BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Roncap Company, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Roncap Company, Inc.

Phone: (508) 222-4830 Fax: (508) 695-3015 344 John Dietsch Boulevard Unit 19, North Attleboro, MA 02763 http://roncapco.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Roncap Company, Inc. is a remodeling contractor, specializing in vinyl siding, windows, roofing, decking, doors and storm doors.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roncap Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roncap Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roncap Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1971 in MA Business incorporated: 04/30/2003 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The license number is CS-079924.

Rhode Island Contractors Registration and Licensing Board
1 Capitol Hill, Providence RI 02908
http://www.crb.ri.us
Phone Number: (401)-222-1268 or TDD: (401)-222-6334
Fax Number: 401-222-1940
ricrb@doa.ri.gov
The license number is 991.

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The license number is 143135.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. David Downey, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Downey, President
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS REMODELING SERVICES STORM WINDOWS & DOORS DOORS DECK BUILDERS ROOFING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES WINDOWS SIDING CONTRACTORS VINYL SIDING All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Roncap Company, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Energy Star, Harvey

Service Area
Roncap Company, Inc. provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.Roncap Company, Inc. provides their services in ABINGTON, ACCORD, ACTON, ALLSTON, ANDOVER, ARLINGTON, AUBURNDALE, AVON, BEDFORD, BELMONT, BILLERICA, BOSTON, BOXBORO, BOXBOROUGH, BOXFORD, BRADFORD, BRAINTREE, BRANT ROCK, BRIGHTON, BROCKTON, BROOKLINE, BRYANTVILLE, BURLINGTON, BYFIELD, CAMBRIDGE, CANTON, CARLISLE, CHARLESTOWN, CHELMSFORD, CHELSEA, DEDHAM, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, E ARLINGTON, E CAMBRIDGE, E WATERTOWN, EAST ARLINGTON, EAST BOSTON, EAST CAMBRIDGE, EAST WATERTOWN, EVERETT, FOXBORO, FOXBOROUGH, FRAMINGHAM, FRANKLIN, GEORGETOWN, GROVE HALL, HAMILTON, HANSCOM AFB, HARVARD SQ, HARVARD SQUARE, HAVERHILL, HINGHAM, HOLLISTON, HOPKINTON, HUDSON, HYDE PARK, JAMAICA PLAIN, KATES CORNER, LAKEVILLE, LAWRENCE, LOWELL, LYNNFIELD, MALDEN, MARLBOROUGH, MATTAPAN, MEDFIELD, MEDFORD, MEDWAY, MELROSE, MIDDLEBORO, MIDDLEBOROUGH, MIDDLETON, MISSION HILL, N CAMBRIDGE, NATICK, NEEDHAM, NEEDHAM HEIGHTS, NEEDHAM HGTS, NEWBURY, NEWBURYPORT, NEWTON, NEWTON CENTER, NEWTON CENTRE, NEWTON HIGHLANDS, NEWTON HLDS, NEWTON L F, NEWTON LOWER FALLS, NEWTON U F, NEWTON UPPER FALLS, NEWTONVILLE, NONANTUM, NORTH CAMBRIDGE, NORTH QUINCY, NORTH WALTHAM, QUINCY, READING, READVILLE, ROSLINDALE, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, S CHELMSFORD, SOMERVILLE, SOUTH BOSTON, SOUTH WALTHAM, SQUANTUM, STONEHAM, SUDBURY, TEWKSBURY, TOPSFIELD, TUFTS UNIV, TUFTS UNIVERSITY, UPHAMS CORNER, VILLAGE OF NAGOG WOODS, VLG NAGOG WDS, W SOMERVILLE, WALTHAM, WARD HILL, WATERTOWN, WAVERLEY, WAYLAND, WENHAM, WEST NEWTON, WEST ROXBURY, WEST SOMERVILLE, WINCHESTER, WINTER HILL, WOBURN & WOLLASTON, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Roncap Co.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Handyman Services Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Additional Locations

  • 344 John Dietsch Boulevard Unit 19

    North Attleboro, MA 02763 (508) 222-4830

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I called to report a problem with the roof that had been installed 2 years ago. I was told that the job was too small for them to do, and that I should find someone else to do it.Eventhough they had installed the roof. I was also told that because there was a ridge vent present, that shingles did tend to lift off. I was never informed that there may be a warantee on the shingles that were placed. I did call two other roofing contractors that informed me about the shingle warantee. I was also told that because I had called other contractors, that I must not believe what I had been told. When I had asked for the name and number of a local sales rep for the shingle maker I was told that the information was not at hand, and I would be called back. The call was not returned

Desired Settlement: To inform consumers of possible warantees. To be more respectful of customers.

Business Response: In response to the claim as referenced above I would like to clarify a few facts that were part of the conversation, but not present in the customers statement.  First, the warranty on our labor is for one year.  Secondly, the warranty on the material is in accordance with the roofing manufacturer.  Both of these are thoroughly reviewed during the signing of the contract.

This customer called my office on 2 occasions, last week.  The roof was for the customers second home on Cape Cod.  I learned during the first call that the customer had recently visited the property and noticed that a few roof shingles were missing from the roof ridge vent. We had 2 storms, tropical storm Irene and the October Nor'easter snow storm that could have been responsible for wind damage.  She asked me what should be done. I advised her that she should have a repair done to avoid water damage.  She asked if I could make the necessary repairs.  I explained that, yes, I could make the repairs, but it would likely be more expensive for her, as I would need to include travel time to the Cape from North Attleboro.  The job would require a bundle of shingles and about an hour's work.  The travel time would likely be more than both the labor and materials for the repair.  I thought I was being helpful.  The customer advised she would get back to me.

The second call came the very next day.  The customer explained that she had been in touch with a few local contractors as I had suggested.  She went on to say that both contractors said that wind damage is covered under the manufacturer warranty for the roof shingles and that she should not be charged for the repair.  After reviewing the manufacturer's warranty for wind damage, the only responsibility of the manufacturer is to furnish replacement shingles which may have blown off.  No labor or other costs are included.  The customer went on to insist that I make the repairs without charging her.  In accordance with my one year labor warranty, and the fact that the shingles likely blew off during a storm, I would not make the repair without compensation.  The customer became argumentative with me at this point.

My only recourse was to refuse to perform the  work, as I believed I would not have been properly compensated. 

I have enclosed herewith the name and number of the local sales representative for her area:
*** *******, Territory Manager
Certain Teed Roofing
** ******* ****
********* ** ***** ************ *** **** **** ************ ***** ************

I will mail the customer a copy of the manufacturer's warranty at my earliest opportunity.

Should you need anything further from me, please do not hesitate to contact me at once.

Respectfully,

***** ******
President

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # *******.

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

I called Mr. Downey first as his company installed the roof. At the time the roof was installed, my father, whose name is on the invoice and the proposal, was the owner of record.  I have since bought the property from him.  It is the only property I own.
I understand that the warranty for  workmanship is only for one year.  I am not disputing that. I did take Mr. Downey's advice, after our first conversation, and contacted other roofers. During an over the phone conversation with both roofers, they stated that "if the shingles were installed properly, there was little chance of them blowing off." We did have 2 strong storms. It just seemed odd to me, that of all the houses in the area the only shingles that blew off were on my property. I did contact CerTain Teed and started the process to see if the shingles were defective.  I have not heard back from them yet.  I did ask Mr Downey for the local sales rep for CerTain Teeds information on 11/9/2011. I received that information from Dr. Downey via USPS on 11/23/2011.  Fifteen days after I had requested it. I was able to get the warranty information from the CerTain Teed web site on 11/9/2011.  Bothe the roofers, as well as my insurance adjuster felt that the incorrect shingles were used for that roof system, and that the shingles weren't secured properly.  The shingles should have been hand nailed, but were actually put in place by a nail gun.I never asked Mr. Downey to do the repair at no charge. If that was his impression, he was mistaken. I did feel he wasn't helpful when I first called, by not suggesting that I contact CerTain Teed. When the work was originally done he was paid in a timely fashion. It is not my goal to get something for nothing. I go to professionals hoping they will guide me in thier area of expertise. If there are any questions regarding the repair to the roof. The roofers information is as follows
******* ******* **** **** ** ******* ** ***** ************

Business Response: Having looked at the second complaint I see no further need for discussion. as far as I am concerned issue is resolved.