Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Capewide Enterprises, LLC?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Capewide Enterprises, LLC

Phone: (508) 477-8877 Fax: (508) 477-4977 153 Commercial St., Mashpee, MA 02649 http://www.capewideenterprises.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Capewide Enterprises, LLC is a home improvement contracting company that specializes in Construction: New construction, remodeling, additions, kitchens, baths, painting, roofing, siding, flooring, windows, dormers, decks.
Septic Services: Residential & commercial septic pumping, system locating, grease trap pumping, excavation, title V septic service, road work, and stone driveways.
Plumbing Services: Drain cleaning, fixture replacements, hydro-jetting, and more.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Capewide Enterprises, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Capewide Enterprises, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Capewide Enterprises, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2005 Business started: 01/01/2003 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/2004 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is CS-089273.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Richard M. Capen, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard M. Capen, Owner
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS EXCAVATING CONTRACTORS PLUMBING, DRAIN & SEWER CLEANING SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS-CLEANING SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS-INSPECTION GREASE PUMPING SEPTIC TANKS & SYSTEMS-INSTALLATION ROOFING CONTRACTORS ROAD BUILDING CONTRACTORS REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
24 Hour emergency plumbing and septic services available nights and weekends. Simply call our office, leave a detailed message, and a Capewide representative will call you back shorty.
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Checks
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover 
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Plumber Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Excavating Contractor Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Capewide Enterprises, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10/ /2012: My wife and I met with **** ********* and ***** ********** of Capewide Enterprises to discuss plans for proposed garage and bathroom additions to our home at *** ******'s Lane in *******. 11/16/2012: I received preliminary sketches of concept ideas from ***** via e-mail, none of which satisfied our expectations. ***** made some minor revisions during a short phone call, again none met our satifaction. (There was no further communication on any of the concept sketches beyond this point.) 11/26/2012: I cancelled further work by e-mail and told Capewide that I "would accept a reasonable invoice for"... (*****'s efforts)... "beyond a normal sales call." [Note: I expected an invoice for a couple of hours of CAD.] 11/27/2012: I received a Final Invoice for $1,000.00! To consist of: (Drawings; Four sets of prints; Draw interior and exterior elevations; Prints to consist of floor plans, interior and exterior elevations, front & rear elevations, side elevations, foundation elevations, roof elevations, framing plans, cross section details). (no invoice number) [Note: Except for a few concept sketches (none of which were approved), none of the drawings listed were ever produced or received! I was astounded at the audacity of charging $1,000.00 for a couple of hours of computer aided drafting!] 01/04/2013; I received another invoice, this time #***** for $1,000.00 for: Drawings for Garage and Bathroom Addition. 01/24/2013: I sent invoice #***** with a check for $200.00 and the following hand-printed note to "****, THERE WERE NO DELIVERABLES ON THIS PROJECT! WE DID RECEIVE A FEW PDF LAYOUT TRIALS FROM *****, NONE OF WHICH SATISFIED OUR EXPECTATIONS. WHEN I CANCELLED, I SAID I WOULD ACCEPT A REASONABLE INVOICE (underlined) FOR ANY EXTRA WORK BEYOND A NORMAL SALES PROPOSAL. I BELIEVE THE ENCLOSED CHECK FOR $200.00 IS AMPLE COMPENSATION FOR ANY EXTRA EFFORT. SINCERELY, (my signature) 1-24-2013. My check #**** was also clearly marked; PAYMENT IN FULL INV. #*****, 1-4-2013 on the memo line. (There was no further correspondence after this, so I had concluded that by signing and cashing the check that Capewide had accepted my payment in full on their invoice #*****, until....) 04/ /2013: I received another invoice #***** (no new date) noting a $200.00 payment with an $800.00 Balance Due. 04/18/2013: I sent the new invoice #***** and a copy of the previously noted invoice to ****** at Capewide (figuring that maybe **** had neglected to tell her that he had accepted my full payment in January) with the following note: "******, AS I TOLD ****, (SEE ATTACHED) I HAVE NO INTENTION TO PAY ANY MORE ON THIS INVOICE. THERE WERE NO DELIVERABLES (underlined) ON THIS PROJECT! (my signature) 4-18-2013" 05/16/2013: I received another invoice #*****, $800.00 Balance Due, this time with the 1.5% finance charge per month circled and a handwritten list of the totals due by month through the end of 2013. 05/17/2013: I sent a letter to **** ********* via certified mail stating that his "latest attempt to collect additional payment on your invoice #***** to be nothing short of harassment." Further stating that "The invoice was clearly marked with the intent of the payment, and the payment was mailed to your attention. You cashed the check, which was also clearly marked "Payment in Full Inv. #*****" on January 30, 2013, signifying that you agreed to that payment as full payment of the invoice at issue." It goes on to state that "We expect you to adjust your records accordingly and send us a revised invoice #***** for $200, clearly marked as "Paid in Full" no later than May 24, 2013. 05/28/2013: I received a voice mail from an unidentfied male caller from Capewide to call back to try and resolve this invoice dispute. 05/29/2013: I spoke with *** at Capewide and told him that the resolution is to send the revised invoice as requested. He informed me that he was instructed to seek some middle ground, if not Capewide would also take action.

Desired Settlement: I expect Capewide to adjust their records and send me a revised invoice #***** for $200.00 marked account "Paid in Full".

Business Response:

In response to complaint #*******. Our account of the events that occurred.

  • September/October was approached by customer at their neighbor’s job site to recruit our services for an addition/renovation.
  • Met with Customer 3-4 times to discuss scope of project.
  • After meetings we thought it was time to bring in a draftsman to complete the next step of the project.
  • Draftsman met at customers house took measurements and took pictures to complete drawings.
  • At this point in the project the first verbal agreement for drawings was made for $2,400. We did not accept any money upfront
  • During limbo waiting for drawings to be completed. The homeowner and our consultant discussed a ball park figure of $70,000. The homeowners said that was great and fit in their budget.
  • The first set of preliminary drawings were completed. Capewide has a dated set of plans that were completed in office.
  • After reviewing the drawings the customer called and said that they would no longer need our services because they were going in another direction. At the same time they requested a bill be sent for the services that were provided.
  • A bill was sent for a $1,000 well under first verbal agreement amount. Capewide Enterprises $1,000 for the work completed was a reasonable number by todays construction standards.
  • Capewide never agreed to the payment in full of $200. Accepted the check as down payment for the services provided.
  • A remaining balance bill was issued for the work completed.

 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Of the 11 bullet points in Capewide's response to complaint #*******, we make the following exceptions:   Bullet point #8:  We cancelled with a phone call followed up by an e-mail. In the e-mail we said "we would accept a reasonable invoice for what time he (*****) has put in beyond a normal sales call", not for the services provided as Capewide states. We consider most of the $1,000 bill for 'services provided' to be normal sales activity which in this case did not lead to a sale.   Bullet point #9:  While the $1,000 invoice was below the initial figure, it in no way represents the value we received. It is at least $800 more. I estimated the time required to do the initial floorplan layout and subsequent minor changes to be 2 to 3 hours for a reasonably competent CAD draftsman and concluded that at $60 to $75 per hour, $200 was ample payment for a lost sales opportunity. (Maybe I should have complained about Capewide's pricing policies!)   Bullet point #10:  Capewide did in fact agree to the payment in full of $200, by the simple act of cashing the check clearly marked "Payment in Full". The invoice was sent back with a check, both clearly marked with the intent of the payment. Capewide acknowledged payment in full by cashing the check.   Bullet point #11:  The remaining balance on the invoice is zero and a revision is due the customer. We will be very happy to receive a revised invoice #***** for $200, clearly marked Paid in Full. 

Business Response: Unfortunately, we have come to an impasse. As stated in ouroriginal response to this complaint we were “approached by the customer…torecruit our services for an addition/renovation”. An agreement was made tocomplete drawings at a cost of $2,400 dollars. After the drawings werecompleted the customer told us he was heading in another direction and “requested”we send a reasonable invoice for work completed. An invoice of $1,000 dollarswas created and sent. We had contracted with our draftsman and incurred a costof $750 dollars. The balance of $250 dollars is for Capewide Enterprises’ timespent on this project. After having an original agreement of $2,400 dollars wefeel the $1,000 is more than a reasonable invoice. Unfortunately, the customer’sand Capewide’s view of a “reasonable” invoice for building industry workcompleted, is where the discrepancy lies. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

Evidently we have not reached an impasse. And I quote from your most recent response: "...we feel the $1,000 is more than a reasonable invoice." On that we agree. We also direct your attention to:Massachusetts General Laws, Section 3-311, Accord and Satisfaction by Use of InstrumentPlease read the law and you will see that by cashing our check, clearly marked as "Payment in Full Inv. #*****, 1-4-2013" which was accompanied by a note directed to ****, also clearly marked as "...ample compensation...", that Capewide accepted our payment of invoice #***** as payment in full for services rendered.

7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I asked for a representative from Capewide Enterprises to come to my house in order to determine what needed to be done for a washer and dryer hook up to be installed. The representative told me that the job was impossible to do. I then called another plumbing company for a second opinion. When the representative from the other company arrived, he did measuring and other investigative work to determine that the job was possible. When I got a bill from Capewide for $127.00, I called them to inform them that their representative told me that the job was not possible and did not do the proper work to come to that conclusion. The bill had a note on it that reads, "Drainage for washer could not be done", which is false.

Desired Settlement: I do not think I should have to pay for incorrect information.

Business Response:

I have spoken with the customer and established that he was correct indeed, and have apologized for the confusion, and forgiven the bill.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********

Regards,

****** *******