Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dedham Health & Athletic Complex

Phone: (781) 326-2900 Fax: (781) 329-1629 200 Providence Hwy, Dedham, MA 02026

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Dedham Health & Athletic Complex, offers a 25-meter lap pool, a full staffed nautilus fitness center, aerobics and exercise programs for all ability levels. They have free weights, Sprint, Life Circuit, Hammer Strength, Cybex, Cross Conditioning, Virtual Reality Bikes, CVTV, Lifecycles, nautilus, life rowers, stair masters, Keiser, tennis, racquet, and squash courts, volleyball, golf, table tennis, billiards, rock climbing, steam and sauna rooms, co-ed whirlpool, ladies heated spa, indoor basketball gymnasium, indoor running track, sun deck, snack bar, 2 big screen TV's, supervised playroom during posted hours and a beauty salon. The company also offers a summer seasonal facility called The Summer Club which is an all ages membership and water park. Offered at the Summer Club is a day camp for children aged 6-14. The company states that they have a monthly fee, annual fee and joining fee.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dedham Health & Athletic Complex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dedham Health & Athletic Complex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dedham Health & Athletic Complex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 1996 Business started: 02/01/1968 in MA
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Roberta Gainsboro, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Roberta Gainsboro, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, MasterCard, Visa
Industry Tips
Health Clubs Health Clubs - 5 Tips - Video Summer Camps

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dedham Health & Athletic Complex has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: DHAC charges my credit card without my authorization. They consider it a penalty for "un-proper" tennis court use even though they failed to provide such rules on my multiple requests. Each time I tried to discuss those rules they come up with new rules that a never in writing. Based on the discussions, they overcharged me multiple times, but I discovered it only on 12/2/2012. In previous years if somebody was staying on the court longer, an employee would come over and ask if they want to continue playing and pay for it or prefer to leave. If parties choose to stay, later one receives booking email notification with charged amount. I haven't heard any complains against that policy. Starting from Labor Day of 2012 they started charging without notifying charged parties. Booking notifications are not being sent either. Only if one checks the account later one can see those charges. They claim that it's even legitimate to double charge a court, i.e. if a friend of yours booked it, but can't make it on time and allows you to play longer both parties should be charged for that time. In addition to that, they falsely claim that I brought 2 guests that didn't pay guest fee. In 10 years of my membership in that club I never done that and they failed to provide any proof to the opposite.

Desired Settlement: Since they do this to many members of the club I want them to refund all members where they applied "penalty charges". I want them to publish club policy on "penalty charges" and notify each new and existing member of that policy. I want an apology for false claim about guests that I brought without guest fees.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
In response to complaint #******* regarding Mr. ***** *******.

1. Mr. ******* states that we charged his credit card without authorizationl
This is entirely incorrect.  Mr. ******* has been a member with us for 10 years and we have a signed authorization from him to withdraw monthly dues and usage  fees.  EFT or Electronic Funds Transfer has been in place at DHAC for over 5 years and Mr. ******* has been well aware of this process and has bad no objection to it previously.

2. Mr. *******s’ basic contention is that we, (DHAC) have overcharged him for court usage.
This too is entirely incorrect.  Club rules for court usage are well defined and Mr. Volman is acutely aware of them.  This is evident by the fact that he has been paying them without question for the past several years.  His is well aware of our court booking policy and plays hundreds of hours annually.

The crux of the issue is this.  Mr. ******* books tennis court time for a specific period and understands that he needs to pay for that, which he does.  For some reason Mr. ******* feels he is entitled to stay on the court past the time for which he has booked and paid.  Mr. ******* gets charged for the additional time that he plays on the court.  The courts are sold in hour increments.  If he stays past his initial time he gets charged an additional hour.

Mr. ******* has been told on numerous occasions (over 10) that he cannot stay on the court passed his scheduled time or he will be charged for additional time.  He had become such a chronic offender that my managers have to spend (waste) valuable time policing him.  This is unacceptable and he has been told this.  Mr. ******* has been charged a fine on two occasions for ongoing and chronic abuse.  This fine consist of 1 additional hour charged.  We have more than 20 documented manager reports that detail conversations with Mr. ******* about his unacceptable behavior. 

Mr. ******* has asked to see our rules as they pertain to stealing cout time.  I do not understand his request.  He has been told countless time by management and the executives of this facility that he cannot stay on a court past the paid for time. We do not have specific detailed rules for people who steal.  If someone walked into a store and took a shirt and walked out to the store without paying for it, that person would be arrested and charged with a crime.  The store is not required to have rules that state that stealing is illegal.

DHAC has over 1000 tennis members and more than 4000 general members.  The overwhelming majority, 3999 to be exact, do not need specific rules to tell them not to steal and that there are consequences if they do.  If Mr. ******* is unhappy with the costs he incurs because he is stealing court time, the simple solutions if for him to stop stealing court time.  If this solution does not work for him he can find another facility to play tennis.

Thanks you
**** *******
Facility Director

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

1. This is completely outrageous. Yes, I authorized DHAC to charge my Credit Card with monthly dues and court fees, but this doesn't give them authorization to charge it with frivolous penalties. Every business knows this and I’m surprised to hear that DHAC management doesn't know that.

2. I never disagreed to pay for the time I play on tennis courts. I only question DHAC rights to put penalty fees. First of all, they don’t have any rules regarding those penalties and didn't present them despite my multiple requests.

3. Absence of penalty rules results in Mr. ******* not being aware of his own rules. In his reply he writes that “fine consist of 1 additional hour charged” while in the paper from his managers states that I was penalized with 2 hour charge.

4. Unlike DHAC rules there is a law that allows prosecution for Credit Card fraud. Unlawful penalties are one kind of such fraud. If DHAC is unhappy with possible prosecution they can stop stealing money from members and credit all penalties they charged so far to members’ accounts.

Business Response: Dedham Health & Athletic Complex

To Whom It May Concern,
We have received Mr. ******** latest response and we are in communication with him regarding his thoughts on this matter.  Thank you for your assistance.

**** *******