Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

InsureMyTrip.Com

Additional Locations

Phone: (401) 773-9300 Fax: (401) 921-4528 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Commerce Dr, Warwick, RI 02886 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.insuremytrip.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

InsureMyTrip.Com provides travel insurance.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that InsureMyTrip.Com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for InsureMyTrip.Com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on InsureMyTrip.Com
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 18, 2003 Business started: 06/01/2000 in RI Business started locally: 06/01/2000 Business incorporated 02/04/2005 in RI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation
1511 Pontiac Ave, Cranston RI 02920-4232
http://www.dbr.state.ri.us
Phone Number: (401) 462-9500
Fax Number: (401) 462-9532
The number is 1054694.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Grace, President Mr. Peter Roca, Director of Customer Operations Cheryl Golden, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Grace, President
Principal: Mr. Peter Roca, Director of Customer Operations
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

INSURANCE INSURANCE-WEATHER INSURANCE-TRAVEL INSURANCE-COMMERCIAL INSURANCE-BUSINESS INSURANCE-BROKERS INSURANCE-ADVISORS INSURANCE COMPANIES ACTUARIES Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Method(s) of Payment
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Service Area
Worldwide
Alternate Business Names
IMT Services Corporation/Insure My Trip.com InsureMyGroup.com TripStuff.com
Industry Tips
Finding an Insurance Company - 5 Tips - Video Health Insurance Homeowners Insurance Insurance Companies Life Insurance Tips for Title Insurance Tips for Title Insurance - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part II - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part III - 5 Tips - Video Travel Agencies

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

InsureMyTrip.Com has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Submitted a claim per provisions outlined in policy. Claim received by ******** ****** Insurance, Claims Department on 9/30/15. The claim letter sent by certified mail was signed for by ***** *****. There has been no response to date regarding the claim.

Desired Settlement: Looking for prompt payment of $81.62.

Business Response: As the broker for this policy, we contacted the insurance company who was responsible for processing Mr. ******'s claim.  We explained to the claims department at ******** *********** *******, the issue at hand, and I'm glad to report they are sending Mr. ****** a letter and a check for his claim today.  While this matter was not something within InsureMyTrip's control as we have no involvement in the claims process, we gladly advocated for our customer, Mr. ******, and we are happy to report this has been resolved.  We appreciate Mr. ******'s business.   Sincerely,**** *******Manager, Customer Care

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ******

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July 2014, my husband and I booked another Cruise with ******** ****** ***** (***** ******* *********) for November 2015. A few weeks later, I again called "Insure My Trip". I had insured with them before. Apparently, I didn't call in sufficient time to get THE best deal but; nonetheless, I insured the trip scheduled to depart 11/7 -11/21/15. The price was over $800 for both of us. On 8/3/15, I received a call from ******** ****** ***** to let me know the Cruise we scheduled, paid a deposit, was cancelled and they would be refunding our deposit. Then I called "Insure My Trip" to let them know we had insured a trip that wasn't happening. Although they were very nice and cordial, I was informed that they would consider placing our money on another trip in the next six months or less but otherwise no refund. Rescheduling in six months is not possible because now I need a knee replaced.

Desired Settlement: Although I can understand "admin fees", I think we are either owed some of the $800+ back or an open end ticket to have this money applied to a future trip - not in a specific number of months. Yes, such would have to be in writing.

Business Response: We appreciate you informing us of the difficulties you are experiencing with your travel insurance, and that you had to cancel your trip.  When we contacted ******* ****** **********, the insurance company insuring your trip, they were unable to provide you a refund for the policy cost as they had been insuring your trip for approximately eight months from your date of purchase of the policy. In other words, during those eight months, ******* assumed the risk that you could cancel your trip and they would then pay your claim reimbursing you your trip cost.  Due to the lengthy amount of time your policy was in effect, they were unable to grant you a refund of premium.  As your agent, we then attempted to see if ******* would allow you to use this policy towards another trip as a gesture of good faith as we value your business and understand the difficult situation you are in.  While ******* was willing to do so assuming you recevied no penalties and will not file any claims towards the original trip, they only allow for a limited duration of time to book another trip and utilize this policy.  The good news is, the maximum time allowed is 770 days from your original date of purchase (7/18/2014) so you have much more time remaining to utilize this plan than previously mentioned. I apologize for the misinformation you received about the time frame remaining, and have personally met with the representative who informed you that you only had six months remaining.  I have notated your policy confirming the 770 day time frame, and look forward to speaking with you when you are ready to book a new trip.  ******* ******* Customer Care Manager

12/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi there, I purchased multiple travel insurance policies from Insuremytrip.com. It was one of the requirements to obtain a visa for multiple trips to Italy which I will be taking from June 2013 till June 2014. One of my trips has recently been cancelled and I contacted Insuremytrip.com to cancel the travel insurance policy for that specific trip. I called 3days prior to the start date of the policy and I don't understand why the policy can't be cancelled. This seems like questionable business practice to me… Isn't one always able to cancel a insurance policy prior to the start of the term? I'd appreciate if you could investigate this. Many thanks ***** *********

Desired Settlement: Refund of policy fee.

Business Response: I reviewed the details of *** *********** transaction with InsureMyTrip and I will proceed with issuing a refund for the policy he purchased.  I apologize for the difficulty you experienced and hope you will continue to be a loyal customer.

6/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company claimed that I had to buy coverage from the date that I left home until the date that I returned. The policy that they sent me did not state such, and I think that this is not correct. The policy should state the terms of coverage. Stating some lame excuse about needing to click on a link on their web page is in my opinion insufficient.

Business Response: This was an example of miscommunication on our part.  We have spoken with Mr. **** today and my understanding is that we have resolved this matter to his satisfaction.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on InsureMyTrip.Com
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart