BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Botello Lumber Company, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Botello Lumber Co., Inc. offers lumber, building materials, hardware, windows and doors, and kitchen and bath cabinets. The company is also known as Botello Home Center and Botello Lumber & Hardware. The company was established and incorporated in Massachusetts in 1978. Mr. Stephen P. Botello is the Vice President of the company. Mr. Tracy Whitman is the Personnell Manager and questions or problems should be directed to his attention. The company can also be reached at 1-800-834-3132.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Botello Lumber Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Botello Lumber Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Botello Lumber Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1978 in MA Business incorporated: 08/03/1979 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen P. Botello, Vice President Mrs. Jeanne M Ethridge Jr., Accounting Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen P. Botello, Vice President
Principal: Mrs. Jeanne M Ethridge Jr., Accounting Manager
Number of Employees

84

Business Category

LUMBER-RETAIL Cut Stock, Resawing Lumber, and Planing (NAICS: 321912)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 7:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Su: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
Discover
American Express
Service Area
Botello Lumber Company, Inc. provides their services in BARNSTABLE, FALMOUTH, HYANNIS, HYANNIS PORT, ORLEANS, PROVINCETOWN & WOODS HOLE, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Botello Home Center Botello Lumber & Hardware

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Botello Lumber Company, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: (I have had a 17 year relationship with this company) I ordered a special order ******** window through this company (on or about February 28th, 2013), and it arrived incorrect (missing extension jamb). after following the proper channels to rectify the situation with Botello Lumber Company, I was told by their personnell that it would be recified, and that their millwork department would produce the part for me (Thursday (March 28th, 2013). I was reassured that i would be taken care of, and that this situation was through no fault of my own. Today(April 1, 2013) I arrived at the store to purchase materials for another project, and was told "your extension jamb is all set" from the sales manager, I asked "im all set?" he stated, "yep, your all set" and turned and walked away from me. I was to assume that botello lumber had rectified the situation, and I proceeded to check out with my goods I was purchasing, and went over to their millwork department to pick up the extension jamb they produced for me. I spoke with the millwork workers, and thanked them for their dilligence and loaded the item in my truck and proceeded to the guard gate at the exit to the yard, where my invoice was checked, and I was passed thru. A couple hours later I recieved a phone call from the Sales manager at Botellos (*****) and hes said "**** we have a problem." I asked, "whats the problem" he proceeded to tell me I left the yard without bieng invoiced for the extension jamb and that I owed them $225.00 for it. to my shock, i replied, "i was under the impression that you all were taking care of this problem, and I wasnt going to incurr any additional expenses" he went on to tell me I had mistakenly left the yard with a roll of Ice & Water (a roofing product), to which I was addmittedly at fault, and offered my apologies, and reassured him I would pay for it when I came in later today. after speaking in length to *****, I told him I was not in agreement to the charge, and I would return the extension jamb, since I didnt want to pay $225, a proce that was never disclosed to me at the time they agreed to make the piece. I also told him with 17 years of history as a customer, I felt abused in the situation, and if this is how they wanted to do business, i would not be continuing business with them. He said "fine." and hung up the phone. Approximately 2 hours later I arrived at Botello Lumber to return the extension jamb, and speak with the General Manager (****) regarding this situation, and after a 30 minute conversation, she was in agreement that I was not at fault, and Botellos should have rectified the situation. She then asked if I wished to speak with the CEO, to further resolve the situation, and since my integrity was at stake, I absolutely agreed to that meeting. At 2:31 pm I recieved a phone call from ***** Botello (CEO), which proceeded as follows: ****: Hello, this is ****. *****: ****, ***** Botello. How are you? ****: Ive been better *****. Im a bit bothered by this situation. *****: Well, my guys are saying you left without paying for materials. ****: And theyre sticking to that? *****: Yes. you did take materials without paying. ****: I was told I was all set by *****. *****: Lenny never said that, and the millwork guys also said you said you didnt have an invoioce, and you said you werent paying. ****: I never had that conversation with the millwork guys. I merely thanked them for their dilligence, and they explained a bad cut they had made that might make the piece unusable to me. I reassured them I'd be able to use it and... *****: listen, ive heard enough. you stole from the company. ****: No, I mistakingly tool a roll of ice and water, and brought it immediatly back and apologized to *** (the cashier) for the mistake. *****: like I said, Ive heard enough. Im having a no tresspass issued. and your not to return to the store. (hung up). I am disgusted, and completely taken back by the way Botello Lumber, and its employees have handled this situation, and their complete lack of regard for consumer relations in whole.

Desired Settlement: I want the extension jamb as promised, so I can finish my project, and I want an apology from the owner, with an explanation as to why after 17 years of business, I would be treated in such an ill manner. I would also like them informed of a defamation suit to follow any slander if it happens.

Business Response: An order for an ******** window was placed on February 19, 2013. The order was for an ******** ASW 5’-0 window and did not include extension jambs.  The customer reviewed the order and signed to acknowledge that it was correct.  There was no mention on the order that an extension jamb was included.  To order one would be an added cost.   

Upon receipt of the order  the customer claimed that he not know that the extension jamb was a separate item.  Circle tops do not come with extension jambs a fact that is well known by contractors especially by someone with seventeen years of experience.   H e made it clear to the salesperson he would need one to install the window.  The salesperson informed him he would have one made in our mill and would expedite the order at a discounted price.    On April 1, 2013 the customer returned to the store pickup stock for a job and was informed by the sales manager that the ext. jamb was “all set” meaning it was finished and ready to be invoiced.   

Before picking up this product the customer went to the contractor counter to pay for the additional items he was purchasing.  The cashier at the time was not aware that the customer was going to pick up the extension jamb.  While at the counter the customer realized he did not have enough money to pay for a roll of Ice and Water barrier, an extremely bulky item weighing between thirty to forty pounds.  At the close of the transaction the customer proceeded to drag the product to his truck and load it in.  Realizing that the customer was taking the roll of Ice and Water the cashier informed his immediate supervisor.  The supervisor went out to the yard to catch the customer and also noticed from across the yard that he had gone over to the mill and loaded up the extension jamb into his truck without a paid invoice.  This was also something a seventeen year customer would certainly know as it is not our procedure and he had previously placed special orders with us. 

Upon speaking with the employee in the mill he stated that the customer said “I don’t have a slip for this because I don’t want to pay for it”.  The employee thinking he was joking gave it to him and assumed he was going to get one.  As the supervisor started to walk towards the customer’s vehicle he drove out of the gate.  The supervisor then notified the owner of the events that occurred and was told to give the customer a call and ask him to return the items or pay for them.  This call was made during the early morning.   

Apparently there was no urgency on the customers part to return the " forgotten" items to the store as he did not come back until the afternoon.  When returning he asked for the contractor sales manager who was busy with another customer and then proceeded to use profanity to the cashiers before going up to the business office to speak to the owner.   The owner was not in at the time and the office manager spoke to the customer.   This was a five minute conversation at the most and not having all the facts at hand the customer was told that the owner would give him a call upon his return.  When the owner returned he was informed of the situation and he proceeded to speak to everyone involved as well as view the camera footage. 

It was apparent that the customer intentionally loaded the roll of Ice and Water onto his truck knowing it was not paid for.  This was not a small item that could be easily forgotten and ideally it should have been left in the store since that is where it is stored and it would take a conscious effort to carry it outside.   Upon his return the owner called the customer to discuss his findings.  It was a brief conversation where the owner  informed  him that all evidence pointed to his dishonesty and that he did not want him soliciting the store any more.  

It is customary for Botello’s to rectify problems no matter who lies at fault as shown in the quick manufacturing of the extension jamb and the discounted cost as opposed to what a vendor would have charged and the lead time involved.  The deciding factor to issue a no trespass to this person was the blatant theft of the roll of Ice and Water barrier as well as his unacceptable behavior towards our employees .  It is the overall feeling that had he not been called the customer  would not have returned to the store to pay for or return the items.  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved