BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Bedford Plaza Hotel?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bedford Plaza Hotel

Phone: (781) 275-6700 Fax: (781) 275-3011 View Additional Phone Numbers 340 Great Road, Bedford, MA 01730 http://www.bedfordplazahotel.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Bedford Plaza Hotel is a 99 room hotel with 3 conference rooms, exercise room, pool and underground garage.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bedford Plaza Hotel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bedford Plaza Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bedford Plaza Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 19, 2011 Business started: 10/01/2003 in MA Business incorporated: 10/24/2003 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shailesh Patel, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shailesh Patel, President
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

HOTELS Hotels (except Casino Hotels) and Motels (NAICS: 721110)

Hours of Operation
24/7
Method(s) of Payment
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Cash
Service Area
Bedford Plaza Hotel provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS.
Alternate Business Names
Jalaram Kutir Inc.
Industry Tips
Hotels Travel Agencies

Additional Locations

  • 340 Great Road

    Bedford, MA 01730 (781) 275-6700 (800) 607-9876

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 607-9876(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled for an out patient operation at Lahey Clinic in ********** ****. on 6/11 which I left ******* ***** on 6/10 in the evening, I ended up booking a room at this Hotel about midnight just before or after 6/10, as I approached ********** **** I made another call to this Hotel around 2am in the morning to get directions as I couldn't figure out where near ********** it was....I kept getting a recorded message that nobody was at the desk and to call back in the morning, I made repeated attempts to contact them as I kept listening to this recording, I then drove across another hotel and found a room, I then call back to the hotel (******* Plaza) and left a message I was to cancel as I could not talk to anyone about directions to find this hotel.....I then find out they charged my credit card $121.75, as I called them, they told me again and again the policy was if I didn't cancel within 24 hours I would be charged, when I told them I called and called that night for directions and then to cancel by message left, they repeatedly told me I did not call and somebody was alive at the desk, when I told them you are wrong and I called many times they insisted I was the person wrong and nobody at the desk does not happen....As my cell phone records show calls after calls, they still refuse to give me a refund as I did not call 24 hours before the stay to cancel..... I can say the 24 hours to cancel before is a no brainer and completely understandable, how could I do this if nobody could help me at the hotel to find the hotel when I needed directions at 2am in the morning or to even cancel as I was sitting in the street not knowing where to go.....All I receive was a message to tell me (I’m not getting any help) "nobody was at the desk and to call back in the morning”..... I have sent emails to the manager (two) with no response, I made a few calls to the front desk to only tell me the policy and also tell me I didn't call.... I am asking for my money to be refunded due to not being able to call and talk to a live person and to be told via recording to call back in the morning.....This policy of the hotel COULD not be complied with due to their lack of personal alive at the front desk at 2ish A.M. in the morning and the near shut down of the phone with a default recording to go away until morning if you want to talk via phone.....

Desired Settlement: Stop lying I did not call, stop lying nobody at the phone does not happen, except your policy to cancel 24 hours prior is impossible if your phone system tells customers to call back in the morning as nobody is around at the front desk, and refund my $121.75 to my credit card....And don't respond that this recording does not exists on your phone system during these wee hours in the early morning that I listened to....

Business Response: Hello, Mr. **** ***** called hotel and made reservation on 06/10/2013 at 9:38pm. We have front desk staff who works overnight at front desk and security guard at the night. They both were here at the front desk on duty 06/10/2013 night.  Nobody called to cancel the reservation nor asking for direction. We don't have any recorded tapes that says to call back in the morning because we have 24hr front desk staff available at the hotel.  However, There is another motel, namely "******* Motel" down the street from us; they sometimes closed their shift because they only have 30 rooms.  we were sold out that day and were holding the room for Mr. *****.  That is why he was charged.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

They are stating I flat out did not cancel this hotel booking, if I can simply call in the evening to book this room via cell phone, and for obvious reasons I'm irritated I paid for a room I did not stay in or was not able to cancel I surely would have made the simple call back via cell phone to cancel just as I did to book....I'm here with a complant of myself being charged for something I tried to cancel after needing directions as I could not find the hotel in the area and did not use as to why I would of made the call just as I did to book and was directed to a default message stating "nobody was at the front desk call back in the morning" as I had made multible attemps to call in....I am requesting my cell phone records to show I did call and to state I called the wrong hotel is just rediculas as anybody using a cell phone that needed to call back would look up last time called (which was good as I did book) and redialed that same known good phone number to the hotel....I am asking for my money be refunded as NOBODY would or could answer the phone at the very very late or early hours I called back to get direction to find this hotel and then to cancel as I was lost and did not get any help from the front desk.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

4/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This hotel had a problem with my daughter staying at their hotel. My daughter was paying cash for the room but the hotel wanted a credit card on file nonetheless. The general manager, ********, assured me nothing would be charged. I signed nothing giving them permission to charge my card even though they e-mailed a form to me. I have now found on my statement that my credit card was indeed charged as there is a dispute with my daughter. This has nothing to do with me and they misapproriately charged my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I want my credit card credited in the amount of $88.24.

Business Response: On Monday, 02/27/2012, **** ****** arrived for Check In for a reservation she had in the system.  When she arrived she was informed she asked if she could pay in cash because she only had a debit card had she knew that she did not have the funds in her account to cover the room charge.  I told  her that she would be able to paying cash but that we would still need to have a card on file for her incidentals.  She said, "okay well if my mother gives you her card then I could check in?"  I told her that as along as it was a valid card there would not be a problem but we would need that information before I could check her in.  She then called her mother, ******* ******, and put me on the phone with her.  she asked me if there were going to be any charges to her card, since Miss ****** was supposed to be  paying cash.  I explained to Mrs. ****** that as long as her daughter made the payment in cash there would not be any charges and that the reason we needed the card information was in the event of incidentals or if Miss ****** was unable to pay for the room in cash.  Mrs. ****** said, "there had better not be any incidentals,  she knows that."  I stated to Mrs. ****** specifically, "well she said she will be paying in cash when she checks out so there should not be any charges to your card.  YOu may see a hold for ten dollars because the system checks to be sure there is available credit until the bill iis checked out, but that is usually lifted in 3-7 business day.  But we do need to know that if there is any problem and she should need to put  the charges on the card it would be alright.  SO is that okay, or should we have her try to find another card.?" Mrs. ****** said, "No its fine.  You can use my card," and she porceeded to give me her credit card information over the phone.  I checked Miss ****** in to her room.  After about five minutes, she was visited by a man who was not a guest at the hotel  the two stayed in the room for about 20 minutes.  the man left about five minutes after that Miss ****** came down and complained about the cleanliness of the room and requested to check out.  After I asked what was out of order in the room she listed the bed not being made, a stale car urine smell, all of the towels being went on the floor, a soda cup having been left in the room along with a used ******* i offered to switch her room but she said she was "so grossed out by the status of the room"  that she couldn't stay there or anywhere else in our hotel and she just wanted to go.  Offered to pay for the room because she did take a shower and used one of the towels to dry herself, but she believed she shouldn't have to because of the condition it was in when she walked in.  She told me I could go up and take  a look if I wanted to.  When I told her that I would be going up to the room and we would settle the account after I had a chance to review the room she then said that she was in a hurry and needed to leave right away.  i told her that she could keep the cash and I would review the room and if it was in the condition she said that there would be no charge, otherwise woe would do an electronic payment or she could just pay now, but that I was going to be taking a look at the room.  She said, "well whatever, okay," and left. I went up to the room, which had been cleaned and I myself had personally inspected and seen was not in that condition previous to her arrival.  the bed was undressed, there was now a red coca-cola cup on the dresser table with water in it; the towels in the bathroom which she had reported were all wet on the floor where actually all dry and hanging neatly on the rack with exception to one which had been left on the floor in the tub.  There was no stale cat urine smell in the room.  For this reason I charged the credit card on file.  When she called the hotel, after the charge appeared on her mother's card, I attempted to explain to her that i did try to contact her after she left to be sure she wanted the charges sent to her mother's card, but receive no answer and could not leave a message because it did not give me the option.  She told me that she wanted a full refund and should not have been charged anything for the room because she was only there for thirty minutes.  I explained that the reason she was charged was because she had in fact used the room.  I then asked her why she did not come down immediately once she noticed there was a problem with the room.  She had no response for this question only said that neither she nor her mother were going to pay so we "had better return the charges."  I tried to explain that we could transfer the charges to a different  card but we would not simply nullify the transaction entirely because she lied about the condition of the room, used the room and even went so far as to entertain a visitor in the room.  She refused to listen to me or make other payment arrangements, began to swear and call me names and hung up.  Mrs. ****** then called the same afternoon and requested that we refund the amount.  I explained  that we could transfer the payment to another card or someone could come in and pay cash but that some sort of payment arrangement had to be made because she herself gave us her information  knowing that the card could be charged if a cash payment was not made for the room at check our.  She also began to swear and told me she was not going to pay this an d would contact the Better Business Bureau and er Credit Card Company.  I advised her to do so.  And she hung up.  the fact that they are simply refusing to pay for the use of the room is theft of services, however, that is a matter for a separate authority.  For the sake of making this process faster for everyone, my General Manager has already refunded the money to ******* ******** credit card and we have already taken care of making sure that neither she nor **** ****** will be able to make future reservations with us again.

sincerely

******** ******
Bedford Plaza Hotel


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/6/2011 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I checked in Sunday with my wife and two children a little after 2am. As soon as I entered the room I went to the bathroom and I found feces under the toilet seat. I immediately told my wife and kids that we were leaving and to not make themselves comfortable. I told them that I was going to see the attendant. I informed *****, the attendant that I wanted a refund because of the bathroom condition. He wanted to check the room for himself and agreed that is was unacceptable. He then said that he wouldn't charge us. We asked,"how would we know for sure that we are not going to be charged?" He said, "Just check your bank statement." I proceeded to the car. I then thought about what he said so I headed back to the hotel to ask for a receipt and a business card. ***** said, "We only give receipts at checkout." I said, "I'm leaving now. I'm not checking out at 11am. I wasn't in the room not even for 5 minutes." I asked to speak with the manager and he said that he wasn't "on site". But that he had already spoke with the Manager, *** and informed him of everything. ***** said,"Don't worry the Manager will not charge you." Then I asked when will the Manager be in and he said,"I'm not sure. He might be in tomorrow." I asked,"Is there a way to talk to the Manager now?" And he said, pointing at the business card,"Call him tomorrow at 11am." I was confused because he had just informed me that he wasn't sure when the manager was going to be in. This whole time while I was trying to resolve this situation, he had no eye contact with me. He had a clipboard in his hand looking at what it seemed to be a list...it seemed that he was trying to keep busy. I checked my bank statement today and I was charge the full amount of $61.44. As soon as saw that, I called the hotel and spoke to the Manager, *** and he said that *****, the attendant, never informed him of anything and that I couldn't be trusted and hung up on me. My family and I slept that night in our car at the nearest service plaza.

Desired Settlement: $61.44 (amount that I was charged for the room)

Business Response: We have already given a refund to them. ***** mistakenly charged there credit card and he does not have the authority to give refunds. He needed to talk with me and make me aware. I was busy and the time and I did forget to process the refund. When the guest called ***, he (***) was not aware of this, and he said he can not process the refund because he was not aware of the situation. The Guest had used his Debit card and it can take 5 to 7 days for the refund.

Consumer Response: I never got a refund. I have checked my bank statements, spoke with my bank's customer service representative, and I also I have also went personally to my bank and spoke with an employee and they have confirmed that there has been no refund on behalf of the hotel .

Better Business Bureau:







I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

Regards,

******* * ** ********

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.