************************* I never did place or authorize this process to happen. The advertisement has been placed with out my permission and this company is continuing to call and harass me and take time away from business schedule and work.

Desired Settlement: the company has billed $889.00 for this advertisement which is a very poor advertisement in itself. I wish to have the advertisement dropped the bill of $889.00 cancelled and cleared and the company to never ever contact me or my business again.

Business Response: We tried to contact Mr. ****** in order to discuss/resolve this in a timely and amicable fashion and feel we were not met with an attitude of professionalism or co-operation. We do have proof of authorization for our services, our file indicates that a sales call was placed to Mr. ****** on August 24th 2011, with his permission the call was recorded. Our rep confirmed that Mr. ****** information would be up-loaded to our web site and that he would be billed in the amount of $889, he was also thanked directly for placing his order with our company. We attempted to provide this proof to our customer, his response was to shout "deal with the BBB!!" and disconnected the call. We called back and left a voicemail to call us back to resolve this. We will await his call.

Business Response: THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/18/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are not sure where this company got our name...............they called work phone number and listed all of our current information for Charles to confirm.....he did so and then the gentleman with a name of ***** says..............he will send a statement............******* was not sure what for........He agrees that the contact information is correct, but never confirmed that we wanted to do business with this company-the conversation was misleading.....***** quickly says 'thank you and have a nice day. Wham. Deception deluxe! Today we get the invoice for something we didnt even know what it was for!!! 9/2/11 recieve a statement for $889.00 Invoice does not state the length of agreement. There is no account number for our company. They have the billing address incorrect. THERE IS NO CONTRACT. This company is sneaky and VERY deceiving. They recorded the conversation and ***** must be trained to talk quickly and mislead the contact that he calls. He ends the conversation fast. We would never advertise without a category. They dont even know what products we sell. We were scammed and it a shame that Business Solutions Online prey on companies unknowingly.

Desired Settlement: they have sent an invoice. we would like for them, if they have already submitted advertising, to cancel the advertising and cancel our billing. we will not be paying this company for deceptive practices and no signed contract. we want them to remove us from their call list for future telemarketing calls.

Business Response: Our file indicates that a sales call was placed to ******* ****** ** *** on August 18, 2011. Our representative ***** was put into contact with Mr. ******* ******* who gave his position as owner. Our rep ***** clearly stated that the SALES call was being monitored to ensure that the LISTING and INVOICING information was accurate. He then continues to tell Mr. ******* that the information would be uploaded that day August 18, 2011 to ************************(service provided). The information to be listed was confirmed(slowly and clearly), along with his name and position, ***** then states that the INVOICE (not statement as indicated in complaint) in the amount of $889 should arrive in approximately a week and a half, to which Mr. ******* responds "ok" Mr. ******* is then thanked for his time and his ORDER and is wished a great afternoon, to which Mr. ******* responds "yeah, you too!" ***** says "thanks" and Mr. ******* says "bye" then the call is completed. Our representative ***** spoke clearly and slowly we have proof of this, and we will work with our customer in order to resolve this in a timely and amicable fashion. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. 
I want this to go away!  We DID NOT sign any contract and we received NO paperwork regarding this company, their services or the their business.
The call that was recorded was only a yes-to send the information-not to provide service.  The salesman spoke VERY quickly and gave no time for response.
This company seems fraudulent and shady.
We never received a contract or any paperwork with dates of service or the services rendered.
If the comments and cases on the BBB website are reviewed, you can verify that ALL of them are exactly same, the same instances with the same scam! There are multiple complaints on BBB website.
They have obviously researched the states where they can prey. 
I tried to call them back and talked to a '********", she raised her voice at me (wish that they had recorded that conversation).  

Regards,

******* ****** **

 

 

Business Response: THIS ACCOUNT HAS BEEN CLOSED

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business Solutions Online has been calling our business claiming that they have a voice recording confirming a contract to advertise. There has been no such confirmation. We have had a few companies, including this one, call and confirm our business name, but there was NO talk about being charged for any services. They are now calling trying to collect a balance on "our account". These charges will not be paid since we have not approved any charges or services. There is multiple complaints for this company... I am shocked that they have not been corrected yet. Here is a link of a BBB article on "Attempts to Trick Companies". ********************************************************************************************************************************** We expect the charges will be dropped since this is obviously a scam.

Desired Settlement: The amount due balance brought to $0. Whatever contract they claim they have deleted. Business Solutions Online will not contact our business ever again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a invoice from this company charging us $889.00 for advertizing that we never accepted. We went onto the website on which they claimed our company is advertized. My company name is correct on the ad but the contact name is under my wife who is not authorized to make any purchases. My cell phone number is also missing, which is mainly the number used to contact me for any estimates. The fact that my name ******* ********** and my cell phone number is missing goes to prove that I did not accept this companies services. They sent the invoice saying it was authorized by ****** ********* and she is not authorized to accept any advertizments. Have tried to contact the company and they never answer.

Desired Settlement: I would like to not be held responsible for any charges this company is inflicting. I never accepted or authorized any advertizment from this company. I wish for this to not end up in collections which in turn would affect my credit. I am not going to pay a service I did not want and do not want it to affect me or my company. I would like them to not call or bother about payment from this company.

Business Response: We tried to contact our customer in order to resolve this and were not met with an attitude of professionalism or co operation. *** ********* now claims we did nothing for him but in his complaint he states that he was able to view the listing. He contradicted himself several times during our brief conversation in which he ended up disconnecting the call. The fact that *** ****** ********* is not authorized is and internal issue that needs to be resolved between them. At no point in time while speaking with our rep. did she re-direct the call or indicate that she was not authorized to accept/place orders on behalf of her company (with permission that call was recorded). We are willing to work with our customer in order to resolve this in a timely and amicable fashion, and await a return phone call in order to do so.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/26/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a call from ******** ********* ******. They did not give me detailed information about their service. I gave them my address and other billing information which was recorded. I received their invoice for $889.00. I immediately called them and requested to taken off their advertising list. They refused. They told me that they would turn me over to collections if I did not send them $889.00. Their invoice states that a service charge of 1.5% per month will be billed to all past due accounts. I still understand what their service is all about. I was entrapped by the recorded telephone conversation.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******. see attached Regards, ****** *******

Business Response: In response to the complaint we received, after reviewing the file we fail to understand why someone would give their billing and listing information and confirm that an invoice be sent if they are not clear what the bill is for or if the service is not wanted. We will work closely with our customer in order to resolve this in a timely and amicable fashion.

Business Response: Pursuant to the conversation we had with Mr. ******* this account was closed September 23rd 2011.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Business Solutions Online contacted one of our retail stores and informed an employee that the store was past due on a bill with their company. They claim that one of our employees authorized their services and they have the recording to prove it. When our employee listened to the recording provided by Business Solutions, it was her voice on the recording explicitly telling the caller that she didn't want to list with them and that they needed to refer all future calls to the corporate office. She made sure that the store was not being charged and that Business Solutions would take the store off their listing. They confirmed that the store would not be charged and would not call again. Our company has continued to receive communication from Business Solutions Online requesting payment for charges that we deny ever having authorized. Our accounting division has requested that Business Solutions forward a copy of the invoice referencing a valid purchase order as all of our services are authroized through our purchasing system, but they have failed to respond to that request. We have received an invoice from the "collections department" at Business Solutions that indicates an amount that they claim we owe as well as the claim that "if paid by credit card today invoice will be reduced by 10%." We have sent a certified letter to this company indicating that the charges they are claiming were neither authorized nor requested by any of our employees, that any further communication be directed to our legal department and that any and all unwanted and unordered "accounts" with respect to our company be cancelled and closed with no balance due.

Desired Settlement: We expect that Business Solutions Online immediately cancel any and all unwanted and unordered "accounts" that they established with respect to our company. We expect this matter to be closed with no balance due.

Business Response: Our records indicate that this account was closed on August 10, 2011 pursuant to a conversation our rep **** ****** had with Ms. ******. Should you have any additional questions or concerns feel free to contact us.Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1