BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Swaptree, Inc is an internet company that specializes in the swapping of dvd's, books, and video games, and cd's.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Swaptree, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2004 in DE Business incorporated 06/28/2004 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Number of Employees

10

Business Category

ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING SWAP SHOPS

Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Harrison Ave Ste 3R

    Boston, MA 02118

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap has neglected it's customers on a major scale, but I can only speak for myself. I have had login issues for almost two months, have been unable to process trades and they have not responded to any of my emails. I finally got in once and tried to do something, but it still wouldn't work. So I tried to simply close my account, and it won't let me do that either. This is ridiculous. I am not the only person experiencing these things, but they will not respond to anyone's emails (I personally have sent nearly 10, and only received an automated response). All I want at this point is to close my account. They clearly don't care about the population that they claim to be serving, and I don't intend to do any further business with them.

Desired Settlement: I want my account closed. I don't ever want them to contact me again. And I want them to rethink their business ethics.

4/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I initiated in a trade verified and monitored by swap.com and have not received what I was owed. Despite 2 months of emailing, and attempting to call (the company doesn't seem to have a phone), I have gotten no response. I have gotten no indication that they are even aware of my problem, let alone that they are taking care of it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to either get a replacement for the DVD that I sent them (The Dark Knight), a copy of the DVD that I am owed (Stranger than Fiction), or a comparable monetary settlement ($20).

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap has a SafeSwap guarantee, by which a trader agrees to mail out trades or they will replace the item for you. I have completed nearly 1,000 trades without ever having to employ this guarantee. When the time came that my trade partner did not honor his contract, Swap did not honor their's. I have contacted them eight times, with no reply. I have emailed and called. They refuse to respond, and did not replace my item. Instead, they expect me to eat the cost. They should at least respond to my attempts at contact.

Desired Settlement: I want the DVD I traded for. Either that, or $20 to replace it.

11/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I agreed to swap with a user on Swap.com for a XBOX Slim 250gb with Kinect and a controller. I sent a $150 suit UPS and provided the shipping and tracking information but have not received a response. I have also followed up a few times but still have not received a response. I never received the XBOX Slim 250gb with Kinect and a controller. The site refuses to honor their safeswap guarantee (http://www.swap.com/SafeSwap)or This is section 5.3 of their agreement.5.3 Replacement item for items not receivedIn the event that you do not receive any item from your swap partner and that user cannot provide evidence of shipment satisfactory to swap.com, swap.com will make a reasonable effort to provide you with a replacement item which is similar to the item you expected to receive. However, swap.com solely reserves the right, for any reason (including the event that swap.com cannot find a similar item) to provide you a gift certificate for an e-commerce site for the amount of what it determines to be a reasonable replacement value for the item in lieu of actually obtaining a replacement item for you. If swap.com does provide you with a gift certificate in lieu of a replacement item, it no case will the value of that gift certificate exceed $100, regardless of the reasonable replacement value for the item.The top of the page lists both the marketplace and media sites.I later found out that this user has pulled the same trick on other users and Swap.com was alerted but did nothing to stop him from doing it again. If they would have banned him I would have not lost out on my suit or the items I swapped The response I received from the site was atrocious. Treating their customers like idiots that they couldn't be bothered with. They were completely dismissive. Since my recent issue I have been contacted by several other users that had the same problem with Swap.com.

Desired Settlement: I would like Swap.com to replace the xbox 360, controller and xbox kinect or minimally reimburse me the $150 that was spent on the suit.

Business Response: We contacted Mr. ******** and reached an agreement on his complaint #*******. He indicated he will close the complaint.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

11/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Swap.com pairs your items with other swappers items. Then each ships their item at their own cost to the other person.However, I recently shipped my item I was swapping at my own cost and so did my trade partner, however they used a Swap.com USPS label. Somehow even with tracking the item was either not delivered as it said it was, or was stolen from my doorstep while I was at home according to the supposed delivery time. Swap.com has refused to either resend another book that I had requested or to compensate me for the cd I sent and the shipping cost associated with it. Effectively without have some sort of insurance on their products they are allowing to be traded on their site (which the post office states is incredibly minimal cost) they have stolen my goods, used them for their profits and left me with nothing to show for my supposedly "completed trade".

Desired Settlement: Any of these is fine:They can either resend a copy of "*** ****" by ********* *****.As they likely won't get my cd back from the other customer, they could send a copy of "*** ** **** * ****" by *** **** CD and my shipping costs refunded.I would also like to make sure this doesn't happen to others as they have likely cheated many more than just me by not having proper insurance in place. That needs to change.

11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Repeatedly, I have sent messages to be removed from the mailing list and to have my account deleted. Still I get messages a few times a week, which I forward to their customer service email everytime. The link to unsubcribe in the emails does not take you off the list. Contacting customer service also does not seem to take you off the list. I have made this request at min. on 10 different occasions. Even though I have recieved an email confirmation from customer service that I will indeed be taken off the list (1.5 months ago). It was a slap in the face when the next day I had another message, and the day after I got another. Since I have asked to be removed from the list (2 months ago) I have gotten about 30 emails. Some are repeat emails that are no longer even relevent that I got months ago, but now they are being repeatedly sent to me again. I want to be removed from your mailing list. Note: I am not sure of the exact dates so the information on the next page will be an estimate.

Desired Settlement: I just want to be removed from your email mailing list and to have my account deleted. A confirmation email that it has been taken care of will suffice.

7/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company/staff seems to have just left the site without a word. There is no support, no reinforcing of their "SafeSwap" guarantee. No one to help people with problems (except on the forums, but those are just regular users that try to help people but cant do anything about technical problems). If their site is going to remain up, they need to have at least someone there to help people with their problems.

Desired Settlement: Would like them to get support back, and if not, then to shut down the site since they've already left it.

7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have an account for over 2 years was being harrassed and reported this person well they suspended my account. I have been stolen from and provided legitimate information and they did nothing to the persons who stole from there website. Now I have shipments that need to be made and can not do so because they suspended my account and NOT ONE PERSON from swap.com has even responded via email. Also the registered email with BBB is invalid

Desired Settlement: Not only do i want my account reinstated but I want a refund for the items stolen from me.

7/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not receive my item in a trade and reported it as such. Their "SafeSwap" program began by contacting the other user, but abruptly stopped on May 12. Despite being assured that the matter would be resolved within four business dates of this last contact, nothing has happened. They have failed to respond to three emails spread out over three weeks, despite assurances by their automated response email that I would be contacted within two business days. There is no listed phone number on the website, and the phone number listed here does not work. This is unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I want a copy of the item that was promised to me multiple times.

6/28/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is regarding Trade # *******. This was a three-way trade, which meant the person I was shipping an item to was not the individual I was receiving an item from. The trade was accepted on Wednesday, Oct 19, 2011 and my item was delivered to it's recipient 3-4weeks after the date of trade. I have yet to receive the DVD I had traded for... I submitted a claim with Swap as the Swap Guarantee states they will replace items not received after a completed trade. Swap.com (Swaptree.com) took a very long time to send the replacement. Finally, I received a message stating that the DVD was on it's way to me (no tracking information) but I never received the shipment. I've sent numerous messages to their Customer Service for some information on the replacement and have NOT heard from Swap. All I want is the DVD. I could let this go and simply buy one from ****** for five bucks but I'm really bothered by the fact that they have not responded to my messages and have chosen to completely ignore me. I can't appreciate that not even for a product worth less than $10. Courtesy is courtesy and there is none here. *****

Desired Settlement: I just want swap to honor the Swap Guarantee and send me the DVD (**** **** *******) I traded for and did not receive.

6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This problem concerns trade #*******.I reported that I did not receive my item and was advised that I would receive an update no later than April 4,2012;however,I did not receive the update.Since then I have sent 2 messages through the website,2 emails(one to ****************** and another to ******************),called and left a message on the answering machine and even written a letter to the CEO,**** ******* and have received no response whatsoever.

Desired Settlement: (1)I want my item as guaranteed under the safeswap program. (2)I want an explanation why they did not respond to my inquiries. (3)I would like a change in policy to actually provide customer service. (4)An apology would be nice as well.