Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lady Grace specializes in intimate apparel, swimwear, and loungewear. There are Lady Grace retail stores throughout Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine including Shrewsbury, MA, Hyannis, New Bedford Pheasant Lane Mall, Nashua NH, The Mall at Rockingham Park, Salem NH. In addition to the retail stores, mail order and online shopping are available. The company was established and incorporated in Massachusetts in 1936. The company employs 70 people. Mr. Bruce Green is the CFO. Any questions or problems may be directed to the attention of Mr. Green.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lady Grace Intimate Apparel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lady Grace Intimate Apparel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Lady Grace Intimate Apparel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1936 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1936 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Green, C.F.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Green, C.F.O.
Number of Employees

70

Business Category

LINGERIE CLOTHING WOMENS APPAREL-RETAIL MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING Women's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448120)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Alternate Business Names
Lady Grace
Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Clothing Mail Order and Catalog Shopping Shopping by Phone or Mail

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Lady Grace Intimate Apparel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1364 Beacon St

    Brookline, MA 02446 (617) 566-8194

  • 139 Endicott St

    Danvers, MA 01923 (978) 774-7141

  • 343 Gorham Rd

    South Portland, ME 04106 (207) 774-8139

  • 440 Middlesex Rd
    Daniel Webster Highway

    Tyngsboro, MA 01879 (978) 649-3942

  • 5 Commonwealth Ave

    Woburn, MA 01801 (781) 569-0727

  • 753 Granite St
    Granite Plaza

    Braintree, MA 02184 (781) 848-6188 (781) 322-1721

  • 768 Iyanough Rd (Route 132)
    K-Mart Plaza

    Hyannis, MA 02601 (508) 771-3608

  • Arsenal Mall

    Watertown, MA 02472

  • North River Plaza

    Pembroke, MA 02359

  • PO Box 128

    Malden, MA 02148

  • River City Shopping Center

    Waltham, MA 02453 (781) 894-2081

  • Square One Mall

    Saugus, MA 01906

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Lady Grace bra (***** brand) at the *********, MA store location in February of 2015. I was measured as a 36D in the store during the fitting. I questioned this immediately but the clerk disregarded my concerns and I was sold a 36D despite my questioning the clerk's choice for me. My biggest concern was that it was too difficult for me to get into independently and that I felt I needed a larger size such as a 38D. I was sold the 36D and it was apparent to me that I was pressured into getting the wrong size immediately upon beginning attempting to wear it. It was extremely tight, and due to my age (which the clerk was told) and my limited mobility, I can't get it on. I called the store and reported this to them within the month of purchase. They suggested coming in for an extender. But if they were offering an extender to me, they should have realized upon fitting me, that this was the wrong size, as I indicated at the time of purchase. I did go into the same store and the extender was not even offered complimentary due to their mistake measuring me incorrectly and it didn't work either; I still can't get the bra on independently and the extender did nothing to resolve this initial problem of the bra not fitting properly. I would appreciate someone contacting me regarding this matter from Lady Grace's headquarters. I feel as a loyal Lady Grace customer for many decades, that allowing me to exchange the bra for the larger size I initially requested from the clerk in ********* would be a fair resolution to this issue. I do not understand why this didn't happen in the first place - 1. that the clerk didn't listen to my size and mobility concerns 2. why I was not offered the same bra in the larger size I initially requested at the purchase time. 3. Why I was offered an extender and not the same bra in the next size up. Thank you for your time and attention to this matter. ******** ** ******

Desired Settlement: I feel an exchange for the same bra at a larger size or refund would be fair. I live on a fixed income and this bra was a very special purchase for me - and at the cost of $62 - not a small amount either. Thank you.

Business Response: While the customer is incorrect in some of her facts (she actually bought the bra on 1/23/15 and it was not until 3/19/15 that she came in for an extender to see if it would help her with the comfort issues she was experiencing) and while as a company we would absolutely never let a customer leave a store who was not satsifed with the fit, we have contacted the customer today and offered to provide a gift card in the amount of $60.00 which almost completely replaces the initial cost of the purchase and we are also letting the customer keep the initial bra if she wishes to get more use out of it. Customer was satisfied with the resolution of this case. 

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a longline bra from the ********* location of Lady Grace on June 10th, 2014. I was assisted in selecting it by a customer service representative of the store, who told me that because I was between sizes that the store carried, and did not have a dress selected for the wedding I was attending on July 20th (for which I was purchasing the bra) I should try the bra on under a dress to ensure that it fit properly under clothing. She assured me that if the bra wasn't satisfactory once I did this, I could exchange it within 30 days for another style/size. I purchased the bra that she recommended, and took it to a **** * ****** department store, where I tried the bra on under a dress I'd selected from the **** * ****** store in the store's dressing room. The bra didn't fit satisfactorily under the dress so I returned it to the original packaging and brought it back to **** ***** in ********* on June 20th to exchange it for a smaller size. The assistant manager of the ********* location insisted that the bra "had been worn," pointing out what she claimed was permanently curved boning and bent wires in the back. I explained that the bra hadn't been worn, as the event I purchased it for hadn't occurred yet, and none of the signs of wear she claimed were present, were. She continued to insist the bra had been worn and refused to honor Lady Grace's policy and exchange it. I contacted customer service at Lady Grace and spoke to the owner of the company, who said she "trusted" the assistant manager's judgment, and wouldn't examine the bra herself. She also refused the exchange.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to exchange the bra for the correct size. I would like the business to honor their exchange policy.

Business Response: The returned item was not accepted for credit because it was excessively worn. The wires and boning had been bent due to excessive wear. The elastic on the side of the garment was wrinkled, also due to excessive wear. Lady Grace Stores has been in business for 77 years and we make every effort to accommodate returns from customers. But in this case, we certainly cannot resell the item to another customer nor can we return the garment to the manufacturer due to the excessive wear.

We understand that the customer had not yet attended her "event" when she returned this item but this does not mean that the garment was not worn extensively when trying it on to see how it fit with other items she was considering purchasing. And once a garment has been worn extensively, we have no recourse but to reject the return.

Attached is a copy of the customer's signed receipt which shows in our return policy that "worn items not returnable." As a company, we have the right to enforce this policy and that is what we are doing here. Nothing more, nothing less. We should add that the person who carefully inspected the garment was our Assistant Manager who has almost 25 years of experience with our company and successfully handles hundreds of returned garments each year.

***** *****
Co-Owner

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Lady Grace Intimate Apparel
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart