Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Hills Home Market

Phone: (978) 567-1402 View Additional Phone Numbers 413 River Rd, Hudson, MA 01749 http://hillshomemarket.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Hill's Home Market specializes in the delivery of high quality groceries for individuals, families and larger groups. 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hills Home Market meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hills Home Market include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Hills Home Market
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2000 in MA Business incorporated 08/22/2002 in MA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shawn Driscoll, President Mr. Chris Moran, Vice-President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shawn Driscoll, President
Principal: Mr. Chris Moran, Vice-President
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

GROCERS-RETAIL GROCERS-WHOLESALE FOOD SERVICE SPECIALTY FOODS FOOD & BEVERAGE CONSULTANTS FOOD PRODUCTS - ORGANIC FOOD - SALES & DELIVERY FOOD DELIVERY SERVICE Supermarkets and Other Grocery (except Convenience) Stores (NAICS: 445110)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Service Area
Hills Home Market provides their services in ANDROSCOGGIN County ME, CUMBERLAND County ME, OXFORD County ME, SAGADAHOC County ME, YORK County ME.
Alternate Business Names
HFS of America, Inc. Hill's Home Market

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Hills Home Market has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 413 River Rd

    Hudson, MA 01749 (800) 682-3000 (978) 567-1402

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is starts off when I placed an order in January that was explained to my wife and I that with the fridge and food can be returned if we were not satisfied with service and cancelled. Due to a relocation of work we were forced to cancel our service within our first five month order. We read the contract and noticed the 3 day cancellation that had no date written in that box. Even though that's an issue itself. The sales person that sold this to us made that mistake along with telling us that we can return the fridge and food with the first five months. The reason why this complaint is being filed is because wen we tried to return the fridge we were not allowed and were given 3 options. The first option was that they would find a food service company that delivered to our new location and they would transfer our discount. The second option was we sell the fridge to the people who bought our house. And the third option was we get a $600 credit(extremely cheap) to go towards the fridge. The second option was out because we didn't buy a house. The first Option we tried to settle for but the options they gave us clearly did not meet our expectations as they only deliver to the opposite side of the state, which is Philadelphia so I can't take my discount. The third option is now what we seek. We should receive a credit on our overpriced fridge because they didn't meet the promises and overal experience listed: passing on our discount to another company, the sales rep sat and lied about the program, the sales rep never reviewed our order during the duration or came back out to help with a reorder. This wouldn't have been an issue if they would have kept their promise of the discount but when comfronted with the fact that the companies they presented didn't service is the owner said he would check and get back to me and that was June 7. Never received a call back finding another company or presenting us with a credit towards our fridge.

Desired Settlement: The business should pay for our freezer or at least a portion of $600 or more. The reason for this is because they don't intend to help us keep our discount.

Business Response: We have given the $600.00 credit and the Food Service in his area will be contacting the family.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. I do have one question, when will the $600 credit hit my freezer account? Regards, ******** ****

4/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is very deceiving and I am very unsatisfied with their unprofessionalism. They originally came to our home to give us their sales pitch which they claim is just to give you the facts about their business and what they have to offer. The sales rep made everything sound so promising, stating we would be saving a bunch of money and the food was organic - of much higher quality than that of a grocery store. They also showed us this catalog of all the other kitchen appliances/products of theirs, such as a freezer for their food and their clean start system for washing machines. Stating the freezer is compact and would definitely fit in our crawl space, never causes frost bite, etc. After his sales pitch we were still rather hesitant to make the commitment, the sales rep then stated that we aren't obligated but if we decide to wait then he would have to drive all this way for us to agree to the commitment, very unprofessional. We were still hesitant be decided to give it a try since we were promised such high end food and products. Upon the arrival of the freezer, we quickly realized this was no compact freezer, it was twice the size of our crawl space that the sales rep saw and claimed it would fit in. Still we had made the commitment and wanted to give it a fair shot. So moved stuff around in our laundry room to make the huge freezer fit and they filled it with food. We were told the food/supplies were determined based on our family size and needs. We quickly ran out of the frozen food we normally need and now have a bunch of dry food going bad. Received at least 30 rolls of low quality toilet paper, way too mach mac and cheese which is no longer good... We also learned that the huge freezer that supposedly never causes frost bite is not legit. Our frozen fish and meats have frost bite and the majority of the hamburger has holes in the packages. We were also promised a clean start system for our washing machine which well didn't show up at all. When i called the company they casually said oh the clean start is backordered and won't be in for awhile(not sure why no one ever called me to let me know this)..yet they had no problem already taking the payments out of my checking account for it. I eventually got the company to completely refund the price for the clean start but when asked about the packaging issue it appeared to be of no big deal. They stated i should of called them when i first received the order and they would of replaced it all. Unfortunately you couldn't notice the holes until u defrosted it and the meat was funny colors in certain spot and water was going thru the packing. The company called me after six months asking if I wanted to set up another food delivery for the next 6 months. I stated I was very unhappy with every aspect of this company and I would pass. Received a few more phone calls and was told I would hear from a manager to see if their was anything they could do to change my mind....Never heard anything back...

Desired Settlement: We have swallowed the money lost on the food supplied by them but are still stuck with this really large and very expensive freezer that causes our food to be frost bite. We are making monthly payments on the freezer which is ruining our frozen meats and i don't feel comfortable putting our food in it. This is money we could be putting towards our families future.... I WOULD LIKE FOR HILLS TO COME TAKE THIS AWFUL FREEZER AND GIVE ME A FULL REFUND ON IT. We had high hopes but are very unsatisfied with every aspect of this company...

Business Response: We are working on the issue.

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have had numerous issues with Hills Home Market since the very start. Let me start from the very beginning. One of our friends referred us to Hill's ( they were later denied credit and never actually got the service obviously they had to call all the referrals before telling our friends this.) The sales guy came out and did the presentation about the meat and quality and the fact that this would save us money on our groceries. So here are some of the major issues we have with this company: 1. We had to wait almost two weeks for our delivery. Upon delivery they forgot an entire box of our freezer food. They did send the box of missing stuff about a week after that.Also we were missing a lot of breakfast items we were promised. I called to complain and the person I talked to said the salesman gave us a price that was too low for what we got already so there is nothing they could do. So it took 2-3 weeks before we received our full order and we were still missing items that were promised- not a very good first impression but we do understand that mistakes happen. 2. While the sales man was here, we discussed working with ****** ************* ( their 3rd party financing company) about setting up online WEEKLY payments. The sales man also stressed to us that we wouldn't have to start making these payments until 30 day after we RECEIVED our order. Neither one of these things happened. ****** started billing us from the date we signed the papers. We were already almost a month behind before we even received our full order. Not realizing this we started making our online WEEKLY payment on through ******'s website. So as we were making our weekly payments we became further and further behind and were now getting charged late fee's even though we were making full payments on time that we agreed to. We called Hills to discuss this matter as soon as we realized this was happening. They said they would take care of the late fees and make it so we were all caught up on our payments and discuss with ****** about doing weekly payments (like originally discussed with sales man). Well that never happened. I called ****** a few weeks later when we noticed the late fees adding up and they said nobody from ****** ever called them on this issue. Now we have marks on our credit because of all this. 3. We were also mislead into thinking that the meat and other products were "very high quality" "better then anything you could get in the supermarkets". Let me start with the terrible packaging,that is not even sealed properly. When defrosted, the packages would leak blood inside our fridge. I have pictures of a few packages that did this. About 75% of the packages leaked!! The sales man told us a few times that if defrosted in the refrigerator, the packages of meat would stay fresh for up to seven days, this is incorrect. I have had to throw away a packs a meat because of this, after 3-4 days they spoil! Mostly the chicken. After the first two times that happened I had to start defrosting is right before I cooked it which surely does not reflect the quality and convenience they told us about. The ham steaks are absolutely disgusting they are pink sponges that taste nothing like ham. We also received a big spiral ham that I had to throw out. When I opened it it was covered in this nasty goop but I figured it was maybe part of the glaze and it seemed ok. I cooked that ham and as I was slicing up pieces to give to my KIDS I noticed that it smelled rotten and spoiled and tasted rancid. ( I have pictures of the ham.) The "fajita chicken" is just a package of chicken fat with a few chicken breast scraps.. thats is not very high quality and pretty much useless. Oh and last, the pasta sauce with the GLASS in it- The pasta sauce I almost fed to my kids! (I also have pictures of the glass). I did call and speak to someone about this who didn't really seem to care much about it, and sent me a new pack of sauce. Extremely unhappy with the quality of some of the stuff. 4. Sales man told us we could get a discount on the food if we also purchased a mattress. We were told it would get paid along with the food over the course of 5 months. he used deceptive sales practices to trick us into signing paper for a 5 YEAR LOAN ( not 5 months as we were told) on a $6000 hunk of poor quality foam that hurts our backs. $150 a month for 5 months for this mattress is fine. 5 YEARS and $6000 is not fine and unethical considering a top shelf *********** goes for 1200. We were scammed. Scammed as this sales man sat at my kitchen table with my wife and two young kids as they ate their breakfast like he was a friend of ours. 5. We signed a contract under the impression that we would be given enough food for 3 meals a day for five months. We ran out of breakfast food within the first month. We ran out of sides and other foods around the 3rd month. Then we were left with a freezer full of meat and we were carefully portioning or food. That is it. We have strict grocery budget being a young family of 4, and because we had to go out and buy food from the grocery store we could no longer afford the hefty Hills payment. Hill's was presented to us to save us money, but in the end costed us much more money stress and our credit. We have not made a payment in a few months due to having to use the money to go out and buy food we were promised. ****** is aware of what is going on and and knows we are filing a complaint. for a company who prides themselves on customer service and positive perception I don't see how they could treat there customers like this

Desired Settlement: I would like them to take back the poor quality mattress and absolve the cost- and I would be willing to pay the remainder of the food bill in full. The debt for the mattress it currently $6200 and the food bill is now $1200. We are a young working class family and can not afford to take a financial hit like this because of a contract we were tricked into signing.

Business Response: The customer just responded to our calls.  We are in the process of rectifying their problems.

2/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I regrettably invited a Hills Home Market Salesman into my home. This salesman, ****, deceivingly described the Hills Home Market foods as organic, ONLY the vegetables are organic. He added items to our order we specifically said NO to, he advised the warranty on the freezer we purchased was LIFETIME warranty yet failed to state that this is ONLY if we continue to purchase their overpriced food, 2 days after signing the contract I started to realize that something just wasn't right about how much money we were paying and decided we wanted to drop some of our items. I called **** who sounded annoyed that we were asking to remove items and he refused to credit our account claiming it was not possible to do so and that it would only take money off of our NEXT order (which we were not sure we even wanted) so I settled and let him "add in some meats". The meats added did not replace the worth of the items that were removed. We received our order and not only did we get items we specifically said NO to but we were missing items as well, on top of that after being told by the salesman that we should be expecting Hills Home Market brand chicken nuggets and kielbasa we received ********* ***** Keilbasa and ***** chicken nuggets (if I wanted those I could go to the grocery store and pay a third of the price). I contacted Hills Home Market and advised of the issue, the customer service experience only got worse from this point. I first tried to resolve this ****er with fulfillment/delivery department, I was told that they would come get the items I didn't want and once again told I was not able to get a credit but that they would "toss in some extra meats to make up for it" (once again not worth the cost of what was being replaced). I told him I was extremely unhappy and was not going to let this go, I was blatantly lied to. After speaking with others who also had this same salesman come to their home and tell them the same lies I was told (about everything being organic, the freezer being a LIFETIME warranty with no mention of the stipulation and being told that if we didn't like items they'd gladly replace them but ONLY if you continue to order with them) I decided enough was enough and i'd clearly been taken advantage of and was not getting anywhere in trying to resolve it. I called the main office and demanded to speak with a manager. I had the displeasure of speaking with *****. One of the first things out of his mouth when I explained how I was told it was all organic was "hahaha, you could never afford to eat all organic". This man clearly does not get out much to any local farmer's markets or ***** and for someone who is representing this company to act as he did was absolutely the nail in the coffin with this company. I told ***** that with the experience I have had and the fact that I was lied to I would like to return absolutely everything including the freezer for a full refund. He once again laughed and stated that was not going to happen because then he would have to throw away the food. In response to that I said that was not my problem, however, if he is going to refuse to take it all back then I would like a credit on my account, the amount of food I received is a third of what i'm being charged (which by the way they will not reveal their prices as they claim to cater to the customer's budget... another lie). He said he would look into it and get back to me. I also brought to his attention that a lot of the dry goods had expiration dates that will be quickly approaching before my family could ever get to through these items, he refused to replace them and said it wouldn't hurt us to use them beyond the expiration date, a grocery store cannot sell expired food... how can this company? So I wait for ***** to call back regarding the credit, when I finally got the call I was not home and he left a voicemail with no information other than saying "call me back about your account credit"... sounds like this is going to be fixed right??? NO. I have called twice a week since the beginning of December and it is now the end of January and he has not called me back. I have told his secretary/front desk each time that i'm returning his call to me, yet i'm still sent directly to voicemail. ****'s boss, the sales manager called to schedule another appointment last week, I advised him of my dissatisfaction and how I've been trying to reach ***** for weeks with no resolution and he stated he would make sure he called me. STILL NO CALL. I've had enough.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back and they can come get all of the food that is still packaged up because my family hates it, it's nothing close to the quality of meat we can get locally and FRESH. I want to be done with this company once and for all.

Business Response: The complaint has been resolved with the customer. A credit was issued on 2-5-16.

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I met with a great salesperson, he convinced us that the food service was a good money saving idea, sold us on a freezer and a bed, he gave us a decent monthly price for all of the items and unfortunately I never asked the total price of everything, after we agreed on the payments and everything the salesman left. Shortly after I came to the realization I didn't know how much I just basically took a loan out for so I looked through the paperwork and realized I took a loan for the freezer at $1899 ( with a trade in the salesman said I had which was false) and the bed at $5495 all with a great apr of 18% on top of the food order that put me up to $8684. While doing the paperwork the salesman also trying to make sure we were Approved wrote in that my wife made $30k a year when we told him it was more like $8k. I realized my big mistake and found the paper that if it was sent in within three business days it would cancel all orders. We signed and overnighted it immediately. The next day we had voicemails from the salesman asking to reconsider but we did not reply. One week later we received a bill from ****** ************* for our canceled purchases and on top of that, my wife and I have these big loans on our credit that have dropped our scores down significantly. I have worked very hard to build my credit and in one slimy move from this company it has been destroyed.

Desired Settlement: I want ****** ************* to stop sending me bills and to remove any trace on my credit, and I want hills home services to take care of it. They put the order through knowing I cancelled and it is their responsibility to fix the problem

Business Response: The order was cancelled completely after the customer called.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint *********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, **** *******

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a letter of complaint about the service and cost I incurred after enrolling with Hills Home Market. I called and spoke with a manager, on May 26, 2015, to discuss a problem I discovered upon reviewing my payments with ******. I explained my dissatisfaction to him regarding the mess up of orders, the exorbitant cost and fees hidden among the paperwork, and most specifically the extra $599 tacked on to my freezer purchase. The night we enrolled it was presented, that by purchasing the freezer, it would insure protection if power was lost and the food went bad. It was not explained that an additional fee would be added on for that protection. So instead of being persuaded into opening a credit line for $1899 I now have almost a $2500 credit line tacked onto my credit report. I am extremely angry; the manager admitted to me that the representatives do not make this clear during the time of introduction and contract. He told me that if I chose to discontinue the service he would “pro-rate” me a refund from the $599. I called back within an hour of the conversation and advised that I would not be ordering from the company again, he then asked “when will you be finished paying for the freezer” I replied within six months, he then said “well call me back when you are half way through with payments and I will pro-rate it then”. I do not believe this is an acceptable solution I am paying interest on an item that was not explained properly from the start. I do not want to utilize the service anymore therefore a refund should have been issued immediately upon that call. Because of the misinformation and misorders I want a full refund of the $599 and the additional $199 which was required to start the program. I will have paid about $1500 for the food when all is said and done plus the cost of the freezer. The service has saved me nothing on my grocery bill only increasing my cost exorbitantly not to mention the pressure to purchase an appliance that I did not need. Hills Home Market presented itself as a cost effective entity I have come to feel it’s nothing but a scam.I expected a much higher level of service from Hills, and I am quite disappointed. Because I do not want to spend any more time on this problem, I am requesting that the refund be issued to me within 30 days of the date on the letter I sent them in the amount of $798.00. This would mean a response should be made to me by 7/13/15, I have recieved no communication but I know the letter was recieved because I sent it certified. I will not accept any other resolution, as I have already had delivery issues and missing items I am not willing to have a representative come out to my home a third time to “fix” the issue. From what I can see you have received complaints from quite a few customers over the last couple of years, and Hills are still enforcing the same practices.

Desired Settlement: A Refund of $798.00 by 7/13/15

Business Response: We will refund her the 599.00.  Everything is clearly stated on her sales order ticket and customer receipt.  If she would look at those items she would clearly see the 199.00 is a deposit on her purchases not used to start the service.

Consumer Response: Will this be issued in check?  How soon can I expect the return of the agreed $599.00?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  Good Afternoon,Per the documentation in regards to my complaint, Hills Home Market had agreed to refund me $599.00.  To this date that has not arrived.  When I contacted the business yesterday to check the status I received a message back that stated it would be a credit on my account.  As stated in the letters I paid it off and closed the account as soon as I could because of the high interest rates, therefore they must send me the refund directly.  When I called them back yesterday to explain this again, the manager ***** had left for the day and the secretary advised he'd call me first thing this morning.  It is now almost 3pm and no response.  I'm concerned they are trying to blow off the agreement.  Have a great day!***** ** ********* Regards, ***** *********  

Business Response: A check will be sent on Friday in our check run.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ***** *********

8/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached at a Canal Fest on **** *** and then called later on the phone for an in home visit. After a lengthy 2.5 hour presentation I told the rep that I really wasn't sure what I wanted to do.I told him I wanted to try the samples before I made any choices. He then told me that he wasn't going to get credit for the order unless I placed it now. He told me to fill out the paper work and he would keep it on file and if I chose to place an order he would then submit it. 3 weeks pass and I did not contact anyone about the order and now have received a $4700 Bill for food and a freezer. I did not hear from Hills Home Market once during the 3 weeks.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full cancellation and refund of any and all related charges and credit lines.

Business Response: The order  was placed and processed.  Scheduled for delivery and the customer didn't respond to our calls.  Then called in later to cancel.  We then cancelled the order eve though it was already processed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, **** ********

11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Agreed to buy a gas grill for more than $4000. The product is very poor quality, and we would like a refund. The seller will not consider giving us our money back.

Desired Settlement: refund wil accept partial refund

Business Response: In Regards to Mr. ****** in *********** MA.  The grill was purchased in February and used through the summer.  We received  a call in September saying the grill was junk.  So the customer used the grill for 7-8 months before there was a complaint.  We sent out a technician to look at the grill and it was working fine.

11/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When they first came to the house, we enjoyed the food that they had brought out. We thought it was a good deal to also buy the fine china from them and the freezer. The issue with the freezer is that it gains quite a bit a frost inside, which they explained after we purchased it that it is not a self defrosting freezer. they did explain it is because it will ruin their frozen food, which I understand. The fine china on the other hand did not all come. I am missing 8 more place settings, I have called several times and I get the same response, we are looking into it. It will be a year in December. I no longer want the china and have asked them to take it back, they said I cant send it back because it was part of the contract. I feel that they have not held up their part and they should take all the pieces back. When **** had come, he had told us we would have it in time to entertain for last Christmas. I am not impressed so far with their other products, I can say that the quality of their meat is good, but I am finding it a hassle to do business with them. I am not sure where to go from this point.

Desired Settlement: I just want them to take the 4 piece and hostess set back and just get my money refunded.

Business Response: We have issued a credit to the consumer.  The item is on back order and we do not have an expected delivery date at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  I spoke with a salesman **** and they gave me a full refund. I am satisfied with how they handle the matter.Thank you for your time. Regards, **** ******

10/28/2014 Delivery Issues
6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I placed an order in January. We returned two items not food, which was picked up on march 10, 2014. We have talked to the company three time to get a credit on our bill. They said they would fax paperwork to the credit company and email us with the credit. It still has not happened. We called again and he said our email kept bouncing back, so we gave another email and still have not received anything. We are paying the bill with a high interest rate and would like to get this resolved ASAP.

Desired Settlement: The credit we are owed 3,348.00

Business Response: The account has been credited.

1/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 9/23/13 I signed a contract for home delivery of food from this company. On 9/24/13 I cancelled this order by phone and by sending a signed Notice of Cancellation by UPS Next Day delivery. After three phone calls I have not recieved a refund of the $200.00 deposit.

Desired Settlement: I would like my deposit returned.

Business Response: CHECK SENT

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

12/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The contract that I signed with Hill's Home Market gave me the option of voiding the contract in writing to the company within 3 business days. I gave the representative a check for $199.00, which was cashed by Hill's Home Market. It was stated in the contract that when and if the contract was cancelled and within the timeframe granted by the company that a refund check if applicable would be issued back to the customer. The contract was cancelled on October 23, 2013 and it's been 18 business days and still no refund check even though I have spoken to ***** several times and him telling me that the check is in the mail.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back and the lies to stop..............

Business Response: Customer has already cashed check.  It has cleared our bank.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My fiancé and I we're contacted by Hills Home Market just shortly after we purchased our new home. We had been referred to the company by a friend of mine. We agreed to have a sales representative (**** *.) come out to our home and made an appointment with him. **** showed up Monday Sept. 16 on time at 6:30pm and gave us the 30min sales pitch that we were told about on the phone. During this time my fiancés sister was over and she listened to the pitch as well. The deal sounded pretty convincing and we were told over and over that we would save time and money each week by signing up for the company to deliver meat and groceries to our house every 5 months. We informed **** that we would not be making a decision that night, but were fairly convinced with the promise of better quality food at lower prices and conveniently delivered. As we felt guilted about our indecisiveness causing **** to have to drive back to our house should we decide to sign up for Hill's services, we made a compromise. We signed all of the necessary paperwork and told **** that we would call him by the end of the work week with a final decision, **** agreed to wait for our answer before filing our paperwork and signing us up for delivery. On Wednesday, 2 days after he visited our house $199.00 was removed from our bank account as a sign up fee and we were contacted the following week to schedule a delivery. As we were leaning toward making the decision to join the company, we decided not to take action against the company for the unapproved withdrawal at this time as we felt there was no negative reasons for at least TRYING the company, after all **** had told us over and over at our house that if we didn't feel the company was right for us we could always return all the company's product and that there was a grace period. Our food was delivered on Sept. 26 and we were taken back by some of the amounts that were delivered. The company delivered far too much of some items and too little of everything else for example they delivered 2 large containers of tide laundry detergent and 30 packs of paper towels that we've only used 2 of but only 4 bars of soap that were gone the first 2 week. Aside from the amount of meat they delivered the "high quality" product we were promised and sold was far from high quality. Each of the vaccuum sealed packages of meat has holes in it so it had freezer burn around the edges and filled up with water when you tried to defrost it as we frequently do by putting sealed packages in warm water. We were also misled to believe that the ham steaks were higher quality than what could be found in the store, and were extremely disappointed to find the brand of the ham steaks was "Cook's" which is a brand I routinely find at stores such as ********. We also noticed quickly that all the ground beef delivered was not weighed properly and really weighed between 14 and 14.5oz rather than the advertised weight of 16oz. Having also been sold on the concept that the food was higher quality than what could be found in the store, we are displeased to find grissle and bone fragments in every package of meat we used. We were somewhat disatisfied at this point but figured we would give it a week or two and see if we still felt the same way. We are 4 weeks into the program now and more than half of the supposed "5 months quantity" of food is gone. Which is very puzzling to us since we have only been eating at home 2-3 times a week. Unfortunately, we also made the mistake of handing out a few of our friends phone numbers as references; and were very upset to learn that one of our friends who has been too busy to answer Hill's calls has been being harassed by their sales team, once when we were standing in proximity to overhear the salesman's extremely rude behavior as he expressed his frustration with our friend not answering his phone. Apparently the sales representative couldn't be satisfied with leaving our friend a voicemail and waiting for him to respond. On October 25 I contacted the company and spoke with the answering service. I was assured someone would get back to me. They never did. The following Monday I tried calling again and was told I needed to talk to the sales manager about canceling the company though they were unavailable and they would call me back. They did not. I continued calling throughout the week and got the run around from each person I spoke to about how they couldn't help me but someone who could would call me back. No one ever called. Finally after a very frustrating talk with the answering service I received a call back from the customer service manager (*****) I explained how my fiancé and I had decided the company was not right and how we would like to be removed from the company and have the uneaten food and freezer we had purchased removed from our house because we were still under our grace period. ***** told me that he has know **** the sales rep for 12 years and **** would never tell us we had a grace period when we do not. "The freezer was a purchase and we do not take them back." **** either intentionally, or unintentionally misled the three of us sitting there that day into believing we could return this freezer, and that paying $1700 for a freezer was a worthwhile investment as Hill's would cover any food lost due to power outages as long as it was stored in the freezer Hill's provided. Since we no longer wish to use their food service due to the above issues, of course we would also like to return this otherwise ridiculously overpriced freezer. ***** and the Sales rep **** made an appointment to come out and solve the issues with our meat as it is 100% guaranteed. We have told them over and over that we don't want more meat we would like them to honor the grace period we were promised. We are extremely frustrated with this company's routine misrepresentation of their goods and services along with their poor customer service, and are reaching out to the BBB to help protect other consumers from Hill's Home Market.

Desired Settlement: We would like the company to come and pick up the freezer and unused groceries and refund us for everything picked up. Leaving us to pay only for the food we have eaten

Business Response: We went back to the customers house with the salesman and everything was worked out.

Consumer Response: The company came back to our house and although they fixed all issues with the food still left my fiance and I feeling extremely unhappy with the company. It took them nearly 3 weeks to call us back after we met and make an appointment to have new food delivered to replace the damaged food. They also refused to face the fact that there sales man slipped up and offered us something against company policy which ended up costing us 2300 dollars for a freezer well never use. And above all other things I'm tired of this company calling at 8 and 9 at night and when I don't answer they call my fiance, never leaving a voicemail. When i do answer they have no idea whats going on. Someone called yesterday as a 90day courtesy call to see how we like the product and the company and seemed shocked when i told them we had filled for fraud. To be completely honest the only reason I have pressed the accept button on their response to my complaint is because this company is so disorganized I know it's a waste of my time and I'll get nowhere. We're cutting our losses and footing the bill for the biggest mistake we ever made. We will not be ordering again and plan to share our experience with others. 

11/4/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We gave the company a check as a deposit to use their food service. We asked them not to set up any delivery till after a specified date. They tried to set one up before hand. I contacted them the next business day and told them we wanted to get our own freezer instead of getting one of theirs. A week later, my fiancee and I decided that we would like the deposit on the food back since we did not get any of the food yet, until we could get our own freezer. I called them on multiple occasions and asked that the deposit be returned to us. I keep getting the run around about no one being in the accounting office to handle it, or someone says they will send the deposit back. I have still not received the deposit back.

Desired Settlement: I just want the $50 deposit we gave them back.

Business Response: Check was sent.

10/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A couple of weeks previous, a salesperson from Hill's Home Market came to my home and presented to us the product and services that were being offered. After discussing the services and products, we determined to make a purchase of these services, after being assured that all our needs would be properly met. At this point, the salesperson began to, in my opinion, withhold and provide misleading information. We purchased food for 5 months, and a freezer to store the food. we knew and were fully aware that the freezer was a purchase, but as it was explained to us, the price of the freezer was included in the initial 5 month contract, and that after 5 months it would be paid for. The salesperson did nothing to dissuade us from this assumption, even when we asked for clarification. We were told that the freezer would be paid at the same time as the food we purchased. While we are upset with this, we have determined to simply pay off the freezer in one lump sum, and this is only the first misrepresentation offered by the salesperson. it is with the second that we have the largest complaint which requires settlement. The salesperson, after obtaining our information and working out our product needs asked us if we could have 2 free gifts, what would they be? He then presented a catalog from which we chose 2 "free" gifts on his insistence. at NO POINT was it explained that these items would, in fact, not be free. The final signing of the contract took place in a very rushed way, and at no time was the sum total of our entire purchase explained to us in any detail, or was the contract reviewed with us. These are excessively unethical sales practices, and the salesperson did absolutely nothing to correct our assumptions based on his misleading us. now we come to the problem at hand. I have in my possession approximately $1.500 of equipment I would never have chosen if it had been revealed that they were not free gifts. As these items were added to the contract without our knowledge, and the final signing process was extremely rushed at the insistence of the salesperson, we have attempted to get the company to take these items back, and refund us their cost. We are very willing to return the items to the company, and in fact when we contacted customer service, we were told "that's how the sales pitch goes" and that they would not accept the items for return. this is UNACCEPTABLE, and i further question the good business practices of any company that trains their salespeople to mislead and swindle customers. Furthermore, a few of the food items we received were sub-par, and we question whether the amount will be sufficient for 5 months as promised, and we were very clear on our food requirements. at every turn we were assured by our salesperson that the food included in the price we were paying would be more than sufficient.

Desired Settlement: We primarily desire that the company accept the equipment and refund us our money, especially in light of the questionable sales practices employed by the salesperson. Furthermore, we desire a representative to come to our home and assess that the levels of food provided are sufficient and proper as per our agreements with the company. We also desire any sub par product be replaced.

Business Response: We have tried to contact the customer.  They are away on vacation.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

I was contacted by Hills Food Service. I believe his name  was Bill.  He was going to be in CT October 16th and wanted to come see us.  We were going to be on vacation and would be available after the 21st of October.  He was going to call me to reschedule an appointment.  

Business Response: We ill call today.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Hills Home Market
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart