BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Lycos, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Lycos, Inc., offers internet services such as website hosting, domain and email for purchase and online games.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lycos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lycos, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 25 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Reviews  are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

25 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 25

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Lycos, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 28, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1995 in PA Business incorporated: 06/01/1995 in VA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Matthew Vella, Technical Support Supervisor
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Matthew Vella, Technical Support Supervisor
Number of Employees

59

Business Category

ONLINE & INTERNET SHOPPING Electronic Shopping (NAICS: 454111)

Products & Services

Lycos, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Angelfire, Evincible, Gamesville, Lycos Domains , Lycos Mail, Tripod, Zeeblio

Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express
PayPal
Industry Tips
Five Steps to Building an E-Commerce Site - Video Online Shopping Online Shopping - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    52 Second Avenue4th Floor

    North Waltham, MA 02451

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a user of lycos for years and starting last night I could not log in any longer. It keep saying Sorry, but the username and password you provided don't match. Please check them and try again. Note that the password is Case-Sensitive. When I tried to reset the password it says The email address (****@lycos.com) does not match any account in our system. I am surprised that it does not exist as it was working the yesterday morning. Please look into it and have it resolved access to my email is critical. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: Restore access to my email.

Business Response: I am sorry you experienced this issue with your account.  There was an issue with our registration system that left some users unable to log in or reset their passwords.  We have resolved the issue on these accounts and they are loading at this time.  User information and data was not affected.  Please log into your account and verify that your information is still available. If you have several failed login attempts, you may be unable to log into your account for 20 minutes.  Please wait 20 minutes and try your account again. Please let us know if you still have issues logging in.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered my domain name with Lycos in 2003. In recent years I have not used to website as much, but I still needed to keep it up for occasional use and email forwarding. So I keep it on auto-renew and locked. Today, I needed to update the website and found the domain was pointing to a ******* parking page. I logged into my Lycos account and everything looked fine, like I still owned the domain, but ***** data I looked up belonged to a fake-sounding name in Australia. I learned from a chat rep that when it was supposed to renew on 9/17, the credit card had a processing error. Throughout this, I received no notice that my domain was about to auto-renew, no notice that there was an error processing the payment, no notice that my domain had expired, and no notice that my expired domain had entered or exited any type of grace period. My contact information was completely up-to-date throughout the process. After I asked why I wasn't notified about the renewal or card failure, the chat rep cut me off and exited the session without explanation or direction to any other customer service contact.

Desired Settlement: Now that my groups's important domain belongs to someone else through Lycos' blatant disregard, there is likely no way to get it back without a large sum of money and understanding and cooperation from its new owners. The first choice of ideal outcome would be the return of my domain to my ownership with two weeks. The second choice would be a sum of at least $800 to cover my time and expenses attempting to recover the domain myself, and partially make up for the loss of publicity that the group's website would have generated for their upcoming reunion events.

Business Response: It is our policy to send out failed payment e-mails if a plan fails to collect.  I am sorry if this message did not reach you.  The domain has not been owned in our system since September of 2012.  We will not be able to retrieve the domain from the current owner, it is not a company that we partner with.  This domain was not renewed with our registrar due to the failed payment and when it became available was picked up by another owner.  In these cases or expiration, messages are also sent from the registrar to the customer.  In this case, we will not be able to award the user a sum to try and retrieve the domain.  We recommend they contact the current owner to attempt to repurchase the domain.

Consumer Response:



Thank you for your reply.


I do realize that that is what happened, and that it is completely due to your failure to follow your own policy and failure to
uphold ***** registrant rights. I understand what it means that someone else now owns my domain through another registrar. You have informed me that you have no intention to attempt recovery of the domain, and that I should try to contact the current owner of it myself. This will cost me dozens of hours of my own valuable time and considerable expense paying the fees through ******* before even reaching the possibility of repurchasing my domain, with no guarantee of success. Again, because of your critical failure.

Considering the addition of lost publicity and income for the group's 3-year reunion event in addition to my time and expense to attempt recovery of the domain, the request is meager. I look forward to hearing your response. Thank you.


 

Business Response: I'm sorry, we will not be able to give you any sum for this domain loss.

Consumer Response:

 

Thank you again for your reply, ****. What would you and Lycos prefer to do to correct or compensate for this severe issue that resulted from their violation of policy?

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

12/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lycos is my e-mail provider as has been for about 15 years. On Friday, 12/6/13, they ceased letting me sign in to my email account. They posted some message on the sign in page about "my email provider has abused Lycos services and I am locked out." They are my email provider. Now I cannot access my account anymore. They said to prepare "tickets" to customer service about my problem. I did so 10 times and yet no response. They tell me they have emailed my email address to verify it is me. How can I read an email when I am locked out of my account. I called their telephone number for customer service seven times and left messages to open my account. They do not respond and you cannot speak to a live person. Terrible customer service for a problem which I did not do anything. They had no right to stop my email service after all these years.

Desired Settlement: I want my account unlocked so that it can be used as it is supposed to be.

Business Response: ******, I am sorry you are experiencing this trouble, can you please send us your ********** e-mail address so we can see what is going on with this account?

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

The company is asking me for my email address to investigate the complaint. The email address is  *******************. I have just provided the information that I was asked to provide with regard to complaint.

Business Response: ******, Thank you for providing us with that account.  Researching this account, I found that it was locked by our mail provider for sending out SPAM.  I have removed this lock and you can now login to your account and setup a new password to avoid future issues like this.  We recommend that a new password be at least 8 characters with a mix of upper and lowercase letters, numbers and at least one symbol.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.

Thanks,
****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company sells outdated listings, refuses to update listings or remove business listings that are obsolete. Company sells business listings that are outdated and refuses to remove companies that are no longer in operation. I have contacted them multiple times as I can no longer access my listing account, but they refuse to respond in a professional manner. (I receive automated responses from them, or 'satisfaction surveys' which don't allow negative responses. Business listing: ****** Trucking, Minnesota This business has been inactive for more than 7 years but as a result of their duplication and sharing process I am bombarded with phone calls, daily, from people offering 'updated google listings', 24 hr. business loans, debt collection services, etc. Stop the madness, please. This is costing me money (phone service, $.20 per call) ******** *. ****** *******, Minnesota Angelfire was purchased by the Lycos company.

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement for multiple calls daily, (3+ years, 3+ calls per day, 7 days a week, .20 per call) and Removal of outdated listing.

Business Response: I'm sorry you're receiving so many calls about a bad listing, can you send me the URL where this incorrect information is listed so I can try to remove or correct it to prevent you from receiving any future calls? Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The response submitted by the Lycos representative falls under the 'playing dumb' category.    My reasoning: Lycos and affiliates are selling my personal information (name, address, phone number) yet it claims it is not able to locate that same information?  Does that make any sense?   They can find it to sell it, but they can't find it to delete it?   This is the typical response I have gotten from them for the past five years. Once again,....My name is ******.  I am in Minnesota.  I operated a trucking company 10 years ago.  My phone number is *** *** ****.     If they are telling you they can't find it to delete it, then ask them how they are able to find it and sell it/share it with so many of their shady telemarketing clients.  

Business Response: ********, I am so sorry for the confusion in this matter.  I thought your information may be posted to one of the user created websites that we host.  I have found that outdated listing information online and have found that Lycos is not the source of this incorrect information.  I have put in a request with whitepages.com to remove this incorrect listing, this should be done in 5 business days.  They recommended I have you contact a company named Infogroup through their site http://expressupdateusa.com/ that provided Whitepages with the information, if this step is not completed, the listing will likely be put back on whitepages.com.  I was also able to locate the information on Yellowpages.com, I would recommend reaching out to them for help with removing this listing as well.  Infogroup provides many online listing services with information so that is the best place to start. Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. The listing was originally placed (more than 12 years ago) via one site and one site only- and I cannot access that site anymore.   I do not know these other parties and should not have to spend time trying to track them down.   I went directly to the source, which is a company now owned by Lycos. These data collectors should be responsible for verifying the accuracy of the information they gather BEFORE they share it.   Typical online data retrieval irresponsibility.   

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been locked out of my email account now twice in less than 3 weeks. I have made multiple calls to lycos customer services, etc — basically leaving voicemail with my call back number on any possible voice mail I can access — since NO ONE answers a phone at this company. In addition, I have submitted more online request for assistance than I can even recall. Both of these attempts have led to ZERO responses from customer support! The 1st time I was locked out x 5 days and miraculously the account got unlocked ?? I never got a call back … just was able to login again and read one generic email from lycos asking to rate their customer service. But unfortunately, before I had time to sit down and rate their HORRIBLE customer service, I was locked out again. Again, I have called and left like 10 messages… submitted another TOO MANY request for manual unlock. And again, NO RESPONSE… and NO RESOLUTION!

Desired Settlement: I want my account unlocked so that I can access my contacts, etc. in order to set up an email account with someone more reliable.

Business Response: I'm sorry you were locked out of your account, this can happen for many reasons, can you send me your lycos.com e-mail address so I can research your account?  Thanks, ****

Consumer Response: ***********@lycos.com I don't understand why it's locked twice in less than 3 wks and can't get a hold of anyone to resolve it. ******* **********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The web host ********* disabling my website without warning, without explanation, cutting communications and giving me no access to my work. I operate a community website that serves a disadvantaged community where I live. On 10th August I found that the website is no longer accessible via the internet. When I tried to log into my ********* account to see why, a message stated that I was locked out of my account due to "suspected abuse". To the best of my knowledge I have done nothing wrong. I was given no warning or explanation as to why this action had been taken. Briefly I was able to use online chat to ask technical support what had happened, but the advisor was only able to tell me my site had been disabled due to a request from Google. Nothing more. Then the online chat service was removed, although it is supposed to be a feature of the service you get. I have seen a confusing variety of web pages when I try to log into my account. I am advised to open up a Support Ticket but after I did that, one of the web pages I saw told me that I had no ticket history. I spoke with another web host firm and they said that this behaviour from ********* was very unprofessional. The other web host said that they would have explained to me what was wrong and offered solutions. ********* never bothered to contact me, although they have my phone and email details. My site has now been offline for 4 days and I still don't know the reason why. I can't even access my material to be able to save it to my computer. This material represents thousands of hours of work on my part. Had I not tried to visit my own website, I would not have known that it was offline. It could have been offline for weeks, because ********* don't bother to tell you. People in my community find valuable information on my website, but now there is a message on Google saying that the site no longer exists. So visitors will assume that this source of help no longer exists. I would also be concerned that being offline for so long would cause my website to fall down through the web listings. I have been working on the website since 2007 and don't deserve that. I am disgusted by this treatment from ********* and would eventually like to transfer my website to another web host, but I can't do that because ********* won't let me access my material. Some of it I have a back-up of, but the latest work is not backed up.

Desired Settlement: ********* to start talking. To reinstate my site or tell me what is wrong so that I can fix it. To have access to my material.

Business Response: I am sorry you are having this trouble logging in to your account.  Based on the information you provided, I was not able to locate a locked account, can you please provide us with the exact username you are using to log into ********* and these details on file with the account so we can assist you further:

1) Your member name (Login Name)
2) Your website's URL
3) Current email address on file for your account
4) First and Last Name
5) Mailing Address
6) Date of Birth

Thanks, ****
Lycos Customer Service

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** (Lycos Customer Service) Jul 26 05:35 am (EDT) Hello ******, Thank you for contacting Lycos customer support. We have checked the account " ******** " and found that it was renewed yesterday and we regret to inform that at this time we cannot refund the amount and requests you to use the service for an year. Also, we suggest you to log into the billing page using the url " registration.lycos.com/billingedit.php " and disable the auto renew option so going further there wouldn't be any charge on this account. Thank you, Victor B Lycos Customer Support http://cshelp.lycos.com ****** * ****** ****** * ****** Jul 26 05:14 am (EDT) Please terminate my **************.com site. I did not want it automatically renewed. Thanks, *** ******--- Submitted from: http://www.domains.lycos.com/help This email is a service from Lycos Customer Service.. Delivered by *******.

Desired Settlement: I am a contractor in Afghanistan with limited internet access and would like my credit card refunded for the charge that was made without notice to me. I did not approve of a subscription renewal and have not used the Lycos service.

Business Response: We have issued a refund for this transaction in the amount of $82.35.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help you with.  Thanks, ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few days ago I tried to log into my email account. It said it was closed due to inactivity. That was odd to me since I am on it multiple times a day and had just been on it a few hours earlier. After not being able to reach anyone by phone I found the submit a ticket option. I submitted my ticket. For days I have heard nothing. Nothing about my ticket and no phone call back from the messages I have left. I found the submit a ticket page again. I tried to check the status, but that requires you to log in, which I can not do. This time it said something about abuse of terms of service. I had been getting a lot of random email undeliverable emails, so I am assuming I was hacked. I very very very rarely send an email from this account. I submitted another ticket including that I can't check the status of my first. This is my primary email, which I use daily. I need to be able to have access to it. Unfortunately getting in touch with anyone from Lycos customer service is impossible.

Desired Settlement: I would like my email to be reactivated as soon as possible.

Business Response: The customer account had been locked for sending SPAM.  The account was unlocked yesterday with the help of one of our Customer Support Agents and a new password was setup.  The customer was left a voicemail yesterday about the change.  Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with in this case.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

I would like to say even though they did call and fix the issue, it was after a week of trying to contact them. They also called me at 5 in the morning, luckily the phone didn't wake my children. having kids or not though, 5am is not an acceptable time to call someone.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My domain name www.**********************.com stopped working. I contacted my web hosting company and they informed me it was a problem with my domain. My servers aren't pointing to the right place and I was told to go into my domain panel to fix the problem. Lycos is the company I have my domain registered with. I am still shown as the admin on the domain name and Lycos is still shown as the company it is registered with. However when I log into my account with Lycos it says I have no domains. I submitted a request ticket explaining the situation. Logged on to follow up 48 hours later the request ticket has disappeared even though I received a confirmation email saying it was received and being reviewed. Submitted another ticket. This ticket is still under review. Have heard anything from Lycos. Have stressed the importance of getting my website woking ASAP. Have provided an email and phone number by which I can be reached. Still have heard nothing from Lycos. I can't find any other way of contacting them on their website. I would love to be able to call them and get this resolved right away but they don't seem to have a customer service number. At this point I want to transfer my domain name to another company. It is impossible to reach Lycos.

Desired Settlement: I want my issue with my domain name resolved and I want to switch my domain registration to another company.

Business Response: Dear Ms. *****:
Thank you for contacting us to resolve the account issues that you have detailed. We would like to assist you further, but are unable to locate an account on file with any of the criteria you have provided. I am also unable to locate any previous ticket history for you. Can you please provide your member name, and email address on file? This will better assist us in reviewing your domain and determining corrective action.

I look forward to your response.

Regards-
***** *****
Lycos Domains Customer Service Manager

Business Response: There are no "points" listed. Can you please advise what else is required? Thanks!

***** *****

Consumer Response: I have resolved the issue I had with the business through my own research with no assistance from them even after submitting the complaint. However the issue has been resolved and so complaint can be considered closed. 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a small business website which has been closed for 3 years, and I have made every attempt possible to have this site deleted. My personal information is on this website, and the ******* software with which it was created is now uneditable due to Lycos discontinuing the software. All I was able to remove were the paypal buttons. I am unable to remove my pictures, text, address and phone number from this site or delete the site files. I have made numerous email requests to the Lycos representatives to take the site down, according to their policies, and have not even received a reply. This website is called ******** ********, and it is located at: http://*************. ******.com/

Desired Settlement: Please take this website down immediately.

Business Response: Dear *****-
First and foremost, allow me to apologize for the delay in your response to this request. Based on the complaint you have provided it appears as though your ticket became "stuck" in our new CRM system and for that I am sorry. You have helped us in locating a system flaw which we will have corrected very shortly.

Without regards for the above, I would simply like to confirm the following:  You have an ********* and a Tripod account with us. This will effectively cancel both accounts and we just want to be sure that you are aware of this before we proceed. If you only wish for your Tripod account to be closed, please respond stating such. If you would like both accounts close, please advise and we will process your request immediately.

Thank you for your extreme patience and we appreciate you working with us to identify this technological issue for future customers.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Tripod Customer Service Manager

Network    *************    ****** (26)    lycos    05/28/2013 14:35:48    12/29/2001 12:43:52
Alias    *****/*************    ********* (33)    lycos    02/08/2012 21:22:09    12/29/2001 12:43:52

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Please close both accounts permanently. Thank you.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I won on gamesville.com Bingo Zone on March 2, 2013 as show below. I have not received the Check, that was supposed to be delivered by May 2, 2013. ($16.00 3/2/13 Bingo Zone Game Winnings Confirmed You requested this check 3/3/13. Your check should arrive by 5/2/13.) Screen Name: ********* http://cshelp.gamesville.com/requests/2201 The prize is: $16.00USD Your win date is: Sat Mar 2 09:07 2013 I have emailed twice in the last 7 days requesting an update or status of the check and have had no response, and NO CHECK!!

Desired Settlement: To Receive the $16.00 Check.

Business Response: Dear ***** -
Thank you so very much for contacting us regarding your Gamesville.com check. We have tried to be as open with our communities as possible about the recent Gamesville.com issues. We do want you to know that if you have sent in your documentation, we are working on getting a check out to you. You see, after that Gamesville check incident we made some changes with the way we process checks and after working with many different banks we ultimately moved to a new bank for business reasons. That went very smoothly and our finance team is hard at work preparing the remaining balance of Gamesville prize checks for redistribution. You should see your check by the end of May. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the delayed response. We have been working in the background to ensure that all of our GV Members are taken care of. Please contact me directly at ***********@lycos-inc.com if you have not received your check by 5/31 and I will personally consult with our finance team.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb. 28, I wrote to Lycos to ask that my account with them to be closed. It is a free account, and I wish to no longer have it activated due to the fact that I was being cyber stalked at that address. I spoke with *** *****, a customer service rep, who said he would be glad to assist me. He asked for three security questions being my mothers middle name, dob, and country of origin. I gave him this information on two different occasions in which he said that he would process upon receipt. I submitted this information on March 1, and again on March 4, to which he said it would be solved. I received this message, Your request (#******) has been solved. To reopen this request, reply to this email or click the link below: http://cshelp.lycos.com/tickets/****** I tried emailing Mr. ***** again, to which I have not received a reply, This was on March 4. When I tried to click on the help link for my ticket, this was my response, Request not found You do not have access to request #******. It may have been solved or deleted. As of this weekend, I was still able to access this account. This lack of customer service is inane. It is a free account, and I just want it deleted. It would take less than five minutes on their end to give me some relief on my end. One week later, and I cannot even touch base with a human. It is sincerely a regret. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO CONTACT BBB AT THIS TIME.

Desired Settlement: Finish this, and I will be satisfied. A follow up email to the address listed in my contact information would be sincerely appreciated.

Business Response: Hi ****-
Allow me to introduce myself; my name is ***** ***** and I am the Customer Service Manager for Lycos and all of its corresponding products. I would like to start by apologizing for what sounds like a rather difficult personal experience and for the issues that you have been having reaching our support team.

I have good news for you, your support ticket was not deleted. According to our system it was closed due to "no activity for more than 5 days". Our system shows that no response verifying identity was received. As you have reported this as a "cyber stalking issue" and the information submitted in your complaint does not match our internal records (the address on file is not the same as that in your complaint) we wish to be 100% certain that you are who you say you are before moving forward with your request to close this account.

If you would be so kind as to respond directly to this message with your date of birth and address on file, I will personally cancel your account immediately. It is our goal to assist you with this matter and ensure that you never have to concern yourself with it again.

We hope that this is acceptable and I will commit to a turnaround time of less than one business day for account cancelation upon receipt of your response.

I appreciate you bringing this to the BBB as it allows us to determine if we do have training issues which we would take very seriously. I am thankful that we were able to locate your ticket immediately and that we will be able to provide you with resolution very soon.  I look forward to working with you further.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Lycos Customer Service Management

Consumer Response: *****,
Thanks for your quick response.  Below is a text copy of what Mr. ***** sent which only indicates a request for a country, not address.

We would like to make sure that you are aware that once you cancel your mail subscription your mail content, contacts and calendar will be gone forever and Lycos will not be able to retrieve them. We find that communicating this to our customers up front is extremely important and valuable information to have when considering cancellation options. If you have already considered all of the above, then please respond to this ticket with as much of the information below as possible. This will allow us to verify your identity and though it seems like we ask for a lot, we do so simply to protect you:

Security Question: What is your mother's middle name?
Country:
Date of birth:

Once we have received your response, we will process your cancellation request should you wish to proceed. 

I have moved since creating my account nearly a decade earlier.  My addy on file for Lycos was:  **** ******** Blvd ***** ******, LA. ***** ************

Middle name mother is ***.  DOB is *********

Would you be able to send a note to my gmail account letting me know this account with Lycos has been closed.  My email account with gmail is, **************@gmail.com.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Details can be found on complaint form -Request #****** . I paid for an ********* website through lycos.com (www.******reunion.*********.com) and tried to introduce a simple response form for my family reunion on January 20. I've been trying to get assistance from lycos customer service since then (23 days ago) and the form still does not work. this is upsetting the plan of having a simple online form for my family members to complete. Most details can be found on the complaint log but this will summarize some of the problems -First, the form disappeared from my page which triggered the first request for assistance - This problem resolved itself. -Lycos advised me that the form was working but that gmail was blocking responses. they said to open a lycos.com email. - I did but the lycos.com email initially did not accept any emails from any sources. It started to work but the form was not forwarding responses. -Lycos advised me to redo the form from scratch to ensure there were no hidden html tags imported from Word - I did. Did not work -Lycos advised me to direct the form to gmail because lycos mail spams its own forms. did not work. After rebuilding forms and trying different email accounts, now when you press the submit button, the form never affirms that the information was sent. It seems to forward to gmail, but the sender never gets acknowledgement that the form accepted the information. This is unacceptable. The customer service reps (I've communicated with two by chat and one by phone) seem to understand the problem, but when they interact with the "engineers' I seem to get a quick unacceptable response which focuses the problem back on me. Lycos is quick to close out the complaint with no resolution. It seems so simple for a customer to put up a form. This is impacting my ability to provide services to my family in anticipation of the family reunion. The latest form is on the following page: http://*************.*********.com/online-registration.html

Desired Settlement: - make the form on this page work: http://******reunion.*********.com/online-registration.html - at least a partial refund for the time the website was not fully functional (so far approximately 1 month) - committment to take steps to ensure I'm properly serviced for my account

Business Response: Dear Mr. ******-
Thank you for contacting Lycos.com Customer Support. We have taken the time to review your complaint and would like to sincerely apologize for the fact that you stand here today working to resolve an issue that our support team has not been able to provide you with 100% satisfaction on. I would like to advise that you have made us aware of a training issue that will be addressed immediately.

Though Lycos works with many vendors and has many product offerings, our internal support agent should have worked with you to inquire further about the way in which you intended to set up all of your Lycos accounts prior to responding in full. Lycos Mail should not have been the first option recommended to you as there are some limitations with the way that it interacts with certain components of the web form that you have built.

Secondly, our internal support team does not offer a service at this time that would incorporate the alteration of or replacement of any code on behalf of a customer. We do hope that no one ever advised you that we were able to assist with this aspect of site development.

At this time, it is clear that our services cannot meet your needs and I would like to apologize again on behalf of the entire Lycos team though I have refunded your PayPal account in the amount billed ($32.45). We are limited in the amount that we can refund you so we are unable to process an additional refund (bringing your total up to $40.00) per your request. We can simply provide you with a refund in the highest amount that you were billed.

If you believe that we can offer you additional services at any time, please contact me directly at ***********@lycos-inc.com. I want to personally advise you that we have taken your case to our internal development team and will be using it to further develop our product offerings and in training seminars.  Thank you for taking the time to help us grow.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Customer Service Manager
Lycos Inc.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do appreciate that the company has offerred to refund the full amount I paid for the website and I stand corrected as to the price referenced in the response. 

Based upon the response, I think Lycos is not fully understanding what I was asking for in this situation.  I am using the  site builder tool and am attempting to use the form creator function from the tool.  I started from scratch and avoided cutting and pasting as advised by the rep to avoid accidentally importing any hidden codes from microsoft word.  My goal is not to add any customer code or perform any extraordinary function other than for the form to allow visitors to input the information and for the form to be forwarded to an email account.  With the page I just created (http://******reunion.*********.com/online-registration.html), I have followed all of the previous instructions provided to me.To simply refund $33 leaves me with 150 family members coming to the website that has already been announced to them only to find that they cannot register for the event.  I am saddened that Lycos is choosing not to make an honest attempt to fix this and to just refund the money.  My request was for a partial refund for the time was lost, and a repair of the problem.  Instead I am being offerred a full refund and a kick to the curb.  I don't know why Lycos is not attempting to fix this problem with a function of a tool they offer to customers.  Their resolution is not going to help me when my family members start accessing the URL I promised them and not finding the functions there.  In refunding the $33 , is the company now suggesting that I have to close the website or that I keep the website or ads reappear.  Either of these choices will not help me in the situation I'm already in.  I would have to find another web service, with a form creator, build another website, and then somehow contact family members to visit the other website in time to submit their deposits by our Feb 22 deadline.   Instead, I was seeking that Lycos fix the problem that's causing their web building tool not to function.  This would be much more valuable than the $33 now being offerred by lycos.  by the way, I only input a monetary amount of the original form because it seemed that the form used by the BBB required that input.Bottom line - Make a good faith effort to fix the problem instead of buying out of the problem by offering money. ******** ******* ******  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my www.**************.com has not been working for 3 months I write to their customer service, but they never fix it for me till today.

Desired Settlement: I hope they can fix the problem for me as soon as possible.

Business Response: Good Morning,
******** ***** is unfortunately no longer an employee here at Lycos and we are working through a transition at this time. Thank you for your patience.  I have reviewed the complaint by this customer.  After pulling our logs and files we see a discrepancy in the report by ***** *****.  He called in asking for assistance in this matter and also sent in tickets for which the images show the given information requested in order to correct his site issue.  The images gave a clear description on how he can fix his site issue dated on 11/01/12.  Thank you for notifying us of this issue.

-***** ***********

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

www.**************.com is still not working, can you fix it for me as soon as possible, or give me your telphone no, so I can call you as soon as possible.

Business Response: Dear *****-
First and foremost, allow me to extend our most sincere apologies for the delay in your response. Lycos customer support has had a change in organizational structure and we have reviewed your request again.

Based on the fact that I am able to verify that you do not have a working account today and that you have an extraordinary history with the ****** brand at Lycos, I have processed an account credit for you in the amount of $25.00. These funds will be on account and available to you any time you sign up for services via ****** using your  ************@yahoo.ca name. You can purchase a new domain, or rest assured that if you have an active monthly payment of $25.00 or less, we will cover it until the $25.00 credit on file is used up.  Again, we sincerely apologize for the delay and wish you the best. Please do not hesitate to contact us with any further questions.

Regards-
***** ** *****
Customer Service Manager
Lycos.com/******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company advertisers ad-free email service if you pay an annual fee. I paid the $19.95 annual fee via MasterCard about 3 weeks ago. Since then, I have continued to received pop-up ads prior to entering my email sign in and password. Not only that, I am receiving 10 second advertisements prior to being even able to enter any information on the email service page. This is the heighth of deceit and fraud. The company has responded via their service department that the only ad free part is after you've signed in. That is not what is advertised nor what I paid for.

Desired Settlement: Since they can't be trusted to handle this issue, I do not wish to continue with their service. I want the email account closed and my $19.95 refunded to my credit card. They will forever have a black eye with me and I intend on spreading the word far and wide about my experience with their service.

Business Response: Hello,

Thank you for this email and inquiry. We are addressing this problem now. We hope to have a fix in place shortly to resolve the ads that are appearing for paid users of our mail system. I can keep you posted through our ticket support system to the progress of this matter, if you wish. I do not have an ETA at this time, but we are addressing this matter. I am sorry that you are seeing these ads. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance.

Thank you,
******** *****
Lycos Customer Support Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do not accept the resolution that LYCOS is proposing.  Since this morning I relogged in to the email site, they have changed the verbiage to allow for pop-up and ads to appear prior to entering the inner sanctum of the email.  I did not pay $19.95 for this kind of service, and demand a refund and closure of the email account, **********@lycos.com. I will not accept any other resolution, and am also pursuing action for fraud with the Washington State Attorney General's Office within 48 hours if this is not resolved to my satisfaction. LYCOS is committing fraud. 


 

 

Business Response: Hello,

I have gone ahead and closed the account ********** and refunded the charges of $19.95 back to the credit card on file. You are still seeing ads when you log into Lycos Mail, because we have not finished working on a resolution to this issue and have no yet put a fix in place. We are still in the works of getting this resolved for our paid members.

Thank you,
******** *****
Manager Customer Support

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I do see the company has refunded my money.  This resolves the situation in my mind.  Hopefully they will be more forthcoming and honest with their subscribers in the future.  When I pay for ad-free email, I don't expect to see pop-ups or any advertisements.  Don't know what they are thinking, charging for email and continuing to run advertisements.  Why would anyone pay for that?

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not been able to access my lycos email in over a week. I filed 3tickets with customer service and never received a response. I gave all the proper information and the problem is still not resolved. I have a lot of important emails that I need to access Every time I log onto the email it says that there are security issues. There's no phone number to call. I don't know how to get to my email so I now have a secondary email address. The ticket numbers that I put in with customer service are #*****-****** and #*****-******.

Desired Settlement: I just want to access my email. Once that is completed I'll be at peace.

Business Response: Hello,

This users account was suspended by our mail provider ****** as they have determined the account was spamming email addresses, which is a violation of our Terms of Service. We have responded to both tickets that the user has opened (#*****-****** and #*****-******) requesting account verification, we are waiting for the user to get back us. Once we have that information we will be able to restore their account status to active. Please let me know if you need additional information.

Thank you,

******** *****
Lycos Customer Support Manager

Consumer Response:

I did respond to your request.  I answered all of your questions on 5/15 and the issue still is not fixed.  There's not a support number where I can call someone.  So, three days after I answered the questions, there still is not a resolution.
 
Regards,

******* ******

 

 

Business Response: Hello,

I am very sorry for the delay in my response. I was out of the office for a few days. The customer emailed me directly and I have unlocked their account, updated their email address and resent their password. I also suggested that they update their password as we believe their account was hacked. I have not heard back from the user, so I believe their issue has been resolved.

Thank you,

******** *****
Lycos Customer Support Manager

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not been able to access my Lycos email account ******************** since May 7th, when I began receiving a canned message upon log in attempts. I have been trying to contact Lycos Support by completing Help Tickets every day since then. Lycos has not responded nor fixed the problem.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that Lycos Support address my issue and get my email account working again. Thank you.

Business Response: Hello,

We see that the user for the ********** account opened a ticket with our support team on May 12th, ticket number ************. I have looked into there issue this morning. Their account was suspended by our mail provider for suspected spam which is a violation of our Terms of Service. I am not able to enable their mail account at this time. We have sent the user information on what they will need to provide us with and once this is verified we will restore their services with Lycos. Please let me know if you need additional information regarding this complaint.

Thank you,

******** *****
Lycos Customer Support Manager








BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lycos took down a feature that we were using for advertising on our website called the "guestbook". The assured me that there would be a migration path or at least a way to retrieve information before the service was taken down.
They still have not provided a way to retrieve our data from a service that we have paid for, for years. Customer support will not respond and continues to ignore any emails I send. We rely on that data held in the guestbook for references and to do business. I don't understand how a company can take down a service and not have anyway for the customer to obtain their own information. Highly unsatisfied with this company and their business practices.
Below is a summary of the conversation I had with support. I especially love the part where they state "There is absolutely no need to worry". Dear [P:Ticket.Ticket_Customer.First_Name] [P:Ticket.Ticket_Customer.Last_Name], A solution for your issue has been suggested. Hi Travis, We apologize for the inconvenience in this regard. As per the notification you have received, HTML Gear will be taken down offline from April 2, 2012. However, we are currently working on a method on how to provide a way to our customers to download all their content they have in their guestbook. There's absolutely no need to worry. We will keep you up to date on this issue. Thank you, **** * ***** Customer Support http://cshelp.lycos.com

Desired Settlement: All I want is for the company to do a database export of my files so I can find another service and import my reviews. We never missed a payment, and don't deserve to be treated unfairly.

Business Response: Hello,

First, I would like to apologize for the delay in responding to this BBB Complaint. Our Customer Service Department has undergone some recent management changes and ******* ***** is no longer with Lycos. Secondly, the customer has opened a ticket ****** and we have responded to the ticket, at the time we were working on a way to export the data of the guestbook in question. We have since reached out to the user twice asking for additional information regarding their account information so that we could get a back up of the their guestbook and get that to them. However, they have yet to respond to our email with the requested information. We have emailed ****** ***** at ******@gmail.com with the following message:

"In order for us to be able to retrieve a copy of your guestbook data we will need more information. Please get back to us with the following so we may locate your account and assist you in this matter.1) Your member name (login name)
2) Your website's URL
3) The email address on file for your account
4) First and Last name
5) Street address
6) Last 4 digits of card being billed or date of birth on file"

Once we have this information we will be able to assist the customer. Please let me know if you need additional information regarding this complaint.

Thank you,
******** *****
Lycos Customer Support Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not been able to access my lycos email for 3 days. I filed 6 tickets with customer service and never received a response. I gave all the proper information and have yet to hear from them. I have lost contact with people regarding a vacation rental and have had business contacts complain they haven't received responses from me. Every time I log onto the email it says that there are security issues. There's no phone number to call. I don't know how to get to my email so I now have a secondary email address.

Desired Settlement: access to my email

Business Response: I checked the customer's account and verified that access to mail now works. It appears that our mail provider had mistakenly locked the account for spam. I apologize for the delay in responding to the problem. The trouble ticket was routed incorrectly at first, delaying action by a customer support representative.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.



BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/19/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted the Lycos Customer Service at least 4 times (dec 12th, 13th, 14th and 15th 2011) to give them an opportunity to resolve the issue. Dec 16th 2011 I even tried contacting Lycos Public Relations via mail using my ************************ address. I have been a "Mail Free" customer for years. Last week I wanted to report a fake "Euromillions" spam mail received in my ******************* *****. By accident I pasted the spammer's e-mail address in the e-mail field of the Lycos Help support form found at ********************** Lycos advises users to report suspicious mails at the main ****************** page (under "Important Security Note") - so I did what was expected of me as a user of their mail system The result of my actions to my knowledge was that the Lycos support team received a mail from the spammer the moment they sent a mail saying "****** ************* will be looked into". Someone probably considered this a threat and without notice my account was locked: "Sorry, this account has been locked for suspected abuse. Please contact customer support to file a support ticket a* ********************* for assistance." I then used another Lycos account on Dec. 12th 2011 to report what happened using the Lycos Help support form found at http://*************** because I could no langer use my own. This resulted in Ticket #************* To be sure I sent a mail to ************************* on Dec. 12th 2011 using my tom.ballegeer@excite.com address This resulted in Ticket ************** I did not receive any assistance from Lycos customer support - although I stated I urgently need to regain access, because of important documents (and although they now even have my phone number). Previous support tickets of a less urgent nature received a response within 12 hours or less.

Desired Settlement: I would like to regain access to my ************* account at Lycos.

Business Response: I spoke to a technician and your mail account has been reactivated. As you indicated, there was a strong suspicion of abuse, and we take those cases seriously at Lycos. I do apologize for the inconvenience and delay in fixing your account.


******* *****
Lycos Customer Service

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #*******.

Regards,

*** *********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I attempted to log into my email ****************** by going to *********************** I entered my account name and password and instead of being directed to my email, was sent malware as further explained in my email to mailtransition. ************** has been reported as distributing malware as part of it’s login and university security has been advised of the situation and will take such measures as they see fit, because I have no administrative rights on the machines used her. I am very limited in what I am can determine

Desired Settlement: Since I don’t want to subject another computer to this attack Lycos should set my account to forward all mail to *************** (this is a standard email option in the Lycos system) and prepare a zip file of my mail usable by common email readers like they did in May 2004 when ********* was discontinued. Because I don’t know the file size, it should be placed on a file sharing site and a link sent to *******.***. I marked delivery because the service offered is not being delivered. It was delivered before the date problem occurred as shown above

Business Response: There was an instance of malware being distributed in an ad on our network which some Lycos Mail members may have seen. Lycos removed the ad immediately upon it being reported to us by a third party. Lycos proactively vets companies and ad creatives for problems such as this, but in this case one slipped through. We are currently engaging with several companies to prevent this from happening in the future. Lycos takes all such instances very seriously. 

Your account should be fine now ... but we did enable forwarding to your alternate email address as requested. We can not do the mail back up in the manner you suggest, but our technician enabled IMAP/POP access for the account, so you use a third-party client to download and backup your mail.

However, I strongly suggest you do log in to your account and retrieve your old mail that way. I have tested your account and it is OK. You can decide if you want to keep the account going forward ... the choice is yours.

Sorry about the inconvenience ... hope this helps. As always, contact our customer service department if you need further assistance.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have
determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues
and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.
[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your
rejection comments here.] Business did enable a means of recovering my
email but did not provide any means of testing it. As explained more
fully in the attachment, unfortunate defaults in the email retrieval
program along with lack of documentation for it resulted in the inbox
mail being lost from the lycos server before the defaults could be
found and changed. They should have a backup of this data and I
requested that it be restored. Their response to the request is "Dear
***** *****, Solution has been rejected and requires a revision." When
I ask what revision could result in data recovery, I am again told "
Solution has been rejected and requires a revision" without further
elaboration. It is Lycos that caused the problem and it should be
within their ability to recover from it. Computer problems are not
uncommon and now days lack of documentation is not uncommon. A
reputable computer oriented business will have backups in place to
recover from these problems. In light of events subsequent to the
original complaint, my actionable settlement is for the lost inbox data
to be restored and for POP access to continue 5 days beyond
notification to me by email at *************** that it has been
restored.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response: We checked into your account ... there were no messages as you say. While I can't say positively why, I did speak to an engineer and had your inbox restored. I verified that you now have over 2000 messages in your inbox dating back to 2004, as as recent as November 14th of this year. I hope that takes care of all your issues.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

There have been numerous problems with Lycos over the years. While these problems can not be undone, I am satisfied that Lycos has permitted me to take my accumulated mail off their system. This is a great relief and it is clear that it could not have been done without the help of the BBB. While I will not do business with Lycos in the future, I consider complaint #******* closed.

Regards,

***** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

11/14/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have a personally hosted website at http*********************** and the links listed below pop up when my subscribers visit my website. At one point I received calls that my website was unavailable and replaced with ads from Gamesville. This has cost and lost me business and misled potential subscribers when they visit my site. I did not arrange this, have no idea where they are coming from or why they are attached to my site. I imagine it is possible that Lycos and Gamesville are also innocent victims of a hacker, but since it is their name being uses, they should help me figure out how to stop the links. Some of the links that pop up are: *************************************************************************************************************************************************** ********************************************************************************************************************************** *********************************************************************************************************************************************************** ******************************** ******************************************************************************** I have searched my mail for "Lycos" and "Gamesville" and can find no correspondence with either. Even if I did, how would that relate to my website? I find no record of having ever advertised or subscribed to either Gamesville or Lycos. And, even if I did, I would not spam my own website! I have submitted support tickets to Lycos about this and can find no response as of yet. Meanwhile, I am losing subscribers, sales, and time trying to disconnect these ads. Pop up blockers do not catch them. Nothing I have found stops them. That is why I say this type of advertising is unethical and possibly illegal. They appear for ANYONE who visits my site. ****** ****** *****************************

Desired Settlement: I want all advertising, particularly the links given above, disassociated with my website

Business Response: Gamesville and Lycos buy advertising widely across the internet. It is likely your site is showing our ads. There's no instance of fraud. The site shows the ads, we pay the advertiser for the impressions, and the site owner gets paid. This is the nature of all internet advertising. It is surprising to hear that our ads have caused you problems. As a courtesy, we have blocked your site from receiving our ads in the future. (Please understand you will likely still see ads from other companies). We apologize for the inconvenience and hope that helps.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a long time user of Lycos mail since middle or high school (I cannot recollect the exact date/yr). Lycos had at one point forced its users to change their usernames before, but I think I was able to retain my original data from the account before. I'm not sure what year that was and if that's the starting point or not of what used to be my current email account. For all due accounts, I'll say it was when I had my username with Lycos changed when I was in my senior year of high school (that I think I do remember). Anyhow, I was able to login and off earlier today (7-16-11) until this afternoon when I realized I could no longer login without setting up a new paid account (at about 5:30pm, Pacific Time). Not only was Lycos trying to have me set up a paid account, they were asking that I set up a whole new account...not even giving the option to renew the previous account that was in use with all those important contacts and emails that are a part of the now inaccessible account. Just as another customer has pointed out in the reviews section on the BBB, I too was not notified of this change to have ample time to remove/retrieve saved emails and very important info from schools, business, and other personal info and contacts. Nor did I have time to also notify schools, business and personal contacts of the changes, to no longer email me at the Lycos address they have on file. So, any new and important emails that have been sent to my Lycos address are unobtainable now. I had become dependent on the accessibility to my account for years as a fundamental form of communication. I tried clicking the help button at the bottom of the Lycos Mail home page but it only gave me an error page that stated, "Invalid Querystring!" ************************************************************** The help button was of no help at all. I could not even send them an email, it was the same page: ************************************************************** I am very upset and greatly dissatisfied with their business conduct! It's simply unethical business practices for Lycos to allow. How dare they make the boot on us who've used the free Lycos mail without providing ample notice of the changes that would have significant impact on its users?!

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the opportunity to access my previously free Lycos accounts for at least 3-5 more days to make the necessary steps for transitioning to another free email service by means of retrieving/saving important data only accessible on Lycos and to provide appropriate notice to my contacts of the changes, too.

Business Response: This past weekend Lycos experienced an outage to its Mail product registration system ... an alert was posted as soon as we were aware of the situation. An unfortunate side effect was that some free users were asked to sign up for a paid account, which was not necessary. We apologize for the confusion. The outage was fixed and all customers should have access to their emails as before.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #******** Note, however, for all the days I checked with Lycos Mail this past weekend, there was no notice of the outage that was claimed to have been posted. I thank Lycos anyways for the correction to the problematic matters discussed previously.

Regards,

******* *******

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2011 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased LYCOS's "The Plan" from ***************** which was suppose to register my domain name within 72 hours of purchase. This purchase occured on Thursday May 19th, 2011 and it is not Monday May 23rd, 2011. I have had no access to my domain and when I check to see if my domain has been registered it says the domain is still available.

Business Response: We investigated this case. It appears that the purchase did not go through and the customer was not charged. The customer should attempt the purchase again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for a yearly billing plan at $11.40 a year and I was charged $11.98, I assumed the difference was in tax. This company has been billing me this amount monthly for the past two months. I called customer service to settle my dispute and was told I ordered a yearly plan of $109.45 at $9.95 per month. I asked for a copy of my receipt because I was absolutely sure I had not made such a great purchase on something I wasn't even sure I could use. I had not received an email statement or confirmation of my purchase. The agent did confirm my email address to be sure the correct one was on file, and I have still yet to receive any information from them. I cancelled this month on the first day of the billing cycle after I had realized the charges and they would not even refund me this month.

Desired Settlement: I would like the money I was overcharged refunded in the past two months, for a total of $23.90. Or I would like the receipt stating I did sign up for the yearly plan and it in fact was my fault, including the charges and tax made to my bank.

Business Response: We confirmed that the customer had a monthly plan ($9.95/mo plus $2 domain privacy). The account was closed and the customer was issued a refund $23.90 (2 x $11.95).

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1