Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Total Temperature Control, Inc. is a HVAC contractor. The company provides residential, commercial and industrial contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Total Temperature Control, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Total Temperature Control, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Total Temperature Control, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1992 in MA Business incorporated 02/04/1993 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is RT-021281.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-059879.

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us
The number is 1592.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Ambrosino, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Ambrosino, President
Number of Employees

17

Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS COOLING TOWERS AIR DUCT CLEANING AIR DUCT SYSTEMS Air Duct Repair CARBON MONOXIDE DETECTING HYDRONIC HEATING AIR QUALITY TESTING AIR QUALITY SERVICE GEOTHERMAL HEATING & COOLING BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS-REPAIRING AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL FURNACES-HEATING FURNACE CLEANING PROPANE GAS PLUMBING GAS-PROPANE HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS HVAC PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-COMMERCIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL FLOOD ASSISTANCE FIRE & FLOOD EMERGENCY SERVICE RADIANT HEATING COMBUSTION CONTROLS BACKFLOW TESTING BACKFLOW PREVENTION DEVICES & SERVICES WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING PIPE INSPECTION PIPING CONTRACTORS LEAK DETECTION WATER LEAK DETECTION KITCHEN REMODELING BATHROOM REMODELING DUCT CLEANING AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Total Temperature Control, Inc. sells the following brand(s): A.O. Smith, Amana, American Water Heater, Bryant, Buderus, Burnham, Carrier, City Multi, Friedrich, Kohler, Lightolier, Maytag, Mitsubishi, Modine, Polaris, Rinnai, State, Trane, Viessman, Whirlpool

Hours of Operation
Open 24Hours
Service Area
Greater Boston Region
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Total Temperature Control, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My water heater was broken and I called this company as they were listed on the ******** ***** ******'s website. I gave them all the ID numbers and information about the water heater over the phone and asked how much it would be to replace it. She said they don't give quotes over the phone, but could send someone out to look at it. I did not know she was going to charge me for this and the guy was in my house for less than 2 minutes. He just wrote down the same ID numbers that I'd already given on the phone and then proceeded to smoke cigarettes in his truck for the next hour while making a few phone calls as the where to get the water heater. In my opinion all of this could have been done from the office the previous day, but in any case I should have been clearly told about the fact that I was going to be billed for him presenting me with an outrageous estimate. Over $1600 just to install the water heater (it was still under warranty, so the water heater itself was free). That is more than a new water heater installed by most places including the cost of the water heater, so I refused (in the end I paid less than half of their price). Then he presented me with a bill for $264 just for the estimate! I was shocked as I thought the estimate was free like with everyone else. This guy charged me for 2 hours of labor! If I had had any idea that I was being charged I would have never had them come. They also arrived more than 2 hours before our appointment time and the guy couldn't find me, so for the first 20 mins he was sitting outside, then at the end I was on the phone arguing with the woman at the company while he waited, after 20 mins still no resolution and she said I was being charged for the full time his truck sat outside my house by their gps system, so they charged me for their getting there early and while this dispute was going on. I've written long letters to this company with no response and then I thought they dropped it, but I've just received another bill - this time with a $43.48 finance charge added, so now its $307.48 for nothing but a lot of headache and wasted time.

Desired Settlement: The company stops billing me.

Business Response:

Hello *********

In response to your complaint, I’m sorry to hear about your
experience. We are in the habit of calling our customers when our techs are on
route to give you a better time frame. Even though you received an invoice from
my tech we never collected payment. All my techs are instructed to leave an
invoice and it’s up to us to decide if we should proceed with collecting. I had
already voided out that bill a while ago. I am not sure how you would have been
billed. But none the less you do not owe our company anything. Again, please
accept our apologies and please do not let this reflect on our company. If
there is anything we can do, please feel free to call me.

Thank you

 

*****

Consumer Response:
I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Thank you!

12/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Summary: Total Temperature Control was unable to resolve a problem with my heating system after repeated attempts. it was later found (by another service company) that the technician from total temperature systems installed the incorrect part. Total temperature control also took days/weeks to source parts that were readily available from local suppliers, missed several repair appointments forcing me to use expensive backup electric heat. Detailed Event Timeline 11/24/13 - Confirmed OEM part is working as expected, no additional heating system failures since replacement w/correct OEM part. 11/15/13 - Called for service from another heating vendor. diagnosis is universal pressure switch incorrect for application (was multi-port design, when system OEM was single port). Suggested replacing universal switch w/OEM. Sourced OEM replacement part from local supplier, retrieved part and installed in less than 1 hour. 11/15/13 - called service department on timing of install, wrong parts ordered, will be another week for parts. still relying on expensive, backup electric heat. 11/12/13 - called to confirm parts ordered and to be installed on 11/15. parts on order, will be ready for install. 11/7/13 - heating system not providing heat again. called service, asked parts be ordered. 11/4/13 - heating system not providing heat again, service call. Technician diagnose that fan has corrosion, cleaned. if problem continues fan would need to be replaced. 11/2/13 - heating system not providing heat again, same intermittent issue as before. Technician confirmed universal pressure switch needed to be adjusted further. Back to using electric backup heaters. 11/1/13 - $199 paid for service, check #***. Universal pressure switch installed as OEM part not available. 10/31/13 - called to confirm repair time window told technician was on another job and would not make agreed appointment, scheduled for next day. Heating system totally unusable at this point, using backup electric heaters. 10/29/13 - check #***, $154 for initial service call, parts ordered. Initial diagnosis was pressure switch failure. indicated parts had to be ordered, not available local. 10/31 target date for part replacement. 10/28/13 - Heating system not providing heat, call for service raised

Desired Settlement: A full refund of all charges (labor and parts) related to incompetent technicians and unsuccessful repair attempts in the form of a check for $353.

Business Response: Dear ******* and ******: I just received your note on the Better BusinessBureau.  I would like to apologize forany inconvenience you incurred and remind you of our 100% satisfactoryguarantee. I do wish you contacted me to let me know of yourconcern.  My technician tired to get theOEM part but it was not in stock. However it was due to arrive veryshortly.  This is a control we usuallycarry in stock. We had recently replaced several of them and ran out due to thereason of the weather change. The universal replacement part was provided to us by the *****/******** Standard representative. We were set up to return to your home along wit the direct factoryreplacement part that had come in. However you cancelled the call. I understand your frustration.  You have helped us to understand the need tohave that part in stock at all times. I have purchased 12 OEM pressure switchesto have in stock at our shop and in each truck. I have also contacted all our most common vendors and had them compile alist of all common parts we use to increase our inventory to better serve ourcustomers. We work very hard to maintain our valued customer’s heat.  I take full responsibility for not having thepart in stock and be reassured your full refund will be sent to you.  We thank you for your criticism and havelearned to a way to better our company. I know we can’t carry every part, but wewill concentrate on as many common parts as possible.  We would also like to provide you with a nextspring preventative maintenance at no charge for your inconvenience. 

Respectfully Yours,
**** ** *********
President

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

9/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct 18, 2012, I purchased a ******* rooftop HVAC unit, model ************ to replace a unit that had failed due to age. The total cost of the replacement was $7800.00. During the subsequent winter, the heat function worked fine, but beginning in June of 2013, the beginning of the cooling season, the AC has not functioned properly, if at all. When it became apparent the unit was not functioning, I immediately called the company to have the problem corrected. A service tech was sent out, and after much back and forth, they informed me they thought there was a problem with the ducting in the unit, which makes no sense, since the old unit functioned perfectly, as does every other unit in the building, including two that were replaced by a different company at the same time as mine. Subsequent to that, they said they were going to install a device that should fix the problem. To date they have not done so, nor have they responded to my numerous requests for assistance. On July 15th, 2013, I left the area for a vacation. Since there was no one available to give access, no action was taken until I returned on August 15th. Since August 15th, I have contacted the company eight times to attempt to get them to correct the problem, the last time being at 10:00AM on September 13th, today's date. I was told the individual handling the matter, ****, was on another line and would call me right back as soon as he was done with his call. As of this time, 1:15PM, he still has not done so. In fact, on all other occasions that I have contacted them, they have promised to get back to me that day, and as yet they have not done so even one time. It appears they have no plans at all to insure that I am provided with a properly functioning unit, and have been ignoring my attempts to get the problem fixed. I have had to purchase and install a window unit to make conditions inside the condo unit even bearable, since it is a west facing unit and gets full afternoon sun. There have been occasions when temperatures have reached 85 degrees inside the unit.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund or Appropriate Repair

Business Response: We are sorry that Mr. ***** ***** is having a problem with his unit, manufactured by ******* and installed by Total Temperature Control.  We service the building and many of Mr. *****’s neighbors.  We have discovered a trend of many of the heat exchangers failing on existing units.  We have replaced several units on the site without any problems.  A problem was detected during the summer. There was no problem noted during the winter on Mr. *****’s unit.  It was installed on 10/19/2012.  We quickly dispatched a service tech.  The tech detected a restriction of return air.  Tried to trace the return duct work, however the majority of the duct work is un-accessible.  We talked to ******* and they recommended a remedy.  We are to add a ******* ************** to maintain the proper return air.  

We called Mr. ***** and notified him of the requirements and order the parts.  Mr. ***** said he was taking an extended vacation and will call us when he returns.  We ordered the ******* part and will have it in stock.  Mr. ***** called on Friday September 13th, 2013. We set an appointment to install the part at Mr. ***** convenience on Thursday September 16th, 2013. Both ******* and Total Temperature Control felt convinced this would resolve the problem.  This part was ordered on July 2nd, 2013, we received it on July 16th, 2013.  We had the part on hold awaiting Mr. ***** to return and notify us of service.  Mr. ***** has not been charged for any service calls and we are very sorry the confusion and inconvenience of not knowing when he was back from vacation. We are very happy to install the parts to resolve Mr. ***** problem.  Our office is only approximately ¼ mile from the site.  We are at the office from 7AM to 4:30PM. The 1st recorded call we have on our record is Thursday Sept 12th, 2013 when he was back from vacation.  We called back on September 13th, 2013 and set up an appointment. We have never avoided Mr. *****, not showing up or questioned his problem.  We were just waiting for access. His vacation return date was not revealed to us so we were just waiting for contact. We are confident that out situation will work even after talking to Mr. ***** on Thursday. We don’t understand what occurred within the process since all seemed fine.  We are always trying to improve our service. So all, criticism is important learning experience.  We will now always schedule calls in advance of returning from vacation to be better prepared for our clients.