Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. is a traditional country store that also serves customers via catalog, online, and mail order. The company offers household products, clothing, sleep wear, toys, books, and hobby items. They also carry specialty items such as cheeses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Vermont Country Store, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Vermont Country Store, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on The Vermont Country Store, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 10, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1946 in VT Business incorporated 01/01/1961 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Tracy Lambert , Customer Service Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tracy Lambert , Customer Service Supervisor
Number of Employees

292

Business Category

MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING GENERAL STORES DEPARTMENT STORES ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Mail Order and Catalog Shopping Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Shopping by Phone or Mail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Vermont Country Store, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5650 Main St

    Manchester Center, VT 05255

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vermont Country Store markets this product as being "constructed in Germany." However, ************ Glue is one of the materials, which is evidenced by the off-gassing when the product is taken out of the box. The box itself, is a "Vermont Country Store" box, and they have provided no manufacturer information. When I contacted them with my concerns, they bluntly informed me that this is made Germany (************ Glue is banned in the EU, so how is this possible?), and refused my request for manufacturer information. Basically, their response was: We have been in business since 1946, how dare you question us? I question you, as a consumer, I feel that we have the right to know where products are being made, and if you knowingly misrepresent this, that is fraud. If they have nothing to hide, why are they unwilling to give me manufacturer information? I won't even get into the fact that neither the thermometer nor the weather reading mechanism work. Alarmed by this, I decided to post my experience on their website as a review of the product. They then refused to publish my review. *******************************************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: I want Vermont Country Store to be transparent about this item. Advertising something that was so cheaply made in China as having been "constructed in Germany" is false advertising. If they are unable to provide manufacturer information and contact info to support their claim, then they must remove "crafted in Germany" from their item description OR stop selling this. This was a very simple request, but Vermont Country Store refuses to comply.

Business Response: Dear Mr. ********, We apologize for any concerns you have with the glue used in the Weather Haus we carry. We have checked with the manufacturer on your concern.After speaking with the manufacturer this is the information they shared with us: The glue used in our weather houses as well as in all our cuckoo clocks and has been certified with certificate M-1.The glue we use for decoration purposes is made in Germany and we have been using this glue for all our clocks for years now.Varnish and paint are also made in Germany and are even allowed to be used in toys.Our products all have the certificate of origin EU.All our clocks and weather houses are produced  at our factory here in Villingen.I hope this answers all of your questions. We have refunded you in the amount of $42.35 for the return of this item. I'm so sorry this did not meet your expectations. If we can be of further assistance please let us know. Sincerely, ***** *******Customer Service SupervisorThe Vermont Country Store

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  No, obviously, you did not answer all of my questions. I asked you for the name of the manufacturer as well as their contact information. Why are you not able to provide this? If you can contact them, surely so can other people. I believe this is now the third time I have asked. I can only come to the conclusion that there is no manufacturer in Germany, and the item you are fraudulently claiming as such comes from China. As evidenced by the fact that the weather haus is held together with formaldehyde glue, which is banned in the EU.  Again, all you need to do is provide contact information for your manufacturer. After I have had an opportunity to verify, and if you are telling the truth, I will publicly apologize. At this point, however, your continued unwillingness to cooperate with this most simple request from a consumer is not putting you in a good light.   ***** ********  

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2015 Delivery Issues
1/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have previously tried in good faith to resolve a privacy issue with Vermont Country Store (VCS). Specifically, on or about December 13, 2013, and, yet again, on December 21, 2013 I requested VCS to REMOVE my personal information from ALL marketing lists in their possession, i.e. electronic and U.S. mail. On each occasion, I was assured that it would be taken care off. Unfortunately, as recently as January 2, 2014, VCS has been hell-bent on sending me their junk mail. In short, they have not taken me seriously. I am considering filing a lawsuit against this company, but first want to give them a FAIR opportunity to honor my request. My motivation for requesting that VCS quit their communications with me was a direct result of their poor customer service practices including their glaring misstep of failing to respond to customers email inquiries.Accordingly, I respectfully request your intervention in this matter.

Desired Settlement: Opt out of all marketing lists IMMEDIATELY.

Business Response: I emailed the customer as I do not have her phone number.  I apologized that she had to contact us several times in order to not receive emails from us.  That should not have happened and I am sorry.  Our marketing department has assured me that she will receive no more emails from us.  We never sent her a catalog.  I offered to call the customer and follow-up via phone if she would like to provide me with her telephone number.  Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged me $5.95 for shipping one lipstick from Vermont to Boston. Consistent with their policy, but seems excessive. When I contacted customer service, they said that was the policy and nothing could be done (not their exact words, but that's what it boiled down to). I think it's exorbitant.

Desired Settlement: I think they should refund part of the shipping charge. How much can one lipstick cost to ship? I realize the charge also covers handling, but how much can it cost to handle a tube of lipstick?

Business Response: I left a message on the customer's answering machine that I appreciated her letting us know of her concerns.  I let her know that the shipping charge also includes packaging.  I made an exception and credited her back for the shipping. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

Thanks to Vermont Country Store--I would gladly have paid something for shipping and handling, just not $5.95, but they refunded the entire $5.95.  That's too generous of them.  Thanks for intervening for me.

9/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Store provided return shipping label of FEDEX/USPS, which I used. Item was sent from zip code ***** on August 24 and did not arrive at merchant until Sept 4 2013. After making multiple calls to FEDEX to trace pkg, I was informed by FEDEX, that it can take up to 14 days for merchant to received pkg sent by this method. I could have walked the item from *****, MA to No Clarendon, VT in that time. USPS priority mail would have taken two days to go the distance of 100 miles. After finally finding the actual delivery date of Sept 4 on the FEDEX web site, I called the store to inquire when the credit would be issued. I was informed "in a few days". On Saturday Sept 7, I had a "live chat" with another customer service rep at merchant who informed me that it could take several weeks! During this extended time frame, all this while, the merchant had the free use of my money. Is this delay contrived to allow the merchant to use customers funds like this? Seems so. I want my refund, NOW!!!

Desired Settlement: Refund to my credit card and elimination of the prepaid return label. This is no service to customer if it deliberately delays returns. Customer is better to pay for their own return either by USPS priority mail or by UPS.

Business Response: Thank you very much for letting us know about Ms. ****'s concerns.  I left her a message to let her know that she has been credited $139.80.  I shared with her  that there is no delay involved by using our postage paid label and that our customers are welcome to send items back via US Mail, FedEx or UPS without using the return label.  We do appreciate Ms. ****'s business and hope she follows up if she has any other questions.

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I AM PHYSICALLY HANDICAPPED. AND ITS VERY HARD FOR ME, TO GO TO A STORE . AND PURCHASE THE ITEMS, I PURCHASE FROM THIS FIRM . I ONLY HAVE GOOD THINGS TO SAY GOOD THINGS TO SAY, ABOUT THIS FIRM. THE ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH ORDERS AND THEY TOTALLY REFUNDED MY FUNDS , TO MY B OF A CREDIT ACCOUNT . I WOULD LIKE TO CONTINUE , BUYING FROM THIS FIRM. BUT I LIVE OFF DISABILITY INSURANCE , AND IF I DID NOT GET HELP FROM MY BROTHER. I WOULDN'T OF BEEN ABLE TO MAKE MY HOUSING PAYMENT. I WOULD LIKE TO KEEP DOING MY SPECIALTY GIFT SHOPPING WITH THIS FIRM. I AM AFRAID , OF BEING DOUBLE BILLED AGAIN. GO TO THE SECOND SHEET OF PAPER , FOR I HAVE MORE TO SAY.

Desired Settlement: THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE GAVE ME A TOTAL REFUND. AND ALLOWED ME TO KEEP BOTH OF THE PACKAGES. I AM GOING TO KEEP PURCHASING FROM THIS FIRM. AND PRAY TO ‘ GOD OLE MIGHTY' THAT THE VERMONT COUNTRY STORE , DOESN'T EVER BILL ME TWICE. I HAVE MORE TO SAY . IN REGARDS TO THE STAFF, AND HOW THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS , ON THE SECOND PAGE.

Business Response: I  called the customer to confirm that he did not need anything more from us since I was unable to view page 2 of his note.  He just wanted to thank us for our service and he will be ordering again soon.  We appreciate his continued business.

1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with the Vermont Country Store on 19 December 2012. I went through each page of picking the items; all the way through the ordering process; and on to shipping. Nowhere on any page of this process did it mention that VCS ships by FED EX. The reason for bringing this up FED EX is a competitor of the UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE and they do not care how long it takes to deliver to a Post Office Box. Also it did not mention they do not deliver to P.O. Boxes or that if they do there is a different process. The only thing mentioned was that P.O. Boxes must choose standard Delivery – 3 to 9 business day delivery. I still have not received my package. Note: There are two to three post offices in very close proximity to the VCS. There should be no reason to go through FED EX since the USPS advertises they will even come to you to pick up your order. I went to the USPS website like I was placing an order from my P.O. Box to the VCS -USPS if it fits it ships program. It seems like a pretty good program - a box 23 11/16" x 11 3/4" will ship priority mail for $15.45 – a box 23 11/16” x 11 ¾” can easily accommodate the items I purchased from VCS – and the delivery time period was four days. This is part of an email I sent to VCS: We just placed an order with HSN on the 26th of DEC it shipped on the 28th of DEC and we received it on the on the 31st of DEC; shipping cost was $13.64 – now I understand that HSN is much bigger than The Vermont Country Store and their shipping department is more efficient and the costs are probably lower – but you can actually see the difference by directly dealing with the USPS – when delivering to a P.O. Box. If I did not know better this seems like bulk rate or free mail - not the $19.95 rate. Which could explain the very slow bulk movement rate? I will have to look into this and perform a better investigation for you to get to the bottom of this. We can probably get FED EX on some kind of mail fraud/scam or better. . . . Maybe it even goes deeper. I will contact the FTC and notify the BBB of this practice on your behalf. VCS emailed me back thanking me for my concerns. I looked on a calendar to figure the business days and not counting Christmas eve / Christmas and then New Years eve / New Years and the weekend days of Saturday and Sunday; so the business days were the 20th, 21st, 26th, 27th, 28th of December; then the 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 7th of January 2013. This would accommodate the VCS 3 to 9 business day shipping program. . . . Remember just above the HSN order placed within this same holiday time frame had no bearing on delivery. Now as I mentioned above – I want to know why VCS is charging customers $19.95 and then shipping the package bulk rate. Are they, VCS – or unknown to them – is their shipping department (the person running their shipping department) doing this and pocketing the difference. As this has a very similar characteristic to Federal Way as it is only seven miles from Kent, Washington. . . . and it had to wait in Martinsburg, WV on the east coast for six days before enough packages warranted being shipped.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my shipping cost refunded - or some kind of store credit - as this type of business practice does not warrant a $19.95 price tag. I would also like the VCS to get their webmaster to redo their ordering process to mention the different shipping methods associated with going through FED EX if you have a P.O. Box. I have many and I mean many packages sent to my P.O. Box with 3 to 4 day delivery with regular standard delivery. I would also like VCS to stop sending packages bulk rate and charging premium prices. As I mentioned in my email to VCS I told them I would contact the BBB and further up to the FTC if need be to check into their business (shipping) practice - I have the email I sent to them, VCS, saved on word format time/date stamped if needed to look at

Business Response: I have emailed Mr. ****** to apologize for the confusion with the delivery of his order.  I tracked the package and see that it was delivered to his Post Office on 1/10/13. I have credited him his shipping charge of $19.95 and let him know that we appreciate his suggestions for  improving our customer service.

11/12/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, I received my items today, Tuesday, and want to request that I be removed from your customer listing, please do not send e-mail or regular mail sales solicitations catalogs etc.. Why: I paid shipping by ***** for home delivery, ***** sent the items to the PO Box I was required to spend time and money to go to the post office Saturday, Monday and Tuesday Retrieving the package Tuesday required me to wait in line because the item would not fit in a PO BOX The 3 bulb window light is missing a bulb

Desired Settlement: Send me a bulb, refund shipping charge

Business Response: I credited Mr. **** $18.95 for his original shipping charge.  I sent him a replacement for the classic window lights that were missing a bulb, at no charge.  I sent the replacement by Federal Express for the customer.  I sent him an email with our apologies and the information about what was done.  Thank you for letting me know of Mr. ****'s concerns.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The company went beyond my expectations in resolving this issue.  I will continue doing business with The Vermont Country Store.  We all make mistakes, when I buy a pencil I make sure that it has an eraser on it.  When a company has an error and it takes corrective action as in this case, it is outstanding.