Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Priority Capital

Phone: (800) 761-2118 Fax: (781) 321-4108 View Additional Phone Numbers 174 Green St, Melrose, MA 02176 http://www.prioritycapital.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Priority Capital offers financing products to US businesses.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Priority Capital meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Priority Capital include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Priority Capital
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1997 in MA Business incorporated 04/14/1997 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sandra Kelly, Customer Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sandra Kelly, Customer Manager
Number of Employees

34

Business Category

LEASING SERVICE FINANCING COMMERCIAL LOANS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Alternate Business Names
Priority Leasing, Inc.
Industry Tips
Debt Negotiation Mutual Funds Newlywed Finances Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Priority Capital has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority approached me with financing for equipment for my business. They had approved me for 38,000 for 60 months at 12% interest. This was to a 3 part loan. 2 parts for equipment and 1 part for parts and labor for our mechanic to install. They originally told that the mechanic just needed to be a certified mechanic which he is. Then they changed it to he had to be a licensed business. He is a sole proprietor such as I who doesn't have to have a license. So they refused the 3rd part of the loan that I had originally signed the agreement for claiming I sent them a fraudulent invoice for labor and parts estimate. Then it was reworked for just the 2 pieces of equipment. Then there was issues with getting a lien release on one piece so I decided to just to do the main piece of equipment which they now say can only be financed for 36 months. When I received the paperwork and saw the payment amount I balked at do the financing. The interest rate is not listed any any paperwork they have sent me for any of these offers, and when you calculate the interest it is way more than they quoted me. They claim they never quoted me 12% that is has always been 18%, but even at that the payment still does not add up. The claimed to have listened to all the phone conversation recordings (which I was never told they were being recorded) and claim I was never quoted 12%. Now that I refuse to go through with the loan they are refusing to return the $3423.14 deposit for first and last payment plus admin fee which is sitting in escrow earning interest. I'm also waiting to hear back from legal along with writing US Senator ********* to look into their business practices.

Desired Settlement: I demand that the full amount of my $3423.14 deposit plus the interest it has occurred be refunded ASAP and that no negative reporting be done to my credit

Business Response: The customer was never quoted a 12% rate. Mr *******'s credit profile was such that he qualified for our tier 3 approval, i.e. we were lucky to have him approved. Mr. ******* signed a full set of documents which clearly listed the terms of the contract.... if he was unhappy with the terms, they should never have been signed. After all documents were signed, his loan was secured and we submitted the final documents and invoices for review with our underwriting team. At that time, it was discovered that one of the "vendors" that Mr. ******* wanted to use was not a registered business, in fact he was just an individual that was going to do "work" on the truck. We asked him to find a different vendor for the work needed on the truck, and further offered to finance just the truck, at which time Mr. ******* requested his deposit back. Even though a signed contract was in place, thus legally allowing Priority Capital to hold Mr. *******'s funds for a future financing need, we have decided to refund his first and last advanced payments in full. We will hold onto the small documentation fee incurred on our end. We hope to do business with Mr ******* once again in the future, and will allow him to utilize these fees toward a future deal. 

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went thru a reputable medical ultrasound company to purchase a demo model ultrasound last December due to the low cost and future need. They referred me to Priority Capital lending for initial funding as I didn't have the financial ability at that moment to purchase the equipment but would within the next year. I re iterated on numerous occasions to all whom I spoke with that I needed a short term loan, I planned on paying it off within the year to avoid high interest rate accumulation. They sent me out the paperwork to sign which I might add was highly deceptive and never highlighted the fact that this type of loan they had found for me had the interest built in to it and there would be no benefit in paying it off early before the full 5 year term of the loan and it would be at 20% interest, worse than most credit cards. In the end of payments I will have paid enough in interest to purchase not only my ultrasound but a nice brand new car. I never would have entered into this agreement had I known because I didn't need the equipment that badly at the time; I was only taking advantage of an end of the year ultrasound sale and in the end I was skunked and taken for a horrific ride with $30,000 worth of interest. My attorney said after reading their contract that this type of loan practice is exceptionally deceptive and unethical business practice.

Desired Settlement: Accept the amount already paid towards the loan with the addition of $30,000 to finish paying off the equipment and close the loan as paid in full.

Business Response: The contract that **** *** ********* ****** signed was very clear and had no mention of any early pay off options.  The monthly payment requirements were clearly laid out on the front of the contract.  **** *** is basically trying to back out of a contract that they entered into because the were able to recently find lending arrangements that are more favorable.That being said we are currently working with **** ***** Attorney in an attempt to reach a mediated payoff settlement.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********.   Regards, ***** ******  

8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Priority Capital failed to disclose all fees that would be incurred, some of which that were charged were false. Upon demanding a refund, they returned all but $300, which they claimed was for an inspection on the property, that was never performed by them or any agent of theirs. Further, they have posted on my credit, claiming that it was denied, which was a lie, due to unethical business practices on their behalf, I chose to withdraw from the contract.

Desired Settlement: My $300 for the services not rendered by them.

Business Response: This customer’s story is not at all accurate. Mr. ******* applied with our firm around the 3rd of February of this year. The customer initially was looking for $50,000 for the purchase of a used tow truck. We told Mr. ******* that the max we could approve him for was $20,000, and he said he would find a truck for that amount. He then came back to us a week later and found a 2002 ****** ** that he wanted to purchase for $30,210. We were able to increase his approval, but told him that would be the max we could finance as a result of the major delinquency on his credit bureau. I believe this is what Mr. ******* is referring to within his complaint saying we had “unethical business practices” and denying credit – this is not the case. We were simply keeping the customer informed of our progress. On February 15th, we sent a term sheet to Mr. ******* that we needed signed in order to secure the funds and proceed with the process (as is standard procedure). As you can see in the attached, it was signed and sent back to our company along with an auto payment form and VOID business check. We processed the check (at the customer’s direction) for the full amount, instead of the $300 as stated in the approval, in the amount of $1,587.57. From there, we forwarded the customer the contract to be signed. We were given several excuses as to why they were not signed in a timely manner, from “I’ve been busy” to “my internet and phones are down, I will fax you the documents as soon as they’re back up” – this went on for 3 weeks. IMPORTANT SIDE NOTE: The last line of the term sheet clearly states that “Upon receipt of this signed term sheet, all funds received shall be considered earned in full” On March 30th, Mr. ******* called to question why we needed a site inspection on the deal. I personally got on the phone with him at this point, which is also standard practice to try to fund a deal, or find out a solution that is amenable to the customer. He was all bent out of shape that part of the funding process required this independent site inspector to go out and view the truck as operational and verify the VIN #. This is 100% standard business practice when a transaction involves the purchase of ANY equipment from a private party (instead of a licensed vendor), which is for both his protection as well as ours. Mr. ******* told us we should just go off of his word…. At this point, we didn’t feel comfortable with the deal and I told him we could not waive the site. The very next day, on March 31st, Mr. ******* informed us that he would no longer be purchasing this truck and would like his money refunded. His reasoning was because he “didn’t have a driver for the truck,” which was a totally different story than what we were previously told. The customer then threatened to “call the BBB and get my money back” and told us that he’s seen how that works for other customers on our BBB page. I made a business decision to send $1,287.87 back to him, with the understanding that $300 was for time we put into the transaction (documentation preparation, UCC search, credit check, etc), to which he seemed to understand. It came as a surprise that he filed this complaint. Based on the term sheet that he signed, we could keep 100% of the funds, however, as you can see, I feel we were MORE than fair in this circumstance and have done everything we can to keep this customer happy. We told him we could apply the $300 towards another deal, and again, he seemed ok with this. For the sake of putting this to rest, we would be happy to refund this $300 to the customer with the understanding that the complaint will be withdrawn from our page. Please advise.

Consumer Response: The business-in-question's recollection is more than a bit skewed.  At no time were they threatened with a complaint to the BBB, the complaint wasn't made until well after the company was hell bent on not returning funds.  Also, an inspection may be standard practice, (a $600 dollar charge, not disclosed til later on in the loan process) but no inspection was done, in fact they wanted the inspection to be done AFTER the loan had funded, not BEFORE in order to ensure that the truck was worth being funded.  Not to mention, the retention of the $300 was suppose to for equipment and maintenance documents that they try to make you believe they had to obtain through their channels, yet in fact, said documents were obtained by me contacting the owner of the equipment and having him send them to me where I then forwarded them on to the office.  Bottom line, the company did nothing for me which constitutes them keeping funds in any amount. Regards, ***** *******  

7/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When entering the lease 4 years ago with Priority Capital, they never mentioned the lease end terms only the $1 buy out. Buried in the contract is language that states the terms of notification to end the lease by 90-120 days in advance, which could be lease term or lease date so they really could not accept any notification unless they defined the dates in the contract specifically. The sales person neglected to inform our company of any such clauses, only that the lease would be done in 4 years. Apparently, thisis standard predatory practice for leasing companies to invent evergreen clauses and poison pills to take advantage of small businesses that don't have the manpower to police every action taken during a business life.

Desired Settlement: Waive all charges beyond the $1.00 buyout as agreed in principal by the sales person and the customer at lease inception.

Business Response: All our lease agreements are quite clear in the language in fact we have all lessee's sign a separate page that discusses the end of lease purchase options in clear language. *****, Inc. was in fact given one of these end of lease purchase option pages and did sign and accept it.We stand by all of our documents but also understand the importance of maintaining a strong relationship with our customers and want to make every effort to have *****, Inc. feel satisfied in this situation.  So as a show of good faith we would be willing to reduce the amount owed by *****, Inc. to $2,000 and also allow him to apply that $2,000 towards the advance rentals and fees of any future lease *****, Inc performs with Priority Capital.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.   We realize that the so called "language" you refer to is in the contract, we just disagree in the manner that the lease was sold to us not directing our attention to this very important clause that doesn't seem to appear with our present leasing company LEAF......Bottom line - your sales people should be upfront about all lease traps that are set out 4 years later along with the never answered question I posed about when the 90-120 days from the lease end starts...... Regards, ***** ******  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Priority Capital
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart