BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of The Vermont Country Store, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Vermont Country Store, Inc.

Phone: (802) 775-4177 Fax: (802) 362-0285 View Additional Phone Numbers 5650 Main St, Manchester Center, VT 05255 http://www.vermontcountrystore.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. is a traditional country store that also serves customers via catalog, online, and mail order. The company offers household products, clothing, sleep wear, toys, books, and hobby items. They also carry specialty items such as cheeses.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Vermont Country Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Vermont Country Store, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

10 Customer Reviews on The Vermont Country Store, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 5
Total Customer Reviews 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1946 in VT Business incorporated: 01/01/1961 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Laura Greene, Customer Service Coordinator Ms. Michelle VanOrman, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laura Greene, Customer Service Coordinator
Principal: Ms. Michelle VanOrman, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

292

Business Category

MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING GENERAL STORES DEPARTMENT STORES ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Mail Order and Catalog Shopping Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Shopping by Phone or Mail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 564-4623(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a pair rag wool gloves from this merchant in December 2013, as a Christmas gift to myself. These gloves are NOT cheap. The cost including shipping totaled $42.90. I did not have the opportunity to wear them. Part of the reason involved being abroad during a portion of the U.S. winter. Prior to putting them away at the end of the cold season, I hand washed them in cold water as suggested in the laundry care directions. To my chagrin, the dark-colored deer skin bled onto the cream portion of the gloves. Shrinkage was another concern. My delivery confirmation email states the following in pertinent part: “Our 100% Guarantee Our commitment to finding you practical, hard to find merchandise and to superior customer service remains absolutely unshakable. Everything you see in our catalogues, in our on-line store, and in our retail stores is 100% guaranteed to work like we say it will. If you don't find this so, or are dissatisfied for any reason at all, you can return or exchange your product with no hassles or fuss. We've done business in this straight forward way ever since 1946”. Consequently, I submitted an email to ***** ****** on May 11, 2014. When it did not appear that an acknowledgement was forthcoming, I submitted yet another email on May 13, 2014, directly to customer service with a request for Ms. ****** to address my concerns. In response, I received an email dated May 13, 2014 with the following information: “I have forwarded your request to the appropriate person.” I have waited for a little over TWO WEEKS for a response, which I believe is more than reasonable. Despite reaching out to the company, they did NOT care enough to respond. It is clear they do NOT care about principle, and, for this reason I am now forced to reach out to your office for assistance. In short, their actions lead to a sharp antithesis that make their so-called “100% guarantee” look like a misleading sales gimmick. Thank you in advance for any help you can render.

Desired Settlement: Exchange for the next size level up.

Business Response: I credited Ms. ***** $42.90 for the gloves that were unsatisfactory. I sent her an email and apologized that I had not gotten back to her sooner.  The message that I received was that she wanted to be removed from the mailing list, I thought the customer service person that she spoke with took care of her concerns regarding the gloves.  I am very sorry that I did not get back to the customer sooner and I very much appreciate her sharing her concerns with me, I have contacted our buyers with the shrinkage and bleeding concerns about the gloves. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have previously tried in good faith to resolve a privacy issue with Vermont Country Store (VCS). Specifically, on or about December 13, 2013, and, yet again, on December 21, 2013 I requested VCS to REMOVE my personal information from ALL marketing lists in their possession, i.e. electronic and U.S. mail. On each occasion, I was assured that it would be taken care off. Unfortunately, as recently as January 2, 2014, VCS has been hell-bent on sending me their junk mail. In short, they have not taken me seriously. I am considering filing a lawsuit against this company, but first want to give them a FAIR opportunity to honor my request. My motivation for requesting that VCS quit their communications with me was a direct result of their poor customer service practices including their glaring misstep of failing to respond to customers email inquiries.Accordingly, I respectfully request your intervention in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Opt out of all marketing lists IMMEDIATELY.

Business Response: I emailed the customer as I do not have her phone number.  I apologized that she had to contact us several times in order to not receive emails from us.  That should not have happened and I am sorry.  Our marketing department has assured me that she will receive no more emails from us.  We never sent her a catalog.  I offered to call the customer and follow-up via phone if she would like to provide me with her telephone number.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me $5.95 for shipping one lipstick from Vermont to Boston. Consistent with their policy, but seems excessive. When I contacted customer service, they said that was the policy and nothing could be done (not their exact words, but that's what it boiled down to). I think it's exorbitant.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund part of the shipping charge. How much can one lipstick cost to ship? I realize the charge also covers handling, but how much can it cost to handle a tube of lipstick?

Business Response: I left a message on the customer's answering machine that I appreciated her letting us know of her concerns.  I let her know that the shipping charge also includes packaging.  I made an exception and credited her back for the shipping. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

Thanks to Vermont Country Store--I would gladly have paid something for shipping and handling, just not $5.95, but they refunded the entire $5.95.  That's too generous of them.  Thanks for intervening for me.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Store provided return shipping label of FEDEX/USPS, which I used. Item was sent from zip code ***** on August 24 and did not arrive at merchant until Sept 4 2013. After making multiple calls to FEDEX to trace pkg, I was informed by FEDEX, that it can take up to 14 days for merchant to received pkg sent by this method. I could have walked the item from *****, MA to No Clarendon, VT in that time. USPS priority mail would have taken two days to go the distance of 100 miles. After finally finding the actual delivery date of Sept 4 on the FEDEX web site, I called the store to inquire when the credit would be issued. I was informed "in a few days". On Saturday Sept 7, I had a "live chat" with another customer service rep at merchant who informed me that it could take several weeks! During this extended time frame, all this while, the merchant had the free use of my money. Is this delay contrived to allow the merchant to use customers funds like this? Seems so. I want my refund, NOW!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund to my credit card and elimination of the prepaid return label. This is no service to customer if it deliberately delays returns. Customer is better to pay for their own return either by USPS priority mail or by UPS.

Business Response: Thank you very much for letting us know about Ms. ****'s concerns.  I left her a message to let her know that she has been credited $139.80.  I shared with her  that there is no delay involved by using our postage paid label and that our customers are welcome to send items back via US Mail, FedEx or UPS without using the return label.  We do appreciate Ms. ****'s business and hope she follows up if she has any other questions.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I AM PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED. AND ITS VERY HARD FOR ME, TO GO TO A STORE . AND PURCHASE THE ITEMS, I PURCHASE FROM THIS FIRM . I ONLY HAVE GOOD THINGS TO SAY GOOD THINGS TO SAY, ABOUT THIS FIRM. THE ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH ORDERS AND THEY TOTALLY REFUNDED MY FUNDS , TO MY B OF A CREDIT ACCOUNT . I WOULD LIKE TO CONTINUE , BUYING FROM THIS FIRM. BUT I LIVE OFF DISABILITY INSURANCE , AND IF I DID NOT GET HELP FROM MY BROTHER. I WOULDN'T OF BEEN ABLE TO MAKE MY HOUSING PAYMENT. I WOULD LIKE TO KEEP DOING MY SPECIALTY GIFT SHOPPING WITH THIS FIRM. I AM AFRAID , OF BEING DOUBLE BILLED AGAIN. GO TO THE SECOND SHEET OF PAPER , FOR I HAVE MORE TO SAY.

Desired Settlement: THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE GAVE ME A TOTAL REFUND. AND ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH OF THE PACKAGES. I AM GOING TO KEEP PURCHASING FROM THIS FIRM. AND PRAY TO ‘ GOD OLE MIGHTY' THAT THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE , DOESN'T EVER BILL ME TWICE. I HAVE MORE TO SAY . IN REGARDS TO THE STAFF, AND HOW THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS , ON THE SECOND PAGE.

Business Response: I  called the customer to confirm that he did not need anything more from us since I was unable to view page 2 of his note.  He just wanted to thank us for our service and he will be ordering again soon.  We appreciate his continued business.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with the Vermont Country Store on 19 December 2012. I went through each page of picking the items; all the way through the ordering process; and on to shipping. Nowhere on any page of this process did it mention that VCS ships by FED EX. The reason for bringing this up FED EX is a competitor of the UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE and they do not care how long it takes to deliver to a Post Office Box. Also it did not mention they do not deliver to P.O. Boxes or that if they do there is a different process. The only thing mentioned was that P.O. Boxes must choose standard Delivery – 3 to 9 business day delivery. I still have not received my package. Note: There are two to three post offices in very close proximity to the VCS. There should be no reason to go through FED EX since the USPS advertises they will even come to you to pick up your order. I went to the USPS website like I was placing an order from my P.O. Box to the VCS -USPS if it fits it ships program. It seems like a pretty good program - a box 23 11/16" x 11 3/4" will ship priority mail for $15.45 – a box 23 11/16” x 11 ¾” can easily accommodate the items I purchased from VCS – and the delivery time period was four days. This is part of an email I sent to VCS: We just placed an order with HSN on the 26th of DEC it shipped on the 28th of DEC and we received it on the on the 31st of DEC; shipping cost was $13.64 – now I understand that HSN is much bigger than The Vermont Country Store and their shipping department is more efficient and the costs are probably lower – but you can actually see the difference by directly dealing with the USPS – when delivering to a P.O. Box. If I did not know better this seems like bulk rate or free mail - not the $19.95 rate. Which could explain the very slow bulk movement rate? I will have to look into this and perform a better investigation for you to get to the bottom of this. We can probably get FED EX on some kind of mail fraud/scam or better. . . . Maybe it even goes deeper. I will contact the FTC and notify the BBB of this practice on your behalf. VCS emailed me back thanking me for my concerns. I looked on a calendar to figure the business days and not counting Christmas eve / Christmas and then New Years eve / New Years and the weekend days of Saturday and Sunday; so the business days were the 20th, 21st, 26th, 27th, 28th of December; then the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 7th of January 2013. This would accommodate the VCS 3 to 9 business day shipping program. . . . Remember just above the HSN order placed within this same holiday time frame had no bearing on delivery. Now as I mentioned above – I want to know why VCS is charging customers $19.95 and then shipping the package bulk rate. Are they, VCS – or unknown to them – is their shipping department (the person running their shipping department) doing this and pocketing the difference. As this has a very similar characteristic to Federal Way as it is only seven miles from Kent, Washington. . . . and it had to wait in Martinsburg, WV on the east coast for six days before enough packages warranted being shipped.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my shipping cost refunded - or some kind of store credit - as this type of business practice does not warrant a $19.95 price tag. I would also like the VCS to get their webmaster to redo their ordering process to mention the different shipping methods associated with going through FED EX if you have a P.O. Box. I have many and I mean many packages sent to my P.O. Box with 3 to 4 day delivery with regular standard delivery. I would also like VCS to stop sending packages bulk rate and charging premium prices. As I mentioned in my email to VCS I told them I would contact the BBB and further up to the FTC if need be to check into their business (shipping) practice - I have the email I sent to them, VCS, saved on word format time/date stamped if needed to look at

Business Response: I have emailed Mr. ****** to apologize for the confusion with the delivery of his order.  I tracked the package and see that it was delivered to his Post Office on 1/10/13. I have credited him his shipping charge of $19.95 and let him know that we appreciate his suggestions for  improving our customer service.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/12/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, I received my items today, Tuesday, and want to request that I be removed from your customer listing, please do not send e-mail or regular mail sales solicitations catalogs etc.. Why: I paid shipping by ***** for home delivery, ***** sent the items to the PO Box I was required to spend time and money to go to the post office Saturday, Monday and Tuesday Retrieving the package Tuesday required me to wait in line because the item would not fit in a PO BOX The 3 bulb window light is missing a bulb

Desired Settlement: Send me a bulb, refund shipping charge

Business Response: I credited Mr. **** $18.95 for his original shipping charge.  I sent him a replacement for the classic window lights that were missing a bulb, at no charge.  I sent the replacement by Federal Express for the customer.  I sent him an email with our apologies and the information about what was done.  Thank you for letting me know of Mr. ****'s concerns.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The company went beyond my expectations in resolving this issue.  I will continue doing business with The Vermont Country Store.  We all make mistakes, when I buy a pencil I make sure that it has an eraser on it.  When a company has an error and it takes corrective action as in this case, it is outstanding.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

4/11/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a toaster oven, on Dec. 23, 2011, along with other items.  I received most of they items fairly in time, except for a phone and the toaster oven. The phone I received 3 weeks later and I have yet to receive the toaster oven. I've received letters from them about it being back ordered. Now I'm being told it will be the end of April, I'm afraid it will be even longer. **** ******

Desired Settlement: Back order for 3 Months, for something they advertise in there catalog that has express shipping.

Business Response: I called the customer and apologized that the toaster oven is still out of stock and not due in until next week.  I offered to cancel the item for him and he agreed to that.  I am sorry that we were unable to get the oven to him sooner.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I returned product because it failed to do as advertised. I requested that the shipping and processing charge of $9.95 also be refunded as the product did not do as advertised. However, the company did not refund the charge.

Desired Settlement: I want the $9.95 charge refunded to my credit card.

Business Response: I am so sorry that our customer was not satisfied with the warm cream that she received from us.  I have credited her back her $9.95 shipping charge since she was already credited for the product.  I did leave Ms. ********** a message about this.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/4/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wish that these people would be imposed a fine of about $500. I have had merchandise on order for over five weeks now and haven't received anything in the mail as of yet. I'd like a written explanation from you and the Vermont Country Store as to when I will receive my merchandise. I will give yo five days from the receipt of this letter. Please "Wake up" these people. I am upset and very angry over this matter. I don't play games! Hey Vermont Country Store, I'll be sure not to order  from you any longer. I can order and receive merchandise faster from Figis or Swiss Colony.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of order.

Business Response: I have left a message on Mr. ********'s voicemail to let him know that on his order#******** he owes us $21.90 and as soon as we receive this payment we will be happy to send his order out.  On order#******** we have left Mr. ******** a message and sent him a postcard as we need to know what flavors he would like for the items he has ordered.  He will also owe us $15.90 on this order.  We wil be happy to help him as soon as we hear back from him.  We are sorry for any inconvenience to Mr. ********.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1