BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lady Grace Intimate Apparel?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lady Grace specializes in intimate apparel, swimwear, and loungewear. There are Lady Grace retail stores throughout Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Maine including Shrewsbury, MA, Hyannis, New Bedford Pheasant Lane Mall, Nashua NH, The Mall at Rockingham Park, Salem NH. In addition to the retail stores, mail order and online shopping are available. The company was established and incorporated in Massachusetts in 1936. The company employs 70 people. Mr. Bruce Green is the CFO. Any questions or problems may be directed to the attention of Mr. Green.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lady Grace Intimate Apparel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lady Grace Intimate Apparel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Lady Grace Intimate Apparel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 04, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1936 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1936 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Green, C.F.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Green, C.F.O.
Number of Employees

70

Business Category

LINGERIE CLOTHING WOMENS APPAREL-RETAIL MAIL ORDER & CATALOG SHOPPING Women's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448120)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
T: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
W: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Th: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
F: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
S: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Alternate Business Names
Lady Grace
Industry Tips
Buying by Mail Clothing Mail Order and Catalog Shopping Shopping by Phone or Mail

Additional Locations

  • 1364 Beacon St

    Brookline, MA 02446 (617) 566-8194

  • 139 Endicott St

    Danvers, MA 01923 (978) 774-7141

  • 343 Gorham Rd

    South Portland, ME 04106 (207) 774-8139

  • 440 Middlesex Rd  Daniel Webster Highway

    Tyngsboro, MA 01879 (978) 649-3942

  • 5 Commonwealth Ave

    Woburn, MA 01801 (781) 569-0727

  • 753 Granite St  Granite Plaza

    Braintree, MA 02184 (781) 322-1721 (781) 848-6188

  • 768 Iyanough Rd (Route 132)  K-Mart Plaza

    Hyannis, MA 02601 (508) 771-3608

  • Arsenal Mall

    Watertown, MA 02472

  • North River Plaza

    Pembroke, MA 02359

  • PO Box 128

    Malden, MA 02148

  • River City Shopping Center

    Waltham, MA 02453 (781) 894-2081

  • Square One Mall

    Saugus, MA 01906

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (781) 569-0727(Phone)
  • (877) 381-4629(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This complaint has to do with customer service as well as refund issues. This took place at the Lady Grace store in Shrewsbury, Ma. I bought three bras, two the same and one different style (on two different days). I wasn't 100% sure about the fit and the sales consultant told me to take it home and wear it for a few days to get used to it. I asked about return. She told me if it doesn't feel right, I can return it but "don't wash it." After trying the bras for two days, I called and said they caused painful red marks all around my torso and I need to return them. The same consultant told now told me to wash it by hand and bring it in for return. I questioned that, but did what she said even though it was the opposite of her first instruction.I came to the store with my friend and dealt with the consultant and her manager, who was completely rude right from the get-go. She had me try on the bra and declared that it fit me properly and that she won't take it back. She continued being rude and stated that her job is to sell bras, not take them back and to make money. My friend was appalled and told me later that she, too, had issues with Lady Grace and would never buy from them again.I wrote a letter to the president, CEO, and secretary of Lady Grace. They did not respond. I stopped payment and only then did they respond to the cc company, but not to me. They pointed out their return policy which claims no returns on worn items. This was NOT pointed out to me and as I described, I was told the opposite and especially to wear the item to get used to it!They also said that the store manager reported that the bra looked worn and had perspiration stains on it. That is an outright lie. I have the bras and they are in perfect shape. No stains, no wear.The credit card company was unable to help me because Lady Grace refused to even give me a credit.I have never been so mistreated by a sales person or its highest officers.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $123.20 back or at least a credit.

Business Response:

Our records show that on February 11, 2013, we sent a letter of apology to this customer along with a $100 Lady Grace Gift Card which we felt was a very fair resolution of this matter. We also offered to alter the garments at no charge so that perhaps the customer could get increased use from that purchase. Apparently, the customer never received this letter. We have attached a copy and we will confirm with the customer as to whether she has received the letter; if not, we will be happy to issue another copy and replace the $100 gift card.

***** *****
Lady Grace

Consumer Response: Hello,
I am sorry that I did not respond to your last communication.   I would like to explain how this issue ended.  I received a letter from Mr. *****, treasurer of Lady Grace, in which he claimed to have sent me a letter earlier along with a $100.- gift card.  I had never received such a letter.  I called him and spoke to him, finally, for the first time. (He had never contacted me at all although he claims that he did and that we even spoke on the phone - not true).. Basically I told him that the manager had lied about various things and that I am not interested in his gift certificate and have no interest in shopping in his stores ever again. The tone of our conversation was calm but direct.  I told him that all I want is a refund for the merchandise that I bought and that was in perfect shape, contrary to what the manager had said. He agreed to credit my credit card and that I should go to the store to have this done.  He would call the manager and instruct her to follow through.  I went to the store and the manager did as she was told and I returned the merchandise (which they didn't want back before).  This obviously was a satisfactory resolution to my claim and I thank the BBB for helping to facilitate this result.  Thank you. Sincerely, *** *.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to try purchasing some things from Lady Grace online. I ordered a bra. When it arrived, I couldn't even fasten it, so I set it aside to return it. When I prepared the package for return, I copied the packing slip and wrote "didn't fit" or something to that affect. A few weeks later, the bra was returned with a form indicating that the bra had been worn and was not resalable. I looked at the bra carefully, and didn't see any white marks, so I called the customer service department. A woman named ***** returned my call and absolutely refused to admit that she could have made a mistake. She wouldn't allow me to speak to her supervisor, and she told me I could send the bra back again, at my own expense, and she would review it again. She said that she would send me the photo that she took of the bra before she returned it to me. I got the email of the photo, and it isn't even the same bra that I ordered! I decided not to try and return it to ***** again because she was so unreasonable'. I feared that I would be out the cost of the postage plus the cost of the bra. Instead I went to their corporate website, got the phone number of one of their stores, and called and asked for the name of a supervisor. I then emailed that person, ***** *****. I even send him photos of the bra that I received. I just received an email from him stating that the photo I sent wasn't of the bra I returned and that I should proceed to file a complaint with the credit card company. So I am doing that, as well as contacting the BBB for assistance in resolving this matter.

Desired Settlement: I want the company to send me a postage paid label so that I can return the bra, and I want a credit on my credit card for the $36.90 that I spent for the bra.

Business Response:

On 10/8/12, the customer placed an order with us via our website. The customer ordered three items but one was not available and was put on backorder (and later cancelled by the customer). The remaining two items were shipped out on 10/16/12 to the customer. Both were bras; one was a White bra from ********* and the other a Black bra from *****. Both were size ***. A copy of the invoice was attached. On 11/21/12 we received from the customer the Black bra which she had sent back for refund. Because the bra had white stains in the underarm area, it was deemed worn and not in saleable condition and was sent back to the customer along with an explanation.  Photos were taken and one of them is attached here (return**********). When customer received back the rejected bra she complained to us that the bra she sent back to us had nothing wrong with it. She supported her case by sending us several photos showing her bra and one of these photos is attached here as customer photo.***.  We examined the customer's photos and it was clear to us that the photo she sent back to us were NOT of the bra that she had bought and returned to us. Stylistically, it was clear to us that the bra in her photo was not of the same bra she purchased and returned to us. Even to the untrained eye, if you magnify the photo she sent back to us (attached as customerphoto.jpg) it is clear that the size of the bra in this picture is a ***. But the bra she bought from us was a *** (see invoice). Thus, it was crystal clear to us upon seeing the customer's photos that she was either very confused or deliberately trying to mislead us. We certainly would not assume that the customer is deliberately lying but the main point is still crystal clear ... the item that she thinks she returned to (and sent photos of) is clearly NOT the bra she purchased from us. Therefore, we stand by our decision not to credit this customer.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered items from this company and subsequently returned all items back when the need for said items was no longer necessary. I told my assistant to prepare the items to be sent back the same day they were received, which was done. When I did not get any confirmation of return or see a credit back for my return, I called the customer service number. The rep ***** was dismissive and very rude. I started out by giving this rep the date and time the merchandise was delivered back, then ***** ***** went on and on about the merchandise had not yet reached their warehouse. I again gave him the date and time it was delivered back to the warehouse and asked why I had not received my refund. He finally asked for the return tracking information and told me he "would look into it". I got a phone call from ***** the next morning with him admitting the return was indeed accepted back at the warehouse and that credit was owed, but the return package could not be located. ***** then started what I could only describe as an interrogation , asking what the package looked like, the dimensions, what was returned, how it was returned, how I paid for the return, what the location of drop off was for the return etc. At that point I was livid, he had proof the merchandise was returned which was admitted, but was putting me through unnecessary stress. I gave him all the information known to me at the time and he again told me he had to dig further. I have nothing to do with what goes on at the warehouse and should not have to be interrogated because someone at the merchant's place of business did not do their job correctly. My assistant is on her honeymoon and I can not/ will not try to call her and ask her all the further details about a return that the merchant already has in their possession. I feel like no customer deserves this treatment on a simple return that was done in accordance to the merchant's return policy!

Desired Settlement: I'm simply looking for the full refund, which was to be done when they received the returned merchandise. Vey SIMPLE!

Business Response: I received your letter of July 26, 2011 concerning this case.  This is the first time that I have received notification of this case so I apologize for the fact that you have not received any initial response form us in this case as we always respond promptly to such requests.



At any rate, we have received a similar request from the credit card company because the individual also requested a full credit from the credit card bank for the initial charge.  We submitted a response to the credit card company which I am including in the attached materials.



The original was placed on 5/2/2011 via our website.  The total of the order was for $475.39.  On this order, there were a total of 16 individual pieces ordered and the package, shipped via USPS, had a total weight of 6.728 lbs. The package was delivered on 5/12/2011.



The customer did indeed provide proof that a package she sent us was received by our warehouse.  However, we do not show her merchandise in our inventory nor do we show any documentation relating to her return.



More importantly, the documentation that she provided to us concerning her return shows that the weight of the package she sent back to us was only 1.2 lbs.



Naturally, this raised serious questions on our end because the customer claimed she had returned ALL items from her purchase and was demanding a full refund of $475.39.  Yet the original package weighed 6.728 lbs and included 16 items.  So why did the return package weigh only 1.2 lbs?



At this point, we sent an e-mail to the customer (copy enclosed) asking for some information on her return package so that we could try to reconcile the very large discrepancy.  To date, we have had no response to this e-mail.



Please understand that if we can receive any type of explanation we do not have a problem in crediting this customer in full; yet we have not received a response.



Also please understand that we need to do some due diligence because there is a growing trend of unscrupulous customers returning to us empty packages with no documentation.  In such cases, the customer making the return still ends up with proof that the package was delivered and we end up with an empty box with no documentation.



Naturally, this certainly doesn't mean that this customer is unscrupulous and she certainty should be given the benefit of the doubt.



Nevertheless, of we can provide any information which reconciles the discrepancy as to why a package that we sent to her weighing 6.728 lbs. was returned to us (with supposedly all items included) for only 1.2 lbs?



From our viewpoint, if UPS assigned the weight of 1.2 lbs. to this returned package then it could not possibly have included anywhere near the 16 items that we sent to this customer.



And if the customer herself assigned the 1.2 lb. weight to the package through some sort of online label system, what does this indicate?  Was this a deliberate attempt to defraud UPS, which would have charged her a much higher amount to send back the package had it weighed 6.728 lbs?  (Please note that the customer's package was sent back to us by UPS Next Day Air, which is extremely unusual in and of itself, and there would have been very a significant incremental charge had the package weighed 6.728 lbs.)



Again, the customer should certainty be given the benefit of the doubt but the customer should certainly be able to provide some very basic information about how this package was sent back to us so we can reconcile the weight discrepancy described above.



Thank you.  I can be reached at **************** should there be further questions.







Sincerely,



***** *****



Lady Grace Stores   



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[As I have already explained to this business SEVERAL times, the exact weight of the package was unknown due to the fact that our scale was not in working order at the time the label was created. We were charged the correct weight amount (UPS weight adjustment) for the the package on our invoice, which should not be any concern to the merchant at all. Several businesses use this practice when the exact weight is unknown. This merchant has no idea about the business relationship I have with UPS or the cost I incur to ship by ground or air, to imply any fraud on my part toward UPS is totally ridiculous and resentful. I have also told this merchant that the package was picked up by UPS as I have a daily pick up arrangement with them. The bottom line is that I believe this merchant received this package then lost or misplaced it and now refuses to take a lost that originated on their end. This talk of empty boxes and the like is a smoke screen and does not apply to me whatsoever. I returned every item that was received (the entire order) and I am due a FULL CREDIT for the returned merchandise period. I do not believe I should be wasting my valuable time with this back and forth for something that is plain and simple. I certainly replied to both e-mails that were sent to me requesting the same information that was given to him by phone. I felt like I was going nowhere fast with this issue. *****, from the beginning was rude and disrespectful therefore after my e-mails and request for credit went unanswered I wanted no more to do with him. I then contacted my bank to dispute the charges before my timeframe to do so had elapsed. In summary, full order returned, full credit should have been given.   ]

Regards,



******** ***** 

 


 

Business Response: the customer has entered a chargeback request through her



credit card company. We responded to that request feeling that the credit card



company can be the ultimate arbiter in this case and they will either refund



the customer for her original charge or they will side with us and reverse the



chargeback.







 







Yesterday, I was informed that the credit card company,



after a lengthy investigation, denied



the customer’s request for a refund and they have reversed the chargeback.







 







I believe that the fact that credit card company has denied



the customer’s refund request shows that our actions were appropriate.







 







If you wish to contact the credit card company regarding



their investigation, here is the contact information:







 







Worldpay







*************** option *







Reference: *************************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:







I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[This merchant is totally ridiculous! As of August 11th 2011 the claim was defiantly closed in my favor and the temporary credit that was given was made a permanent one. This merchant knows the truth, yet still continues to utter complete lies. I have my paper work from the bank indicating that I won the dispute and the chargeback on this merchant was final! Now I know from the very beginning that the statement about not receiving the merchandise back was a complete lie. This merchant is more destructive in that they can tell obvious and verifiable lies. You, ***** have shown the person and subsequently the business you run, shame on you. As I have stated, I received my money back from this company only with my banks help as they saw all the facts. If I would not have started a dispute in a timely manner, as the merchant wanted by all the smoke games, the outcome would have been me without my money or the merchandise. Justice prevailed in this case, the problem is, what about others who are not as diligent, and lose due to the non honest ways of this merchant.  If you would like the factual proof , my dispute ID# is ************ and the direct phone number for the banks dispute dpt. is **************. I confirmed today that this dispute was indeed won and closed in my favor.]

Regards,



******** ***** 

 

 

 

Business Response: We are attaching a copy of the document we received from the credit card processor, dated 11/7/11, showing that we have been credited for the initial chargeback.







please let me know if you have further questions.







***** *****

Lady Grace Stores

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:







I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[My document (that I included with my last response) from Wachovia dated 8-11-2011 sates that the matter had been resolved (closed) and credit permanent. This new document from the merchant dated 89 days after the case is irrelevant, my winning case was closed. I do not know how this document came into place, but it makes no standing on this complaint! The matter was INDEED resolved in my favor. This was a simple return and the merchant decided that they were going to keep the merchandise and my money. I disputed that fact with the proper proof and won. I now have my funds back for the return and the merchant has their merchandise back (which was the case from the very begining). I can not speak on what the merchant did after the case was closed, but it has never been reopened. My only hope is that this does not happen to any other unwitting customer of this company. I am now done!]

Regards,

******** ***** 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1