Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

LC International, Inc.

Phone: (508) 281-5088 Fax: (508) 916-2838 53 Brigham St Unit 7, Marlborough, MA 01752 http://www.lcipaper.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

LC International Company, Inc. is a manufacturer & supplier of wedding invitation papers, envelopes and specialty papers for consumers and businesses The company states that products are sold through wholesalers, distributors, retailers and printers around the world.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LC International, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for LC International, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LC International, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 in MA Business incorporated 08/22/1995 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Chase, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Chase, President
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

INVITATIONS & ANNOUNCEMENTS ENGRAVERS-STATIONERY CALLING CARDS WEDDING SUPPLIES & SERVICES PAPER All Other Publishers (NAICS: 511199)

Method(s) of Payment
Mastercard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Google Checkout
Paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states that within 30 days of receipt, products unopened and in its original packaged condition may be returned to us for a full refund or exchange. Freight charges will not be credited for the original shipment or return shipment. To facilitate the return please contact our customer service department at 888-488-0120 Monday through Friday 8:00am-5:00pm EST for a Return Authorization Number (RMA) and return instructions. Returns without authorization from LCI will not be accepted. We suggest insuring the product for its value, as damaged returns will not be accepted. 
Learn more at http://www.lcipaper.com/custserv.html#returns
Alternate Business Names
LCI Paper Company
Industry Tips
Planning a Wedding Planning a Wedding - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 53 Brigham St Unit 7

    Marlborough, MA 01752 (508) 281-5088

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased pre-cut cardstock from LCI Paper in March in order to create by DIY wedding invitations, RSVPs and thank yous. Their website DOES NOT warm customers that purchasing PRE_CUT cardstock can create issues when trying to find a local printer to work with. Not that I have created my wedding designs, I have spent over a month trying to find a company to print my invitations/RSVPs. None of the companies I contacted could work with the pre-cut cardstock I purchased.When I finally gave up and contact LCI Paper to report this problem, I asked if I could send the cardstock back to them now so they could handle the printing for me (at the time I purchased the cardstock, I did not have a design created yet). When I contacted LCI Paper with this problem, they told me that they NO LONGER DO PRINTING IN HOUSE! After hearing this information, and all of the problems I was having trying to work with this pre-cut cardstock, I asked them for a refund. I WAS TOLD THAT I COULD NOT RETURN THIS MERCHANDISE since the window for returning for a refund had lapsed.If I was able to get a printer to work with this cardstock, I would not have had to ask for a refund. I wanted to use this beautiful paper, and I am sad I cannot. However, the fact of matter is I cannot use it now, and I had to go a different direction completely (I just ordered invitations today, but I had to compromise and go with someone else's design instead of my own!).I am VERY UNHAPPY with this company and their lack of customer service. I should have been offered a refund and be allowed to return the merchandise that I could no longer work with. I was treated as if this was entirely my problem! Wedding planning is stressful enough without having some company tell you it's your problem to rectify when you cannot use their product. If they had better disclaimers and advertising on their website. If the customer chooses to print elsewhere, there should be a disclaimer advising customers to purchase sheets and not precut paper

Desired Settlement: I am more than happy to return the merchandise for a refund... but I WANT A REFUND regardless. they are not transparent enough to be of help to their customers, and refused to exchange the pre-cut cardstock I purchased for the full sheets! No exchange, no refund, no service. This is not right.

Business Response: The customer contacted us after 4 months to explain her issue. Even though our return policy is for (1) month, we did want to extend her an RMA for the goods she wanted to return. However, our credit card processor does not allow refunds to a credit card after 120 days.Her RMA was for $22.84 (*********-********) and even though we can not take back the product we will be happy to issue her a store credit for that amount.In regards to printability we do give best practice recommendations for printing at home. We are unable to give recommendations on 3rd party printers. I spoke to this customer and tried to give her phone numbers and places to call that may be able to print for her.At this time we can issue her a store credit but unfortunately we are not able to take back the product for a credit card refund.

Consumer Response:   While I was able to find invitations elsewhere now and can use the envelopes purchased, I cannot for the life of me figure why they will not give me a refund for this useless pre-cut cardstock. It does not matter that your rep went on the internet to look up printers in my area, because NONE OF THEM will work with this paper!! By the way, the same rep actually told me he could help me with a refund, but I took his advice instead and tried to work with the paper. After that fiasco, I called back and received another story of course...felt a lot like a bait and switch job to me.  Is it really that important to you to follow your policy and have an unhappy customer?I had no intention of returning this paper - I love it. I am beyond disappointed that I cannot have the wedding invitations I designed.  I am happy to return the cardstock that I can't use....PLEASE DO THE RIGHT THING AND REFUND MY MONEY. Regards, ****** ********  

Business Response: It came to my attention that a portion of the order was already returned to us. An LCI employee went ahead and issued & sent a money order (personally) for the items already returned. Amount $22.58, therefore assume that was received.LCI paper does make best practice recommendations but will not make guarantees about the printability or use of our papers. This is on a unique url of the website and also listed under the product specifications of all our papers.: http://www.lcipaper.com/kb/customer-service/print-disclaimer  We indicate in the disclaimer that we recommend ordering samples, if uncertain, to test. Further we offer samples of all our papers that can be purchased in advance of your final bulk purchase."LCI does make best practice recommendations for printing compatibility on our various papers from our own in house testing and individual paper mill specifications. However, in regards to printing, equipment, paper compatibility and personal results we do not and can not explicitly guarantee verbally or written each consumer application. There are all types of consumer and professional printers on the market, each with their own mechanical and technical makeup. Further, all inks are not the same and papers will react differently to different inks.To help with the process, we offer samples of our papers for testing your specific application on your specific printer. The vast majority of our papers are suitable for conventional printing including offset, thermography, engraving, letterpress and on demand. If you plan on using the services of an outside printer we encourage you to consult them in regards to your printing needs.LCI Paper Co, Inc. shall not be liable, in any way, for incidental or consequential damages or losses sustained, or aggravated, by print or paper recommendations whether or not made verbally or in writing on this website. This is the sole and exclusive responsibility of the consumer."Even though our return policy indicates items in unused and salable condition can be returned for a refund within (30) days, we are very lenient and allow returns well past that time. However after (4) months we are unable to process credit card refunds through our processor, therefore can not accept the return for a refund.Link to LCI Return Policy: http://www.lcipaper.com/kb/customer-service/returns-exchangesI have offered to give the customer a store credit for the "other pre-cut" cards that have not already been returned. This is in the amount of $29.66 so she can order larger sheets, as indicated in her initial complaint. The other amount ($22.58) was already refunded by the LCI Employee.

Consumer Response:  Although this company has the worst customer service I have dealt with in a very long time, I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LC International, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)