BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

Fit World of Cranston

Phone: (401) 464-4055 Fax: (401) 464-4069 30 Kenney Drive, Cranston, RI 02920 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.fitworldri.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Fit World of Cranston/FitWorld LLC is a health club and gym offering personalized exercise programs, weight machines, cardio equipment, aerobics and Group exercise, cycling classes, cardio kick boxing, yoga, pilates, and health and wellness seminars. Saunas, spacious lockers, and babysitting services are included.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fit World of Cranston include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fit World of Cranston
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 26, 2009 Business started: 04/01/2008 in RI Business incorporated: 11/05/2007 in RI
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Ralph Pecchia, Assistant General Manager Ms. Cynthia Pena, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ralph Pecchia, Assistant General Manager
Principal: Ms. Cynthia Pena, General Manager
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

HEALTH CLUBS & GYMNASIUMS HEALTH & FITNESS PROGRAM CONSULTANTS Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers (NAICS: 713940)

Hours of Operation
M: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
T: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
W: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Th: 5:00 AM - 10:30 PM
F: 5:00 AM - 9:00 PM
S: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Su: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash
Personal Check
Business Check
Cashiers Check
Money Order
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Debit Card
Automatic Bank Withdrawal
Refund and Exchange Policy
10 day refund policy according to RI law.
Service Area
Fit World of Cranston provides their services in RHODE ISLAND.
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    30 Kenney Drive

    Cranston, RI 02920 (401) 464-4055

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I emailed the company to cancel my membership due to the fact I havent been to the gym in a very long time but never canceled the membership. I wanted to start saving money and figured why not stop something I never use. I emailed the company last week and recieved an email back stating they would contact me 24 to 72 hours about the cancelation. I checked my checking account this morning and saw I still got charged a fee of $25.00. When I called to have them remove the fee they stated they wouldnt because it was too late. They stated they wouldnt charge me the monthly fee of $29.00 but would not reverse the $25.00. I told them I would contact you and they said that they still wouldnt reverse the fee. I have not used any euipment in that gym in a long time and have been charged $29.00 a month for the past couple of years. I dont even remember the last time I even entered that building. I'm not asking for a refund for all the months I didnt go; I'm just asking for the $25.00 I was charged today.

Desired Settlement: I want $25.00 refunded to me as soon as possible.

Business Response:

Please be advised that due to the agreement terms clearly stated in the attached agreement, Ms. ****** initialed agreeing to the fact that she understood that she was responsible for payment of the enhancement fees. A letter (see attached) was sent to her address on ******** **, in ********, notifying her on November 7th informing them of the fees to be collected on January 1st. The terms on the agreement clearly state that if you wish not to be billed on the 1st of January you must request it by the 25th of the previous month. Attached you will find the original request for cancellation via email received on January 31st, which we were unable to process due to the offices being closed for the holiday through 1/2. We have since refunded the $25.00 enhancement fee in order to maintain our ingrity as a business, but we were in our right to collect our fees.
******* ****
General Manager
Fit World of Cranston
** ******* **
Cranston, ** *****
************ tel
************ fax

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: October 19, 2011 ******* ****







General Manager







Fit World of Cranston







** ****** *****







********* ** *****….







Dear Ms. ****To get to the point as clearly as possible, the matter at hand is regarding my repeated efforts to cancel my Fit World gym membership due to the  misrepresentation by Fit World on a spectrum of business items, including membership contract, length of contract, contract clauses, available facility equipment, etc.







I have undertaken the appropriate actions to cancel my membership by: 1) contacting Fit World directly via phone and written correspondence; 2) contacting the appropriate Rhode Island business regulation agencies; and 3) ceasing payment of any further membership fees.







Thus my membership contract with Fit World is cancelled and closed based on the following:







§  During the initial tour of the facility in the spring 2011, employees of Fit World misrepresented the facility and terms of the membership contract.  At that time, I clearly stated that although I have been based in Rhode Island, my out-of-state work would prohibit me from a membership contract. I was then assured that membership could be canceled easily.







1)     With this understanding, I then agreed to sign a one (1) year agreement as I anticipated traveling within the year. *** assured me he would create a one (1) year membership agreement that could easily be cancelled.  Instead a two (2) year agreement was drawn up. This was a clear breach in good faith and the first demonstration of Fit World’s lack of business integrity.







2)     In response to my question regarding the cancellation policy, *** assured me a 10 day notice cancellation policy was in effect and/or if I moved out of a 15 mile radius or had health issues prohibiting me from exercise.







§  When I began to then use the facility, further misrepresentation became apparent.







3)     When *** provided the initial tour of the facility (prior to signing the membership agreement), he assured me all equipment was available at all times to all gym members. This was a false statement. I subsequently found all kettle bells and other equipment I wanted to use in my workouts either locked away from access or removed after use of trainers. Again, I was subject to false statements regarding the terms of this contract. This practice by Fit World continued during all the initial uses of the facility: and, as result of this misrepresentation of the facility’s equipment, I have not utilized my membership more than a dozen times since joining 6 months ago.







When I sought to cancel my membership due to out-of-state work, the ensuing contract with Fit World became a moving target for further misrepresentation.







4)     Following a phone conversation with Fit World on 10.5.11, I received an email from ******* ******* of Fit World on 10.6.11, stating I owed a $543.00 penalty fee for cancellation of my membership before its term.







5)     I then spoke with **** ***** on 10.13.11, and sent correspondence to **** *****, Mgr., with a cc to you summarizing the phone conversation.  In my phone conversation and follow up email I told **** the following: (1) as a travel RN I am not changing permanent address or license as I will be traveling outside of RI to work for the next two year, changing location every 13 to 26 weeks, with no permanent address or license change.  As previously stated, this was discussed and reviewed thoroughly with *** prior to signing any agreement with Fit World and assured that a 10 day cancellation policy was in effect, and I would be released from my contract agreement easily without severe penalty or delay.  Asking me to pay $543.00 penalty is essentially asking me to pay the full term of a two (2) year agreement, which I never agreed to – please refer back to item 1) of this letter.







6)     I also made it clear in my second correspondence to **** *****, Mgr., with cc to you, that I have the consumer right to cancel my membership without obligation to pay the total of the two year membership fee.







To conclude, Fit World has repeatedly misrepresented the membership contract, cancellation clause, and facility use of equipment . I have cancelled my membership for appropriate reasons, and I have ceased further payment.







I have given your company more than a 10 day notice of intent to cancel membership with good reason as listed above. The electronic funds system through my bank has been cancelled. Our business is complete and done with a zero balance.







I further wish, as a Rhode Island licensed RN, to go on record stating the following as clear as possible:







I was deeply disturbed to find in your contract a clause holding people suffering from heart disease accountable for their membership after a three (3) month grace period. This clause clearly demonstrates Fit World's lack of interest in the health and well-being of their members.  This clause, as well as all the disclaimers in your membership contract, clearly demonstrates Fit World's sole interest in monetary gain from misrepresentation in selling memberships and declining valid cancellations, with no interest in member’s reasons or health conditions.







Lastly, it should be noted that several complaints against Fit World have been filed online and with the Better Business Bureau, all stating financial complaints and the inability to cancel membership without severe financial penalty by your company.  I will add my own, as well as file formal complaints with the Attorney General’s Office, the Better Business Bureau and the State Department of Business Regulations.







Sincerely,







***** *******, RN







Providence, Rhode Island







Cc: Rhode Island Attorney General, Division of Consumer ____







Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation







Rhode Island Better Business Bureau







Cranston, Rhode Island Chamber of Commerce







Note:  This letter will be printed, signed and mailed to you at your facility as well as mailed directly to all Cc business listed.

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response: 10/21/2011































Dear Ms. ********























It saddens me very much to have received this complaint from the Better Business Bureau. Since taking the management position in 2008, I have made every effort to ensure all member complaints and issues are handled appropriately. As stated in your complaint we do have complaints on the BBB website, as does any fitness facility that deals with as many members as we do. We have over 3,000 members and out of those 3,000 members we only have 7 complaints and 6 of them were solved and closed because we have worked out a solution with the member.































It is very baffling to me as to why you didn’t try any other alternative ways to communicate with any of our staff members regarding the issues. When you spoke to Ms. ****** she expressed that if you provided us with a letter from your employer stating that you would be working somewhere that would be more than 15 miles from our location she would cancel the membership as soon as the letter was received. When you originally requested cancellation, none of the reasons listed in this complaint were expressed, your complaints were expressed once you decided that our answer to your cancellation request wasn’t of your liking.















In your complaint you also accuse us our sole interest is monetary gain, which I find extremely offensive. Our gym is considered a family and we pride ourselves in being clear and transparent when signing up members to our facility. You didn’t even give us the opportunity to come to an agreement that would satisfy both parties. Instead you cancelled your EFT withdrawals as well as file complaints with multiple agencies as well as threaten to involve an attorney.































In your complaint with Fit World you also stated that you didn’t use the facility more than a dozen times, which in fact you used at least once a month every month starting from the time you signed up at the gym in March. Attached is your usage history for your review.















If you felt as though we misled you about what equipment is available to our members then in your multiple visits that was never expressed to either a staff member or management. If you were unhappy with the facility I am unsure why in all of those visits you didn’t make it a point to speak to anyone, as you have made it a point now.































Our agreements are drawn up at the request of our member; once this is drawn up the agreement is initialed 3 times and then signed by the member. After the agreement is completed the member receives a copy of their agreement and as stated in RI Buyers Right to cancel you have 10 business days to null and void the contract with no fees. You had 10 business days to read our agreement in full and agree or disagree with all of the terms and conditions and you continued to use the gym and we never received any complaints or request to change or alter your agreement. With any contract entered is it your responsibility to read everything and agree which is why the 10 business day grace period is given.















You have given us our required 10 day cancellation notice. That was never the issue at hand, the issue at hand is that your membership agreement term has not been met. When a member has completed their agreement term then their agreement is cancelled but when the membership term has not been met then the remaining balance of the contract must be paid before the membership is cancelled which in your case if $543.00. If the contract term is not met then you may cancel the membership with no fees if you are relocating more than 15 miles. The membership could’ve been cancelled with a letter from your new employer stating new employment and that letter could have been sent to Fit World and the membership could’ve been cancelled easily and without hassle.  I would also like to note that none of the persons listed in your complaint (**** ****** *** ****** ******* ******) have altered or said anything different than what the contract signed by you states.































In regards to the contract clause you were deeply disturbed by, this clause comes directly from the Rhode Island General Laws. So if you have are disturbed by this clause then that is an issue that you will need to take up with the State of Rhode Island, and is NOT a business integrity issue and does not show that we are only interested in monetary gains.. These clauses are posted online to view on the State of RI website. A direct link to the subject you are regarding is here: **********************************************. When a member would like to cancel their membership due to a medical reason we ask that a doctor’s note be either faxed or brought to us and the member then has the option of either freezing the membership or cancelling the contract. Our membership agreements clauses are not created by us. We are an accredited business and abide by all state laws. Our agreements abide by all state laws and are approved by our lawyer.















Finally, even though you have stopped payments from your bank you are still liable for your monthly dues as well as any fees incurred by you stopping payments. Your account will continue to be collected for the next 90 days by ABC Financial unless we are provided with documentation for your reason of cancellation which is moving more than 15 miles away from our location. Documentation may be provided in the form of a letter by your new employer, a new driver’s license, a auto insurance card, mortgage statement, or apartment lease. You also stated in your email that you were experiencing “health issues”; So another option to cancelling your membership would be if your health issue is prohibiting you from using the gym then you may have the doctor fax us a letter expressing that and your membership will be cancelled without any fees due.















******* ****







 















Attached: Membership Agreement (front and back) and Usage History.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:































I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]















































I reject the response of Fit World as follows.















1)       This business has both distorted the matter at hand and has provided further false information, which I am correcting below. 















 















2)      As previously stated to Fit World, I consider my membership closed based on the contract clause that I am working out of state and based at the address provided below.















 















3)      I have therefore ceased payment, and continued action by Fit World to contact me for payment is harassment.  















Fit World presented false information re membership attendance.































 Fit World attached a PDF file to me directly with the above letter, stating I used the gym August 10, 17, 22, 23 and October 20.  This is false.  I was moving house on August 10; at work on a scheduled local hospital shift on Aug 17, 22, and 23 from 11am-11:30pm when Fit World states I signed in electronically to use their facility at 12:26, 12:56, and 10:52 respectively; and caring for a relative until 1:15 pm on October 20 when Fit World states I signed into their gym electronically at 12:25 p.m.































Fit World requested information not required by contract.















The membership contract does not require that I provide the facility a letter from my employee stating that I have relocated, and such will not be provided.































Fit World ignored valid information for membership cancellation.















Fit World is ignoring valid information pertaining to cancellation of membership based on out of state location.  As explained repeatedly to Fit World, due to the specific nature of my work as a traveling RN, I travel every 12 to 26 weeks for work out state, based at the following address: ***** **** ***** **** ******* ** *****.  As a traveling RN my work locations vary, and I will thus retain my standard Rhode Island identification, including my permanent address, driver’s license, auto insurance, and phone number.  































Fit World misrepresented the membership contract for financial gain.















Fit World employees verbally presented the terms of the contract incorrectly to me. I have signed many contracts in the past, and never once had the verbal terms of the initial agreement been changed. As stated previously, as a traveling RN, I requested of Fit World, and agreed upon verbally, to a membership contract of one (1) year. I thus trusted that the contract presented to me, by the same Fit World employee, was as agreed, and thus signed and initialed. Instead, Fit World did a “bait and switch” and issued a contract for two (2) years, which they are now seeking monetary obligation.































I stand firm on my initial complaint, and with Fit World’s further misrepresentation of their membership contract and gym usage as outlined above.  I consider my membership contract with Fit World to be cancelled due to valid reason, and have ceased further payment. I want no further contact with this company, and any effort on their part to continue communication with me for payment will be considered harassment and will be met with a legal action.































Regards,

***** ******* 

 

Business Response: As you can see in the attachment, the contract shows in several places that it is a two year contract.































The computer-generated tally of use of the customers card is accurate, except for the October 20 date which was caused when this tally was produced.































The customer's allegation are false and contrived.































Fitworld's contract complies with the requirement of state law as to cancellation; which are































SECTION 5-50-4































   § 5-50-4  Contract contents – Notice to buyer of right to cancel contract – Right of contract cancellation – Refund. – (a) A copy of every health club contract shall be delivered to the buyer at the time the contract is signed.















   (b) All health club contracts must be in writing signed by the buyer, must designate the date on which the buyer actually signs the contract, and must contain a statement of the buyer's rights which substantially complies with this section.















   (2) The statement must appear in the contract under the conspicuous caption "BUYER'S RIGHT TO CANCEL", and read as follows:















   "If you wish to cancel this contract, you may cancel in person or by mail to the seller. You must give notice, in writing, that you do not wish to be bound by the contract. This notice must be delivered or mailed before midnight of the tenth (10th) business day after the date of the contract so entered into. All cancellations must be delivered or mailed to: (Insert name and mailing address of health club)".















   (3) Proof of in person cancellation shall be effectuated by writing "cancellation" and the date of cancellation across the contract.















   (4) The buyer shall receive a copy of the contract.















   (5) The signature of the person employed by the health club who registers the cancellation must also appear on the contract.















   (c) Every contract for health club services shall provide that the contract may be cancelled before midnight of the tenth (10th) day after the date of the contract so entered into. The notice of the buyer's cancellation of his or her contract shall be in writing and shall be made in person or by mail to the seller at the address specified in the contract.















   (d) Every contract for health club services shall provide clearly and conspicuously, in writing, that after the expiration of the ten (10) day period for cancellation as provided in subdivision (b)(2) of this section:















   (1) The buyer shall be relieved from any and all obligations under the contract, and shall be entitled to a refund of any prepaid membership under the contract if:















   (i) A buyer relocates further than fifteen (15) miles from a comparable health club facility operated by the seller;















   (ii) If a health club facility relocates further than fifteen (15) miles from its current location, or the seller does not maintain a health club service within a fifteen (15) mile radius from its current location; or















   (iii) If the health club services or facilities are not available to the buyer because the seller fails to open a planned health club or location, permanently discontinues operation of the health club or location or substantially changes the operation.















   (2) If a buyer becomes significantly physically or medically disabled for a period in excess of three (3) months during the membership term, he or she has the option:















   (i) To be relieved of liability for payment on that portion of the contract term for which the purchaser is disabled and receive a full refund of any prepaid membership on the contract; or















   (ii) To extend the duration of the contract at no additional cost for a period equal to the duration of the disability. The health club may require that a doctor's certificate be submitted as verification of the disability.















   (3) In the event of the buyer's death, his or her estate shall be relieved of any further obligation for payment under the contract and shall be entitled to a refund for any prepaid membership for the unused portion of the contract. The health club may require verification of death.















   (4) In the event of a sale of health club ownership, the contract is voidable at the option of the buyer.















   (e) A health club contract which does not comply with the provisions of this chapter isvoidable at the option of the buyer.















   (f) Upon cancellation pursuant to this section, the buyer shall be free of any and all obligations under the contract and any prepaid monies pursuant to this contract shall be refunded within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of the notice of cancellation. The right of cancellation shall not be affected by the terms of the contract and may not be waived or surrendered.















   (g) Notice of the buyer's right to cancel and the method of cancellation under this section shall also be posted clearly and conspicuously on the premises of the health club.















































































We had and still have no evidence that she has relocated.  She has kept all her RI licenses and contact information.































Until her rebuttal, in fact, she refused to provide any out of state address.  We note that this address provided is in fact a private residence listed for sale for $595,000 see ******************************************************































The use of kettlebells, as all locked equpment, is solely for the use of customers with personal trainers or in designated classes, requires supervision and signage to that effect is posted.































This all being said, it is apparent that the customer is unhappy with our facility and is hard pressed to generate excuses to attempt to get out of the contract.































At this point, this is a distraction to the facility,and to its members and we have terminated the membership as requested.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:































I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********

[If you are rejecting the business's response please enter your rejection comments here.]

 

Fit World's responses continue to demonstrate their ability to falsify information.  

 

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.