Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cutting Edge Homes, Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (508) 435-1280 100 Waverly St, Ashland, MA 01721 http://www.thinkcuttingedge.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cutting Edge Homes, Inc. is a boutique Design Build Decorate Construction Management firm. The business states they have built their reputation over two generations through a relentless dedication to vision, integrity, craftsmanship, and an undying commitment to the end product.

The business states they pride themselves on truly being a full service firm specializing in custom homes, kitchens, renovations, entertainment spaces, GREEN energy, and landscape design and construction.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cutting Edge Homes, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cutting Edge Homes, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cutting Edge Homes, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 21, 2012 Business started: 04/12/2004 in MA Business incorporated 01/03/2012 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 171460.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is CS-087548.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sean Cutting, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Cutting, President
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

CUSTOM HOME BUILDERS REMODELING SERVICES REMODELING & RENOVATION CONTRACTORS PATIO & DECK BUILDERS PAINTING CONTRACTORS MASON CONTRACTORS LANDSCAPE DESIGNERS KITCHEN REMODELING HOME DESIGN & PLANNING SERVICE ENVIRONMENTAL & ECOLOGICAL PRODUCTS & SERVICES CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT BUILT-INS BATHROOM REMODELING BASEMENT - REMODELING ATTIC REMODELING ADDITIONS DESIGN & BUILD CONTRACTOR Other Services to Buildings and Dwellings (NAICS: 561790)

Method(s) of Payment
Check
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Service Area
Cutting Edge Homes, Inc provides their services in ABINGTON, ACCORD, ACTON, ACUSHNET, ALLSTON, AMESBURY, ANDOVER, AQUINNAH, ARLINGTON, ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, ARLINGTON HTS, ASHLAND, ASSONET, ATTLEBORO, ATTLEBORO FALLS, ATTLEBORO FLS, AUBURNDALE, AVON, BABSON PARK, BARNSTABLE, BASS RIVER, BEDFORD, BELLINGHAM, BELMONT, BERKLEY, BEVERLY, BILLERICA, BOSTON, BOSTON CLG, BOSTON COLLEGE, BOURNE, BOXBORO, BOXBOROUGH, BOXFORD, BRADFORD, BRAINTREE, BRANT ROCK, BREWSTER, BRIDGEWATER, BRIGHTON, BROCKTON, BROOKLINE, BROOKLINE VILLAGE, BROOKLINE VLG, BRYANTVILLE, BURLINGTON, BUZZARDS BAY, BYFIELD, CAMBRIDGE, CANTON, CARLISLE, CARVER, CATAUMET, CENTERVILLE, CHARLESTOWN, CHARTLEY, CHATHAM, CHELMSFORD, CHELSEA, CHESTNUT HILL, CHILMARK, COHASSET, CONCORD, COTUIT, CUMMAQUID, CUTTYHUNK, DANVERS, DARTMOUTH, DEDHAM, DENNIS, DENNIS PORT, DENNISPORT, DIGHTON, DORCHESTER, DORCHESTER CENTER, DORCHESTR CTR, DOVER, DRACUT, DUNSTABLE, DUXBURY, E ARLINGTON, E BRIDGEWATER, E BRIDGEWTR, E CAMBRIDGE, E FALMOUTH, E HARWICH, E SANDWICH, E WAREHAM, E WATERTOWN, EA FALMOUTH, EAST ARLINGTON, EAST BOSTON, EAST BRIDGEWATER, EAST CAMBRIDGE, EAST DENNIS, EAST FALMOUTH, EAST FREETOWN, EAST HARWICH, EAST LYNN, EAST MANSFIELD, EAST ORLEANS, EAST SANDWICH, EAST TAUNTON, EAST WALPOLE, EAST WAREHAM, EAST WATERTOWN, EAST WEYMOUTH, EASTHAM, EASTON, EDGARTOWN, ELMWOOD, ESSEX, EVERETT, FAIRHAVEN, FALL RIVER, FALMOUTH, FOXBORO, FOXBOROUGH, FRAMINGHAM, FRANKLIN, GAY HEAD, GEORGETOWN, GLOUCESTER, GREEN HARBOR, GREENBUSH, GROVE HALL, GROVELAND, HALIFAX, HAMILTON, HANOVER, HANSCOM AFB, HANSON, HARVARD SQ, HARVARD SQUARE, HARWICH, HARWICH PORT, HATCHVILLE, HATHORNE, HAVERHILL, HINGHAM, HOLBROOK, HOLLISTON, HOPKINTON, HUDSON, HULL, HUMAROCK, HYANNIS, HYANNIS PORT, HYDE PARK, IPSWICH, JAMAICA PLAIN, KATES CORNER, KINGSTON, LAKEVILLE, LAWRENCE, LEXINGTON, LINCOLN, LOWELL, LYNN, LYNNFIELD, MALDEN, MANCHESTER, MANCHESTER BY THE SEA, MANOMET, MANSFIELD, MARBLEHEAD, MARION, MARLBOROUGH, MARSHFIELD, MARSHFIELD HILLS, MARSHFLD HLS, MARSTONS MILLS, MARSTONS MLS, MASHPEE, MATTAPAN, MATTAPOISETT, MAYNARD, MEDFIELD, MEDFORD, MEDWAY, MELROSE, MENEMSHA, MERRIMAC, METHUEN, MIDDLEBORO, MIDDLEBOROUGH, MIDDLETON, MILLIS, MILTON VILLAGE, MILTON VLG, MINOT, MISSION HILL, MONPONSETT, MONUMENT BCH, MONUMENT BEACH, N ATTLEBORO, N BILLERICA, N CAMBRIDGE, N CHELMSFORD, N DARTMOUTH, N DIGHTON, N FALMOUTH, N MARSHFIELD, N PEMBROKE, N SCITUATE, N WEYMOUTH, NAHANT, NANTUCKET, NATICK, NEEDHAM, NEEDHAM HEIGHTS, NEEDHAM HGTS, NEW BEDFORD, NEW TOWN, NEWBURY, NEWBURYPORT, NEWTON, NEWTON CENTER, NEWTON CENTRE, NEWTON HIGHLANDS, NEWTON HLDS, NEWTON L F, NEWTON LOWER FALLS, NEWTON U F, NEWTON UPPER FALLS, NEWTONVILLE, NONANTUM, NONQUITT, NORFOLK, NORTH ANDOVER, NORTH ATTLEBORO, NORTH BILLERICA, NORTH CAMBRIDGE, NORTH CARVER, NORTH CHATHAM, NORTH CHELMSFORD, NORTH DARTMOUTH, NORTH DIGHTON, NORTH EASTHAM, NORTH EASTON, NORTH FALMOUTH, NORTH MARSHFIELD, NORTH PEMBROKE, NORTH QUINCY, NORTH READING, NORTH SCITUATE, NORTH TRURO, NORTH WALTHAM, NORTH WEYMOUTH, NORTON, NORWELL, NORWOOD, NUTTING LAKE, OAK BLUFFS, OCEAN BLUFF, ONSET, ORLEANS, OTIS ANGB, PEABODY, PEMBROKE, PINEHURST, PLAINVILLE, PLYMOUTH, PLYMPTON, POCASSET, PRIDES CROSSING, PRIDES CRSSNG, PROVINCETOWN, QUINCY, RANDOLPH, RAYNHAM, RAYNHAM CENTER, RAYNHAM CTR, READING, READVILLE, REHOBOTH, REVERE, ROCHESTER, ROCKPORT, ROSLINDALE, ROWLEY, ROXBURY, ROXBURY CROSSING, ROXBURY XING, S ATTLEBORO, S CHELMSFORD, S DARTMOUTH, S HAMILTON, S WELLFLEET, S WEYMOUTH, S YARMOUTH, SAGAMORE, SAGAMORE BCH, SAGAMORE BEACH, SALEM, SALISBURY, SALISBURY BCH, SALISBURY BEACH, SANDWICH, SAUGUS, SCITUATE, SEEKONK, SHARON, SHELDONVILLE, SHERBORN, SIASCONSET, SILVER BEACH, SOMERSET, SOMERVILLE, SOUTH ATTLEBORO, SOUTH BOSTON, SOUTH CARVER, SOUTH CHATHAM, SOUTH DARTMOUTH, SOUTH DENNIS, SOUTH EASTON, SOUTH HAMILTON, SOUTH HARWICH, SOUTH ORLEANS, SOUTH WALPOLE, SOUTH WALTHAM, SOUTH WELLFLEET, SOUTH WEYMOUTH, SOUTH YARMOUTH, SQUANTUM, STONEHAM, STONEHILL COL, STONEHILL COLLEGE, STOUGHTON, STOW, SUDBURY, SWAMPSCOTT, SWANSEA, TAUNTON, TEATICKET, TEWKSBURY, TOPSFIELD, TRURO, TUFTS UNIV, TUFTS UNIVERSITY, TYNGSBORO, UPHAMS CORNER, VILLAGE OF NAGOG WOODS, VINEYARD HAVEN, VINEYARD HVN, VLG NAGOG WDS, W BARNSTBLE, W BRIDGEWATER, W FALMOUTH, W HYANNISPRT, W SOMERVILLE, W YARMOUTH, WABAN, WAKEFIELD, WALPOLE, WALTHAM, WAQUOIT, WARD HILL, WAREHAM, WATERTOWN, WAVERLEY, WAYLAND, WELLESLEY, WELLESLEY HILLS, WELLESLEY HLS, WELLFLEET, WENHAM, WEST BARNSTABLE, WEST BOXFORD, WEST BRIDGEWATER, WEST CHATHAM, WEST CHOP, WEST DENNIS, WEST FALMOUTH, WEST HARWICH, WEST HYANNISPORT, WEST LYNN, WEST MEDFORD, WEST NEWBURY, WEST NEWTON, WEST ROXBURY, WEST SOMERVILLE, WEST TISBURY, WEST WAREHAM, WEST YARMOUTH, WESTFORD, WESTON, WESTPORT, WESTPORT POINT, WESTPORT PT, WESTWOOD, WEYMOUTH, WHITE HORSE BEACH, WHITMAN, WHT HORSE BCH, WILMINGTON, WINCHENDON, WINTER HILL, WINTHROP, WOBURN, WOLLASTON, WOODS HOLE, WOODVILLE, WRENTHAM & YARMOUTH PORT, MA.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Hiring a Landscaper Hiring a Landscaper - 5 Tips - Video Hiring a Mason Hiring a Painter Hiring a Painter - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cutting Edge Homes, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 100 Waverly St

    Ashland, MA 01721

  • PO Box 568

    Hopkinton, MA 01748 (508) 435-1280 (800) 632-9577

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a Design Contract with Cutting Edge Homes in late October 2014 to renovate a house in Falmouth, MA. The contract states that the scope of work is “Implementation of $200,000 - $250,000 design budget for reorganization of 1st floor with bigger kitchen and family room and master suite addition on 2nd level with formal stairs”. After several design sessions with Cutting Edge, a design budget of $483,140 was presented to me in mid-January 2015. Asked to adjust the design to fit the original budget, Cutting Edge presented a second design budget of $340,000 in early February. During an in person conversation, the president of Cutting Edge said he was 70 to 80% sure his firm could provide me with a design within the $250,000 budget. On February 12, 2015 approximately 40 minutes before a scheduled meeting, I was emailed a hand drawn sketch that included changes to the 1st floor plan without any change to the 2nd floor. The email indicated that the budget for this scaled back design still exceeded $250,000 and Cutting Edge was working with vendors to get within the agreed to budget. I told Cutting Edge to not spend any more time on this project as it was obvious they could not do the work within the agreed to price. I made an appointment with the president of Cutting Edge to discuss a refund of our design fee, but after agreeing to a phone meeting, he did not call at the appointed time. I have called his office several times and he is always in a meeting. I have sent a Breach of Contract letter by standard mail and registered mail and have received no reply. I believe I am owed a refund of my $10,000 design fee as I never received a design within the $250,000 budget.

Desired Settlement: I believe Cutting Edge did not fulfill the Design Agreement and owes me a refund of my design fee.

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern:

It is constantly the goal of Cutting Edge Homes to exceed our clients expectations. Unfortunately, in this case, we could not. What is very common in the Architecture field is that during the excitement of Design clients wish lists expand. In this case the scope expanded drastically. Even after the scope of work was reigned in Cutting Edge Homes Construction division could not complete the project at the clients desired budget range.

What must be separated is that the client signed a Design Agreement, not a Construction Agreement. Cutting Edge Homes agreed to design a project with certain perimeters - which we did. Specifically in the contract it states, "Upon execution of this contract client will receive one set of architectural schematic design drawings (not construction drawings) including 3Dimensional renderings with full feasibility study." It does not say, Cutting Edge Homes will then execute Construction for $200,000-250,000.

In this agreement we are not agreeing to any Construction Services or schedules. The client received several design iterations and options and several feasibility or budget studies. Even after we realized that the Cutting Edge Construction Team would not be able to meet the clients desired budget we offered to make referrals to other construction firms who have different cost structure who may be able to meet the clients budget. This was rejected by the client. The client does possess several different schematic design iterations and a feasibility study as promised to be delivered by Cutting Edge. Furthermore, we would be happy to offer the client the *** file, or working file, the architect created so it can be easily manipulated by another firm. 

We must separate the difference between a Design Agreement and a Construction Agreement. The client received real value and countless hours of Design and Budget work which actually exceeded what they paid.

I am available at any time to discuss this matter further. Cutting Edge takes these matters very serious.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below. 

Cutting Edge Homes has nearly executed the classic bait and switch.

They touted themselves as a design and build firm. They proposed the budget of $200,000 to $250,000 during the initial tour of our house in Falmouth. They presented designs that included numerous features we did not request such as custom mill work, custom cabinets, custom closet systems, a fireplace, a $15,000 shed. When we protested the fireplace, we were told the living room needed a focal point.  When we questioned the custom mill work, we were told that Cutting Edge projects have a “threshold” that must be met. Cutting Edge Homes proposed construction budgets of $480,000 and $340,000. When we didn’t take the bait and increase our budget, Cutting Edge Homes failed to show up at scheduled meetings and refused to take our calls. To suggest that there is no connection between the budget established at the time of design and the final construction budget is deceitful. We participated in good faith in a 4 month process that we expected would yield a construction agreement with Cutting Edge Homes.  The process yielded some design sketches and paper copies of 3D drawings that are of no use to us. Cutting Edge’s own statement is “Even after the scope of work was reigned (sic) in Cutting Edge Homes Construction division could not complete the project at the clients desired budget range”. The failure of Cutting Edge Homes to complete this project within the budget they originally proposed should not be at our expense. We cannot recoup the time we lost, but feel that we are owed the $10,000 design fee we paid. Any cost incurred by Cutting Edge in their failed attempt to meet the Design Agreement is theirs to absorb.

Regards,

***** *****