Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Total Temperature Control, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Total Temperature Control, Inc. is a HVAC contractor. The company provides residential, commercial and industrial contracting services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Temperature Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Total Temperature Control, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Total Temperature Control, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 10, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated: 02/04/1993 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is RT-021281.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-059879.

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 1592.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Ambrosino, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Ambrosino, President
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS AIR DUCT SYSTEMS AIR DUCT RESTORATION SHEET METAL WORK FANS-HOUSEHOLD WIRE & CABLE-NON-ELECTRIC WIRE & CABLE-ELECTRIC HOME THEATER & ENTERTAINMENT SYSTEMS CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTING CIRCUIT BREAKERS GENERATORS - MAINTENANCE GENERATORS-STEAM GENERATORS-ELECTRIC TELEPHONE EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS SERVICE & REPAIR TELEPHONE CABLING COMPUTER WIRING SVCS FIRE ALARM SYSTEMS SECURITY CAMERAS SNOW REMOVAL SERVICE - ROOF ELECTRIC HEATING EQUIPMENT-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS LIGHTING SYSTEMS & EQUIPMENT LIGHTING FIXTURES - REPAIR & MAINTENANCE LIGHTING COOLING TOWERS HYDRONIC HEATING AIR QUALITY TESTING AIR QUALITY SERVICE GEOTHERMAL HEATING & COOLING BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS-REPAIRING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL FURNACES-HEATING FURNACE CLEANING PROPANE GAS PLUMBING GAS-PROPANE OILS HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HVAC PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL FLOOD ASSISTANCE FIRE & FLOOD EMERGENCY SERVICE SPRINKLERS-FIRE-AUTOMATIC SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM DESIGN & INSTALLATION RADIANT HEATING COMBUSTION CONTROLS BACKFLOW TESTING BACKFLOW PREVENTION DEVICES & SERVICES WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING PIPE INSPECTION PIPING CONTRACTORS LEAK DETECTION WATER LEAK DETECTION KITCHEN REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL ELECTRIC CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL DUCT CLEANING CONTRACTORS - ELECTRICAL COMMERICAL CONTRACTOR - ELECTRICAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Total Temperature Control, Inc. sells the following brand(s): A.O. Smith, Amana, American Water Heater, Bryant, Buderus, Burnham, Carrier, City Multi, Friedrich, Kohler, Lightolier, Maytag, Mitsubishi, Modine, Polaris, Rinnai, State, Trane, Viessman, Whirlpool

Hours of Operation
Open 24Hours
Service Area
Greater Boston Region
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Computer Software - 5 Tips - Video Finding a Reliable General Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Finding a Reliable Home Security System - 5 Tips - Video Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Contractor Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Hiring an Electrician Hiring an Electrician - 5 Tips - Video Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Remodeling & Renovation Contractors Solar Panels Solar Panels - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Total Temperature Control, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: Total Temperature Control was unable to resolve a problem with my heating system after repeated attempts. it was later found (by another service company) that the technician from total temperature systems installed the incorrect part. Total temperature control also took days/weeks to source parts that were readily available from local suppliers, missed several repair appointments forcing me to use expensive backup electric heat. Detailed Event Timeline 11/24/13 - Confirmed OEM part is working as expected, no additional heating system failures since replacement w/correct OEM part. 11/15/13 - Called for service from another heating vendor. diagnosis is universal pressure switch incorrect for application (was multi-port design, when system OEM was single port). Suggested replacing universal switch w/OEM. Sourced OEM replacement part from local supplier, retrieved part and installed in less than 1 hour. 11/15/13 - called service department on timing of install, wrong parts ordered, will be another week for parts. still relying on expensive, backup electric heat. 11/12/13 - called to confirm parts ordered and to be installed on 11/15. parts on order, will be ready for install. 11/7/13 - heating system not providing heat again. called service, asked parts be ordered. 11/4/13 - heating system not providing heat again, service call. Technician diagnose that fan has corrosion, cleaned. if problem continues fan would need to be replaced. 11/2/13 - heating system not providing heat again, same intermittent issue as before. Technician confirmed universal pressure switch needed to be adjusted further. Back to using electric backup heaters. 11/1/13 - $199 paid for service, check #***. Universal pressure switch installed as OEM part not available. 10/31/13 - called to confirm repair time window told technician was on another job and would not make agreed appointment, scheduled for next day. Heating system totally unusable at this point, using backup electric heaters. 10/29/13 - check #***, $154 for initial service call, parts ordered. Initial diagnosis was pressure switch failure. indicated parts had to be ordered, not available local. 10/31 target date for part replacement. 10/28/13 - Heating system not providing heat, call for service raised

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all charges (labor and parts) related to incompetent technicians and unsuccessful repair attempts in the form of a check for $353.

Business Response: Dear ******* and ******: I just received your note on the Better BusinessBureau.  I would like to apologize forany inconvenience you incurred and remind you of our 100% satisfactoryguarantee. I do wish you contacted me to let me know of yourconcern.  My technician tired to get theOEM part but it was not in stock. However it was due to arrive veryshortly.  This is a control we usuallycarry in stock. We had recently replaced several of them and ran out due to thereason of the weather change. The universal replacement part was provided to us by the *****/******** Standard representative. We were set up to return to your home along wit the direct factoryreplacement part that had come in. However you cancelled the call. I understand your frustration.  You have helped us to understand the need tohave that part in stock at all times. I have purchased 12 OEM pressure switchesto have in stock at our shop and in each truck. I have also contacted all our most common vendors and had them compile alist of all common parts we use to increase our inventory to better serve ourcustomers. We work very hard to maintain our valued customer’s heat.  I take full responsibility for not having thepart in stock and be reassured your full refund will be sent to you.  We thank you for your criticism and havelearned to a way to better our company. I know we can’t carry every part, but wewill concentrate on as many common parts as possible.  We would also like to provide you with a nextspring preventative maintenance at no charge for your inconvenience. 

Respectfully Yours,
**** ** *********
President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 18, 2012, I purchased a ******* rooftop HVAC unit, model ************ to replace a unit that had failed due to age. The total cost of the replacement was $7800.00. During the subsequent winter, the heat function worked fine, but beginning in June of 2013, the beginning of the cooling season, the AC has not functioned properly, if at all. When it became apparent the unit was not functioning, I immediately called the company to have the problem corrected. A service tech was sent out, and after much back and forth, they informed me they thought there was a problem with the ducting in the unit, which makes no sense, since the old unit functioned perfectly, as does every other unit in the building, including two that were replaced by a different company at the same time as mine. Subsequent to that, they said they were going to install a device that should fix the problem. To date they have not done so, nor have they responded to my numerous requests for assistance. On July 15th, 2013, I left the area for a vacation. Since there was no one available to give access, no action was taken until I returned on August 15th. Since August 15th, I have contacted the company eight times to attempt to get them to correct the problem, the last time being at 10:00AM on September 13th, today's date. I was told the individual handling the matter, ****, was on another line and would call me right back as soon as he was done with his call. As of this time, 1:15PM, he still has not done so. In fact, on all other occasions that I have contacted them, they have promised to get back to me that day, and as yet they have not done so even one time. It appears they have no plans at all to insure that I am provided with a properly functioning unit, and have been ignoring my attempts to get the problem fixed. I have had to purchase and install a window unit to make conditions inside the condo unit even bearable, since it is a west facing unit and gets full afternoon sun. There have been occasions when temperatures have reached 85 degrees inside the unit.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund or Appropriate Repair

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ***** ***** is having a problem with his unit, manufactured by ******* and installed by Total Temperature Control.  We service the building and many of Mr. *****’s neighbors.  We have discovered a trend of many of the heat exchangers failing on existing units.  We have replaced several units on the site without any problems.  A problem was detected during the summer. There was no problem noted during the winter on Mr. *****’s unit.  It was installed on 10/19/2012.  We quickly dispatched a service tech.  The tech detected a restriction of return air.  Tried to trace the return duct work, however the majority of the duct work is un-accessible.  We talked to ******* and they recommended a remedy.  We are to add a ******* ************** to maintain the proper return air.  

We called Mr. ***** and notified him of the requirements and order the parts.  Mr. ***** said he was taking an extended vacation and will call us when he returns.  We ordered the ******* part and will have it in stock.  Mr. ***** called on Friday September 13th, 2013. We set an appointment to install the part at Mr. ***** convenience on Thursday September 16th, 2013. Both ******* and Total Temperature Control felt convinced this would resolve the problem.  This part was ordered on July 2nd, 2013, we received it on July 16th, 2013.  We had the part on hold awaiting Mr. ***** to return and notify us of service.  Mr. ***** has not been charged for any service calls and we are very sorry the confusion and inconvenience of not knowing when he was back from vacation. We are very happy to install the parts to resolve Mr. ***** problem.  Our office is only approximately ¼ mile from the site.  We are at the office from 7AM to 4:30PM. The 1st recorded call we have on our record is Thursday Sept 12th, 2013 when he was back from vacation.  We called back on September 13th, 2013 and set up an appointment. We have never avoided Mr. *****, not showing up or questioned his problem.  We were just waiting for access. His vacation return date was not revealed to us so we were just waiting for contact. We are confident that out situation will work even after talking to Mr. ***** on Thursday. We don’t understand what occurred within the process since all seemed fine.  We are always trying to improve our service. So all, criticism is important learning experience.  We will now always schedule calls in advance of returning from vacation to be better prepared for our clients.

6/11/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am compelled to write this letter to inform you of the overwhelming disappointment and frustration which my wife and I recently experienced with your company and a recent service call involving one of your employees,
****** *******. We had enjoyed a good working relationship with your company for over 5 years. Unfortunately, this relationship must cease due to the unreasonable and egregious actions of your company relative to the repair/replacement of a water heater on March 27, 2012. We had noticed a gradual increase in the discoloration of the hot water for several weeks and contacted your company to analyze and repair the problem. As background we moved into our house in 2002 and our original water heater failed just before the expiration of the warranty in May 2008. Your company replaced our original water heater with at state machine in May 2008 under warranty.
It should be noted the first water heater lasted just under 6 years. At no time did anyone from your company advise us that the new water heater would have no warranty because of the replacement of the original warranty. It should further be mentioned that we were not apprized of the appropriate yearly service recommended for such a water heater. Your employee, Mr ******* attempted to rectify the problem involving the water heater installed less than 4 years ago but was unsuccessful. Mr ******* advised my wife that the water heater was still under warranty and its replacement would only cost labor for installation and removal of the old water heater. Having been told the water heater was under warranty, my wife authorized its replacement. To our surprise and dismay, Mr ******* later contacted us to reveal that the water heater was not under warranty and the cost of its replacement, including labor would be $2234. First my reaction was concern that this water heater which lasted only 3.7 years may have been defective or of poor quality in some way for lasting less than 4 years, especially where the original water heater lasted 6 years. Secondly, the cost seemed exorbitant, so I contacted Mr ******* expressing my concerns about the cost, his initial representations that the water heater was under warranty and the inability to pay for $2234 sum. I asked for time to confer with my wife about this issue. Mr ******* knew of should have know I was upset and wanted to think about my options, especially when he advised me that the cost of the water heater was $2012! Mr ******* mentioned that built into this figure was some mark up which I believe a reasonable person would presume to be for profit. I investigated the cost of this particular model water heater, tracking down the most local distributor/retailer. I discovered it was actually a ********* company, **** ******. It should be noted my brother in law has an account with **** ******, so we could purchase items there through his account. I was informed that this water heater could be sold to me for $1372. As you might expect, I was quite surprised and thought that a markup of $640 was unreasonable! Had I been given the opportunity knowing the water heater was not under warranty, I would have purchased the item myself and had a plumber install it, saving considerable money. I contacted your office early Wed morning, asking to speak to someone about the costs and charges
for his work, which I thought was unreasonable. No one contacted me at any time on Wed, March 28, 2012. I again contacted your office on Thurs March 29, 2012 asking to speak to someone other than the tech who installed
the water heater. Despite my requests, I was contacted by Mr ******* who advised me that my credit card had been used to cover the costs of the $2234. I was quite surprised and upset, that your company would use my credit card knowing I had dispute about the costs of the work. Mr ******* proceeded to inform me it was standard protocol to run the credit card after a job. He then attempted to justify his actions and the costs of the job, saying I had clear water now and a new water heater. Please be mindful of the fact that Mr ******* erroneously informed us the water heater was under warranty. His actions were a direct impact on our decision to replace
the water heater. Expecting the costs would be low. He also told my wife that a new water heater would cost in the neighborhood of $1500. If he had told us the warranty was not good before he did the work, I could have purchased the identical water heater from **** ****** and has someone install it for much less than $900! I was shocked at Mr *******’ s reaction to this discussion. He was upset that **** ****** told me the price! He
then suggested that I would have no warranty if it was installed by some plumber who did not purchase the product. This is completely inaccurate and wrong, since any manufacture and/or wholesale supplier/retailer would
be responsible for any defective produce under the law no matter who installed it. Having done product liability defense work as a attorney for several large companies, I know this to be true. Then Mr ******* tried to explain and justify the mark up. He suggested somehow it was my fault that the water heater only lasted 3.7 years. Although I recognize and expect some increase in the price to cover a mark up, it seems to me that under these circumstances $640 is excessive and unfair. Mr ******* would not even consider some compromise, given that we have used your company for several years.

Desired Settlement: I hope that you will consider this situation and implement and adopt better and more professional standards for dealing with clients in situations in the future where your employees make an error that results in such an unreasonable cost for services. Needless to say, I cannot recommend your company to anyone after this incident. I hope this letter will induce you to take action by insuring that this never occurs again.

Business Response: April 12, 2012

Mr. ***** ******
** ****** ****
*********, MA  *****

RE: Response to letter dated 3-30-12

Dear Mr. ******:

Upon arrival to address the problem was reported as rusty water from the ***** water heater. We proceeded to check the water heaters integrity. We then flushed and checked the anode rod on the water heater. The water was still rusty. We determined that the ***** water heater shows signs of a leak on the tank.

From the serial number on the tank, *********** (which translates to May of 2008), the tank appeared to be under warranty because of the date code. However, we have to confirm with the manufacturer or supply house. In fact, this tank was not under warranty because it was a replacement for a warranty tank in 2008. This is the policy of the ***** water heater manufacture.  In fact, all water heater manufacturers follow very similar policies. If a water heater is a replacement on a warranty tank replacement of the new water heater installation date reverts back to the original water heater date of installation.  If this information was brought to our attention prior to the replacement, we would have checked with the supply house.  If this heater was not a warranty replacement then the tank would have been under warranty. We did not know this until after we bought you a new tank and brought the tag of the old tank to the supply house. The serial number was reviewed and assumed it was under warranty. This work was performed during regular working hours. The new serial number is ***********. The main concern at this time was to restore the domestic hot water. There was a miscommunication on the replacement tank warranty.

I spoke to you after the fact and you told me that you did not know if the credit card had enough limit on it and you would call me back to let me know before the end of the day. I did not hear back from you so at the end of the day we had to run your credit card for your water heater replacement as term were COD and the credit card was given by you for payment of the job. We cannot change the policy of the manufacturer’s warranty on their product.  If you are dissatisfied with the ***** warranty, you should call ***** directly.

Respectfully Yours,
**** ** *********
President

Cc: Better Business Bureau
      Attorney General’s Office