Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cooling Unlimited, Inc.

Phone: (888) 852-2665 Fax: (781) 942-3800 565 Main St, Reading, MA 01867 http://www.coolingunlimited.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Cooling Unlimited, Inc. specializes in sales, service, installation, and 24 hour 7 days a week Emergency Response Services to residential, commercial, and new construction customers. Services include service and repair of all makes and models, financing programs, extended warranties, service plans, and preventative maintenance agreements.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cooling Unlimited, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cooling Unlimited, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cooling Unlimited, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1985 in MA Business incorporated 01/01/1986 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is BU-029591.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is PJ-030058.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.state.ma.us/eops
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is RT-012726.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dennis J. Frazier, President Ms. Meghan Frazier, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis J. Frazier, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Meghan Frazier, Marketing Director
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS GAS FITTERS AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS HEATING SPECIALTIES HEATING EQUIP. & SYSTEMS WATER HEATERS-DEALERS AIR CONDITIONING EQUIPMENT & SYSTEMS-REPAIRING AIR CLEANING & PURIFYING EQUIPMENT AIR CONDITIONING SYSTEMS-CLEANING FURNACES-HEATING BOILERS-REPAIRING & CLEANING DUCT & DUCT FITTINGS HEAT PUMPS VENTILATING CONTRACTORS GEOTHERMAL HEATING & COOLING AIR QUALITY TESTING WATER HEATERS-REPAIRING SOLAR ENERGY SYSTEM DESIGN & INSTALLATION HEAT EXCHANGERS AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR FURNACE SALES & SERVICE BATHROOM REMODELING PLUMBING, DRAIN & SEWER CLEANING BATHTUBS & SINKS-REPAIRING & REFINISHING RESIDENTIAL & LIGHT COMMERCIAL HVAC SERVICE KITCHEN & BATH - DESIGN & REMODELING PLUMBING - RENOVATION & REPAIR PLUMBING CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL & COMMERCIAL PIPE FITTINGS OIL BURNERS-SERVICING All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Cooling Unlimited, Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Aprilaire, Bryant, Burnham, Carrier, Lennox, Lochinvar, Unico

Cooling Unlimited, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Handlers, Boilers, Coils, Condensers, Furnaces, Heat Pumps, Water Heaters

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
H: Closed
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Check
MasterCard
Visa
Discover
Service Area
Cooling Unlimited, Inc. provides their services in MASSACHUSETTS & NEW HAMPSHIRE.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Buying a Swimming Pool Finding a Reliable Plumber - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring a Plumber Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Hiring an Oil Supplier Hiring an Oil Supplier - 5 Tips - Video Read Before You Sign Solar Panels Solar Panels - 5 Tips - Video

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cooling Unlimited, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had central A/C installed in my house by Cooling Unlimited on 07/12/2013 and in the contract I was promised rebates in the amount of $1750 but so far I have only received $300. From day one I was told by the Cooling Unlimited that they will handle all the paperwork for the rebates and I don't have to worry about but after 3 months waiting for nothing I am still not getting much response from the Cooling Unlimited. At first they were saying that they will mail me the difference in check and also I will receive a package to complete and to mail out by myself to get the rest of the rebates, but few days later they started with different story of something happened to the manufacturer rebates and they were trying to deal with them to get the rebates. I am not happy because they are not honoring the contract and also they really don't care about the consumer, They don't reply your e-mails or phones and no one cares to explain to you what is really going on. I don't think they should carry the BBB logo at all.

Desired Settlement: Get the rebates that I was promised.

Business Response:

On October 23, 2013, we mailed out a package to **** with the rebate paperwork and a check for $ 500.00 which made up the difference in the rebates that **** didn’t receive. I spoke to **** multiple times throughout the month of September explaining that we ran into an issue when doing his rebate paperwork and that we had to go directly to the manufacturer in order to get the issue resolved. I apologized to him for the delay on getting his paperwork to him and explained that I would get back to him as soon as I had an update on the situation. When I finally got things resolved with the manufacturer, I mailed out his package right away. I had no idea that **** was so unhappy with our company as I tried my hardest to keep the communication going with him as to make sure he understood the situation and that I was working on it. **** did not mention his unhappiness to me or anyone else here. And, if he had directly contacted us regarding this then I could have solved it right then and there and addressed the issues directly at that point. As I tried my hardest to get the rebate situation resolved quickly, it was out of my hands when I started having to wait on our rep and then the manufacturer directly. I have since spoken to **** and he has received the package and everything has been resolved. 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

3/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My purpose in hiring Cooling Unlimited was to have a 21century heating and cooling system,updating a heating system designed in 1943 which used a 100,000btu furnace and a 1981 addition of two rooms, a main floor sun room with a sliding door to the pool and a master bedroom above an attached two car garage. Both rooms were added to the existing furnace, the master bedroom never received adequate heat and was disconnected , a 30,000btu gas wall heater was installed, we also found the sun room lacking heat and installed an 18,000btu gas wall heater leaving the two floor registers connected to the furnace. Also heating of the finished basement and work shop was not adequate and a central air conditioning system was a requirement . All of these concerns were told to Mr ***** ****** and he assured me all would be addressed. Mr ****** planned to reconnect the new furnace to the long disconnected master bedroom duct work and use larger feeding tubes to the existing ducts feeding the sun room . The basement would be addressed by using two take offs from the main duct, he assured me by using a larger 120,000btu furnace and heat pump and adding a second main duct it would more than satisfy my heating and cooling needs , it has not. We have a garrison style house of 8 rooms ,four bedrooms upstairs and four rooms plus 1/2 bath and laundry, on the main floor ,a finished basement and work shop. A manual j load calculation of heating and cooling needed, was 'not ' done prior to this installation which is a standard industry practice which I knew nothing about. Only after our complaints that we lacked cooling this past summer, both the master bedroom and the main floor sun room, received little to no air volume .Now they performed a manual j calculation to verify the system installed was the correct size.Today being in the heating season we lack heat in the same two rooms and also our basement,we are now using electric heaters to equalize room temperatures. When the thermostat reads 73 the sun room is 60 and master bedroom is 58degrees. Mr ******* states I have refused to allow his company to rectify deficiencies, of work performed, after two tries and a third was offered, I declined any further attempts on their part .The system as first installed in June was deemed completed , it left the master bedroom warm at 80 and the sun room at 77degrees when the thermostat read 70. A second attempt to correct this was changing a main duct attached to a duct of equal size from a tee to a y branch design ,and adding poorly attached baffles which today vibrate and cause noise , this correction did not improve in the slightest air flow. A third attempt was to have a chase opened in the wall from the basement to the second floor and they would add duct work creating a return on the second floor where non existed, it would remove the warm air in summer and cold air in winter. This would be done at added cost because it was my fault , I should have stated there were no returns on the second floor. Another option again at added cost was to add a small furnace and ac in the garage to service the master bedroom and relieve the basement furnace to service the sun room. All these changes yet the manual J performed after installation of the system showed it was adequate to do the entire house It was now obvious to me the wrong solutions were being proposed . Through many inquires I was led to the ****** ****** sheet metal co ****** Ma, in business since 1925. They took the time and inspected my new heating system ,they found many concerns including, twisted, crushed and misaligned flex tubes , improper take offs creating lack of air flow. The lack of a correctly sized plenum , with only one of two main ducts directly attached to the plenum. The second main duct is attached directly to the side of the first duct compromising air volume in both ducts. I quote directly from the inspection report " After carefully assessing the existing situation with duct work and equipment, we have arrived to the conclusion that though the original branch lines that service the original section section of your home may have been somewhat adequate for heat , they are not adequate enough for air conditioning . And when the additions were added, the duct work that was installed to service each side addition is not adequate for either addition. When the new existing 96% ******* furnace and 4 ton heat pump was installed, the manner in which the equipment and duct work was installed is a very shoddy and unprofessional manner. Now neither of the additions and some of the main house do not receive adequate amount of air flow" . The manual J calculation performed by the ****** Sheet Metal Co based on proper measurements and windows determined an attic furnace with ac of 60,000btu and a main level and basement furnace and ac of 80,000btu as being the required system for my house. A total of 140,000btu not 120,000btu which was installed. Presently the house is using the same 1943 and 1981 duct work throughout which is unwrapped and was never designed for cold air .The ****** design eliminates all use of the old duct work and flex tubes and uses only metal duct work fully insulated. , The present system is not adequate for this multi level house ,nor can comfort in heating or cooling be achieved,it was poorly planned and crafted . I have spent hours taking pictures and writing e mails to the heat loan program *** ***** and ******* ******* and also to Mr ******* documenting the quality of work performed ,beginning with the furnace which is out of level pitched to the rear not allowing the condensate d water to drain fully from the front tap , pooling water which eventually can create odor and bacteria. The furnace is also out of square requiring a mallet and wood block to attach both access doors to line up and latch. Mr *******'s response to most of my concerns was no response or to blame me. He said I told them where to place the furnace ,its my fault the plenum was under sized and could not fit and made to accommodate attaching the two main ducts directly to the plenum , its my fault that they, were not aware of any air returns on the second floor , which is given as the reason for poor cooling this past summer.On another e mail I questioned a return vent installed in the work shop where power tools and painting projects are done, his response was there were no visible power tools and would not create any concern. I have a bench grinder located two feet from the vent ,it has been there for 10 tears in plain sight , also many paints located on an open shelf and of course I have many power tools enclosed in a series of wall cabinets. Mr ******* e mailed ******* ******* on 12-08-12 stating my prior e mail was far from the truth , he rejects the inspection conclusion of the ****** ****** Sheet Metal Co because he is not familiar with the company . He need only call ******* Corp to find out they are a preferred vendor of ******* product. I did not have the experience or knowledge to create this problem , I believed I was entrusting Cooling Unlimited to solve my problem. The old system heated the house to a greater degree of comfort than I have today, the main effort of Cooling Unlimited besides heat was to add air conditioning by examining the 1942 system and 1981 addition with wall heaters and create a 21century system. The reason for my choice of Cooling Unlimited was based solely on the high BBB rating ,I now ask for your help in this matter

Desired Settlement: My e mail of November 14-2012 to Mr ******* answering his 11 questions ended with a preference to have all equipment and duct work supplied, to be removed. Mr ******* did not respond to my November 14 e mail, it seemed unlikely he would remove the system . So on November 27, I went directly to the ****** Sheet Metal Co and asked if a design was possible ,keeping the heat pump and furnace? On November 29, I received an e mail from ****** stating it was possible if the coil size was reduced to a 3 ton and all duct work was removed as to the original plan , any excess air flow would be sent to the master bedroom so that the system would not over cycle, it was over sized for its now reduced footprint . Cooling Unlimited received a down payment, I would need to purchase a 3 ton coil , Mr ******* would keep the deposit and the system would be completed by ******.

Business Response: Mr. **** ****** called our office on April 26, 2012 and requested an appointment for one of our sales reps to come out and provide him with an estimate on replacing his existing gas furnace and adding a central air system.  We scheduled his estimate for May 2, 2012 with one of our sales reps, who provided him with the estimate he had requested. Once our sales rep had looked at Mr. ******’s house during our initial estimate he had provided a manual j calculation, which was then sent to Mass Save so that the customer could get a loan through the Mass Save program.

During our initial estimate, Mr. ****** had explained to our sales rep that he didn’t get good airflow to his master bedroom. As a result, we suggested that we increase the feed going to the master bedroom on its own duct run off of the furnace as a way to increase the supply going to the master bedroom. Mr. ****** also led us to believe that he had returns that were operating on the second floor of his home. During this time, the homeowner had also mentioned to our sales rep that he had two other companies give him quotes for the job. These quotes were for installing two separate systems in Mr. ******’s home and they were for $ 10,000 more. As a result, he went with our quote for a one zone system due to cost.

Upon installation of the system, Mr. ****** had said that he still wasn’t getting enough airflow to his master bedroom. At this point, he had requested that ******* come out to look at his system. So, we setup a time for ******* to go out and evaluate his system as well as the installation of it. Upon completion of this, ******* wrote a letter stating that everything was fine and working good.

At this point, Mr. ****** was still not happy. As a result, we setup a time for ****** to go out and evaluate the system and see what we can do to resolve any of his concerns. Upon looking at Mr. ******’s home, ****** found that **** ****** had two existing duct lines that went to his master bedroom that were half the size they were supposed to be and that were inaccessible. These existing lines were from the original installation of his heating system and were hidden behind the walls and ceilings in his home. He also found that we tied into a system where the returns on the 2nd floor were never connected to anything.

****** made various recommendations to resolve Mr. ******’s concerns and to improve the airflow of his system. We recommended we replace the existing lines but the homeowner did not want to do this as we would’ve had to open up walls to complete this task. ****** also offered to add a return to the second floor. ****** made some other suggestions, at no cost to the homeowner, but **** ****** wanted nothing to do with any of them. We even scheduled our technicians to go out to his home to do whatever we needed to do to resolve **** ******’s concerns and make the system satisfactory on his part. However, the homeowner ended up cancelling on us and wouldn’t allow us to come back out to his home.

In the meantime, **** had been getting advice from someone else whether it was another company or a family member who said he should have two systems installed in his house. At that point, he stopped us from going out to resolve any issues, at which we feel we could’ve readily resolved for him. Rather, he has now become insistent on having two systems installed in his home when we believe one system, with the proper adjustments made, would work perfectly fine.

We have tried countless times to resolve this situation with **** ******. We have offered to come out and do certain things to get his system more satisfactory to him. We have even offered **** ****** more than $ 5,000.00 off of the total cost of the job to put towards a second system but he has elected not to do that. We have been in business for over 27 years and have never encountered such a problem as this one. **** ****** has made it very difficult for us to resolve this situation, as he refuses to compromise on anything with us. 


Consumer Response: Answer to complaint
The system provided did not achieve my expectations or desired level of comfort, thus a conflict of how to resolve this issue resulted. Although I was adamant as to the proper solution to improving the system, I was non the less treated with respect by Mr *******, he remained reasonable and never raised our disagreement to the status of legal action, and for that I am thankful. Although we agreed to disagree we maintained communication, trying to resolve issues and finally came to a compromise which allowed both parties to part on fair terms .