BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Eastern Insurance Group, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Eastern Insurance Group, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 333-7234 233 W Central St, Natick, MA 01760 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.easterninsurance.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Eastern Insurance Group, LLC offers personal insurance products including auto, home, umbrella and life insurances. Commercial insurance products include property, auto, surety, directors & officers, marine, workers comp, general liability, umbrella and excess, errors & omissions and employment practices liability. Areas of expertise include construction, lumber & building materials, healthcare, transportation, manufacturing, retail, technology, small business and employee benefits.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Eastern Insurance Group, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Eastern Insurance Group, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eastern Insurance Group, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 14, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1993 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1993 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 1783513.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Marguerite L Somerville, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Marguerite L Somerville, Senior Vice President
Number of Employees

337

Business Category

INSURANCE INSURANCE-PROPERTY & CASUALTY INSURANCE-MARINE INSURANCE-HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE-BUSINESS INSURANCE-AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE-ACCIDENT & HEALTH Insurance Agencies and Brokerages (NAICS: 524210)

Alternate Business Names
Eastern Insurance Group LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car Finding an Insurance Company - 5 Tips - Video Health Insurance Homeowners Insurance Insurance Companies Life Insurance Read Before You Sign Tips for Title Insurance Tips for Title Insurance - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part II - 5 Tips - Video Tips for Title Insurance Part III - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • 130 Rumford Ave Ste 209

    Auburndale, MA 02466

  • 179 Great Rd

    Acton, MA 01720

  • 21 Maple St

    Danvers, MA 01923

  • 233 W Central St

    Natick, MA 01760

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    285 Central St

    Leominster, MA 01453

  • 375 Iyannough Rd

    Hyannis, MA 02601

  • 380 Chief Justice Cushing Hwy

    Cohasset, MA 02025

  • 382 Quincy Ave

    Quincy, MA 02169

  • 4 Railroad Ave

    Gloucester, MA 01930

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    54 Main St

    Sturbridge, MA 01566

  • 60 Main St

    Andover, MA 01810

  • 607 North Ave

    Wakefield, MA 01880

  • 70 Carver Rd

    West Yarmouth, MA 02673

  • 78 South St

    Wrentham, MA 02093

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to ***** ******* for auto insurance. i explained to him I was being charged 170/month and couldnt afford the payments with my daily expenses. He said he can save me money. He did some calculating and told me he can save me amost 200 a year. i told him I do not care about the overall payment as silly as it sounds. How much will it cost me monthly. he then says well I can have you pay 160/mo. I told him let m thnk about it, he said well you will also not have to worry about 2months payments so that is a plus. I tld him i will get back to him. Finally desperate for lower monthly payments i emailed and told him yes get me the best offer for over 12mos period. he said he will handle all paper work i will not have to worry about anything. when i spoke to ***** again he said my fist payment will be a little higher since i have no down payment i asked how high because you know I cannot afford anything high **** he told me 212 but then reassures me its only for fisrt month then all payments would be 160 going forwar. After that email I only heard from him when i reached out o tell him i have not recieved anything yet form the company. he says it should be in the mail. I never recieved a policy letter, he never sent any documents puttin the verbal agreement in writing of the 160/mo. I did recieve a bill thoud jus last week of $453! I was so shocked i call right away and left msgs he was not returning then sent wmails and he replied. very vauge, nonchantlant. i told him ***** why would i leave my insurance which charge me less a month than this is is absurd. whats with the 453 he kept saying they are trying to catch me up. he still have yet to break it down. i have yet to recieve a policy and know what i a paying. He asked as if I dont trust him and then says the money doesnt even come to him. i never sai di dint trust it, i just need documents. he says i didnt pay a bill document or not. i explained i didnt even know where to send payments to how to set it up and why becasue i had no documentation and proof of wha t i was paying. why would i dish money out with out receipt or documents and records???

Desired Settlement: i wish for this to be looked into. People see that I am in the military and think I am flowing with cash. i am only a reservist, I work hard like a regular civillian. I am honest and i have been paying my insurance for over six years why would i stop now. He breached out verbal agreement. he lmis informed me and was very vague just to get me to sign over to his company. I did not recieve a ploicy or any documens/records from him I feel I shuold not have to pay for this horrible service which i feel i never had their insurance. Some type of adjustment need to be done. he acted as a child yelled back back at me his tone was insulting. and he went back and forth in emails like a child. very unprofessional. Help please

Business Response: On November 28, 2012, Insured contacted Eastern Insurance Group (EIG) for an automobile quote for a 2002 ****** ******. Insured indicated she was paying $2051 annually with another carrier; she was interested in seeing what savings we could offer her. Our sales person indicated he could save her approximately $139 per year; our quote through Safety Insurance was for $1912 with the same coverages as her previous policy. On 12/3/12 our sales person advised insured that since her policy was written with no down payment, her first invoice would be approximately $212. Insured did ask if she could pay over 12 months, insured was informed she could pay over 10 months by carrier bill or that she could take advantage of Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT), and have 12 months to pay. Safety Insurance does not offer a 12 month EFT payment schedule but does offer a 10 month EFT payment schedule.  On 12/24/12, Insured advised she wanted to pay by EFT; EIG sales person emailed her the EFT form for pertinent information and signature on the same date. The form has not been returned to EIG. On 12/12/12, initial invoice from Safety Insurance was issued to insured in the amount of $212. This invoice was not paid; insured indicated she received neither the invoice nor the policy. The policy was issued on 12/12/12 and EIG emailed her a copy as well on 12/24/12.  On 1/14/13, Safety issued a subsequent invoice (intent to cancel) looking for the first and second installments in the amount of $453. Insured called EIG to inquire about amount due and the whereabouts of the policy. Insured was advised that the intent to cancel notice was looking for the first and second installments so that she could catch up on her billing. EIG emailed the policy to her again 1/18/13. On 1/18/13, insured advised she would start making payments although to date, no payments have been received by Safety.  Insured wanted to reduce annual premium and asked for collision, comprehensive and rental coverage to be deleted. A follow up email was sent to EIG from the insured on 1/25/13 asking if changes had been made. On 1/25/13, a letter confirming the requested deletion of coverage back to the policy inception date was sent to insured for her signature. It is our standard practice to confirm in writing either increases or decreases in coverage. Insured  has not returned the signed letter to EIG and, as a result, the changes have not been made. Although Insured insists she has not received her policy, it was emailed to the email address that she provided to EIG on three separate dates.  Safety Insurance has issued a notice of intent to cancel for non-payment that is effective on 2/5/13 in the amount of $453. Insured explained that she is already in the process of replacing coverage with another carrier and was adamant that this not affect her credit or insurance record.  Insured was advised that her new carrier would be required to send us a Bureau 2A form in order to cancel the policy prior to the 2/5/13 date without affecting her insurance record.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I ask if recordings can be pulled of my conversations with ***** ******* the hole time he kept saying he will save me close to $100 for the year. There was never any "approximate" numbers with this guy. I have not recieved any email of my policy from this guy email is the fast means of connection we have now I am far from simple minded I know how to open an email. The email  he sent me only had the EFT form I informed ***** about this. When I soke to the VP of cust service she told me letters were mailed on 12/14/12 which i never recieved. Now they are climing they sent it on 12/12/12/ and 12./14/12 the only letter the sent to me is that bill of 453 and after I told them I will contact BBB becuase this is not how you do business. I have NEVER recieved a policy from them about full coverage. They sent me a letter way after the complauint has been filed about changing my full coverage to liability. At that point I already told them several times I do not wish to do business with them. I do not owe then 453 because no documents of my policy informing me what I was oaying was mailed to my address on file. This is ridiculous I refuse to me taken advantage by this horrible company and will take this all the way. I have no reason to lie and go through this stressful proceedure. I do not believe they covered me under the terms we verbally agreed on, I think he was trying to pull a fast one on me thats why he spoke very fast and never mailed the policy. i switched to USAA and guess what they went over in detail my policy, sent me a letter in 5 business day along with my POLICY. This is America, nobody just sends money to someone without seeing something in writting. This is as if I gave a car sales man money for a car and he never gave me the title or car history or any documents, just a key. Whats the odds of that happening. I demand justice please and thanks.

Business Response: Unfortunately, there are no recordings of these conversations. It appears that you are able to receive mail at the mailing address you provided on the automobile insurance application.  The insurance company with whom your coveragewas placed is Safety Insurance Company. Safety has not received any undeliverable mail that was sent to the address indicated on your application. The automobile insurance application you signed created a contract that obligates Safety Insurance Company to provide the insurance coverage that you requested on the application in the event of a loss in exchange for premium due. The coverage you selected was in place from 12/4/12 through 1/31/13. The premium that is due to Safety Insurance is $50.87. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The Premium that is due to is $50? This is the total you are saying I owe our Compnay? I am confused. And what document did I sign? I did not sign anything because I was waiting for documents that never came. I'm telling you I never recieved it, deliverable mail or not, I kept asking him for a copy of my policy. Again only thing I recieved was the EFT form. This is getting rediculous and frustrating. And how cold you not have documentation of these things. I am baffled and totally disgusted with the level of professionalism and customer service. I reject your statement and now I am even more confused on the total amount you are saying I owe. I am no longer with your company

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1