This business is not BBB accredited.

AntHill Home Improvements

Additional Locations

Phone: (207) 540-3813 153 Conant Road, Fort Fairfield, ME 04742


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

AntHill Home Improvements is a residential and commercial general contractor specializing in home improvements, remodeling & renovations, additions, carpentry, counters/cabinets, roofing & siding, exteriors, window & door installation, patios & decks, deck maintenance, all season porches, garages, windows & door installation and handyman repairs. Free estimates.














BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AntHill Home Improvements include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for AntHill Home Improvements include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AntHill Home Improvements
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 28, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2004 in ME Business started locally: 01/01/2004
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Sheldon A Corey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sheldon A Corey, Owner
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

HOME IMPROVEMENTS HOME BUILDERS DECK MAINTENANCE & RESTORATION DECK BUILDERS CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTORS-GENERAL RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL ROOFING CONTRACTORS WINDOWS-REPAIRING WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES VINYL SIDING SIDING CONTRACTORS SIDING CLEANING ROOFING SERVICE CONSULTANTS ROOFING EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES ROOFING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS KITCHEN REMODELING Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
M: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
T: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
W: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Th: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
F: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Evening & Weekends by Appointment. Emergency Services. 24/7 answering service.
Method(s) of Payment
Check
Cash
Money Order
Service Area
AntHill Home Improvements provides their services in MAINE.
Alternate Business Names
Ant Hill Home Improvements
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Handyman Services Hiring a Carpenter Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Roofer Hiring a Roofer - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Siding Contractor Hiring a Waterproofing Contractor Hiring an Excavating Contractor Hiring an Insulation Contractor Home Builders Home Improvement Home Improvement Projects - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Windows

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    153 Conant Road

    Fort Fairfield, ME 04742 (207) 540-3813

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 486

    Easton, ME 04740

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To my knowledge, I had one leak at a transition point where an addition was added in the master bedroom of my house in Maine when I called Ant Hill Roofing in August 2013 and asked if they could look at the job and give me an estimate. That was done and I sent about half of the estimate dollar amount (4500.00) to start the job. When they notified me that the job was done, I sent the remainder due. I was never sent a final bill and went solely by the estimate. My renter reported that the roof was still leaking off and on well into October and Ant Hill reportedly went and made adjustments. With winter, no reports of any more leaking. During the winter, the snow built up and according to my renter, it was quite high. With the spring, the roof started leaking again. I returned to Maine in April to see the damage and the entire master bedroom ceiling was damaged from the leaking and the kitchen and bathroom also showed signs of leaking. The kitchen and bathroom had never leaked previously. I have a roofed patio/outdoor space that is attached to the house that never leaked before and it was also leaking. While in Maine, I had another roofer that deals with metal roofs accompany me to the house and look at the roof job. He informed me that the roof was not installed correctly or completed. The roof was also not sealed correctly or completely. I have pictures of the roof Ant Hill did and the roof that was done to replace Ant Hills work. The difference is amazing. Included in the estimate Ant Hill said that he would replace the ceiling tiles in the master bedroom, which was never done. His estimate came with a thirty (30) year guarantee on materials and workmanship. The estimate also said that the old metal roof would be stripped and disposed of. In comparison to the newly installed roof, the roof Ant Hill installed was not new metal roofing but was old, rusted,and all bent up. After my trip to Maine, I wrote to Ant Hill requesting the return of the money I paid him and I was told that he went above and beyond and wasn't returning any of my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like the return of the money I paid for a job that wasn't done correctly or completely and with faulty materials.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AntHill Home Improvements
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)