BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Swaptree, Inc is an internet company that specializes in the swapping of dvd's, books, and video games, and cd's.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

17 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 17

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swaptree, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2004 in DE Business incorporated: 06/28/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Number of Employees

10

Business Category

ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING SWAP SHOPS

Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Harrison Ave Ste 3R

    Boston, MA 02118

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, it appears that this business is no longer in business.

Mail sent to the business on 06/01/2013 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as Attempted - Not Known.


Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap has neglected it's customers on a major scale, but I can only speak for myself. I have had login issues for almost two months, have been unable to process trades and they have not responded to any of my emails. I finally got in once and tried to do something, but it still wouldn't work. So I tried to simply close my account, and it won't let me do that either. This is ridiculous. I am not the only person experiencing these things, but they will not respond to anyone's emails (I personally have sent nearly 10, and only received an automated response). All I want at this point is to close my account. They clearly don't care about the population that they claim to be serving, and I don't intend to do any further business with them.

Desired Settlement: I want my account closed. I don't ever want them to contact me again. And I want them to rethink their business ethics.

BBB's Final Determination: Business is out of business.

4/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initiated in a trade verified and monitored by swap.com and have not received what I was owed. Despite 2 months of emailing, and attempting to call (the company doesn't seem to have a phone), I have gotten no response. I have gotten no indication that they are even aware of my problem, let alone that they are taking care of it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either get a replacement for the DVD that I sent them (The Dark Knight), a copy of the DVD that I am owed (Stranger than Fiction), or a comparable monetary settlement ($20).

BBB's Final Determination: Business cannot be contacted.

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap has a SafeSwap guarantee, by which a trader agrees to mail out trades or they will replace the item for you. I have completed nearly 1,000 trades without ever having to employ this guarantee. When the time came that my trade partner did not honor his contract, Swap did not honor their's. I have contacted them eight times, with no reply. I have emailed and called. They refuse to respond, and did not replace my item. Instead, they expect me to eat the cost. They should at least respond to my attempts at contact.

Desired Settlement: I want the DVD I traded for. Either that, or $20 to replace it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to swap with a user on Swap.com for a XBOX Slim 250gb with Kinect and a controller. I sent a $150 suit UPS and provided the shipping and tracking information but have not received a response. I have also followed up a few times but still have not received a response. I never received the XBOX Slim 250gb with Kinect and a controller. The site refuses to honor their safeswap guarantee (http://www.swap.com/SafeSwap)or This is section 5.3 of their agreement.5.3 Replacement item for items not receivedIn the event that you do not receive any item from your swap partner and that user cannot provide evidence of shipment satisfactory to swap.com, swap.com will make a reasonable effort to provide you with a replacement item which is similar to the item you expected to receive. However, swap.com solely reserves the right, for any reason (including the event that swap.com cannot find a similar item) to provide you a gift certificate for an e-commerce site for the amount of what it determines to be a reasonable replacement value for the item in lieu of actually obtaining a replacement item for you. If swap.com does provide you with a gift certificate in lieu of a replacement item, it no case will the value of that gift certificate exceed $100, regardless of the reasonable replacement value for the item.The top of the page lists both the marketplace and media sites.I later found out that this user has pulled the same trick on other users and Swap.com was alerted but did nothing to stop him from doing it again. If they would have banned him I would have not lost out on my suit or the items I swapped The response I received from the site was atrocious. Treating their customers like idiots that they couldn't be bothered with. They were completely dismissive. Since my recent issue I have been contacted by several other users that had the same problem with Swap.com.

Desired Settlement: I would like Swap.com to replace the xbox 360, controller and xbox kinect or minimally reimburse me the $150 that was spent on the suit.

Business Response: We contacted Mr. ******** and reached an agreement on his complaint #*******. He indicated he will close the complaint.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

11/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap.com pairs your items with other swappers items. Then each ships their item at their own cost to the other person.However, I recently shipped my item I was swapping at my own cost and so did my trade partner, however they used a Swap.com USPS label. Somehow even with tracking the item was either not delivered as it said it was, or was stolen from my doorstep while I was at home according to the supposed delivery time. Swap.com has refused to either resend another book that I had requested or to compensate me for the cd I sent and the shipping cost associated with it. Effectively without have some sort of insurance on their products they are allowing to be traded on their site (which the post office states is incredibly minimal cost) they have stolen my goods, used them for their profits and left me with nothing to show for my supposedly "completed trade".

Desired Settlement: Any of these is fine:They can either resend a copy of "*** ****" by ********* *****.As they likely won't get my cd back from the other customer, they could send a copy of "*** ** **** * ****" by *** **** CD and my shipping costs refunded.I would also like to make sure this doesn't happen to others as they have likely cheated many more than just me by not having proper insurance in place. That needs to change.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeatedly, I have sent messages to be removed from the mailing list and to have my account deleted. Still I get messages a few times a week, which I forward to their customer service email everytime. The link to unsubcribe in the emails does not take you off the list. Contacting customer service also does not seem to take you off the list. I have made this request at min. on 10 different occasions. Even though I have recieved an email confirmation from customer service that I will indeed be taken off the list (1.5 months ago). It was a slap in the face when the next day I had another message, and the day after I got another. Since I have asked to be removed from the list (2 months ago) I have gotten about 30 emails. Some are repeat emails that are no longer even relevent that I got months ago, but now they are being repeatedly sent to me again. I want to be removed from your mailing list. Note: I am not sure of the exact dates so the information on the next page will be an estimate.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be removed from your email mailing list and to have my account deleted. A confirmation email that it has been taken care of will suffice.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company/staff seems to have just left the site without a word. There is no support, no reinforcing of their "SafeSwap" guarantee. No one to help people with problems (except on the forums, but those are just regular users that try to help people but cant do anything about technical problems). If their site is going to remain up, they need to have at least someone there to help people with their problems.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to get support back, and if not, then to shut down the site since they've already left it.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an account for over 2 years was being harrassed and reported this person well they suspended my account. I have been stolen from and provided legitimate information and they did nothing to the persons who stole from there website. Now I have shipments that need to be made and can not do so because they suspended my account and NOT ONE PERSON from swap.com has even responded via email. Also the registered email with BBB is invalid

Desired Settlement: Not only do i want my account reinstated but I want a refund for the items stolen from me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive my item in a trade and reported it as such. Their "SafeSwap" program began by contacting the other user, but abruptly stopped on May 12. Despite being assured that the matter would be resolved within four business dates of this last contact, nothing has happened. They have failed to respond to three emails spread out over three weeks, despite assurances by their automated response email that I would be contacted within two business days. There is no listed phone number on the website, and the phone number listed here does not work. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want a copy of the item that was promised to me multiple times.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is regarding Trade # *******. This was a three-way trade, which meant the person I was shipping an item to was not the individual I was receiving an item from. The trade was accepted on Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 and my item was delivered to it's recipient 3-4weeks after the date of trade. I have yet to receive the DVD I had traded for... I submitted a claim with Swap as the Swap Guarantee states they will replace items not received after a completed trade. Swap.com (Swaptree.com) took a very long time to send the replacement. Finally, I received a message stating that the DVD was on it's way to me (no tracking information) but I never received the shipment. I've sent numerous messages to their Customer Service for some information on the replacement and have NOT heard from Swap. All I want is the DVD. I could let this go and simply buy one from ****** for five bucks but I'm really bothered by the fact that they have not responded to my messages and have chosen to completely ignore me. I can't appreciate that not even for a product worth less than $10. Courtesy is courtesy and there is none here. *****

Desired Settlement: I just want swap to honor the Swap Guarantee and send me the DVD (**** **** *******) I traded for and did not receive.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This problem concerns trade #*******.I reported that I did not receive my item and was advised that I would receive an update no later than April 4,2012;however,I did not receive the update.Since then I have sent 2 messages through the website,2 emails(one to ****************** and another to ******************),called and left a message on the answering machine and even written a letter to the CEO,**** ******* and have received no response whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: (1)I want my item as guaranteed under the safeswap program. (2)I want an explanation why they did not respond to my inquiries. (3)I would like a change in policy to actually provide customer service. (4)An apology would be nice as well.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are a number of issues that I could have picked that would describe the problem, but this was the best one that I could pick since I cant pick all of them. Swaptree (which is now just swap.com) seems to just have no one left to man the site, without a word of the site closing or any of the staff members leaving. Any questions that get asked via contact us or on the forums go unanswered. The biggest thing that I have to complain about though is their service, Safeswap (http://www.swap.com/SafeSwap). Basically, if your trade partner didnt use delivery confirmation and you have reason to suspect they dont intend on sending their item, Swap will first contact that trader to get them to send your item. But if they fail to respond in a reasonable amount of time, Swap can then charge that person's credit card for a replacement item. However, this is not an automatic process. So with no one left manning the site, anyone that files SafeSwap gets ignored, thus letting the scammers get away with it. This is unfair. If they are not going to enforce/backup their SafeSwap guarantee, then they should not have it. And if no one is left to answer questions, then the site shouldnt be up anymore.

Desired Settlement: Well preferably I'd like them to get people to man the site, but I doubt that will happen. So if they wont change their policy (or enforce it), then I guess I'd like the site to go down since people will keep scamming unless SafeSwap is enforced.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap.com gave my 18-month-old address to my partners in five separate trades, so while I shipped items for those trades, I have not (and will not) receive the items for which I traded. Swap.com's system had the correct address for me and I completed over 25 trades, but for some unknown reason their system reverted to an address I had long removed from my account profile. Swap.com has failed to respond to six emails sent to three different customer service addresses (support, ********** *********).

Desired Settlement: I just want the books for which I traded. Trade numbers include WR825L1, YA64784, LK153L8, and 56LKH72. I'm still trying to determine if the book in the fifth trade was ever sent.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/20/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A trade ( #*******) was completed on 2/16/12. User stated they shipped on 2/17/12. On 3/19/12, after not receiving item or tracking info, I contacted the trader, with no response. On 3/20/12 I filed an item not received with Swap.com per their Safe swap guarantee guidelines. On 3/23/12 Swap responded saying the trader didn't respond to them within the next 3 business days they would charge the user's credit card for a replacement item to be sent to me. On 3/28/12, swap responded again that they still haven't heard from the trader and will give them another 4 business days to respond. That's the last I heard from Swap.com and still have not received my traded item. I tried using the contact us link to send an email, but never heard back.

Desired Settlement: It seems I'm not the only one to have this issue with swap.com, there isn't any employees responding to peoples emails. I want a refund or the item I was supposed to receive.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap.com is an internet trading service. In exchange for a small fee, Swap provides a SafeSwap promise that ensures they will replace an item if one of the trade partners does not send their item. On 1/29/2012, a trader committed to send me a book. I made a claim on 2/19, and on 2/29 Swap indicated they would send a replacement item if they hadn't heard from the trader in 4 days. I have sent to e-mails to Swap.com, most recently on 4/18, plus posted on their bulletin board but have not heard back.

Desired Settlement: I would like Swap to fulfull their SaveSwap guarentee and to proivde timely responses to customer complaints.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal swap.com member for almost a year, and have had many trades and a few donations, all with 100% feedback. About a month ago, I swapped a Hemingway book for another book and printed out the swap.com mailer (as I always do), attached it to my package, and placed the book in the mailbox outside of the post office. I distinctly remember mailing it. A few weeks later, the recipient files a complaint saying that they never received the book. I immediately figure the book got lost in the mail. Swap.com emailed me and gave me three options (that I can remember, it has been three weeks). 1. I will not be mailing the book/I no longer have the book 2. I will be mailing it today 3. I will be mailing it in 2 business days. None of these options really matched my situation, so I figured the first option was the closest, since "I no longer have the book" because I mailed it. I thought after picking that option, they will give me more options to indicate that the book was lost in the mail. How could I use the other two options if I already mailed the book?! Anyway, AS SOON as I selected that, Swap SUSPENDED my account, which wouldn't let me access forums or any part of the site and merely said "contact customer support". They also CHARGED me for the full retail price of the book! I suppose I can part with the charge for the book since the person never did get it, but the suspension is ridiculous and they didn't provide any other information about what I needed to do to explain the situation. I immediately emailed support, as the website said, and received an email saying they would get back to me within two business days. This was March 28th. I have YET to receive any contact from their support team. I have emailed two or three other times since, because I can no longer swap books for something that wasn't even my fault. When I first received the email that the book was marked as not received, I checked to see if the book arrived via the swap site (swap.com has tracking on their mail slips) and it says that I printed out the mailing slip, but it doesn't have any other tracking information; so it is true, the person didn't get my book. I went to the post office and asked if they scan the packages that were placed in the mailbox outside of their office and they said "No, that is the problem with prepaid postage, they don't get scanned till they arrive at their destination. So we could have received that book from the slot, but it got lost before it reached its destination." Again - I did everything I was supposed to - printed out the slip and I mailed it - and yet Swap won't even dignify my previously spotless membership with a RESPONSE. I'm so angry because I really loved swap, and I spoke about the service to ALL of my friends. I think it's just ridiculous that I am being ignored this way and automatically banned from the site because I chose an option that best matched my situation, but wasn't even the right one! There wasn't an option for "Mailed but lost" and I'm paying for my following the rules with a suspension for something that was out of my control.

Desired Settlement: I would like Swap to finally contact me regarding this issue. I would also like my suspension lifted immediately, and any negative marks this may leave on my profile to be removed should I no longer be suspended. I would also like them to add an option for "Mailed but lost" for those people who run into my problem. Obviously, It makes sense they would still charge you HOWEVER, it should not warrant a suspension.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

2/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: first off, i have tried several ways to contact ********* i left a voice mail and called the phone number many times without answer(which i had to dig pretty far to find and was not listed on their site) ************* I also sent a message via the website, but they only have a "suggestions" type form, nothing about my issue. responding to the swap partner via the website didnt help either, because it is all automated. I traded with ******* ****** * trade number *******. this person contacts me via *********messages, which i assume *********can see. In these messages this person admits to getting my item, but that it was scratched. While it did have some scratches on it (which were listed in the description) it was playable. this person waited at least a month (first contacted me on 2/6) to contact me and tell me the disk was too scratched to play. Then, when i refuse to replace something they have had for a significant amount of time they file an "item not received" with *********to have me charged for a replacement. on 2/10/12 at 8:09 am beccaneer sent me a *********message stating "The mobile page wouldn't let me access emailing you, but I think trying to get your disc to work for the past two months was more of an inconvenience to me, not you. Believe me, I want it to work. The scratches are so bad; I have never seen a disc in that bad condition. Thank you for being clear about your policy on replacing your merchandise that doesn't work. I will be contacting *********again to let them know. " and then this person has the nerve to say they never got the disk to get me screwed over. on top of all of that *********seems to have everything automated and threatens to charge me if i do not provide tracking information by 2/24/12. i should not have to prove this item was sent, this person ADMITS to getting it! and because of *********automating every little thing and not answering their phone, i have no way to force them to take a look at this other than by filing this complaint. I also want for people who look them on the BBB to know what can happen by using ********* I have no doubt that this disk worked fine for this person until they scratched or broke it, and that they then decided they could get a free one by doing this. and swaptrees policy allows them to do this.

Desired Settlement: I demand that swap.com look at the messages from this person and see that the item was, in fact, received by "beccaneer" and to not charge me to replace it. I would also like this persons account suspended or terminated for their attempt to defraud me by making an "item not received" case when they CLEARLY know they got the item. I will also be cancelling my account with swap.com as soon as this issue is resolved. i am disgusted with this entire thing.

Business Response: *********s ******* policy covers items that are not received. In this case the items has clearly been sent and received, therefore the Item Not Received (INR) report has been closed. While it is difficult for us to control the quality of items on ********, we have several automated procedures to review problem items. On rare occasion, a member could receive an unplayable item or an item in unsatisfactory condition. That said, there are several routes of recourse members may take should they receive a defective item. To remedy this situation we often advise that members consider sending a replacement item to their trade partner, and have done so in this case. No further action is required from this user, they have completed their portion of this swap.

Consumer Response: while i dont think it should have taken this long to get a response, and while i think this should have been handled properly before i had to spend time filing this complaint, i cant really expect anything more from swap.com.  at least i can finally close my account.

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.