Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning

Phone: (508) 883-1083 View Additional Phone Numbers 23 Highridge Rd, Bellingham, MA 02019 http://www.baystateheatingandair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning specializes in installation, service, and repair of air conditioning and heating units, boilers, oil burners, and ventilation systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

30 Customer Reviews on Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 30
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 30

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1990 in MA Business incorporated 09/11/2012 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure
1000 Washington Street, Suite 710, Boston MA 02118
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/government/oca-agencies/dpl-lp/
Phone Number: (617) 727-3074 or TTY: (617) 727-2099
Fax Number: (617) 727-1944
The number is BU-030482.

Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security
One Ashburton Place, Boston MA 02108
http://www.mass.gov/eopss/
Phone Number: (617) 727-7775 or TTY: (617) 727-6618
Fax Number: 617-727-4764
DPSInfo@state.ma.us
The number is RT-017439.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. James Kazijian, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Kazijian, Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

HEATING CONTRACTORS AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL MECHANICAL CONTRACTORS-RESIDENTIAL SHEET METAL WORK HVAC AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning sells the following brand(s): Amana , American Standard, Goodman, Trane , Utica Boilers , Viessmann

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning provides their services in ASHLAND, BOSTON, BROOKLINE, CONCORD, FAYVILLE, FRAMINGHAM, HOLLISTON, HOPKINTON, JAMAICA PLAIN, LEXINGTON, NATICK, NEWTON, SHERBORN, SOUTHBOROUGH, SUDBURY, WAYLAND, WELLESLEY, WEST ROXBURY, WESTON & WESTWOOD, MA.
Alternate Business Names
Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning Inc.
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Heating Contractor - 5 Tips - Video Heating Contractors Hiring an Air Conditioning Contractor Read Before You Sign Saving Money on Heating & Cooling

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 23 Highridge Rd

    Bellingham, MA 02019 (508) 883-1083 (508) 596-2597

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Through Bay State Heating and Cooling, I have purchase three full furnace and air conditioning units and a new damper system for my home all with 10 years parts (with manufacturer through Bay State Heating and Cooling) and services (with Bay State Heating and Cooling). I have spent over $22,000 with the company. My first experience with *** was great. He was very responsive and really nice while working with my aging HVAC equipment. Once they were replaced, things changed. When he put in the damper and control unit, it never worked properly showing both heating and cooling lights and doing the opposite function in the two zones for the unit (hot and cold air). There were a few other issues including not putting a place for a filter in the air handler for one of the units. He wouldn't come to the home to even look at the issue/unit for 5 months. As you can imagine, our relationship degraded during this time as I became increasingly frustrated but I feel like I am being held hostage since he has guaranteed service repairs for 10 years - the sales pitch was that I would have the peace of mind not worrying about the units for the next decade. Now, the first floor unit it not working. The copper pipe outside and connecting to the air handler is iced up and after turning off (with fan on auto) for over 24 hours, it still iced up within 30 minutes of being turned on so now I need someone to look and see if there is a bigger issue. I have called and requested a repair and have heard nothing. I don't really know what to do since I am concerned he won't come and service the unit in a timely manner (did not return call today) and he was quite aggressive and not nice last year. I am a single mother and have to deal with the situation myself and am very intimidated about the situation.

Desired Settlement: I would like my unit repaired in a timely manner and not be worried that future repairs will be neglected or that he will be rude and angry when I contact him. I can't wait another four months. If *** doesn't want to honor the service agreement he provided, then perhaps he can find a positive solution either through an associate company that I can use for repairs or an agreement to cover the costs if I use another service provide. Ten years is a long time to deal with this situation.

1/23/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We signed a contract with Baystate Heating and Air Conditioning, MA License # ******, **********, MA, ************ Office, ************ Cell, to have that firm install a new heating system in our house at *** **** ****** ****, *******, MA *****. As requested, we paid for the new heating system in July of 2014, in advance of any work being done, and in advance of any equipment being delivered. To date, no work has been done, and no equipment has been delivered. In mid-September 2014, the firm gave us a scheduled date of October 13 and 14 for installing the new heating system. However, they did not show up to do the work that week, and there was no call from the firm with any update or explanation. I subsequently began following up with regular phone messages to the firm's owner to attempt to reschedule the work. I left several phone messages. However, unlike the pattern of your quickly responding to my calls, which the firm's owner had done during the sales process prior to the contract being signed between us, I did not receive any response or any communication back. After numerous failed attempts to reach the firm's owner by phone to speak with him, he answered your cell phone on Oct 23, and I had the first opportunity to speak with him in several weeks at that time. During that conversation, the firm's owner indicated that we were "next on the list." He indicated that the work would likely start on Monday or Tuesday, Oct 27 or 28. He indicated that it "would definitley be" the following week, between Oct 27 and 31. I stressed the level of urgency for the heating system to be installed imminently, and I was assured me that it would. The week of Oct 27-Oct 31 came and went. No one from the firm showed up to do the work, as promised. They did not call. They did not answer or return my phone messages to them. This past weekend, Nov 1-2, outdoor temperatures were below freezing, and it snowed. I called the firm's owner on Saturday with "911" call to again stress the level of urgency that we need to have heat in our newly constructed kitchen. No return call since. In my vmail message to the firm's owner on Nov 1, I shared our ever-growing concern over the continued delays, and over the complete lack of communication from the firm. In my vmail message, I shared my perspective, based on the limited feedback that the firm's owner had provided when I have had the rare opportunity to get through to the owner "live" on his cell phone to speak with him, that it appears that their business might be "going like gang-busters" as the firm's owner told me, and that the firm might no longer have the bandwidth to do the work to fulfill their contractual obligation to us. In my message, I asked for the courtesy of a return call from the firm's owner to discuss this possibility, so that we could determine if this represented a good fit between us at this point, or not, given his firm's current excessive workload. To my disappointment, I have not received a return call. During my phone message to the firm's owner on Nov 1, I further indicated that it would be our strong preference to have the firm do the work as outlined in the contract. I further indicated that in order for that to happen at this point, however, that the work would need to be conducted in short order, and that my wife and I would get back to the firm shortly with a specific timeframe that the work would need to be completed in order for us to jointly proceed in line with the current contract between us. We provided that deadline date today by email, on Nov 3-- the work will need to start on or before Wednesday, Nov 5, and will need to be completed by the end of this week, Saturday, Nov 8, at 5PM, in order for us to proceed with the firm under the terms of the terms of the current contract. Based on input from contractors, and from our legal counsel, we are confortable and confident that these are fair and reasonable dates. In the event that these dates are not accommodated, we informed the firm's owner by email on Nov 3 that we will consider the current contract null and void, and funds will be due back to us within 24 hours. We stressed in our Nov 3 email to the firm's owner that we feel that we have fulfilled our obligations as customers. We believe that we have been accommodating, flexible, fair, and reasonable with respect to the planned schedule for the installation of the heating system. At this point, however, unless the heating system is installed on or before Saturday, Nov 8 at 5PM, we are left with no alternative but to cancel the contract, demand our money back within 24 hours, and hire an alternate contractor to complete the required heating system installation. When our email was sent today, Nov 3, to the email id info@baystateheatingandair.com listed on the firm's website www.baystateheatingandair.com the email kicked back to me with an error message indicating that this was not an operable email id. I subsequently forwarded my Nov 3 email to an alternate email id which I had used during the presale process to communicate with the firm's owner *********@*******.net and that email id also kicked back with an error message, indicating that it was not an operable email id. The firm's owner is ***** ********. Cell phone is ************ Office phone listed on the firm's website is **************

Desired Settlement: First Preference: Install heating system as contracted, as paid for, and as promised. Work to be completed on or before Saturday, Nov 8, at 5PM EST. Second Preference: Nullify the contract, and receive a full refund all funds paid for undeleivered equipment and for all unperformed work at the referenced property.

Business Response: The original contract agreed upon was for $28,000.00 plus changes and extras in the amount of $2000.00., and consisted of installing air-conditioning in the entire house with a total of two (2) systems. In addition, replacement of existing boiler was part of the original contract. The first system of air-conditioning was completed in July of 2014 and operating during construction at *** **** ****** ****. The second system was installed in the new kitchen in August of 2014, it consisted of a hydro-system that was fully operating except for heating equipment that was to be installed at the beginning of September per customer request. Removal of existing boiler and installation of new gas boiler was also scheduled for September.  Job was paid up for work previously done except for $2000.00 in extras. Homeowner postponed September start date for delayed construction in kitchen and lack of financial resources. Customer's start dates kept changing and his new dates were not good for us so he withdrew the contract. Customer's existing heating system was left intact and in working order per his request. The customer paid me for work previously done in the amount of $18,000.00; the remaining balance for job completion is $12,000.00 ($10,000.00 + $2000.00 extras on air-conditioning).  
   

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********


The business owner's response is not truthful, and not accurate.  Please see our Conumer Comments in line below.

Business Owner Comment: 
The original contract agreed upon was for $28,000.00 plus changes and extras in the amount of $2000.00., and consisted of installing air-conditioning
in the entire house with a total of two (2) systems.  

Consumer Reply:
The business owner’s comments are inaccurate and untrue. 
There is no contract in the amount of $28,000. 
There is no change order to any contract, in the amount of $2,000, or in any amount. 
We challenge the supplier to provide any contract in the amount of $28,000, or any approved contractual change order in the amount of $2,000, or
any amount.  Neither exists.
There was previous work done, under a separate contract, for implementation of a general central air system in the house, for $10,800.  That contract is not being disputed.  There was never any change order for $2,000, or for any amount, presented or agreed upon under that contract, or under any contract. 
Contract terms include the following clause:  “Any alteration or deviation from above specifications involving extra costs will be executed only upon written orders, and will
become an extra charge over and above the estimate.”  There was never any change order presented or approved.
Payment was made in full in the amount of $10,800 for the work on the prior contract.  Again, that contract is not disputed. 
Copy of the prior contract in the amount of $10,800 is available upon request.
Copies of processed checks, payable to and deposited by the supplier, totaling $10,800, are available upon request.



Business Owner Comment: 
In addition, replacement of existing boiler was part of the original contract.

Consumer Reply:
Not true.  Replacement of the existing boiling was part of the contract which is being disputed.  That contract is in the amount of $18,700.
Copy of the disputed contract, in the amount of $18,700, is available upon request.

Business Owner Comment: 

The first system of air-conditioning was completed in July of 2014 and operating during construction at *** **** ****** ****.

Consumer Reply:
Not relevant.  The prior contract is not part of the scope of this dispute. 
The work was completed, payment was made in full, and that work is not
being disputed. 

Business Owner Comment: 
The second system was installed in the new kitchen in August of 2014, it consisted of a hydro-system that was fully operating except for heating
equipment that was to be installed at the beginning of September per customer request.

Consumer Reply:
The hydro system, which is included as a small portion of the deliverables included in the disputed $18,700 contract, was installed in August of 2014.  The system was installed but never activated or tested by the supplier.
The supplier is untruthful in his assertion that we, the consumer, requested any delays in the implementation of the heating equipment.  We continually attempted to press him to complete the work as soon as possible.

Business Owner Comment: 
Removal of existing boiler and installation of new gas boiler was also scheduled for September.  Job was paid up for work previously done except for $2000.00 in extras. Homeowner postponed September start date for delayed construction in kitchen and lack of financial resources. Customer's start dates kept changing and his new dates were not good for us so he withdrew the contract. Customer's existing heating system was left intact and in working order per his request. The customer paid me for work previously done in the amount of $18,000.00; the remaining balance for job completion is $12,000.00 ($10,000.00 + $2000.00 extras on air-conditioning).  

Consumer Reply:
Not true.  Not accurate.
Supplier continually delayed the work, and then stopped communication.
We attempted to interact with the supplier by phone, text, and email over 55 times, pressing him to complete the work.  
We did not receive a single response or reply from him.  After contacting the supplier and the Better Business Bureau, another week passed without reply from the supplier.  It was at that time, in November, that we cancelled the contract with the supplier. 
Copies of phone, text, and email records are available upon request.

The financial summary provided by the supplier is not accurate.

We paid $10,800 for the work done under the prior contract.  Again, this is not within the scope of this dispute.  Copies of checks are available
upon request.

We paid an additional total of $11,000 toward the disputed ($18,700) contract.  Copies of checks are available upon request.  There was never any change order submitted or
approved.  The remaining balance for the job to be completed, per the contract, was $7,700.  ($18,700 amount of the disputed contract minus $11,000 already paid toward the disputed contract.)  Copy of the disputed contract is available upon request.  Copies of cleared checks, deposited by the supplier, are available upon request.

The supplier asserts that the remaining amount that we would have had to pay to have the job completed would be $12,000. 
This is not true, per the contract. 
This is also the first time that any of this information has been presented to us by the supplier, through his response to the Better Business
Bureau. 

The amount to complete the job under the terms of the disputed contract would be $7,700. 

Subsequent estimates that we have received indicate that the scope of the remaining work is actually in the range of $15,000 to $17,000.  This is the actual cost that we will need to incur to have the work completed by an alternate supplier. 

The supplier’s failure to deliver under the terms of the disputed contract will result in additional costs for us in the range of $7,300 - $9,300.


Regards,

****** *******

 

 

Business Response:

There are two (2) contracts that equal $29,500.00 in total for the same house and project to coincide with home renovations, but we agreed upon a final price of $28,000.00 for the job and they are on two (2) separate invoices; I have copies of these contracts.
The additional $2000.00 or “change order” the customer refers to are charges incurred for his request that we move the second AC ( previously installed kitchen unit) to the other side of the house and next to the main unit, the price includes re-piping, rewiring, and charging the system back up.
This extra charge was agreed upon verbally between me and the customer in the presence of my work crew, and I didn’t feel it was necessary to write the additional charge on a new contract; we were busy and I felt I could trust the customer to pay the additional charge for the additional work.
Work done on the kitchen was 70% complete including installation of hydro air-handler and all ductwork with insulation, installation of outdoor AC unit, all refrigeration piping and drains, as well as all electrical work for the entire system.  
Furthermore, there would have been additional charges for the job because the customer requested we add heat to the basement and a three season room attached to his home. 
Multiple attempts were made to accommodate this customer, but my work was delayed on several occasions due to numerous construction delays, and lack of financial resources on the part of the customer; he has been unwilling to work with me since September of 2014 and withdrew his contract in November 2014. 

4/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ******** put in an air conditioning system in August, 2011 with two large units. We live in the northeast so only use it in the summer. It worked for the end of 2011 and about half of 2012. In August of 2012, it stopped working. *** said the upstairs unit was leaking freon which he added. He said he could not find the leak. The unit worked for less time in 2013. This time when *** came he said the unit was leaking freon and the "office" (I think) unit needed to be replaced. He promised me that he would take care of it in the next few weeks, which was the late summer of 2013. Despite many polite conversations, and promises, *** ******** did not come in the summer or the fall. I started calling him again late Feb 2014, requesting that he fix the unit before April. Again *** promised he would com at the end of this week, then the following week, etc. Now that he has many new jobs, he has not returned my call. I need the new unit he promised, if he keeps delaying, the warranty will expire. was afraid to write earlier as I don't want him to do a poor job or do something to my house in revenge. I purchased two large units with complex duct work in late 2011, the AC system Baystate put in has never worked for a complete summer. It is now more than 2 years later.

Desired Settlement: *** promised a replacement more than 6 months ago. I want him to replace the defective unit, to make sure the other unit he put in works and to make sure the AC is working correctly. I would also like him to take could care of my house in the process and not cause additional damage. .


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

30 Customer Reviews on Bay State Heating & Air Conditioning
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart