BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Sedo LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sedo.com, LLC, specializes in services for buying and selling domain names and websites, and monetizing domain names. The company states that their global marketplace partner network includes domain-oriented sites in five languages and a range of domain name services that include domain auctions, domain name consulting, domain name appraisals and valuation, domain name escrow/transfer services, and domain parking.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sedo LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sedo LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Sedo LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 4
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 11, 2005 Business started: 02/12/2001 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/2004 in MA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Knapp, Complaint Handler - Customer Care Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Knapp, Complaint Handler - Customer Care
Principal: Ms. Semra Korner, Manager Global PR & Communications
Number of Employees

36

Business Category

DOMAIN NAME SERVICES E-COMMERCE INTERNET SERVICES Internet Publishing and Broadcasting and Web Search Portals (NAICS: 519130)

Products & Services

Sedo LLC offers the following product(s): Domain Appraisals, Domain Names, Domain Promotions

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
PayPal
Wire Transfer
ACH/Direct Deposit
Counter Deposit
Refund and Exchange Policy
Sedo serves as a third-party marketplace, auction house, and escrow agent for domain names. Refunds and exchanges are not applicable to domains.
Alternate Business Names
Sedo Sedo.com
Industry Tips
Domain Name Services Finding a Domain Name Service - 5 Tips - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site for Your Small Business Helping Customers Find You - Video Internet Marketing Services

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sedo LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sedo has my domains listed and will not let me cancel my account while they have offers in. I do not want to accept the offers but they require me to submit a counter offer if I want to cancel negotiations. I do not want to submit a counter offer and just want to have my account cancelled. They should not hold me hostage like this.

Desired Settlement: Cancel my account immediately and de-list all domains from their service.

Business Response: Hello *********, 

We wanted to inform you that we have completed your request by deleting all of your domains from the Sedo marketplace, and closing your Sedo account.  We apologize for your experience.  Per section 5.1 of Sedo's Terms of Use which all customers agree to upon opening a Sedo account, "sellers may delete their Domain listings from the Domain Marketplace at any time without cost unless their Domain is subject to an active negotiation," and since some of your domains had offers you were therefore not able to delete them until those offers expires, as all bids from Buyers and Sellers are valid and binding for 7 days. 

In this case, now that all of the offers were expired, we were able to complete your request. Your domains are deleted and your Sedo account is now closed. Therefore we consider this incident to be closed. 

Best Regards, 

**** *****
Customer Care Specialist  

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was interested to purchase 2 domain names for my business and contacted the sales manager. She asked me if I want to purchase it, I said - "if we can negotiate a price for 2 domains, I will purchase both". She didn't respond to this, filed an order and they started asking me for money. They sent me a couple of emails with invoice and then started sending DEBT COLLECTION emails where they are saying that if I won't pay - this would be a contract breach and they will start the litigation process. I told them that I never agreed to buy anything and asked for a proof. They responded with an email, saying that I owe money to them. Then I reached the supervisor - he responded with the same claim that I owe them money and I have to pay. As a proof he attached my dialogue with the sales agent, which he didn't even read. The dialogue copied: SALES: "Could you please confirm such information? In case you do, can you please create a free account under https://*******************************************************************************************************and provide us with your Sedo login to create the transaction, as well as issuing the contracts and payment order." ME: "Hey ****, I've already created an account. My login is:***. The only thing is that I'm also interested in the domain name ***.org . Can you please help me out contact the seller of the domain? We'd like to make an offer of a lower price - I think the domain name is quite overpriced. If we agree on a good price, we'll get both domains right away." I've never agreed for the purchase and she never offered me the good price for the other domain. They shouldn't ask me for money in this case. This is absolutely absurt.

Desired Settlement: I hope they will change this policy and will never do the same. I've spent quite a lot of nerves and time with them.

Business Response: We are writing to you with regards to complaint #*******.   Buyers at Sedo's automatically enter into a legally binding contract to purchase a domain from the seller if their bid is accepted by the seller or if they accept a seller's offer to sell.   This is why we ask that customers give careful consideration when making or accepting offers. Sedo's user agreement requires buyers to pay for the domains that they have committed to purchase. According to section 5.2.4. Penalties for Failing to Perform Obligations: “Sedo reserves the right to cancel the escrow and transfer of domain ownership if one of the parties to the purchase and sale agreement fails to fulfill its obligation to cooperate in the transfer process after two (2) requests are made by Sedo via the email addresses provided in his/her user account ("Failed Transfer"). In the case of a Failed Transfer, Sedo reserves the right to collect any applicable commission fee from that party who has violated his/her obligation to cooperate in the completion of the transaction.” You entered into a sales agreement with the seller using Sedo’s external escrow service on May 15th, 2013.  The Sedo transfer agent asked you to create a Sedo account to begin the external escrow, to which you responded that you had created an account and provided the transfer agent your Sedo login ID to initiate the domain transfer.  Sedo provided a purchase and sales agreement to you advising you of the sales agreement, as well as providing you frequent reminders to pay for the domain.  Since you refused to pay for the domain, we advised the seller that you had backed out of the sales agreement.  As a result of breaching contract with the seller, Sedo remits the commission for the domain escrow from the buyer.   This is why you have been, and continue to be, contacted by our accounts receivable department for payment of this commission.  If you have any further questions regarding this issue, feel free to contact Sedo customer care directly at ###-###-####. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

You said:"The Sedo transfer agent asked you to create a Sedo account to begin the external escrow, to which you responded that you had created an account and provided the transfer agent your Sedo login ID to initiate the domain transfer."How it really was: When I said that I already have an account with SEDO (I said, I've created it earlier and the login is "***"), in the same email I've indicated that I am not ready to purchase the domain. I said that I will only make the purchase, if we agree on price. This means two things: 1. I notified the agent that I am not ready to buy it yet; 2. I didn't agree on the price. ...the next thing I've received was the bill and no one wanted to help me solve the misunderstanding caused by the sales agent. Then I started receiving emails saying that I have to pay a $50 fine for backing out of contract. P.S. I highly regret that I've started this conversation with your company and have spent so much time dealing with your agents and managers/supervisors asking me to pay the fine.

Business Response: Dear ******,  We understand that you are frustrated with the amount of time you have had to spend regarding this transfer and the commission fee.  Let me provide further details to explain why we continue to pursue collection of the commission fee.  On May 14th our transfer agent sent you the following message to initiate the external escrow process: “Dear Mr *********,   I have been informed that you are eager to purchase the domain ***.org, for 900 USD. The commission fees would be at your charge. Could you please confirm such information?” On May 14th you responded to our transfer agent: “Hey ****, I've already created an account. My login is: ********** . The only thing is that I'm also interested in the domain name ***.org . Can you please help me out contact the seller of the domain? We'd like to make an offer of a lower price - I think the domain name is quite overpriced. If we agree on a good price, we'll get both domains right away.” In this email, you provide your account information per the transfer agent’s request to initiate the transfer of ***.org.  In this email you also make an additional inquiry, asking the transfer agent if they can contact the seller of ***.org  since you were interested in buying that domain. On May 15th, the transfer agent responds to you: “Hi ******, Thanks for the quick feedback. I have now created the transaction for ***.org. Regarding ***.org, can you please let me know what your maximum budget is to contact the current owner. I will try my best to help and negotiate the price down.” In this email the transfer agent makes it clear to you that they have initiated the transfer of ***.org and that they will try to help you gain information on ***.org.   Furthermore, you never respond to this email.  On May 21st the transfer agent reaches out to you once again to advise: “Hi ******, After a few negotiations, the owner is not going down 2500Usd (commission fees of 15% at your charge). I fear that he is not open to sell at a lower price.” This is the record we have of the communication between you and the transfer agent.  In addition to these emails, you did not at any time leave a message in your Sedo Buyer Control Panel that you, in fact, did not want to buy this domain.  We also have no records of you contacting Sedo Customer Care regarding this issue.   Considering all of these details, and our terms of use for buyers, we feel that the commission charge you are being assessed is in line with our terms of use, and we will continue to pursue collection of this fee.  Again, we apologize for any confusion this incident has caused you.  If you have any questions feel free to contact Sedo Customer Care. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

She mentioned that she created the transaction, but how would I know what does she mean by "the transaction has been created"? I thought that she created some transaction in her computer listing my interest in purchasing these two domains. She never asked me if I agree to purchase it and I never said that I do. Your are an international company and you should make it clear for all kinds of customers that you initiate transfers even without clear agreement. I am not responsible for your misunderstandings. Here are definitions of "transaction": Definition of TRANSACTION1a : something transacted; especially : an exchange ortransfer of goods, services, or funds <electronictransactions>b plural : the often published record of the meeting of a society or association2a : an act, process, or instance of transactingb : a communicative action or activity involving two parties or things that reciprocally affect or influence each otherTransaction or transactional may refer to:Contents  [hide] 1 Commerce2 Computer science and database systems3 Other uses4 See alsoCommerce[edit source | editbeta]Financial transaction, an agreement, communication, or movement carried out between a buyer and a seller to exchange an asset for paymentElectronic funds transfer, the electronic exchange or transfer of money from one account to anotherReal estate transaction, the process whereby rights in a unit of property is transferred between two or more partiesTransaction cost, a cost incurred in making an economic exchangeComputer science and database systems[edit source | editbeta]Transaction processing, information processing that is divided into individual, indivisible operationsDatabase transaction, a unit of work performed within a database management systemAtomic transaction, a series of database operations either all occur, or nothing occursOther uses[edit source | editbeta]Transaction Publishers, a New Jersey-based publishing house that specializes in social sciences books"Transaction" an episode of the Death Note anime series; see List of Death Note episodesTransactional analysis, a psychoanalytic theory of psychologyTransactional interpretation, an interpretation of quantum mechanicsTransactional leadership, a leadership style described by ***** ********* *****__ Another way to look at the problem:A contract is an agreement having a lawful object entered into voluntarily by two or more parties, each of whom intends to create one or more legal obligations between them. The elements of a contract are "offer" and "acceptance" by "competent persons" having legal capacity who exchange "consideration" to create "mutuality of obligation."[1]There was clearly no acceptance in our case. Your sales agent might have had a misunderstanding. If I would have received apologies from the manager or "Customer Care", saying "sorry, we got it wrong, and we'll cancel the transaction at no fee" - this would be fine and I wouldn't ask further questions. I understand this happens. However, you are still trying to deal with me and trying to make me pay your fees, that I didn't agree to pay. This, first of all, indicates how unprofessional the company representatives are, starting from sales managers closing the deals without asking customer's permission, and managers who are not very polite in the email communication, and even now, when the case is on BBB web site, you are trying to argue that your sales rep was right and I have to pay for her misunderstanding. I've spent a good part of my Saturday writing this letter, and this is the 10th time I had to explain my point in this problem. I am really dissatisfied with your service and I hope other clients don't get so much trouble because of your employees being so unprofessional. If there is still no understanding from your side, I will not be accepting any more comments on the problem. I am sure that my point is right. In any country of the World, if a person didn't agree on the contract, there is no contract.P.S. I was asking your sales agent to connect me with the supervisor or a manager, but no one said that you have Customer Care. 

2/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I listed a domain with Sedo.com a couple of years ago in an attempt to sell it. I soon found that their service will only allow you to post the price you wish to sell for up to $10,000 UNLESS you pay for a Sedo appraisal. The list price that I was interested in was considerably more than $10,000 so I simply logged off and forgot about the free listing. After reading that a similar domain sold for $2.45 Million a couple of months ago I once again attempted to post the actual asking price of my domain and found that it was impossible to do without paying for a Sedo appraisal upfront. I then attempted to delete the listing completely and list it with another domain broker and could not. After contacting Sedo via email they notified me that a still had an offer on the domain open (from months ago) so the listing could not be deleted. Oddly enough, offers are supposed to expire within 10 days with this company if you don't respond. I told them I had no interest in accepting $25 for the domain and asked that it be deleted. I asked them to do the same (delete it) the following week. Nothing. I then emailed them and threatened to call the BBB & my State Attorney General's office on them. Suddenly low ball offers began to appear...$25...$20, etc. I turned down the first offers only to learn that my actions were only extending their listing time by another 10 days. I then tried to give them responses marking their postings as *SPAM* That did no good. Their offers would increase by $1 increments every few days in order to keep the listing active. I attempted to block every communication from SEDO but their emails always found a way of coming through. In short, I now know HOW they became the largest domain broker in the world. They refuse to delete a listing and refuse to take stop sending you insanely low offers. My complaint is two fold. I need to find a way to force SEDO to delete the listing of www.investsmart.com in an attempt to stop harrassing communications from their company.

Desired Settlement: I need to find a way to force SEDO to delete the listing of www.investsmart.com OR allow me to list the domain for the price that I am asking. I also need them to stop sending one to two emails from them each day with insanely low offers. This action falls under harrassing communications.

Business Response: We are writing to you with regards to complaint # *******.  We require that domains must be appraised at an amount over $10,000 before they can be listed over $10,000.  Members can use our free suggestion tool to evaluate the value of their domain as well as our manually done appraisals completed by our market analyst.  We have this policy in place to preserve the credibility of the marketplace.  Domain owners can still counter-offer with any amount once they have received an offer, so they are not limited to selling domains under $10,000.   We also encourage that sellers set up a Minimum Offer if they do not wish to receive offers below a certain amount. 

Please understand, all sellers are required to make at least one counter-offer before negotiations can be cancelled so that the buyer is given an idea of the seller's price expectations. As the domain has been listed for sale, it would be unfair of the seller to cancel the negotiations without giving the buyer a chance. We have this policy in place to help foster negotiations as there are many cases in which interested buyers are willing to pay more for a domain than their original offer suggests. Often, parties change their price expectations during the course of negotiations to make an agreement possible. Also, submitting a counter-offer keeps the marketplace running smoothly and effectively for all members, increasing your chances of closing a sale.

We reached out to Mr. ******* via telephone on January 22nd, and were unable to reach him and sent an email.  As a courtesy, we listed his domain name as "Not for sale", so that he would no longer receive any reminders.  The reminders are intended to help remind sellers of open offers, and we recommend setting up a minimum offer if you have higher price expectations.If you have any further questions about the appraisal process, or wish to speak with us further; we would be happy to speak with you at: 617-499-7200.  Our hours are Monday through Friday 9am –5pm.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind Regards,
******* **** - Customer Support Specialist

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I read their reply.  I have no desire to talk to those *******.  I've asked them to delete my domain from their records at least a dozen times and they refused to respond.  Their system is setup so you cannot delete it yourself because they continue to bombard you with ridiculously low offers that increase by $1 increments.  As long as an offer is on the table you can't delete your domain. I refuse to talk to SEDO.  Let me know if you can't handle getting this domain deleted.  I'm sure the KY Attorney General can since he's running for Governor next year.

Business Response: Regarding your response to Complaint # *******, we have already listed the domain name as "Not for Sale" and additionally deleted it from the Sedo account on the client's behalf as the offers were no longer binding. 

We require that sellers provide buyers with counter-offers before canceling the negotiation.  This is a policy in place to help foster the negotiation process. We ask that all sellers and buyers respond to any offers they receive in order to give the other party a range to work within.  Please note, that our support staff reached out to the client regarding setting up a Minimum Offer amount.  This Minimum Offer would prevent the client from receiving any additional offers they may consider to be low.  We offer this as an option for clients who do not wish to be notified of low offers.

I hope this is helpful, and please let us know if you have any further questions.  We are available from 9am-5pm EST Monday-Friday at 617-499-7200.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind regards,
******* ****
Customer Support Specialist- North America


1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently contracted with Sedo to manage the sale of a web domain name. their customer service has been abysmal. The following list of my complaints: 1. The transfer agent refuses to contact me despite 2 requests to call me directly on my cell phone to help guide me through the sale process 2. The agent uses jargon without an explanation 3. I faxed an invoice as requested on 12/13/12 with confirmation of receipt. My request for receipt confirmation from the agent was ignored. I was then contacted 12/20/12 again asking for a receipt. it turns out the agent is in Germany and the fax is in Massachusetts . 4. Though i was requested to downlaod another invoice template, the website did not allow me to do so. 5. Nowhere on the Sedo website is a phone contact number to talk to an actual person 6. Their website offers on live chat. When you go to that it states that chat is unavailable even though I tried during their regular work hours 7. I found a contact number off an email I was sent. The phone tree options allowed me to choose an agent by name. .My agent was not among the options. 8. I opted to choose another agent, thinking they could get me through to my agent. The phone call was then cut off. 9. I called again, wading through their phone tree yet again, waiting 15" to be answered.. "Colin" from customer service answered. he stated he was unable to send me another invoice and could not assist me with the wording. I reminded him that the agent sent me exact invoice wording 12/13/12 and asked why he could not email me another template. He stated "it was not legal" and that it was between myself and the buyer. 10. I explained that I do not have ready access to a fax machine and questioned whether an electronic signature was adequate. he was unable to answer question with any certainty. 11. he stated he would try to find the invoice fax dated 12/13/12 and that he would contact me on my cell phone either way. He has not gotten back with me so..here I am...composing my own invoice,,,hoping the language is correct, having to pay a local ****** to send a fax.

Desired Settlement: Sedo is receiving $900 for their woefully inadequate service. I would like a significant adjustment in that sum. I believe, in light of such hassle, $450 should be adequate.

Business Response: In response to complaint # *******, we have checked into this matter and our transfer department has performed due diligence in contacting Ms. ******.  Our transfer agents have communicated between the buyer and seller in a timely manner to ensure a secure transfer of the domain name.  Unfortunately, the email address provided by the client was no longer valid, and this contributed to the transfer requiring more time.  As we cannot update the email where the domain is registered, we rely on the client to perform this update so that the transfer can proceed. When a seller agrees to sell a domain on the Sedo marketplace; they also agree to provide an invoice at the buyer’s request.  Please see Section 5.2.3.7. Proof of Purchase/Requests for Tax Information of our Terms and Conditions: “Sedo is neither the buyer nor seller in a Domain purchase and sale transaction. As such, if the Buyer requires an invoice of the purchase and sale transaction or is required to request tax information from the Seller, such as a form W-9, the Buyer needs to inform Sedo of this request as soon as an agreement has been reached between the Buyer and Seller. Sedo will then communicate the request to the Seller. The Seller agrees that he/she will comply with such request if the request is promptly made at the beginning of the transfer.” We provided the client with a template to help create the invoice, which had to be in .PDF format, at the request of the buyer.   The client was experiencing difficulty sending the invoice, and our records state that our transfer agent called and left a voicemail to assist on December 20. The invoice is an agreement between the buyer and seller, and Sedo cannot create the invoice on the seller’s behalf. Due to a variety of factors; such as responsiveness from the buyer and seller, the domain transfer process can take varying lengths of time.  With these factors considered, it's safe to assume that a standard domain name transfer takes 1-2 weeks to finalize.   As this transfer began on December 12, a reasonable amount of time has passed, despite some obstacles outside of Sedo’s control.  We cannot offer a commission adjustment, as we have worked within our abilities to perform a secure transfer service. We can be reachedanytime between 9am-5pm EST Monday – Friday at 617-499-7200, or via email at contact@sedo.com.  Our contact information is also available in the About Us > Company Overview section of the Sedo.com. Kind Regards, ******* **** -- Customer Care Specialist - International Sedo.com :: 161 First Street :: Cambridge, MA 02142 tel 617-499-7200 :: fax 617-499-7219 http://www.sedo.com :: contact@sedo.com

12/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered with www.sedo.com. I had two premium domain names which were *********.com and ************.com. I paid money to feature *********.com in the marketplace and promote it in the categories which they honored. I then asked for a professional appraisal on both domains which cost upwards of one hundred thousand dollars. Five days later they send me back both appraisals. The first was *********.com which was $500 and the second was ************.com which was $600. A professional appraisal involves discussion and a lot of thought. It seems like they just pumped the domains through a calculator and gave me incorrect results. The results are appalling. These domains are considered premium and this seems dodgy to me. Are they trying to make me think they are worthless so I sell for a cheaper price and they can buy them off me? I have all the emails from Sedo.com. I then sent an email back to them asking for a reappraisal because obviously they did not even discuss the domain names and they said that they do not reappraisal domain names that they have appraised. I have paid for a service of a professional appraisal and I got insulted. This company should not operate with these practices. The appraisals came from the brokerage team at Sedo.com. The customer service was very good however.

Desired Settlement: I want Sedo.com to spend five full days (as the professional appraisal states) properly appraising these domain names and admit fault (which involves proper discussion about the domain names). I want several respected domain appraisers to supervise the appraisal.

Business Response: Hi *******,
We are writing to you with regards to complaint #*******.  Sedo’s appraisals are done by our experienced market analysts and indicate a fair market value for domains in the current market.  In this case, the Premium appraisal was done in three business days, which is the guaranteed time frame for completing appraisals. The price of the Premium appraisal is 49 Euro per domain, which is the amount the customer was charged per domain. Our professional market analyst has cited specific examples of similar domain sales amounts and detailed descriptions of why the domains have been valued at those particular prices.

Please keep in mind; we appraise domains based on our knowledge of the current market, and provide what we believe to be fair price for the domain given this information.  It’s possible that a price can deviate significantly upwards or downwards from a fair price depending on a potential buyer or a special market situation. The evaluation cannot be adjusted or re-evaluated to meet an individual’s price expectations, as we stand by our ability to provide professional appraisals with fair market values.

If you have any further questions about the appraisal process, or wish to speak with us further; we would be happy to speak with you at: 617-499-7200.  Our hours are Monday through Friday 9am – 5pm.  We can also be reached via email at contact@sedo.com.

Kind Regards,
******* ****
International Support Specialist – North America

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I have listed ************.com/.net/.info as a domain package for minimum bid in auction of 1,000,000 and buy it now for 10,000,000.

************.com was the domain I asked appraisal for and you gave me an appraisal for $600 dollars. How about we see how the "market" reacts? If I dont sell on this occasion I will put price down a little bit until its sold. Then we will determine the real market value and we will see if appraisalists in Sedo need retraining.

Business Response: In response to your complaint, please understand that the appraisal service provides customers with our best estimate of a fair market value for the domain based on our knowledge of the domain market. It is not meant to dictate a price you must list on your domain.   You can still list your desired price on the domain name.  We stand by our ability to provide accurate appraisals and cannot re-evaluate the domain, as the result would be the same value. 

If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to give us a call at 617-499-7200.  Our office hours are Monday thru Friday 9am-5pm EST.

Kind Regards,
******* **** - Customer Support Specialist - International

11/12/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company clearly and openly advertises that it is in business and has a partnership with my company to sell a domain we own. This is absolutely false. We have no connection with this company and do not appreciate having them advertising our domain is for sale when it clearly is not. Futhermore scaming people to sign up based on lies. These are false pretenses and creates a scam amongst consumers. This false advertising may potentially harm our business in several ways.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our domain removed from your site and discard immediately any advertisements about our domains before legal matter is due.

Business Response: In regards to this complaint,  We have removed the domain from being listed on Sedo as the current seller was no longer the owner.  This particular domain was originally listed in 2010, and it looks as though it was re-registered this year. 

As per our Terms of Use, it is the responsibility of the domain seller to keep their Sedo account up to date and remove any domain they no longer own or no longer have to the right to sell.  5.1.4. General Terms Applicable to all Listing Types (i):

"The Seller agrees to keep any data they have added to the Domain Marketplace up-to-date. If a Domain has been sold, he/she is to immediately remove it from their User Account."

Please also keep in mind, that only the registered owner of the domain has control over the domain, and only this owner can transfer the ownership through the sales process.   I apologize for any inconvenience, and if you encounter any future unauthorized listings on our site, please let us know and we will check into it immediately.  We can also be reached Monday thru Friday 9am-5pm EST at 617-499-7200.

I hope this is helpful and please let us know if you have any further questions.

Kind regards,
******* **** -International Customer Support Specialist

10/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Sir/Madam, I was trying to buy a domain www.*********.com from SEDO.com. I bid a price of 100 USD and waited without reply. Then I contacted their support team requesting to know if there is a "preset" buy-now price and I received a reply with explanation of the process they follow. 6 minutes later I received an email that my earlier bid of 100 USD is outbid at 110 USD, and 20 minutes later I received a notification that the auction is closed and the selling took place at 110 USD. I went again on SEDO.com, checked the domain and found it again for sale at a minimum of 500 USD. I offered the price and received an offer that I can hire SEDO for a brokerage fee of 69 EU to conclude the sale. I accepted SEDO offer, and my credit card was charged the 69 EU, however yesterday I received a declination of the brokerage due to "being recently sold and ownership being in transition". The declination of brokerage success contradicts the previously defined price of 500 USD on SEDO page. I have suspicions that this is a fraudulent business and the alleged buyer who outbid me in the first place is an acquaintance of SEDO.com. Please find copy of emails below: 1: My contact requesting an offered price: "I need to know what can I do to buy the domain immediately? is there an offered price by seller?" 2-: Within the hour reply from SEDO.com: Dear *****, Thank you for your email. Sedo GmbH does not own or sell any domains directly, but provides a marketplace for buying, selling and parking domains. I can confirm that the domain *********.com has been listed for sale on Sedo. The seller has chosen to leave the price field blank. This usually means that they are open to all offers in order to gauge the general interest for this domain name. It is also not possible to buy a domain and have it registered to you immediately. Once an agreement to sell a domain has been reached, Sedo will help facilitate the escrow of funds and the transfer of the domain name. Generally, the escrow process follows the basic steps below: The buyer makes payment to Sedo’s escrow account. The buyer/Sedo initiates the transfer request. The seller accepts the transfer request. New ownership of the domain is confirmed. Funds are issued to the seller, less any commission fees. You will be assigned a transfer agent who can help with this process and can answer questions in more detail. You can find more information about our transfer process here. Further information about buying domain names can be found through the following link: https://www.sedo.co.uk/uk/buy-domains/overview/?tracked=&partnerid=&language=e If you have any further queries, please go to the Customer Support Centre via http://www.support.sedo.co.uk. Kind regards, ****** ******* Customer Care Specialist - International 3- 6 minutes later auction email of SEDO.com that my 100 USD bid is outbid: Hello *****, A new bid has been submitted for *********.com. If you are still interested in *********.com this might be your last chance to purchase it before someone else does. The auction closes on Sep/26/12 04:06 PM CEST. If you would like to enter a higher bid, simply return to the auction home page and submit a new bid amount. You also have the option of setting a proxy bid. To review the auction please click here http://www.sedo.co.uk/auction/index.php?language=e&auction_id=131147 Best Regards, Your Sedo Team 4- 20 minutes later email from SEDO.com that the auction is closed and the domain is sold: (20 minutes later than outbid, and 26 minutes later of their initial reply by process explanation, all within one hour of my request for a final price.) Hello *****, The auction for *********.com has closed and the domain was sold for 110 USD to the highest bidder. If you are still looking for domains, Sedo's domain marketplace offers over 10 million quality domains for sale. Search our domain catalogue now to negotiate with sellers or participate in a live auction. For questions about buying domains please visit the FAQ section of our website. Best Regards, Your Sedo Team 5- The email from SEDO.com declining the brokerage service and claiming that the *********.com domain can't be sold now because it is "in transfer" : (how come the "person who bought the domain at 110 USD announced a minimum price of 500 USD at SEDO.com page if the *********.com domain was in transfer and could not be sold?) Dear ***** ******, Your brokerage request for *********.com has been declined due to the following reason: A domain brokerage at this time is not possible, since the domain was recently sold and is currently in transfer. Please feel free to contact us through the customer support center at support.sedo.com if you have any further questions. Best regards, Your Sedo Team

Desired Settlement: I wish to finish the job and conclude the purchase at a fair price (I already approved a 400% profit for the original seller, and still feel being robbed of the brokerage fee without success in conclusion due to SEDO business practice). If not possible to conclude the selling, I wish to get a 69 EU refund for my credit card and the store policy at SEDO.com should be changed to guarantee that they do not have the opportunity to manipulate buyers "or sellers' though malpractice and unfair trade conditions. Transparency of seller to buyer may improve the situation but is not a sure way to guarantee fair trade conditions.

Business Response: In response to complaint # *******, we would like to clarify Sedo’s terms and policies.   We review each brokerage application after the customer pays the 69 USD/EUR fee.   This 69 USD/EUR fee is a temporary hold that is put on the card while we review the application.  We only charge the customer if we believe there is a high probability that we can acquire the domain.  In this case, we declined the request and the funds are returned to this customer as we decided brokerage was not possible at this time.

For further clarification on the offer, the domain that the customer placed a bid on was a “Make Offer” listing, which means that the seller is open to receiving offers.   The customer placed a bid of $100 on the domain on September 19. As according to our policy, section 5.1.2.1 Auction Listings:

“Once Seller is presented with offer, they may choose the option to enter the Domain into a public Auction, rather than proceed in a traditional offer/counter-offer negotiation. Once Seller chooses the option to push the domain to an Auction, the Auction Period, as defined below, has commenced and Seller accepts the offer from the initial Buyer as the basis of their binding reserve price. During this period, other potential Buyers have the ability to use the Auction platform to make offers to buy the same Domain for an amount of money higher than the original bid. Should no other Buyers submit an offer to buy the Domain at a price higher than the original bid, the initial bidder's offer is automatically accepted and the Auction Period closes with the initial bidder as the winner.

If no other customers were to bid on the domain, it would be sold for the original offer of $100.  In this case, the customer was outbid by another party for the price of $110.  The brokerage request was submitted on September 26, after the other party purchased the domain.  We declined this request as the domain was in a transfer to the new owner and could not be acquired.

Kind regards,
*********** - Customer Care Specialist - North America

9/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I used Sedo to buy a domain, they collect the fee and sent email that they will work on getting the domain, but I never heard from them, this about a month, I sent them email and put comment in their website, but no response

Desired Settlement: Get me the domain, or at least let me know what is going on

Business Response: In regards to this complaint, we have reached out to the customer via telephone.  We offer professional brokerage services in order to acquire domain names that are not listed in our marketplace, or in cases which the potential buyer is having difficulty negotiating with a particular seller.  In this case, the seller of the domain was unresponsive to our broker, despite attempts to establish communication and negotiate on the customer’s behalf.  We have informed the customer and agreed that the brokerage request can be closed as there are no further developments.

Kind Regards,

******* ***** ******** ******* ********** * ***** *******

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #9217434.

Regards,

****** *******