Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sedo LLC

Phone: (617) 499-7200 Fax: (617) 499-7219 161 1st St Ste 4, Cambridge, MA 02142 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.sedo.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sedo.com, LLC, specializes in services for buying and selling domain names and websites, and monetizing domain names. The company states that their global marketplace partner network includes domain-oriented sites in five languages and a range of domain name services that include domain auctions, domain name consulting, domain name appraisals and valuation, domain name transfer services, and domain parking.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sedo LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sedo LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

13 Customer Reviews on Sedo LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 13
Total Customer Reviews 13

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 11, 2005 Business started: 02/12/2001 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/2004 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES E-COMMERCE INTERNET SERVICES Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Products & Services

Sedo LLC offers the following product(s): Domain Appraisals, Domain Names, Domain Promotions

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
PayPal
Wire Transfer
ACH/Direct Deposit
Refund and Exchange Policy
The Business States: Refunds and/or credits apply to Sedo service fees only. Refer to purchase and sale agreement with domain buyer/seller for domains sold via Sedo services.
Alternate Business Names
Sedo Sedo.com
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sedo LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I put up an internet domain name for sale on SEDO. An offer was made to me and I accepted it. SEDO was supposed to assist with the transfer. I feel the whole process turned into a nightmare for me because a) SEDO refused to provide assistance with an unexpected request from the buyer, and b) SEDO set up an unexpected (and, in my view ridiculous) requirement as a condition to continue with the transaction, a requirement that was not contemplated in our original agreement. I feel that, by doing that, SEDO has breached the terms of our agreement. The refusal to provide assistance involved an invoice requested by the buyer. I asked SEDO to provide me with a template so that I could fulfilled that requirement. They told me to use ****** to get one myself. I asked SEDO if they could ask the buyer to provide such template. They refused citing liability concerns. I explained I am not a business, so I did not have regular invoices and I did not know what the buyer was expecting as an invoice. SEDO said to send them anything, and if the buyer was not happy, I would have to resend it until the invoice was acceptable. All the while they kept pressuring me to unlock my domain to transfer it. I expressed my concern that if I transferred my domain without fulfilling all requirements first (e.g., providing an invoice), SEDO might retain my money until that requirement was met. I got a generic, evasive answer. I then informed SEDO I would only continue if I was provided with assistance regarding the invoice. Eventually they informed me the buyer had dropped his/her request for an invoice. The unexpected (and, in my view, ridiculous) requirement set up by SEDO was that I changed the administrative contact email in my domain to their own (SEDO's) email, even before the domain was transfered. SEDO said the buyer had sent a communication to my administrative contact email, and I had not received it, so I had to use their (SEDO's) email instead. I explained to SEDO that changing my administrative contact email address to their own email address would deprived me of any email sent to that domain's administrative contact (related to the transfer or not). I suggested to use an alternative email address, one that I had control over. The SEDO agent kept giving me generic answers, not really addressing my concerns or acknowledging my proposed solution, and constantly pressuring me to change my email address to theirs as the only way to move forward. We went back and forth over this issue, me asking SEDO to stop requesting that I gave up control of my administrative contact to them, and the SEDO agent continuing to ignore my requests, insisting that surrendering control of the administrative contact email was the way it was normally done. I felt I was being coerced into surrendering control of email communications to SEDO as a condition to complete the transaction. Eventually the SEDO agent asked *me* to apologize *to them* for my previous messages, and while that agent acknowledged that I had proposed an alternative solution, the agent insisted that proposed solution may not work, and that surrendering control of my administrative contact was the only way to continue with the transaction. I felt I was being cornered into the awkward situation of having to give up partial control over my domain's email communications if I wanted to complete this transaction, a requirement that was never mentioned in our original agreement and that I felt was a breach of the terms of that agreement. At this point, I informed SEDO that given the unexpected requirement to surrender control of my domain's administrative contact, the appalling request for an apology on my part (when I had been nothing but patient and polite), and their general failure to provide the assistance and support expected as per our agreement, I was not ready to continue with our communications. I informed them they could go ahead and close my account. I also informed them I was putting a filter on my email system to send any future communications from the transfer department to the trash folder. I felt SEDO had failed to keep their part of the deal by introducing unexpected requirements, so I informed them that there should be no attempt to charge a commission or any punitive charges. I feel now that, if anything, *I* should be compensated for the awful time I had dealing with SEDO regarding this transfer. A few weeks later, to my surprise, I got a threatening email from a different SEDO department (a different email, that got through my filters), requesting payment of a $60 commission fee or legal action would be taken. Unbelievable.

Desired Settlement: I feel that SEDO breached the terms of the agreement by failing to provide assistance to move forward with the transfer, by ignoring my proposed solutions, and by introducing unacceptable requirements and conditions that were not part of the original agreement. Thus, I expect that SEDO drop their claim for a $60 commission fee. I also expect them to stop any email communication threatening with legal action. I would also urge SEDO to review the training their agents go through, especially listening skills. If my concerns and my proposed solutions had been properly acknowledge the first time I expressed them, this transaction would have had a very different ending, and I would be a happy customer. Countless discussion forums showing similar customers' experience indicate I am no alone in expressing this.

Business Response: Hello *******, Firstly allow me to apologize for any confusion or frustrations you may have experienced while using Sedo’s transfer service. We of course want all of our customers to be happy with the experiences they have over our Marketplace. In reviewing the communication around the transfer, we understand how some of the statements and messages could have been handled better and we have therefore canceled and will not pursue Sedo’s commission fee. Please be assured that the intent of the transfer agent was to expedite the process and not to pressure you and that the unfortunate apology statement was a language mistake by a non-native speaker attempting to extend an apology, not demand one. We have reviewed these communications with the transfer agent to try and ensure there aren’t any misunderstandings moving forward. I do need to note the fact that the Domain Transfer Agreement that you agreed to in advance of the sale does outline that the Seller agrees to provide an invoice if requested and that Sedo cannot provide legal advice (which would include how to properly format an invoice or tax document in compliance with any regulations in your jurisdiction). The Domain Transfer Agreement also outlines that Sedo will provide best practices for the transfer process and we have found that updating the admin email to Sedo is a best practice that expedites the transfer process and has never caused problems because the address is rarely used for anything outside domain transfer emails. Although these processes are standard at Sedo, we understand that the explanation by the transfer agent for both left something to be desired and reiterate that we wish they had gone better. Please be aware that waiving the commission fee in this case does not change the fact that you failed to complete the domain transfer. The Purchase and Sale agreement that you made with the Buyer may still be legally binding and the Buyer may still opt to pursue legal action if they wish. Again we do take all feedback seriously and continuously work to make improvements for all of our customers. We hope this has helped to address your outstanding concerns.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business.I would like to communicate to the business that I appreciate their looking into this issue. I would like to encourage them to incorporate, as part of their future best practices, the option of having sellers use an alternative email address they (the sellers) have control over, before suggesting to the sellers that a SEDO-managed email address be used. I firmly believe the seller-managed email option would add to the transparency of the transfer process and it would be perceived, at least by some sellers, as less intrusive than the current best practice. The SEDO-managed email option can still be kept as a Plan B or Plan C.That said, I have determined that the response from the business, and the offer to not pursue commission fees any further, does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ******* *********

4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not intend to make a purchase for the amount of 1088 dollars from this website. I informed the business and my bank. However sedo.com has not refunded my money, despite sending me emails stating that they would. They have sent me emails repeatedly over the last 10+ business days saying that they will refund my card in 2 days time, and then 1 day if they do not receive a written authorization for the purchase. Which I do not intend to give, because I did not want to make this purchase. But they have failed to do so. As is written on the message this procedure is put in place to legitimize their product, however they are failing to follow their own procedures.

Desired Settlement: I want my 1088$ refunded in full.

Business Response: Hello ****, It seems there might be some confusion. From what you previously posted to us it looks like you thought the purchase price was showing in Yen and not USD. As was previously communicated, our site does not support Yen as a currency unfortunately and all of our pricing is done in either USD, EUR or GBP. Also we want to make sure you understand that if you do agree to purchase a domain over the Sedo marketplace, you enter into a legally binding agreement. Although we understand you made a mistake this does not void the agreement as you have entered into it with a seller and not Sedo itself. We simply want to make sure you are aware of this should you wish to make purchases moving forward. Sedo must try to uphold the agreement where possible and we cannot simply cancel as there’s another party involved. With regard to your payment, we can confirm that a refund was issued to you a few days ago and we posted in the Transfer Center of your Sedo account once that was done. Kindly note that credit card refunds can take a number of business days to reflect on your credit card statement. We recommend that you follow up with your credit card company to get a better idea of when the refund should show on your end. As it stands you do still have an active transaction and we kindly ask that you follow the steps on the new payment request to resend the funds. If you have additional questions we ask that you follow up with us directly through the Transfer Center in your Sedo account. You can also contact our customer support by submitting a ticket in your Sedo account or by email at: contact@sedo.com  We hope this has helped to clear up any confusion.  Best regards, ***** ****** -- Transfer and Customer Care Supervisor Sedo.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.    The fact remains that I did not intend to nor want to make  a purchase for this amount . It was not clearly represented that the purchase price was $1088.00. I notified your company of my concern and my bank within moments of the attempt to charge my card. Yet, as your reaction to this message shows. My message was ignored and you attempted to force me into the purchase. I hope that the seller of this site is aware of your action as it is not fair to them either. Regards, ****** *****    

Business Response: Hello ******,   We understand that you have some frustrations, however we would like to point out again that our site does not use Yen as a currency. Also you must confirm a purchase on a second screen that comes up after you click on the Buy Now button. This screen asks you to confirm your purchase and also asks you to reconfirm acceptance of our terms of use. Finally we also see that you tried to remit payment with your credit card three times before the payment actually went through. The purchase price would have been visible on any of these screens.  We understand that mistakes can happen and we will of course work with our customers to the best of our ability. Again the main issue is that you entered into a binding agreement with a seller over our marketplace and Sedo must try to uphold those agreements. If you’re unwilling to complete the transaction as it stands we ask that you follow up through the Transfer Center in your Sedo account.  Again we hope this has helped to clear up any confusion.  Best regards, ***** ****** -- Transfer and Customer Care Supervisor Sedo.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.   This was not my experience, as you describe it. Again I did not intend to make this purchases for $1088.00 from your business. I do not wish to enter into any transactions with you or use your website.Regards, ****** *****    

11/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a domain name from sedo.com, which advertises that they accept credit cards for their purchases. I submitted my credit card information just as I do on any other online store, and they did not deliver the domain name to me. They are saying that they will not accept my order unless I send in a scan of my driver's license and credit card. When I refused, they did not allow me to cancel the order and instead threatened to pursue me for damages.

Desired Settlement: They should state clearly on their website that they require purchasers to scan their driver's license and credit card for all orders placed with a credit card. When I buy something on ********** or *********, I've never been required to do this. In fact, I could have bought the same domain for less money from ***************, a site that does not require these privacy violations from their purchasers. This is what I intend to do once sedo.com releases the hold on the domain.

Business Response: Hello ***, We understand you're upset about the credit card form and that you do not wish to complete it for our security team. As it stands the credit card and ******* options are available at Sedo’s discretion. In the same way that we do not allow for credit card or ******* purchases over a certain amount, we may also not allow one or both of those options for a customer to make payment if we feel there might be a possible security issue.A number of companies take the same approach and will have such forms to help validate someone is real. The point of the credit card form is to ensure your security as much as Sedo’s. Sedo always allows payment to be remitted by bank wire should the other two options not be available. As we spoke on the phone today I’m hoping this will give our security team the information they need and allow the credit card option to be opened again. We will let you know through the transfer center of your Sedo account once we have an update for you. I hope this has helped to answer any questions you have regarding our payment options. Best regards,***** ******--Transfer and Customer Care SupervisorSedo.com

10/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has suspended my account without telling me a reason. What Sedo did is Sedo send me an email and told my account is suspended for security check. They asked passport copy and utility bills. This look like a SSN scam and they try to steal your identity. You have to understand, not everyone has a passport and it's very possible your utility bill is not on your name.

Desired Settlement: Give me a valid reason why sedo suspend my account, and why they only asked passport cony and utility bill( there are many ways to verify your identity). I would like a apology as well.

Business Response: Hello *******, We are sorry to hear you have run into some issues while using the Sedo.com marketplace. Our security team does try to ensure our marketplace is safe and secure for everyone and part of this is reviewing accounts from time to time. As part of this review process something showing your true identity is needed to validate your account. This information is not kept and we simply need it reviewand confirm you are a valid person. The reason we ask for a passport or utility bill is because we have found these are ways to verify someone's identity and most people have these items as an option to provide. We are in no way looking to If you are running into issues providing the above options, you can always contact our security team at security@sedo.com and they will try to work with you to see if there are other options we can use to validate your account.I have also done a search on our backend but I’m not currently finding an account that matches your name or email address. I called the phone number you provided in the BBB notice and left you a voicemail with my phone number. Please feel free to call me back and I will be happy to try and help further. I hope this has helped to answer any questions you might have regarding your account. Best regards, ***** ******--Transfer and Customer Care SupervisorSedo.com

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the domain name www.**********.com from Sedo.com. I have paid 3 times to have this domain transferred to my current website hosts, ***.com, who confirmed that they sent several transfer request emails to ***************@sedo.com. I've called Sedo customer service several times and they claim no such email exists. They also refuse to change the registrant email to my email address, which is ridiculous because I own the domain name. I have used ***.com to transfer over ten domain names before and never had a problem until I used Sedo.com.

Desired Settlement: I need this domain transferred either to ***.com or the registrar email address changed to my email, **********@gmail.com

Business Response: Hello, We understand you're upset and we share your wishes to complete the transaction as quickly as possible. For some reason there seems to be an issue where the transfer requests from ***.com are not being received. We can confirm that the email which is being used for the domain contacts is active and checked throughout the day. We have also reviewed the spam and sub-folders to see if the emails were misplaced but nothing has been found. With regard to the request to have the admin email changed, we have previously explained that the domain is in a Sedo account at the current registrar. As such we can not update the contacts for security reasons. Beyond that the current registrar is also not easy to work with regard to updating such information and it can take time for such changes to go through even if it wasn't a security issue. We have recommended to use another domain registrar to complete the domain transfer. We have also filed a ticket with our IT team to see if there is anything more they can do with the email settings to allow the ***.com emails to come through. We will provide an update to the transfer center in the Sedo account as soon as they respond. Please let me know if there is anything further or if you have any questions. Best Regards, *****

8/7/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A domain of mine was listed for sale at sedo.com marketplace. The domain dropped on 2015-04-06. It was subsequently re-registered at sedo.com by the new owners. It is currently parked with sedo.com. Sedo.com ignored this change of ownership information and continued to offer the domain for sale in their marketplace with me as the seller. On 2015-06-26 a buyer agreed to purchase the domain according to the previous agreement. Sedo.com continued with the impossible sale announcing to me my obligation to complete the sale at the agreed price. Upon me realizing that I no longer owned the domain and posting this information, sedo.com offered my contact details to the buying party for instigating legal action against my alleged breach of contract & demanded that I pay their commission for the failed sale. Given that the domain is currently registered at sedo.com under new ownership, and the public availability of domain records and change of ownership histories, it appears that sedo.com is purposely allowing stale offers in their marketplace in order to trap their customers into paying commissions on failed deals. I dispute their claim that I owe them their commission on this impossible sale. Their business strategy in this case is effectively extortion

Desired Settlement: Sedo.com drop the claim for me to pay their commission on this impossible sale

Business Response: Dear ****, We are sorry for your experience using Sedo's marketplace.  We understand your perspective on this matter and would like to clarify our policies as it relates to this complaint.  Per our terms of use agreement, which all Sedo customers agree to when opening an account, it is stated that "when listing a domain for sale, sellers agree to keep any data which they have added to the domain database up-to-date.  If a domain has been sold, the seller must remove it from the database."Furthermore, in accordance with Sedo's Domain Marketplace Agreement, section 3, "Once Buyer and Seller have entered into an agreement for the purchase and sale of a Domain, should the payment and transfer of the respective Domain fail for reasons unrelated to a breach by Sedo of the Domain Transfer Agreement, Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable commission fee for the sale from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction."Lastly, as you have mentioned that another user had the domain listed at the time of sale, that is not possible on the Sedo marketplace.  Even after your domain ownership expired, had another end user listed the domain to Sedo, this would have triggered a manual review of domain ownership, and we would have been required to ask the new owner to provide us proof of ownership.  This never happened, as nobody attempted to list the domain to the Sedo marketplace.  It is only listed on your account.  Even if your ownership expired, based on the terms referenced above, it is still your responsibility to remove the domain from Sedo's marketplace. Once again, we understand your perspective on this matter.  But this is the agreement that you accepted when opening your account with Sedo to list your domain for sale.  Again we apologize for any confusion or frustration as a result of this.  We are not able to cease and desist our request for payment of the commission as a result of your breach of Sedo's terms of use. Best Regards, **** *****Sedo, North America 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. I understand that Sedo have themselves fully covered with their terms & conditions. However that will not stop me disagreeing fully with this predatory policy. I will continue to state publicly, loudly and clearly, that Sedo engages in unethical business practices in this regard. Their reply that my domain wasn't re-listed by its new owner is disingenuous.  My claim was never that the domain was listed for sale twice. The domain is currently parked with Sedo under a different account. Parking may well be a different service to the domain marketplace but it is still indisputable evidence in Sedo's control that the domain is no longer mine. The conclusion is quite simple. Sedo has little business interest in maintaining an accurate but smaller domain marketplace database. They'd prefer to ignore glaring deficiencies in their marketplace to extract dishonest commissions for failed sales. Also the larger (inaccurate) database is more impressive to new prospects. Customers beware. Sedo will make no effort to remove stale offerings from their marketplace. They will not contact you after publicly available domain records have been updated indicating a change of ownership. They will contact you suggesting you review your listings. They will not even contact you when the domain is hosted by them under different ownership for the simple reason that it's not in their business interest. They'd prefer that a 'sale' will be requested so that their prefatory **** can extort an extra commission from customers who don't attend to the details sufficiently. Shame on you Sedo.  Regards, **** *******  

Business Response: Hi ****, We appreciate your thoughtfully worded response.  We do apologize that we cannot come to an agreement on this matter. As far as the disagreement concerns our terms of use, those are the terms you agreed to when opening your account and conducting business with Sedo.  If you did not like the rules regarding failed transfers, then you could have chose not to proceed with the business relationship. As far as your perspective on this policy as a predatory policy, I would remind you that the success of our business as a marketplace for buyers and sellers, relies on our reputation as a trustworthy platform to conduct business, this includes trusting that when you buy a domain over Sedo, you will be getting the domain you have purchased.  You see this as predatory, where we see this as a failed transfer, the likely loss of a buyer who has a weakened perspective of the legitimacy of our marketplace, and we suffer as a business.  There are millions of domains listed at Sedo, and it is not possible for us to monitor, daily, the ownership of those domains.  Therefore, it is clearly stated in the terms of use, that this is the responsibility of the domain seller. Again, we understand your perspective, but are unable to change our position on this matter. Best Regards, **** *****Sedo, North America 

8/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo is attempting to charge me a "commission" charge of $500 for an incomplete/not-fufilled domain purchase. As a consumer, I tried in good faith to cancel to the entire transaction, however Sedo claims I signed an e-contract and that I have to pay the commission charge regardless whether or not the purchase is complete. Given I was unaware of any such contract and I haven't agreed to anything, this so called "contract" is not binding in any way. Regardless of my claims Sedo is presistent I'm obligated to pay them $500. What Sedo is doing here is unlawful and consumers should be warned about the fradulent practices Sedo is engaging in. Users should NEVER be forced to pay comission on a transaction that was never completed, especially if they weren't knowingly presented with a contract up front.

Desired Settlement: For Sedo to cancel the transaction and offer an apologie.

Business Response: Dear *****, Thank you for contacting us. We apologize for the experience you are having with our marketplace, and we'd like to take the opportunity to respond to your complaint. Sedo is charging you a commission charge of 500 USD since you are at fault for the failed transfer of the domain techaddict.com.  We have reviewed your explanation via the transfer center that you believed you were entering a bid for this domain.  However, our website makes it clear to all users when you click on the "Buy Now" button, which in this case was the only option available, that you are entering into a legally binding sales agreement with the seller of the domain. Per our terms of use, which you agreed to when creating your Sedo account, "In the case of a Failed Transfer, Buyer and Seller agree that Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable fee it would otherwise be owed for a successfully completed sale from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction."  Furthermore, while we do require you to click through the confirmation screen at the time of clicking the "Buy Now" option which clearly states what you are agreeing to, it is further highlighted in our terms of use that all prices quoted or used by the Seller in Buy Now listings are understood to be end prices including any applicable taxes.  We understand your perspective that you tried in good faith to cancel the transaction, but you cannot cancel a transaction once you enter into a purchase and sales agreement with a seller, and this is exactly what you entered into when you clicked the confirmation screens at the time of selecting the "Buy Now" option on the domain.  Therefore, it was binding at that time, and you were given sufficient notice as to what you were entering into when clicking to purchase.  At that time, you should have ceased to move foward if you had any reservations about committing to the transaction. We therefore will continue our efforts to collect payment for the commission.  As a result of a failed transfer, Sedo's reputation is damaged, and we risk losing the trust and business of the seller involved.  Therefore we take these failed transfers very serious. Best Regards, **** *****Sedo, North America 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  The businesses response is unsatisfactory. I strongly encourage BBB to step in here. The company is continuing to scam people into giving people money for a cancelled/non-complete purchase. A simple search indicates that I'm not the only one that has this kind of experience with the company. While they claim there was a contract, I cease to believe its valid since it wasn't anything that was presented to me clearly, or knowingly. Regards, ***** ******  

6/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed 7 domains on Sedo for sale. About a month ago two of them sold. Several months ago when I purchased these domains I spent a matter of hours researching the ones I wanted, minutes to buy them and then maybe a day to have them transferred to my iPage account. Well, Sedo customer service sucks. This process has dragged out over three weeks now and one of my domains still has not budged. Why has it not budged? Well, there is something wrong every time I try to submit the necessary authorization code. I keep telling them it's not working and they keep offering the same solution which is no solution because I've tried their solution and it still does not work. They take a minimum of 24 hours to respond to every communique and instead of helping resolve the issue they continue to blame me for holding up the process. I am holding nothing up. I manually gave them the authorization code... they said copy and paste it in the transfer message center... I tried, it wouldn't work, so I manually entered it line by line and they refuse to take my submission and use it to make the transfer happen. Now they are threatening collections actions and the potentially of the buyer being able to pursue legal action. These guys are completely incompetent and refuse to be transfer agents and help make a seamless transfer process. They only communicate via the transfer center and they take a minimum of a day to respond which drags the process out for weeks when once they get paid, it out to be a matter of minutes for the parties to enter the necessary information and the digital transfer to happen. SEDO sucks and I've already removed my remaining domains and listed them with another company. I have requested to have the buyers refunded because I'm tired of dealing with them, but now they say I owe them. Owe them for what? They haven't done crap to resolve the situation but make accusation. DO NOT, I WARN YOU, DO NOT DO BUSINESS with SEDO!

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem there is in submitting the authorization code and quit acting like it's my fault. You can email, you can call, you can give a viable solution via the transfer center, but you don't. You just accuse and act like it's my fault that your authorization button won't accept my code. I want the transfer to happen and happen now so I can get my money and be done dealing with these morons.

Business Response: Hi ****, Thank you for contacting us. I am writing to confirm that following your complaint we had the Supervisor of Transfers, ***** *******, contact you to discuss the issue relating to the authorization codes.  Per your requested settlement, we were able to resolve the issue related to the authorization codes, and I can confirm you have been paid in full for the sale of the domain via our marketplace.  Thank you for your patience in this matter. Best Regards, **** *****Customer Service, ***** ******* 

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed a domain (***************) on Sedo.com years ago. In the interim, I sold it through another party. Years later, Sedo claims to have sold this same domain. After informing them that I no longer owned it, they demanded to be paid a commission and are threatening collections. Sedo makes no attempt to ensure the validity of their listings after a long period of inactivity. They do not inquire, even via email, as to whether the original lister (I don't even recall my password since it's been so long) still owns the domain. They have no incentive to ensure the accuracy of stale listings because they expect to be paid a commission regardless of the amount of time that may have passed since the original posting.

Desired Settlement: Sedo should cease and desist from payment demands and threatening actions. No balance is owed.

Business Response: Dear ****, We are sorry that you have this experience using Sedo's marketplace. We understand your perspective on this matter and would like to clarify our policies as it relates to this complaint. Per our terms of use agreement, which all Sedo customers agree to when opening an account, it is stated that "when listing a domain for sale, sellers agree to keep any data which they have added to the domain database up-to-date. If a domain has been sold, the seller must remove it from the database."Furthermore, in accordance with Sedo's Domain Marketplace Agreement, section 3, "Once Buyer and Seller have entered into an agreement for the purchase and sale of a Domain, should the payment and transfer of the respective Domain fail for reasons unrelated to a breach by Sedo of the Domain Transfer Agreement, Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable commission fee for the sale from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction."Once again, we understand your perspective on this matter. But this is the agreement that you accepted when opening your account with Sedo to list your domain for sale. Again we apologize for any confusion or frustration as a result of this.  We are not able to cease and desist our request for payment of the commission as a result of your breach of Sedo's terms of use. Best Regards, **** *****Sedo, North America 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Stale listings that are years old (and nobody even remembers signing up for your scam site) .  Sedo MUST make an effort to verify accuracy over long period of time.  It's willful negligence on the company's part.  It's part of their business model to extract commissions in perpetuity regardless of listing accuracy. Unfortunately, I will now have to deal with this legally and via social media and online media campaigns if BBB cannot help secure a satisfactory solution.   **** ****** 

3/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has obtained a domain name which previously belonged to our business for over 14 years. . ******* ********* (the domain registra) failed to notify our business about the expiration of this domain name. Subsequently, we were told it was sold to this affiliated company (Sedo or new Venture?). We believe this domain name was illegally obtained and taken over by Sedo. As such, we demand the return of this domain name back. Moreover, the action by both Sedo and ******* ********* have harmed our business by cutting our website visibility.

Desired Settlement: Please resolve this issue with us and ******* *********. We want our domain back. Please stop advertising it for sale as we see it as "stolen property".

Business Response: Hi *****, 

Thank you for contacting us regarding your complaint.  We apologize for the experience you have had in regards to losing ownership of your domain.  

Sedo is a secondary marketplace for domain names, we are not a registrar nor do we own any of the domains that are listed for sale on our marketplace.  We provide the marketplace for domain owners, and domain buyers, to negotiate purchase and sales agreements for domains.  

Based on the information you have provided to us, it sounds like you should first be communicating with ******* ********* regarding your claim that you were not notified of an upcoming expiration.  That is handled by your registrar, and is the responsibility of your registrar to communicate to you.  If you feel that they did not communicate this information to you, that is an issue you need to take up directly with ******* *********, or direct a BBB complaint to them directly, as we are not related to, or affiliated with, ******* *********.  

As far as your remarks about stolen property as concerned, if the domain did in fact expire then another party can register the domain and are then the owners of that domain name.  Sedo verifies the ownership of all domains listed to our marketplace, so when the domain was listed at Sedo by it's new owner, we will have verified that they are the current rightful owner of the domain.  If you feel that you are entitled to own this domain, that is an issue you must take up with ******* ********* directly, we cannot remove the domain from the seller's account because of the circumstances which you reference.  So again, we ask that you take that up with ******* ********* directly. 

If you have any further questions or comments, please visit our Customer Support Center at http://support.sedo.com. 
 
Best regards,
 
**** *****
--
Customer Care Specialist, North America
Sedo.com :: *** ***** ****** :: *********, MA *****
tel ###-###-####:: fax ###-###-####
http://www.sedo.com

2/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been sent a collection letter for 50.00 for sedo.com, which is a service I have never used. I do not know where they got my information , but I have not purchased any product or service from sedo.com.I highly resent being sent a letter from a collection letter from a debt collector for an unauthorized Supposed debt.

Desired Settlement: I want the debt canceled and all collection attempts to cease. If this has been put on my credit report, I want it removed.period.

Business Response: Hi *******, Thank you for contacting us. My apologies on the delayed response, I was travelling abroad and was stuck due to the blizzard here in our ****** office, so again my apologies on the delay in getting back to you on behalf of Sedo.  The collection notice you are receiving is for a commission charge.  You entered into a sales agreement to purchase the domain myit.me via the Sedo marketplace on  on  2/14/2014.  According to the sales agreement you have 5 days to remit payment after which the seller can cancel the sales agreement.  In this case Sedo attempted multiple times to contact you to remit payment, sending a total of five reminders.  We never received a response from you, so as a result of the cancelled sales agreement, we are charging you the commission of 50 USD, per our terms of use, hence the letters.  We understand that your desired result is for Sedo to stop contacting you regarding this payment.  In order for this request to be considered, you must login to your Sedo account, and leave a comment in the Transfer Center of your account, which will then be reviewed by the Sedo accounts receivable department.  If you need further assistance for this process, please contact Sedo customer care Monday-Friday, 9AM-5PM EST.  We are happy to assist, but this is the procedure if you wish to have Sedo cancel the charge.Best Regards, **** *****Customer Care Specialist, North America  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. Regards, ******* ******  

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Alright so someone tried to buy a domain name for $2500 with my email address, Apparently the transaction didn't go through so they charge a 10% commission fee on there services. I was not informed that I had made a purchase at sedo.com, It was only brought to my attention today when I got a letter from a debt collection office in the mail, saying I owe $250 dollars. I called up on the phone and he said I had an account there (I didn't create one) which tried to buy a domain name. Weird because at the time, I did not have any sort of credit card, so how could I pay for it? Phone support gave me the account number and I reset the password and logged into the account. It said one bill overdue so I went and looked at the transaction pdf file. The person who tried to buy it did not use my name or my address, so why are they coming after me? There is a address right on the receipt but they go after me? How? Why? Because the email has my name? So phone support says I have to submit a ticket to the billing department which is located in Germany so I have to wait until Monday to get a response to it.

Desired Settlement: 1) Cancel the debt collection, as I didn't order anything, My name and address is not on the account. The only thing on the account is my email. Go after the person who paid for it on the receipt. 2) Stop Contacting me

Business Response: Hi ******, Thank you for contacting us. The name and address on the Sedo account matches your name and address, and you have confirmed that the email address is accurate as well.  If we understand correctly you are saying that a 3rd party has fraudulently entered into a purchase and sales agreement using your name, and personal information.  You have indicated that you did log into the account, and left a message for the accounts receivable department, I can confirm that since that department is based out of our headquarters in Germany, it will require 24-48 business hours to get a response to your complaint regarding being charged the commission.  In regards to charging you the commission, when a customer opens a Sedo account they agree to our terms of use, and these terms of use indicate that should either party back out of a sales agreement, they will be assessed the commission charge.  We understand your desired settlement, and our accounts receivable department will review your message per our specified time frame and determine whether we can approve your request.  In the meantime if you have any questions, don't hesitate to call our customer support team at ###-###-####, Monday through Friday, 9AM-5PM. Best Regards, **** *****Customer Care Specialist, North America 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. In your previous message you said the following"In regards to charging you the commission, when a customer opens a Sedo account they agree to our terms of use, and these terms of use indicate that should either party back out of a sales agreement, they will be assessed the commission charge." However I never opened a Sedo account, which means it was not me who agreed to the terms of use.Interestingly enough - I had looked up the records on the account and have noticed the the transaction receipt has a billing name and address that is not mine. I have attached the receipt for your record.As you can clearly see, the transactions are not in my name, and any disputes would have to be resolved with the name and billing addressee as I am not the one who authorized the purchase. I am also not the one who paid for any "service" provided by the company, as you can clearly see someone else made this purchase.

Business Response: Hi ********, Thank you for providing this information.  I will provide this to our accounts receivable team. To clarify, the reason we cannot simply grant your requested solution based on this information, is because when the account was created, the person creating the account has to certify the account using personal information, such as a mobile telephone, credit card, tax documents or our signed PDF certification form.  Furthermore the account holder has the ability to edit the contact information for the purchase and sales agreements.  This is not a common thing for fraudsters as they usually do not provide their personal information when committing fraud, furthermore they would need to have access to your mobile phone or credit card information.  In the meantime, you may want to review the information on the sales agreement, you may know the person who purchased the domain.  Our AR team will follow up with you per the business time frame, we appreciate your patience while we review this complaint. Best Regards, **** ***** Sedo Customer Care, North America 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.Hello,I would like to know how this account was verified, was it by phone, credit card or one of your pdf forms? If it was verified by credit card, did you system take appropriate steps to verify what the billing addresses name and address was? If it was a phone call, did you're system take appropriate steps to make sure that it was not a disposable number? If these systems are in place, then it should have known I was not the one creating or purchasing on the account. Since I work in retail, I know how credit cards are processed, our online website uses AVS (Address Verification System) to determine if the credit card matches the billing address, if it doesn't it usually means the card was stolen and the person using it does not know the correct billing address. Since I am assuming your system did check, it would determine that the billing address was in fact not mine. When you say,  This is not a common thing for fraudsters as they usually do not provide their personal information when committing fraud, furthermore they would need to have access to your mobile phone or credit card information.  I have to agree with you, However I feel like you are accusing me of something, and I don't quite like that. Fraudsters can use fake information, or real, such as looking up a random address in the white pages in the phone book. There is no way known how my information may have ended up in the account. I might have had a virus on my computer or somebody could have hacked into one of my accounts. However I can assure that how my information got there was used not with my permission. I have contacted my credit bureau and an monitoring my credit reports in case my identity got stolen, as that could be a case in this investigation. So far nothing has come up so I do not believe it was stolen. I personally believe someone knew what they were doing when signing up and wanted to defraud using different information, in this case my information.Again I do feel the these charges are not valid as I did not create an account, I did not agree to the terms of service, I did not order any product or service from your company. If anything your company should apologies for pursuing me instead of the person listed at the billing address on the bill, as they are the ones who attempted to purchase your product.  

12/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has my domains listed and will not let me cancel my account while they have offers in. I do not want to accept the offers but they require me to submit a counter offer if I want to cancel negotiations. I do not want to submit a counter offer and just want to have my account cancelled. They should not hold me hostage like this.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account immediately and de-list all domains from their service.

Business Response: Hello *********, We wanted to inform you that we have completed your request by deleting all of your domains from the Sedo marketplace, and closing your Sedo account.  We apologize for your experience.  Per section 5.1 of Sedo's Terms of Use which all customers agree to upon opening a Sedo account, "sellers may delete their Domain listings from the Domain Marketplace at any time without cost unless their Domain is subject to an active negotiation," and since some of your domains had offers you were therefore not able to delete them until those offers expires, as all bids from Buyers and Sellers are valid and binding for 7 days. In this case, now that all of the offers were expired, we were able to complete your request. Your domains are deleted and your Sedo account is now closed. Therefore we consider this incident to be closed. Best Regards, **** *****Customer Care Specialist  

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This escrow service has been assisting in transfer of a URL/web address since July 5th. The transfer has been complete other than any acknowledgement of payment. I need more than a credit card statement for business, tax and reimbursement purposes. There is even a request invoice drop-down on the purchaser's transaction field to request an invoice from the seller. I have requested this invoice several time before they completed the request as well as after.

Desired Settlement: I would like an invoice from SEDO that says they accepted my money and transferred it to the seller, or an invoice from the seller (which should have been a requirement of the transfer of funds to them if I asked for one prior).

Business Response: Hi ********, Sedo's domain transfer service provides a safe and secure platform for the transfer of domain ownership from seller to buyer.  As Sedo works in the capacity of a third party during a domain sale, we issue a payment request rather than an offical invoice. The contract which can be viewed in the Transfer Centre contains all the details (address of your contractual partner and potential VAT or tax numbers) that your tax office requires for a tax declaration.Should you require an invoice you can request one via the transfer center, and Sedo will communicate this request directly to the seller who can provide an invoice if they wish to do so, please also keep in mind we can communicate with the seller as frequently as possible to get the invoice in a timely manner, but ultimately we cannot force them to provide the invoice, so this time frame can vary depending on the seller's responsiveness. In the case of your complaint, you did request the invoice and we communicated with the seller your request.  From the time of your first request following the domain hold period, on October 14th, which was also the date this complaint was filed, we made several requests to the seller for an invoice, which they ultimately provided on October 21st, and we have since provided you this document as a PDF file in your Sedo Transfer Center.  Therefore your desired outcome of this complaint has been fulfilled as we were able to get an invoice for the seller, and this invoice has been in your transfer center since October 22nd.  We apologize for the time you had to wait for this information, but we appreciate your understanding of how the invoice process works as it relates to our transfer center.  Best Regards, **** ***** CustomerCare Specialist, North AmericaSedo.com:: *** ***** ****** :: Cambridge, MA 02142tel###-###-#### :: fax ###-###-#### 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. I do have a receipt, thank you.  However, I only have a receipt/invoice because the initial seller agreed to provide one.  I don't think it should only be up to the seller.  I was told if he did not agree, I was out of luck.  I could perhaps use the sales proposal.  I think in these cases, SEDO should provide a receipt for the transaction.  SEDO billed my credit card, why can they not give me an invoice for that transaction?  It's like a street corner deal-they take my money and don't provide an invoice for that.  If I put money in escrow for real estate purchases, I am provided a document that says so.  I have never had a bank or title company tell me to use my cancelled check or credit card statement as a record of an escrow deposit.SEDO needs to accept their responsibilities as a third party, or escrow holder-not hide behind it.  A money transaction record should be provided by SEDO if the initial seller refused to in a timely fashion.   Regards, ****** *****  

Business Response: Hi ******, Thank you for your response, and for providing your feedback on the process. Per section 5.2.3.7. of our Terms of Use, which every Sedo customer must agree to use our services, "Sedo is neither the buyer nor seller in a Domain purchase and sale transaction. As such, if the Buyer requires an invoice of the purchase and sale transaction or is required to request tax information from the Seller, such as a form W-9, the Buyer needs to inform Sedo of this request as soon as an agreement has been reached between the Buyer and Seller. Sedo will then communicate the request to the Seller. The Seller agrees that he/she will comply with such request if the request is promptly made at the beginning of the transfer."These terms of use outline our process as it relates to invoices, and in your case you did follow this process and we did provide you the invoice via the seller.  So again while we value your feedback and will consider it as we do with all feedback, your request for an invoice was handled per our outlined process, and the request was completed.  Best Regards, **** ***** Sedo Customer Care Representative 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. I have my invoice and it sounds like I am lucky.  If the seller didn't provide it, there would be no receipt other than the credit card invoice?  What kind of business does that.  This is a bad policy and bad way to do business, by not acknowledging a transaction of money.  They need to embrace their job as an escrow provider, not hide behind it.  Horrible customer service, nobody ever answers the phone and if they do, they offer little help.  Will never do business with them again.  They need to revise their customer agreement and become more purchaser friendly.   Regards, ****** *****  

3/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

13 Customer Reviews on Sedo LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart