Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sedo LLC

Phone: (617) 499-7200 Fax: (617) 499-7219 161 1st St Ste 4, Cambridge, MA 02142 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sedo.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sedo.com, LLC, specializes in services for buying and selling domain names and websites, and monetizing domain names. The company states that their global marketplace partner network includes domain-oriented sites in five languages and a range of domain name services that include domain auctions, domain name consulting, domain name appraisals and valuation, domain name escrow/transfer services, and domain parking.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sedo LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sedo LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Sedo LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2005 Business started: 02/12/2001 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Knapp, Complaint Handler - Customer Care Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Knapp, Complaint Handler - Customer Care
Principal: Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES E-COMMERCE INTERNET SERVICES Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Products & Services

Sedo LLC offers the following product(s): Domain Appraisals, Domain Names, Domain Promotions

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
PayPal
Wire Transfer
ACH/Direct Deposit
Counter Deposit
Refund and Exchange Policy
Sedo serves as a third-party marketplace, auction house, and escrow agent for domain names. Refunds and exchanges are not applicable to domains.
Alternate Business Names
Sedo Sedo.com
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sedo LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed 7 domains on Sedo for sale. About a month ago two of them sold. Several months ago when I purchased these domains I spent a matter of hours researching the ones I wanted, minutes to buy them and then maybe a day to have them transferred to my iPage account. Well, Sedo customer service sucks. This process has dragged out over three weeks now and one of my domains still has not budged. Why has it not budged? Well, there is something wrong every time I try to submit the necessary authorization code. I keep telling them it's not working and they keep offering the same solution which is no solution because I've tried their solution and it still does not work. They take a minimum of 24 hours to respond to every communique and instead of helping resolve the issue they continue to blame me for holding up the process. I am holding nothing up. I manually gave them the authorization code... they said copy and paste it in the transfer message center... I tried, it wouldn't work, so I manually entered it line by line and they refuse to take my submission and use it to make the transfer happen. Now they are threatening collections actions and the potentially of the buyer being able to pursue legal action. These guys are completely incompetent and refuse to be transfer agents and help make a seamless transfer process. They only communicate via the transfer center and they take a minimum of a day to respond which drags the process out for weeks when once they get paid, it out to be a matter of minutes for the parties to enter the necessary information and the digital transfer to happen. SEDO sucks and I've already removed my remaining domains and listed them with another company. I have requested to have the buyers refunded because I'm tired of dealing with them, but now they say I owe them. Owe them for what? They haven't done crap to resolve the situation but make accusation. DO NOT, I WARN YOU, DO NOT DO BUSINESS with SEDO!

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem there is in submitting the authorization code and quit acting like it's my fault. You can email, you can call, you can give a viable solution via the transfer center, but you don't. You just accuse and act like it's my fault that your authorization button won't accept my code. I want the transfer to happen and happen now so I can get my money and be done dealing with these morons.

Business Response: Hi ****, Thank you for contacting us. I am writing to confirm that following your complaint we had the Supervisor of Transfers, ***** *******, contact you to discuss the issue relating to the authorization codes.  Per your requested settlement, we were able to resolve the issue related to the authorization codes, and I can confirm you have been paid in full for the sale of the domain via our marketplace.  Thank you for your patience in this matter. Best Regards, **** *****Customer Service, ***** ******* 

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed a domain (***************) on Sedo.com years ago. In the interim, I sold it through another party. Years later, Sedo claims to have sold this same domain. After informing them that I no longer owned it, they demanded to be paid a commission and are threatening collections. Sedo makes no attempt to ensure the validity of their listings after a long period of inactivity. They do not inquire, even via email, as to whether the original lister (I don't even recall my password since it's been so long) still owns the domain. They have no incentive to ensure the accuracy of stale listings because they expect to be paid a commission regardless of the amount of time that may have passed since the original posting.

Desired Settlement: Sedo should cease and desist from payment demands and threatening actions. No balance is owed.

Business Response: Dear ****, We are sorry that you have this experience using Sedo's marketplace. We understand your perspective on this matter and would like to clarify our policies as it relates to this complaint. Per our terms of use agreement, which all Sedo customers agree to when opening an account, it is stated that "when listing a domain for sale, sellers agree to keep any data which they have added to the domain database up-to-date. If a domain has been sold, the seller must remove it from the database."Furthermore, in accordance with Sedo's Domain Marketplace Agreement, section 3, "Once Buyer and Seller have entered into an agreement for the purchase and sale of a Domain, should the payment and transfer of the respective Domain fail for reasons unrelated to a breach by Sedo of the Domain Transfer Agreement, Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable commission fee for the sale from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction."Once again, we understand your perspective on this matter. But this is the agreement that you accepted when opening your account with Sedo to list your domain for sale. Again we apologize for any confusion or frustration as a result of this.  We are not able to cease and desist our request for payment of the commission as a result of your breach of Sedo's terms of use. Best Regards, **** *****Sedo, North America 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Stale listings that are years old (and nobody even remembers signing up for your scam site) .  Sedo MUST make an effort to verify accuracy over long period of time.  It's willful negligence on the company's part.  It's part of their business model to extract commissions in perpetuity regardless of listing accuracy. Unfortunately, I will now have to deal with this legally and via social media and online media campaigns if BBB cannot help secure a satisfactory solution.   **** ****** 

3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has obtained a domain name which previously belonged to our business for over 14 years. . ******* ********* (the domain registra) failed to notify our business about the expiration of this domain name. Subsequently, we were told it was sold to this affiliated company (Sedo or new Venture?). We believe this domain name was illegally obtained and taken over by Sedo. As such, we demand the return of this domain name back. Moreover, the action by both Sedo and ******* ********* have harmed our business by cutting our website visibility.

Desired Settlement: Please resolve this issue with us and ******* *********. We want our domain back. Please stop advertising it for sale as we see it as "stolen property".

Business Response: Hi *****, 

Thank you for contacting us regarding your complaint.  We apologize for the experience you have had in regards to losing ownership of your domain.  

Sedo is a secondary marketplace for domain names, we are not a registrar nor do we own any of the domains that are listed for sale on our marketplace.  We provide the marketplace for domain owners, and domain buyers, to negotiate purchase and sales agreements for domains.  

Based on the information you have provided to us, it sounds like you should first be communicating with ******* ********* regarding your claim that you were not notified of an upcoming expiration.  That is handled by your registrar, and is the responsibility of your registrar to communicate to you.  If you feel that they did not communicate this information to you, that is an issue you need to take up directly with ******* *********, or direct a BBB complaint to them directly, as we are not related to, or affiliated with, ******* *********.  

As far as your remarks about stolen property as concerned, if the domain did in fact expire then another party can register the domain and are then the owners of that domain name.  Sedo verifies the ownership of all domains listed to our marketplace, so when the domain was listed at Sedo by it's new owner, we will have verified that they are the current rightful owner of the domain.  If you feel that you are entitled to own this domain, that is an issue you must take up with ******* ********* directly, we cannot remove the domain from the seller's account because of the circumstances which you reference.  So again, we ask that you take that up with ******* ********* directly. 

If you have any further questions or comments, please visit our Customer Support Center at http://support.sedo.com. 
 
Best regards,
 
**** *****
--
Customer Care Specialist, North America
Sedo.com :: *** ***** ****** :: *********, MA *****
tel ###-###-####:: fax ###-###-####
http://www.sedo.com

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been sent a collection letter for 50.00 for sedo.com, which is a service I have never used. I do not know where they got my information , but I have not purchased any product or service from sedo.com.I highly resent being sent a letter from a collection letter from a debt collector for an unauthorized Supposed debt.

Desired Settlement: I want the debt canceled and all collection attempts to cease. If this has been put on my credit report, I want it removed.period.

Business Response: Hi *******, Thank you for contacting us. My apologies on the delayed response, I was travelling abroad and was stuck due to the blizzard here in our ****** office, so again my apologies on the delay in getting back to you on behalf of Sedo.  The collection notice you are receiving is for a commission charge.  You entered into a sales agreement to purchase the domain myit.me via the Sedo marketplace on  on  2/14/2014.  According to the sales agreement you have 5 days to remit payment after which the seller can cancel the sales agreement.  In this case Sedo attempted multiple times to contact you to remit payment, sending a total of five reminders.  We never received a response from you, so as a result of the cancelled sales agreement, we are charging you the commission of 50 USD, per our terms of use, hence the letters.  We understand that your desired result is for Sedo to stop contacting you regarding this payment.  In order for this request to be considered, you must login to your Sedo account, and leave a comment in the Transfer Center of your account, which will then be reviewed by the Sedo accounts receivable department.  If you need further assistance for this process, please contact Sedo customer care Monday-Friday, 9AM-5PM EST.  We are happy to assist, but this is the procedure if you wish to have Sedo cancel the charge.Best Regards, **** *****Customer Care Specialist, North America  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Regards, ******* ******  

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alright so someone tried to buy a domain name for $2500 with my email address, Apparently the transaction didn't go through so they charge a 10% commission fee on there services. I was not informed that I had made a purchase at sedo.com, It was only brought to my attention today when I got a letter from a debt collection office in the mail, saying I owe $250 dollars. I called up on the phone and he said I had an account there (I didn't create one) which tried to buy a domain name. Weird because at the time, I did not have any sort of credit card, so how could I pay for it? Phone support gave me the account number and I reset the password and logged into the account. It said one bill overdue so I went and looked at the transaction pdf file. The person who tried to buy it did not use my name or my address, so why are they coming after me? There is a address right on the receipt but they go after me? How? Why? Because the email has my name? So phone support says I have to submit a ticket to the billing department which is located in Germany so I have to wait until Monday to get a response to it.

Desired Settlement: 1) Cancel the debt collection, as I didn't order anything, My name and address is not on the account. The only thing on the account is my email. Go after the person who paid for it on the receipt. 2) Stop Contacting me

Business Response:

Hi ******, Thank you for contacting us. The name and address on the Sedo account matches your name and address, and you have confirmed that the email address is accurate as well.  If we understand correctly you are saying that a 3rd party has fraudulently entered into a purchase and sales agreement using your name, and personal information.  You have indicated that you did log into the account, and left a message for the accounts receivable department, I can confirm that since that department is based out of our headquarters in Germany, it will require 24-48 business hours to get a response to your complaint regarding being charged the commission.  In regards to charging you the commission, when a customer opens a Sedo account they agree to our terms of use, and these terms of use indicate that should either party back out of a sales agreement, they will be assessed the commission charge.  We understand your desired settlement, and our accounts receivable department will review your message per our specified time frame and determine whether we can approve your request.  In the meantime if you have any questions, don't hesitate to call our customer support team at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday, 9AM-5PM. 

Best Regards, 

**** *****

Customer Care Specialist, North America 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

In your previous message you said the following"In regards to charging you the commission, when a customer opens a Sedo account they agree to our terms of use, and these terms of use indicate that should either party back out of a sales agreement, they will be assessed the commission charge." However I never opened a Sedo account, which means it was not me who agreed to the terms of use.Interestingly enough - I had looked up the records on the account and have noticed the the transaction receipt has a billing name and address that is not mine. I have attached the receipt for your record.As you can clearly see, the transactions are not in my name, and any disputes would have to be resolved with the name and billing addressee as I am not the one who authorized the purchase. I am also not the one who paid for any "service" provided by the company, as you can clearly see someone else made this purchase.

Business Response:

Hi ********, Thank you for providing this information.  I will provide this to our accounts receivable team. To clarify, the reason we cannot simply grant your requested solution based on this information, is because when the account was created, the person creating the account has to certify the account using personal information, such as a mobile telephone, credit card, tax documents or our signed PDF certification form.  Furthermore the account holder has the ability to edit the contact information for the purchase and sales agreements.  This is not a common thing for fraudsters as they usually do not provide their personal information when committing fraud, furthermore they would need to have access to your mobile phone or credit card information.  In the meantime, you may want to review the information on the sales agreement, you may know the person who purchased the domain.  Our AR team will follow up with you per the business time frame, we appreciate your patience while we review this complaint. 

Best Regards, 

**** ***** 

Sedo Customer Care, North America 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Hello,I would like to know how this account was verified, was it by phone, credit card or one of your pdf forms? If it was verified by credit card, did you system take appropriate steps to verify what the billing addresses name and address was? If it was a phone call, did you're system take appropriate steps to make sure that it was not a disposable number? If these systems are in place, then it should have known I was not the one creating or purchasing on the account. Since I work in retail, I know how credit cards are processed, our online website uses AVS (Address Verification System) to determine if the credit card matches the billing address, if it doesn't it usually means the card was stolen and the person using it does not know the correct billing address. Since I am assuming your system did check, it would determine that the billing address was in fact not mine. When you say,  This is not a common thing for fraudsters as they usually do not provide their personal information when committing fraud, furthermore they would need to have access to your mobile phone or credit card information.  I have to agree with you, However I feel like you are accusing me of something, and I don't quite like that. Fraudsters can use fake information, or real, such as looking up a random address in the white pages in the phone book. There is no way known how my information may have ended up in the account. I might have had a virus on my computer or somebody could have hacked into one of my accounts. However I can assure that how my information got there was used not with my permission. I have contacted my credit bureau and an monitoring my credit reports in case my identity got stolen, as that could be a case in this investigation. So far nothing has come up so I do not believe it was stolen. I personally believe someone knew what they were doing when signing up and wanted to defraud using different information, in this case my information.Again I do feel the these charges are not valid as I did not create an account, I did not agree to the terms of service, I did not order any product or service from your company. If anything your company should apologies for pursuing me instead of the person listed at the billing address on the bill, as they are the ones who attempted to purchase your product.  

12/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has my domains listed and will not let me cancel my account while they have offers in. I do not want to accept the offers but they require me to submit a counter offer if I want to cancel negotiations. I do not want to submit a counter offer and just want to have my account cancelled. They should not hold me hostage like this.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account immediately and de-list all domains from their service.

Business Response: Hello *********, 

We wanted to inform you that we have completed your request by deleting all of your domains from the Sedo marketplace, and closing your Sedo account.  We apologize for your experience.  Per section 5.1 of Sedo's Terms of Use which all customers agree to upon opening a Sedo account, "sellers may delete their Domain listings from the Domain Marketplace at any time without cost unless their Domain is subject to an active negotiation," and since some of your domains had offers you were therefore not able to delete them until those offers expires, as all bids from Buyers and Sellers are valid and binding for 7 days. 

In this case, now that all of the offers were expired, we were able to complete your request. Your domains are deleted and your Sedo account is now closed. Therefore we consider this incident to be closed. 

Best Regards, 

**** *****
Customer Care Specialist  

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This escrow service has been assisting in transfer of a URL/web address since July 5th. The transfer has been complete other than any acknowledgement of payment. I need more than a credit card statement for business, tax and reimbursement purposes. There is even a request invoice drop-down on the purchaser's transaction field to request an invoice from the seller. I have requested this invoice several time before they completed the request as well as after.

Desired Settlement: I would like an invoice from SEDO that says they accepted my money and transferred it to the seller, or an invoice from the seller (which should have been a requirement of the transfer of funds to them if I asked for one prior).

Business Response: Hi ********, 

Sedo's domain transfer service provides a safe and secure platform for the transfer of domain ownership from seller to buyer.  As Sedo works in the capacity of a third party during a domain sale, we issue a payment request rather than an offical invoice. The contract which can be viewed in the Transfer Centre contains all the details (address of your contractual partner and potential VAT or tax numbers) that your tax office requires for a tax declaration.

Should you require an invoice you can request one via the transfer center, and Sedo will communicate this request directly to the seller who can provide an invoice if they wish to do so, please also keep in mind we can communicate with the seller as frequently as possible to get the invoice in a timely manner, but ultimately we cannot force them to provide the invoice, so this time frame can vary depending on the seller's responsiveness. 

In the case of your complaint, you did request the invoice and we communicated with the seller your request.  From the time of your first request following the domain hold period, on October 14th, which was also the date this complaint was filed, we made several requests to the seller for an invoice, which they ultimately provided on October 21st, and we have since provided you this document as a PDF file in your Sedo Transfer Center.  

Therefore your desired outcome of this complaint has been fulfilled as we were able to get an invoice for the seller, and this invoice has been in your transfer center since October 22nd.  We apologize for the time you had to wait for this information, but we appreciate your understanding of how the invoice process works as it relates to our transfer center.  

Best Regards,

**** *****
Customer
Care Specialist, North America

Sedo.com
:: *** ***** ****** :: Cambridge, MA 02142

tel
###-###-#### :: fax ###-###-#### 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

I do have a receipt, thank you.  However, I only have a receipt/invoice because the initial seller agreed to provide one.  I don't think it should only be up to the seller.  I was told if he did not agree, I was out of luck.  I could perhaps use the sales proposal.  

I think in these cases, SEDO should provide a receipt for the transaction.  SEDO billed my credit card, why can they not give me an invoice for that transaction?  It's like a street corner deal-they take my money and don't provide an invoice for that.  If I put money in escrow for real estate purchases, I am provided a document that says so.  I have never had a bank or title company tell me to use my cancelled check or credit card statement as a record of an escrow deposit.

SEDO needs to accept their responsibilities as a third party, or escrow holder-not hide behind it.  

A money transaction record should be provided by SEDO if the initial seller refused to in a timely fashion.  

Regards,

****** *****

 

Business Response: Hi ******, 

Thank you for your response, and for providing your feedback on the process. 

Per section 5.2.3.7. of our Terms of Use, which every Sedo customer must agree to use our services, "Sedo is neither the buyer nor seller in a Domain purchase and sale transaction. As such, if the Buyer requires an invoice of the purchase and sale transaction or is required to request tax information from the Seller, such as a form W-9, the Buyer needs to inform Sedo of this request as soon as an agreement has been reached between the Buyer and Seller. Sedo will then communicate the request to the Seller. The Seller agrees that he/she will comply with such request if the request is promptly made at the beginning of the transfer."

These terms of use outline our process as it relates to invoices, and in your case you did follow this process and we did provide you the invoice via the seller.  So again while we value your feedback and will consider it as we do with all feedback, your request for an invoice was handled per our outlined process, and the request was completed.  

Best Regards, 

**** ***** 
Sedo Customer Care Representative 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

I have my invoice and it sounds like I am lucky.  If the seller didn't provide it, there would be no receipt other than the credit card invoice?  What kind of business does that.  

This is a bad policy and bad way to do business, by not acknowledging a transaction of money.  They need to embrace their job as an escrow provider, not hide behind it.  

Horrible customer service, nobody ever answers the phone and if they do, they offer little help.  Will never do business with them again.  They need to revise their customer agreement and become more purchaser friendly.  

Regards,

****** *****

 

 

3/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was interested to purchase 2 domain names for my business and contacted the sales manager. She asked me if I want to purchase it, I said - "if we can negotiate a price for 2 domains, I will purchase both". She didn't respond to this, filed an order and they started asking me for money. They sent me a couple of emails with invoice and then started sending DEBT COLLECTION emails where they are saying that if I won't pay - this would be a contract breach and they will start the litigation process. I told them that I never agreed to buy anything and asked for a proof. They responded with an email, saying that I owe money to them. Then I reached the supervisor - he responded with the same claim that I owe them money and I have to pay. As a proof he attached my dialogue with the sales agent, which he didn't even read. The dialogue copied: SALES: "Could you please confirm such information? In case you do, can you please create a free account under https://*******************************************************************************************************and provide us with your Sedo login to create the transaction, as well as issuing the contracts and payment order." ME: "Hey ****, I've already created an account. My login is:***. The only thing is that I'm also interested in the domain name ***.org . Can you please help me out contact the seller of the domain? We'd like to make an offer of a lower price - I think the domain name is quite overpriced. If we agree on a good price, we'll get both domains right away." I've never agreed for the purchase and she never offered me the good price for the other domain. They shouldn't ask me for money in this case. This is absolutely absurt.

Desired Settlement: I hope they will change this policy and will never do the same. I've spent quite a lot of nerves and time with them.

Business Response: We are writing to you with regards to complaint #*******.   Buyers at Sedo's automatically enter into a legally binding contract to purchase a domain from the seller if their bid is accepted by the seller or if they accept a seller's offer to sell.   This is why we ask that customers give careful consideration when making or accepting offers. Sedo's user agreement requires buyers to pay for the domains that they have committed to purchase. According to section 5.2.4. Penalties for Failing to Perform Obligations: “Sedo reserves the right to cancel the escrow and transfer of domain ownership if one of the parties to the purchase and sale agreement fails to fulfill its obligation to cooperate in the transfer process after two (2) requests are made by Sedo via the email addresses provided in his/her user account ("Failed Transfer"). In the case of a Failed Transfer, Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable commission fee from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction.” You entered into a sales agreement with the seller using Sedo’s external escrow service on May 15th, 2013.  The Sedo transfer agent asked you to create a Sedo account to begin the external escrow, to which you responded that you had created an account and provided the transfer agent your Sedo login ID to initiate the domain transfer.  Sedo provided a purchase and sales agreement to you advising you of the sales agreement, as well as providing you frequent reminders to pay for the domain.  Since you refused to pay for the domain, we advised the seller that you had backed out of the sales agreement.  As a result of breaching contract with the seller, Sedo remits the commission for the domain escrow from the buyer.   This is why you have been, and continue to be, contacted by our accounts receivable department for payment of this commission.  If you have any further questions regarding this issue, feel free to contact Sedo customer care directly at ###-###-####. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

You said:"The Sedo transfer agent asked you to create a Sedo account to begin the external escrow, to which you responded that you had created an account and provided the transfer agent your Sedo login ID to initiate the domain transfer."How it really was: When I said that I already have an account with SEDO (I said, I've created it earlier and the login is "***"), in the same email I've indicated that I am not ready to purchase the domain. I said that I will only make the purchase, if we agree on price. This means two things: 1. I notified the agent that I am not ready to buy it yet; 2. I didn't agree on the price. ...the next thing I've received was the bill and no one wanted to help me solve the misunderstanding caused by the sales agent. Then I started receiving emails saying that I have to pay a $50 fine for backing out of contract. P.S. I highly regret that I've started this conversation with your company and have spent so much time dealing with your agents and managers/supervisors asking me to pay the fine.

Business Response: Dear ******,  We understand that you are frustrated with the amount of time you have had to spend regarding this transfer and the commission fee.  Let me provide further details to explain why we continue to pursue collection of the commission fee.  On May 14th our transfer agent sent you the following message to initiate the external escrow process: “Dear Mr *********,   I have been informed that you are eager to purchase the domain ***.org, for 900 USD. The commission fees would be at your charge. Could you please confirm such information?” On May 14th you responded to our transfer agent: “Hey ****, I've already created an account. My login is: ********** . The only thing is that I'm also interested in the domain name ***.org . Can you please help me out contact the seller of the domain? We'd like to make an offer of a lower price - I think the domain name is quite overpriced. If we agree on a good price, we'll get both domains right away.” In this email, you provide your account information per the transfer agent’s request to initiate the transfer of ***.org.  In this email you also make an additional inquiry, asking the transfer agent if they can contact the seller of ***.org  since you were interested in buying that domain. On May 15th, the transfer agent responds to you: “Hi ******, Thanks for the quick feedback. I have now created the transaction for ***.org. Regarding ***.org, can you please let me know what your maximum budget is to contact the current owner. I will try my best to help and negotiate the price down.” In this email the transfer agent makes it clear to you that they have initiated the transfer of ***.org and that they will try to help you gain information on ***.org.   Furthermore, you never respond to this email.  On May 21st the transfer agent reaches out to you once again to advise: “Hi ******, After a few negotiations, the owner is not going down 2500Usd (commission fees of 15% at your charge). I fear that he is not open to sell at a lower price.” This is the record we have of the communication between you and the transfer agent.  In addition to these emails, you did not at any time leave a message in your Sedo Buyer Control Panel that you, in fact, did not want to buy this domain.  We also have no records of you contacting Sedo Customer Care regarding this issue.   Considering all of these details, and our terms of use for buyers, we feel that the commission charge you are being assessed is in line with our terms of use, and we will continue to pursue collection of this fee.  Again, we apologize for any confusion this incident has caused you.  If you have any questions feel free to contact Sedo Customer Care. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

She mentioned that she created the transaction, but how would I know what does she mean by "the transaction has been created"? I thought that she created some transaction in her computer listing my interest in purchasing these two domains. She never asked me if I agree to purchase it and I never said that I do. Your are an international company and you should make it clear for all kinds of customers that you initiate transfers even without clear agreement. I am not responsible for your misunderstandings. Here are definitions of "transaction": Definition of TRANSACTION1a : something transacted; especially : an exchange ortransfer of goods, services, or funds <electronictransactions>b plural : the often published record of the meeting of a society or association2a : an act, process, or instance of transactingb : a communicative action or activity involving two parties or things that reciprocally affect or influence each otherTransaction or transactional may refer to:Contents  [hide] 1 Commerce2 Computer science and database systems3 Other uses4 See alsoCommerce[edit source | editbeta]Financial transaction, an agreement, communication, or movement carried out between a buyer and a seller to exchange an asset for paymentElectronic funds transfer, the electronic exchange or transfer of money from one account to anotherReal estate transaction, the process whereby rights in a unit of property is transferred between two or more partiesTransaction cost, a cost incurred in making an economic exchangeComputer science and database systems[edit source | editbeta]Transaction processing, information processing that is divided into individual, indivisible operationsDatabase transaction, a unit of work performed within a database management systemAtomic transaction, a series of database operations either all occur, or nothing occursOther uses[edit source | editbeta]Transaction Publishers, a New Jersey-based publishing house that specializes in social sciences books"Transaction" an episode of the Death Note anime series; see List of Death Note episodesTransactional analysis, a psychoanalytic theory of psychologyTransactional interpretation, an interpretation of quantum mechanicsTransactional leadership, a leadership style described by ***** ********* *****__ Another way to look at the problem:A contract is an agreement having a lawful object entered into voluntarily by two or more parties, each of whom intends to create one or more legal obligations between them. The elements of a contract are "offer" and "acceptance" by "competent persons" having legal capacity who exchange "consideration" to create "mutuality of obligation."[1]There was clearly no acceptance in our case. Your sales agent might have had a misunderstanding. If I would have received apologies from the manager or "Customer Care", saying "sorry, we got it wrong, and we'll cancel the transaction at no fee" - this would be fine and I wouldn't ask further questions. I understand this happens. However, you are still trying to deal with me and trying to make me pay your fees, that I didn't agree to pay. This, first of all, indicates how unprofessional the company representatives are, starting from sales managers closing the deals without asking customer's permission, and managers who are not very polite in the email communication, and even now, when the case is on BBB web site, you are trying to argue that your sales rep was right and I have to pay for her misunderstanding. I've spent a good part of my Saturday writing this letter, and this is the 10th time I had to explain my point in this problem. I am really dissatisfied with your service and I hope other clients don't get so much trouble because of your employees being so unprofessional. If there is still no understanding from your side, I will not be accepting any more comments on the problem. I am sure that my point is right. In any country of the World, if a person didn't agree on the contract, there is no contract.P.S. I was asking your sales agent to connect me with the supervisor or a manager, but no one said that you have Customer Care. 

2/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed a domain with Sedo.com a couple of years ago in an attempt to sell it. I soon found that their service will only allow you to post the price you wish to sell for up to $10,000 UNLESS you pay for a Sedo appraisal. The list price that I was interested in was considerably more than $10,000 so I simply logged off and forgot about the free listing. After reading that a similar domain sold for $2.45 Million a couple of months ago I once again attempted to post the actual asking price of my domain and found that it was impossible to do without paying for a Sedo appraisal upfront. I then attempted to delete the listing completely and list it with another domain broker and could not. After contacting Sedo via email they notified me that a still had an offer on the domain open (from months ago) so the listing could not be deleted. Oddly enough, offers are supposed to expire within 10 days with this company if you don't respond. I told them I had no interest in accepting $25 for the domain and asked that it be deleted. I asked them to do the same (delete it) the following week. Nothing. I then emailed them and threatened to call the BBB & my State Attorney General's office on them. Suddenly low ball offers began to appear...$25...$20, etc. I turned down the first offers only to learn that my actions were only extending their listing time by another 10 days. I then tried to give them responses marking their postings as *SPAM* That did no good. Their offers would increase by $1 increments every few days in order to keep the listing active. I attempted to block every communication from SEDO but their emails always found a way of coming through. In short, I now know HOW they became the largest domain broker in the world. They refuse to delete a listing and refuse to take stop sending you insanely low offers. My complaint is two fold. I need to find a way to force SEDO to delete the listing of www.investsmart.com in an attempt to stop harrassing communications from their company.

Desired Settlement: I need to find a way to force SEDO to delete the listing of www.investsmart.com OR allow me to list the domain for the price that I am asking. I also need them to stop sending one to two emails from them each day with insanely low offers. This action falls under harrassing communications.

Business Response: We are writing to you with regards to complaint # *******.  We require that domains must be appraised at an amount over $10,000 before they can be listed over $10,000.  Members can use our free suggestion tool to evaluate the value of their domain as well as our manually done appraisals completed by our market analyst.  We have this policy in place to preserve the credibility of the marketplace.  Domain owners can still counter-offer with any amount once they have received an offer, so they are not limited to selling domains under $10,000.   We also encourage that sellers set up a Minimum Offer if they do not wish to receive offers below a certain amount. 

Please understand, all sellers are required to make at least one counter-offer before negotiations can be cancelled so that the buyer is given an idea of the seller's price expectations. As the domain has been listed for sale, it would be unfair of the seller to cancel the negotiations without giving the buyer a chance. We have this policy in place to help foster negotiations as there are many cases in which interested buyers are willing to pay more for a domain than their original offer suggests. Often, parties change their price expectations during the course of negotiations to make an agreement possible. Also, submitting a counter-offer keeps the marketplace running smoothly and effectively for all members, increasing your chances of closing a sale.

We reached out to Mr. ******* via telephone on January 22nd, and were unable to reach him and sent an email.  As a courtesy, we listed his domain name as "Not for sale", so that he would no longer receive any reminders.  The reminders are intended to help remind sellers of open offers, and we recommend setting up a minimum offer if you have higher price expectations.If you have any further questions about the appraisal process, or wish to speak with us further; we would be happy to speak with you at: 617-499-7200.  Our hours are Monday through Friday 9am –5pm.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind Regards,
******* **** - Customer Support Specialist

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I read their reply.  I have no desire to talk to those *******.  I've asked them to delete my domain from their records at least a dozen times and they refused to respond.  Their system is setup so you cannot delete it yourself because they continue to bombard you with ridiculously low offers that increase by $1 increments.  As long as an offer is on the table you can't delete your domain. I refuse to talk to SEDO.  Let me know if you can't handle getting this domain deleted.  I'm sure the KY Attorney General can since he's running for Governor next year.

Business Response: Regarding your response to Complaint # *******, we have already listed the domain name as "Not for Sale" and additionally deleted it from the Sedo account on the client's behalf as the offers were no longer binding. 

We require that sellers provide buyers with counter-offers before canceling the negotiation.  This is a policy in place to help foster the negotiation process. We ask that all sellers and buyers respond to any offers they receive in order to give the other party a range to work within.  Please note, that our support staff reached out to the client regarding setting up a Minimum Offer amount.  This Minimum Offer would prevent the client from receiving any additional offers they may consider to be low.  We offer this as an option for clients who do not wish to be notified of low offers.

I hope this is helpful, and please let us know if you have any further questions.  We are available from 9am-5pm EST Monday-Friday at 617-499-7200.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind regards,
******* ****
Customer Support Specialist- North America


1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently contracted with Sedo to manage the sale of a web domain name. their customer service has been abysmal. The following list of my complaints: 1. The transfer agent refuses to contact me despite 2 requests to call me directly on my cell phone to help guide me through the sale process 2. The agent uses jargon without an explanation 3. I faxed an invoice as requested on 12/13/12 with confirmation of receipt. My request for receipt confirmation from the agent was ignored. I was then contacted 12/20/12 again asking for a receipt. it turns out the agent is in Germany and the fax is in Massachusetts . 4. Though i was requested to downlaod another invoice template, the website did not allow me to do so. 5. Nowhere on the Sedo website is a phone contact number to talk to an actual person 6. Their website offers on live chat. When you go to that it states that chat is unavailable even though I tried during their regular work hours 7. I found a contact number off an email I was sent. The phone tree options allowed me to choose an agent by name. .My agent was not among the options. 8. I opted to choose another agent, thinking they could get me through to my agent. The phone call was then cut off. 9. I called again, wading through their phone tree yet again, waiting 15" to be answered.. "Colin" from customer service answered. he stated he was unable to send me another invoice and could not assist me with the wording. I reminded him that the agent sent me exact invoice wording 12/13/12 and asked why he could not email me another template. He stated "it was not legal" and that it was between myself and the buyer. 10. I explained that I do not have ready access to a fax machine and questioned whether an electronic signature was adequate. he was unable to answer question with any certainty. 11. he stated he would try to find the invoice fax dated 12/13/12 and that he would contact me on my cell phone either way. He has not gotten back with me so..here I am...composing my own invoice,,,hoping the language is correct, having to pay a local ****** to send a fax.

Desired Settlement: Sedo is receiving $900 for their woefully inadequate service. I would like a significant adjustment in that sum. I believe, in light of such hassle, $450 should be adequate.

Business Response: In response to complaint # *******, we have checked into this matter and our transfer department has performed due diligence in contacting Ms. ******.  Our transfer agents have communicated between the buyer and seller in a timely manner to ensure a secure transfer of the domain name.  Unfortunately, the email address provided by the client was no longer valid, and this contributed to the transfer requiring more time.  As we cannot update the email where the domain is registered, we rely on the client to perform this update so that the transfer can proceed. When a seller agrees to sell a domain on the Sedo marketplace; they also agree to provide an invoice at the buyer’s request.  Please see Section 5.2.3.7. Proof of Purchase/Requests for Tax Information of our Terms and Conditions: “Sedo is neither the buyer nor seller in a Domain purchase and sale transaction. As such, if the Buyer requires an invoice of the purchase and sale transaction or is required to request tax information from the Seller, such as a form W-9, the Buyer needs to inform Sedo of this request as soon as an agreement has been reached between the Buyer and Seller. Sedo will then communicate the request to the Seller. The Seller agrees that he/she will comply with such request if the request is promptly made at the beginning of the transfer.” We provided the client with a template to help create the invoice, which had to be in .PDF format, at the request of the buyer.   The client was experiencing difficulty sending the invoice, and our records state that our transfer agent called and left a voicemail to assist on December 20. The invoice is an agreement between the buyer and seller, and Sedo cannot create the invoice on the seller’s behalf. Due to a variety of factors; such as responsiveness from the buyer and seller, the domain transfer process can take varying lengths of time.  With these factors considered, it's safe to assume that a standard domain name transfer takes 1-2 weeks to finalize.   As this transfer began on December 12, a reasonable amount of time has passed, despite some obstacles outside of Sedo’s control.  We cannot offer a commission adjustment, as we have worked within our abilities to perform a secure transfer service. We can be reachedanytime between 9am-5pm EST Monday – Friday at 617-499-7200, or via email at contact@sedo.com.  Our contact information is also available in the About Us > Company Overview section of the Sedo.com. Kind Regards, ******* **** -- Customer Care Specialist - International Sedo.com :: 161 First Street :: Cambridge, MA 02142 tel 617-499-7200 :: fax 617-499-7219 http://www.sedo.com :: contact@sedo.com

12/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered with www.sedo.com. I had two premium domain names which were *********.com and ************.com. I paid money to feature *********.com in the marketplace and promote it in the categories which they honored. I then asked for a professional appraisal on both domains which cost upwards of one hundred thousand dollars. Five days later they send me back both appraisals. The first was *********.com which was $500 and the second was ************.com which was $600. A professional appraisal involves discussion and a lot of thought. It seems like they just pumped the domains through a calculator and gave me incorrect results. The results are appalling. These domains are considered premium and this seems dodgy to me. Are they trying to make me think they are worthless so I sell for a cheaper price and they can buy them off me? I have all the emails from Sedo.com. I then sent an email back to them asking for a reappraisal because obviously they did not even discuss the domain names and they said that they do not reappraisal domain names that they have appraised. I have paid for a service of a professional appraisal and I got insulted. This company should not operate with these practices. The appraisals came from the brokerage team at Sedo.com. The customer service was very good however.

Desired Settlement: I want Sedo.com to spend five full days (as the professional appraisal states) properly appraising these domain names and admit fault (which involves proper discussion about the domain names). I want several respected domain appraisers to supervise the appraisal.

Business Response: Hi *******,
We are writing to you with regards to complaint #*******.  Sedo’s appraisals are done by our experienced market analysts and indicate a fair market value for domains in the current market.  In this case, the Premium appraisal was done in three business days, which is the guaranteed time frame for completing appraisals. The price of the Premium appraisal is 49 Euro per domain, which is the amount the customer was charged per domain. Our professional market analyst has cited specific examples of similar domain sales amounts and detailed descriptions of why the domains have been valued at those particular prices.

Please keep in mind; we appraise domains based on our knowledge of the current market, and provide what we believe to be fair price for the domain given this information.  It’s possible that a price can deviate significantly upwards or downwards from a fair price depending on a potential buyer or a special market situation. The evaluation cannot be adjusted or re-evaluated to meet an individual’s price expectations, as we stand by our ability to provide professional appraisals with fair market values.

If you have any further questions about the appraisal process, or wish to speak with us further; we would be happy to speak with you at: 617-499-7200.  Our hours are Monday through Friday 9am – 5pm.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind Regards,
******* ****
International Support Specialist – North America

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have listed ************.com/.net/.info as a domain package for minimum bid in auction of 1,000,000 and buy it now for 10,000,000.

************.com was the domain I asked appraisal for and you gave me an appraisal for $600 dollars. How about we see how the "market" reacts? If I dont sell on this occasion I will put price down a little bit until its sold. Then we will determine the real market value and we will see if appraisalists in Sedo need retraining.

Business Response: In response to your complaint, please understand that the appraisal service provides customers with our best estimate of a fair market value for the domain based on our knowledge of the domain market. It is not meant to dictate a price you must list on your domain.   You can still list your desired price on the domain name.  We stand by our ability to provide accurate appraisals and cannot re-evaluate the domain, as the result would be the same value. 

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 617-499-7200.  Our office hours are Monday thru Friday 9am-5pm EST.

Kind Regards,
******* **** - Customer Support Specialist - International

11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company clearly and openly advertises that it is in business and has a partnership with my company to sell a domain we own. This is absolutely false. We have no connection with this company and do not appreciate having them advertising our domain is for sale when it clearly is not. Futhermore scaming people to sign up based on lies. These are false pretenses and creates a scam amongst consumers. This false advertising may potentially harm our business in several ways.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our domain removed from your site and discard immediately any advertisements about our domains before legal matter is due.

Business Response: In regards to this complaint,  We have removed the domain from being listed on Sedo as the current seller was no longer the owner.  This particular domain was originally listed in 2010, and it looks as though it was re-registered this year. 

As per our Terms of Use, it is the responsibility of the domain seller to keep their Sedo account up to date and remove any domain they no longer own or no longer have to the right to sell.  5.1.4. General Terms Applicable to all Listing Types (i):

"The Seller agrees to keep any data they have added to the Domain Marketplace up-to-date. If a Domain has been sold, he/she is to immediately remove it from their User Account."

Please also keep in mind, that only the registered owner of the domain has control over the domain, and only this owner can transfer the ownership through the sales process.   I apologize for any inconvenience, and if you encounter any future unauthorized listings on our site, please let us know and we will check into it immediately.  We can also be reached Monday thru Friday 9am-5pm EST at 617-499-7200.

I hope this is helpful and please let us know if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,
******* **** -International Customer Support Specialist

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam, I was trying to buy a domain www.*********.com from SEDO.com. I bid a price of 100 USD and waited without reply. Then I contacted their support team requesting to know if there is a "preset" buy-now price and I received a reply with explanation of the process they follow. 6 minutes later I received an email that my earlier bid of 100 USD is outbid at 110 USD, and 20 minutes later I received a notification that the auction is closed and the selling took place at 110 USD. I went again on SEDO.com, checked the domain and found it again for sale at a minimum of 500 USD. I offered the price and received an offer that I can hire SEDO for a brokerage fee of 69 EU to conclude the sale. I accepted SEDO offer, and my credit card was charged the 69 EU, however yesterday I received a declination of the brokerage due to "being recently sold and ownership being in transition". The declination of brokerage success contradicts the previously defined price of 500 USD on SEDO page. I have suspicions that this is a fraudulent business and the alleged buyer who outbid me in the first place is an acquaintance of SEDO.com. Please find copy of emails below: 1: My contact requesting an offered price: "I need to know what can I do to buy the domain immediately? is there an offered price by seller?" 2-: Within the hour reply from SEDO.com: Dear *****, Thank you for your email. Sedo GmbH does not own or sell any domains directly, but provides a marketplace for buying, selling and parking domains. I can confirm that the domain *********.com has been listed for sale on Sedo. The seller has chosen to leave the price field blank. This usually means that they are open to all offers in order to gauge the general interest for this domain name. It is also not possible to buy a domain and have it registered to you immediately. Once an agreement to sell a domain has been reached, Sedo will help facilitate the escrow of funds and the transfer of the domain name. Generally, the escrow process follows the basic steps below: The buyer makes payment to Sedo’s escrow account. The buyer/Sedo initiates the transfer request. The seller accepts the transfer request. New ownership of the domain is confirmed. Funds are issued to the seller, less any commission fees. You will be assigned a transfer agent who can help with this process and can answer questions in more detail. You can find more information about our transfer process here. Further information about buying domain names can be found through the following link: https://www.sedo.co.uk/uk/buy-domains/overview/?tracked=&partnerid=&language=e If you have any further queries, please go to the Customer Support Centre via http://www.support.sedo.co.uk. Kind regards, ****** ******* Customer Care Specialist - International 3- 6 minutes later auction email of SEDO.com that my 100 USD bid is outbid: Hello *****, A new bid has been submitted for *********.com. If you are still interested in *********.com this might be your last chance to purchase it before someone else does. The auction closes on Sep/26/12 04:06 PM CEST. If you would like to enter a higher bid, simply return to the auction home page and submit a new bid amount. You also have the option of setting a proxy bid. To review the auction please click here http://www.sedo.co.uk/auction/index.php?language=e&auction_id=131147 Best Regards, Your Sedo Team 4- 20 minutes later email from SEDO.com that the auction is closed and the domain is sold: (20 minutes later than outbid, and 26 minutes later of their initial reply by process explanation, all within one hour of my request for a final price.) Hello *****, The auction for *********.com has closed and the domain was sold for 110 USD to the highest bidder. If you are still looking for domains, Sedo's domain marketplace offers over 10 million quality domains for sale. Search our domain catalogue now to negotiate with sellers or participate in a live auction. For questions about buying domains please visit the FAQ section of our website. Best Regards, Your Sedo Team 5- The email from SEDO.com declining the brokerage service and claiming that the *********.com domain can't be sold now because it is "in transfer" : (how come the "person who bought the domain at 110 USD announced a minimum price of 500 USD at SEDO.com page if the *********.com domain was in transfer and could not be sold?) Dear ***** ******, Your brokerage request for *********.com has been declined due to the following reason: A domain brokerage at this time is not possible, since the domain was recently sold and is currently in transfer. Please feel free to contact us through the customer support center at support.sedo.com if you have any further questions. Best regards, Your Sedo Team

Desired Settlement: I wish to finish the job and conclude the purchase at a fair price (I already approved a 400% profit for the original seller, and still feel being robbed of the brokerage fee without success in conclusion due to SEDO business practice). If not possible to conclude the selling, I wish to get a 69 EU refund for my credit card and the store policy at SEDO.com should be changed to guarantee that they do not have the opportunity to manipulate buyers "or sellers' though malpractice and unfair trade conditions. Transparency of seller to buyer may improve the situation but is not a sure way to guarantee fair trade conditions.

Business Response: In response to complaint # *******, we would like to clarify Sedo’s terms and policies.   We review each brokerage application after the customer pays the 69 USD/EUR fee.   This 69 USD/EUR fee is a temporary hold that is put on the card while we review the application.  We only charge the customer if we believe there is a high probability that we can acquire the domain.  In this case, we declined the request and the funds are returned to this customer as we decided brokerage was not possible at this time.

For further clarification on the offer, the domain that the customer placed a bid on was a “Make Offer” listing, which means that the seller is open to receiving offers.   The customer placed a bid of $100 on the domain on September 19. As according to our policy, section 5.1.2.1 Auction Listings:

“Once Seller is presented with offer, they may choose the option to enter the Domain into a public Auction, rather than proceed in a traditional offer/counter-offer negotiation. Once Seller chooses the option to push the domain to an Auction, the Auction Period, as defined below, has commenced and Seller accepts the offer from the initial Buyer as the basis of their binding reserve price. During this period, other potential Buyers have the ability to use the Auction platform to make offers to buy the same Domain for an amount of money higher than the original bid. Should no other Buyers submit an offer to buy the Domain at a price higher than the original bid, the initial bidder's offer is automatically accepted and the Auction Period closes with the initial bidder as the winner.

If no other customers were to bid on the domain, it would be sold for the original offer of $100.  In this case, the customer was outbid by another party for the price of $110.  The brokerage request was submitted on September 26, after the other party purchased the domain.  We declined this request as the domain was in a transfer to the new owner and could not be acquired.

Kind regards,
*********** - Customer Care Specialist - North America

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Sedo to buy a domain, they collect the fee and sent email that they will work on getting the domain, but I never heard from them, this about a month, I sent them email and put comment in their website, but no response

Desired Settlement: Get me the domain, or at least let me know what is going on

Business Response: In regards to this complaint, we have reached out to the customer via telephone.  We offer professional brokerage services in order to acquire domain names that are not listed in our marketplace, or in cases which the potential buyer is having difficulty negotiating with a particular seller.  In this case, the seller of the domain was unresponsive to our broker, despite attempts to establish communication and negotiate on the customer’s behalf.  We have informed the customer and agreed that the brokerage request can be closed as there are no further developments.

Kind Regards,

******* ***** ******** ******* ********** * ***** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #9217434.

Regards,

****** *******