Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fireman's Fuel

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 339-3302 Fax: (781) 224-4178 924 Main St, Wakefield, MA 01880 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


First Energy Heating & Cooling, Inc., also doing business as Fireman's Fuel is a residential and commercial oil delivery business.  The business services include but are not limited to repair and installation of oil burners, boilers and hot air furnaces, hot water heaters and oil tanks, installation and repairs on air conditioning systems and more.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fireman's Fuel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews on Fireman's Fuel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 08, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1980 in MA Business incorporated 10/28/2005 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
The number is BU-144969.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Lauren Rotondo, President Mr. William Adreani, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lauren Rotondo, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Products & Services

Fireman's Fuel sells the following brand(s): Beckett, Buderus, Buderus, Reillo, Roth , Salais, Trio

Fireman's Fuel offers the following product(s): Boilers, Heating Oil, heating oil, Hot Air Furnaces, Oil Burners, Oil Tanks

Method(s) of Payment
Cashiers Check
Money Order
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Online Payment
Refund and Exchange Policy
First Energy Heating and Cooling offers no return, refund or exchange policy.
Service Area
Alternate Business Names
First Energy Heating and Cooling, Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fireman's Fuel has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 924 Main St

    Wakefield, MA 01880 (800) 339-3302

  • PO Box 761036

    Melrose, MA 02176


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/26/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a loyal customer for over 5 years so I trusted the information one of the owners of the company told me when I had an emergency service call to replace my leaking indirect water heater. I was SO over charged for this service and after said owner screamed at me over the phone when I questioned his integrity I immediately canceled my service (in writing). Two weeks later I was at home when I heard someone trying to fill my oil tank so a went out and stopped him and told him I did not order any oil from this company and asked him to stop filling the tank. He delivered 29 gallons of oil before I could stop the delivery. Now I am getting billed for the oil (I DID NOT ORDER) so I contacted the Massachusetts attorney general's office and filed a complaint. I have an email from them that states the owner (**) is not billing me however every month I get a bill and now they are charging interest. Keep in mind I NEVER ordered an oil delivery and I had canceled my account in writing two full weeks before the delivery. I have contacted Fireman's fuel and I was told that only an owner can cancel an un paid bill. but the owner (BS) is ignoring me. I did NOT order this oil and I should not have to pay for it!

Desired Settlement: Stop billing me for oil I did not order.

Business Response: All taken care of

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** ******

1/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: To the Manager: A few months ago I ordered oil from your company for the first time. I called in and spoke with *****. I was not familar with COD deliveries. I asked how to pay for the oil with COD, if that meant cash or check. She told me she could run a debit card. I told her I wanted my card run on Friday, and she told me they could delivery the oil that day as well. I told her I didn't want the card run until Friday as my husband and I have direct deposit, and the funds would not be available until Friday. She said no problem. The card was run on Friday approx 8:30 a.m., and I received oil about 10 a.m. Last week I had a 1/4 tank oil, and decided to call and order 100 gallons of oil. I called on Wed Oct. 30th in the afternoon and spoke with *****. I told her I would like to order 100 gallons of oil to be paid for on Friday Nov. 1st. She told me the oil could be delivered that day as well. I told her I did not want the card run until Friday Nov. 1st, and she said no problem. She took my name and address, asked me if I wanted to use the card on file, read me the last 4 digits of the acount, I confirmed the account number, and she told me I was all set. I then again told her the card could not be run until Friday, and added that our direct deposit doesn't go in until Friday and the money will not be there. She again said no problem. If she told me they would have to run the card on Thursday for a Friday delivery, I would have said run the card on Friday and deliver the oil on Mon or Tues. If she told me they can not take an order without running the card, I would have said fine and called back of Friday. Friday morning I looked at my checking account and see the oil company ran the card on Thursday 10/31, and now I am overdrawn. I called my bank, and they told me I would see $175 in overdraft fees hit my account that day. I asked if I put a stop payment if it would help, and they told me no because it was run as a direct debit. The bank manager also told me that a company can not run your card at their discretion, that it must be authorized. If I clearly stated I did not want my card to be run until Friday Nov. 1st they legally have no right to run it sooner. 1st call Friday 11/1 8:30 a.m. - I spoke with an older woman who told me there was no one in the office until noon that could help me. 2nd call Friday 11/1 12:30 p.m. - I spoke with the same older woman, and she told me she was instructed to not discuss this any further with me, if I have any proof of my issue to fax it to the office, and that someone could speak with me later in the day. When I asked if there was anyone from billing etc, she told me everyone was out doing service calls and would not be back until later. I immediately faxed my checking account detailing the issue with both the banks and my names and phone numbers. 3rd call Friday 11/1 4:20 p.m. - I spoke with ****. I gave him the short version of my issue, and he responded with additional info. He told me one of the owners had had a heart attack yesterday 10/31, was actually having open heart surgery today (11/1), and everyone was at the hospital. He said it is normal procedure to run the credit cards in the morning, but one of the managers knowing they were going to be at the hospital all day on 11/1 must have run the cards the night before. 4th call Saturday 11/2 10:30 a.m. - I spoke with ****. He seemed flustered, told me everyone was at the hospital, and he could call them there. I told him by all means I didn't want him to bother the family at the hospital when they are worried about their loved one, but there must be someone that will be in the office by Monday or Tuesday to handle billing issues. He told me the company is still running with the owner in the hospital, the owner would not be back for a long time, and the manager would have to get approval from the owner to address my situation. 5th call Monday 11/4 12:30 p.m. - I spoke with the older woman again. She told me someone would be in the office later that day and would call me to address the matter. 6th call Monday 11/4 4:10 p.m. - I spoke with ****. He told me no one was in the office, but someone would call me back later that day. 7th call Tuesday 11/5 2:45 p.m. - I spoke with *****. I reviewed the conversation I had with her last Wednesday, and told her what had happened. She asked me if I called my bank, and I told her the above response. She said once she takes the order running the debit card is out of her hands. Who or whenever they get run changes and could be at any time. I asked if I asked her not to run the card until Friday why she didn't tell me she has no control over when they get run. She said she really didn't remember talking to me. I told her I had a problem with that since I specificlly stated the importance of not running the card until Friday twice while speaking with her. She said she talks to a lot of people each day, and many tell her not to run their cards until specific times. She can't remember which call I was. So then I said if a customer tells you not to run their card until a specific day, do you just say sure, and then ignore them? She said no, she notes the account. I explained to her that I had been trying to get someone to speak to me for days now. That I was disappointed because I liked this company, but I feel I'm getting the run around. I would continue to call. I then sent an email detailing my issue to the company. 8th call Wednesday 11/6 2:30 p.m. - I spoke with *****. She told me no one was in the office to speak with me, she had forwarded my email to the manager and someone would get back to me. 9th call Thursday 11/7 3:15 and 3:45 p.m. - no one picked up the phone 10th call Friday 11/8 9:00 a.m. - I spoke with the older woman again. She told me she would give the manager the message. She called me Mrs. ******** so was aware who I was without me stating my name. I clearly stated the authorizaton to run my card was not until Friday 11/1. Either ***** did not note the account, or the manager disregarded the note. Either way it is misconduct of the company. No one has called back to address the matter.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $175.00

Business Response: It is our normal procedure to run a credit card the night before an oil delivery.  If the credit card does not get approved this gives the staff enough time to call the customer and inform them of this problem and gives the customer the option of another form of payment.  During the coldest months this quite possibly could save a customer from running out of oil and heat had we waited.  If we do not have payment, the customer does not get their delivery.  Also credit cards are run the night before because the drivers take their routes (delivery tickets) for the next day the night before.  ****** was courteous enough to bend the rule for Ms. ******** on her first oil delivery.   We try to be as accomodating as possible.  We realize heating oil is expensive -  even at the deeply discounted prices we offer.  The second delivery was processed with the usual procedure of running the credit card the night before.  
Unfortunately it just goes to show:  No good deed goes unpunished.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

This is rediculous. Finally a response. No good deed for running my card when it was not authorized. ****** should have said no Mrs. ******** we can not wait to run your card until Friday, and I would have said fine I'll call back on Friday. She agreed completely that she understood the card could not be run until Friday. She didnt say it was a one time courtesy. She stated no problem. I did not need a courtesty. I wasn't out of oil. If she was going to run the card on Thursday then when I said I didn't want the card run until Friday, she should have said no . . the normal policy is to run the card the night before. In addition your other employees already stated it is normal procedure to run the cards in the morning which was consistent with my first delivery. I find it pitiful that after all my phone calls not one could be returned in a weeks time. The facts are the normal procedures were not run due to your company family emergency, and now you are trying to cover it up. I do not accept this response. It is a lie, absolutely no need or discussion of a courtesty happened. I was not in need of a courtesty! Again I reject this response as complete untruth.

Business Response: Please see previous response.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I again state, the first time I ordered oil I order COD for a Friday, a few months back. I spoke with ******, and as I was unfamilar with COD procedures, I asked if I pay in cash or check. ****** stated she could run a credit or debit card. I stated I did not want my card run until Friday. She stated no problem, the card would be run in the a.m. She did not state this as a courtesty. She did not state that this was not company policy, and she did not state that she was bending any "rules".  The card was run at 8:30 a.m., and oil delivery at 10.     

The second time I ordered oil I again spoke with ******. I called on Wednesday 10/30 and told her I would like to order oil to be paid for on Friday 11/1. She stated the oil could be delivered that day as well. I stated the card could not be run until Friday as the funds would not be available. She deteremined the delivery date, and she stated no problem. She did not state this was a courtesy, or a bending of the "rules". She did have the opportunity to tell me she could not schedule a delivery until Mon or Tues, but she did not. I was in no rush or need for a courtesy.  The last thing I said to her before we got off the phone was again the card could not be run until Friday, and she agreed.     

As for Mrs. *******'s response. When I spoke with ****** on Tues Nov 5th she didn't remember speaking with me the prior Wednesday. She stated she speaks to lots of people each day who want their cards run on different days, and she really didn't remember speaking with me. If so how does she remember doing me a courtesy. Maybe she has me confused with a different customer? And as far as running debit or credit cards the night before as the only way to pull a  delivery ticket that was not consistent with my first delivery. In addition I could have paid cash at my door the day of delivery, and a ticket would have been issued.       

I am requesting my $175 refunded, and my credit card info removed from their system. Fireman's Fuel falls very short of the standard of the BBB due to the following: -Tell the truth - ****** and Mrs. ******* completely lying about our conversations, and fabricating a story -Be transparent - "clearly disclose all policies" - ****** did not state on either occasion company policies. She determined the delivery date. She did not state bending the "rules", or deviating from company policy. I told her when I wanted to pay, and she told me when they would deliver. She had much opportunity to tell me the company needed a day prior for payment, and I would have gladly had my delivery on Mon or Tues., but she did not. -Honor promises - FF did not "abide by all written agreements and verbal representations". They did not honor my verbal approval to run my card on 11/1 as promised. -Be responsive - FF did not "address marketplace disputes quickly, professionally and in good faith". I called for 8 consecutive days, left 8 messages with representatives, 1 email which ****** confirmed forwarding to the owner, with not one response. I do have each of our 8 phone calls detailed included who I spoke with and when, including **** stating it is normal policy to run cards in the morning(which was consistent with my first delivery), but due to the owners heart attack someone running them the night before, and ****** first remembering our conversation and then suddenly forgetting it within minutes. I needed to go to BBB to prompt a response. -Safeguard privacy - FF did not "respect the preferences of customers regarding the use of their information".  I clearly approved and requested my credit card to be run no earlier than 11/1 and they ran it on 10/31. If they could not respect my preference/approval they only needed to say so and we could have changed the delivery date. -Embody Integrity - FF has not shown integrity by fabricating a story or courtesy to cover up their mistake and ignoring my phone calls/email. I am requesting my $175 refunded, and my credit card info removed from Firemans' Fuel system. FF has fallen short of not 1 or 2 of your standards, but many. In viewing the previous BBB complaints against FF there is a common thread. A major complaint is they run credit cards without approval. It is easy to see how the complaintants become extremely frustrated as the next most common thread is FF fuel lies about their interactions with their customers. No where have any mentioned misunderstandings, they all mention lies. As in my case they have thrown out this complete lie, fabrication of serving me a courtesty.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

4 Customer Reviews on Fireman's Fuel
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart