Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

MergerNetwork.com

Additional Locations

Phone: (617) 497-5100 Fax: (717) 326-5100 93 Winthrop St Ste 5B, Cambridge, MA 02138 http://www.mergernetwork.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Brauns Online Media operates two B2B web sites. MergerNetwork.com offers a large, searchable database of small and middle market businesses for sale. DealStream.com offers free classified advertising for a wide array of business products and services, including space for lease, commercial property, franchise opportunities, used equipment, wholesale lots, auctions, and conferences.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MergerNetwork.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MergerNetwork.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on MergerNetwork.com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2002 Business started: 07/01/1999 in DE Business incorporated 07/29/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Brauns, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Brauns, President
Related Businesses
DealStream.com
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

ONLINE SERVICES Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Method(s) of Payment
Discover
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states they have a liberal refund & exchange policy.
Alternate Business Names
Brauns Online Media
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign

Additional Locations

  • 245 1st St Ste 1800

    Cambridge, MA 02142

  • 93 Winthrop St Ste 5B

    Cambridge, MA 02138

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/31/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Mergernetwork people are completely incompetent, know nothing about business tractions how they occur, further more they havent a clue regarding to how their own process works when meeting selling with buyers. The customer service has 0 information, and its my understanding that the whole website is a joke and want my money back and want my subscription canceled and refunded immediately. Everytime I attempted to contact businesses I am interested in purchasing I a. Didnt seem I was given truthful information b. got 0 responses (which is strange to me considering im looking to purchase a $7M dollar business. and c. I beleive these are false businesses with false information and just seem to be created out of nothing

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back for the complete waste. I feel like it was stolen from me due to the complete lack of service, they were rude, incompetent, knew nothing about business what so ever and Im pretty sure a ton of the listing on there are not true

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******,
I am sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with MergerNetwork. We already have issued you a full refund.

I assure you that our listings are very real. We have been in business for a very long time (since 1995) and we have an excellent reputation in the industry. Feel free to check us out (and me personally) on LinkedIn. That being said, I know that sellers will sometimes ignore messages from buyers and I suspect this is what happened in your case. As you probably know, there are a lot of Internet scams where criminals pose as legitimate buyers, and I suspect the fact that you mentioned that you represent a Chinese buyer may have scared people off. This is why we offer to help buyers contact sellers and why we send out emails making this offer whenever a buyer contacts a seller. Did you not receive these emails? 

Our customer support is very good. All of our inbound calls go to a call center, which immediately contacts our support manager who then calls the customer. We have a very good track record - we normally respond to people within a few minutes. It sounds like you expected people at the call center to be able to help you but, unfortunately, that is not how it works. They just take calls - they know nothing about our business.

Again, I am sorry you had a bad experience and hope you will let me know if there is anything else we can do to help you.

Sincerely,
****** ******
President