This business is not BBB accredited.

Silton Glass Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (508) 879-4455 Fax: (508) 879-3386 View Additional Phone Numbers 612 Waverly St, Framingham, MA 01702

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Charles L. Silton, Inc., Silton Glass Company sells and installs glass for auto, home, and business. The company also does commercial and residential windows and doors. The company was established in 1920 and incorporated in Massachusetts in 1956. The company employs 14 people. Ms. Dorothy Tanguay is the President. Mr. George Tanguay is the Treasurer, Frank Tetschner is the Director - General Manager and Janet Tetschner is the Clerk. Any problems or questions should be directed to the President, Ms. Dorothy Tanguay.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Silton Glass Company include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Silton Glass Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Silton Glass Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 03, 1982 Business started: 01/01/1920 in MA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Department of Labor and Workforce Development
1 Ashburton , Boston MA 02108
Phone Number: 617-626-7122 or For hearing impaired relay services, call 1-800-439-0183 or 711.
Fax Number: 617-727-1090
The number is LW000216.

Business Management
Mr. George Tanguay, Treasurer Mr. Frank Tetschner, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Tanguay, Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Frank Tetschner, President
Number of Employees


Business Category


Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Silton Glass Company has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    612 Waverly St

    Framingham, MA 01702 (508) 879-4455 (508) 872-1001


    PO Box 544

    Framingham, MA 01704


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brought our truck to have the rear slider window replaced and/or repaired. The truck was brought back 7 times as it was never fully fixed. Our insurance company insisted we stay with Silton to complete the repair. Each time it was brought back, damages to the interior/exterior (i.e. glue, scratches, dents) were happening. In between repairs, water damage happened to the seats. Silton said they would dry it out, but that never happened or not properly handled. We have pictures of all the damage that Silton has made to the truck. The administrative assistant offered no customer service and we have tried to call the owner over a 6 week period and he has not returned the calls. We now have to file a collision claim with insurance and feel as though Silton is responsible for paying our deductible. Had they responsibly taken ownership of the mishaps caused by their "workmanship" this would not have gone this far and could have amicably been resolved by all parties. We feel this is a fair settlement as the truck did not go into their place of business with scratches, dents, dried glue, Oil over the interior roof etc..

Desired Settlement: Our deductible be paid by Silton Glass of Framingham to us directly.

Business Response: Mr. *****’s truck was initially brought in for a rear slider replacement on February 13, 2013. The truck arrived with part of the slider already broken and there was existing damage done to the body of the vehicle where the new glass was to be installed. Over the next few weeks, the truck returned on three separate occasions with new problems. Each time we were told that it was leaking and/or making a wind sound once the vehicle reached a certain speed. The technicians resealed the rear slider each time hoping to solve the problem, but ultimately after the third attempt, they determined that it needed to be completely reinstalled. After doing so, the truck still continued to leak, and after one more failed attempt to solve the problem by resealing it, the technicians concluded that the remaining issues were caused by damage done to the body of the truck (specifically at the bottom of the driver’s side), or simply caused by a defective rear slider, meaning it was leaking between the glass and the factory installed molding, rather than between the molding and the truck itself. A new slider was ordered and installed, but these ongoing issues still persisted. The technicians attempted to reseal the truck once more after this new glass was installed, and additionally they were requested to dry the areas where water had leaked into the seats. At this time, after the second rear slider was installed, the customer mentioned that there was also damage done to the interior roof of the truck. Fans were set up, the truck was left with all the doors in the open position and was parked inside for the day to dry out, and any damage done to roof in the form of dirt was cleaned as best as possible, though this was the first and only time this damage was mentioned. Though differing from our usual policy, we picked up the truck at Mr. *****’s place of employment and delivered it back to him after the technicians had attempted to solve the problems and clean the interior. We also provided him with rides to and from where he needed to be/go on several occasion as well. After these final attempts to reseal the now completely new slider, the customer brought it elsewhere for a windshield replacement, and there he asked for a second opinion. He was told the install for the rear slider was poorly done, yet they also told him they wouldn’t touch it, leading us to believe that they also recognized there was other already existing issues (other than the glass) that were causing it to leak.

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

The following is our response to Silton's response from our original Complaint filed 5/29/2013. Attached are pictures to depict the following damage to the vehicle.  There are more, these are just a few and Safety Insurance has better and more indepth pictures and estimate of damage. We brought our truck to Silton in February 2013 and 7 times over the course of 2 months we brought our truck back for problems.   We brought it back all 7 times for leaking and workmanship performed left oil/glue/sealant on the interior of the truck (i.e. seats soiled with glue, roof had hand prints of glue or sealant).  The exterior of the truck had dents and scratches on it from we think and our insurer thinks, the removal of the window on at least 2 occasions of putting in a new window.  The sealant used was so thick it must have been hard to remove the window on both occasions.  The idea of previous damage to the vehicle is absurd.  This came about from to administrative assistants talking to one another of the possible idea.  The owner of the company we brought our truck to get an estimate of repairing the window "wanted nothing to do with it" as the workmanship of Silton was so shoddy that he wouldn't touch it as the truck had too much damage on it from being repaired so many times.  No previous damage ever occurred on this truck and not one time did Silton say that to us. The same admin also stated that expired glue/sealant was used on their part and that was another reason the window wasn't sealed correctly.  As far as giving a ride, we brought it to Silton 5 times back and forth on our own and it was the 6th and 7th time we felt it necessary to have them pick the truck up and give us a ride as this "work" was done during working hours and how many times can you tell your boss you have to have a window fixed 7 times.  Never once did they say this wasn't their policy to give a ride, we just assumed it was part of their policy, especially this particular case.  We were under the direction of Safety Insurance as they told us we had to stick with Silton to finish the work.  It wasn't until I spoke to a supervisor at Safety stating we cannot stay with Silton, the truck has incurred too much damage inside and out since the whole process began.   Safety Insurance agreed and had an adjustor come out to view/estimate the damage. The adjustor took pictures and estimated the damage by Silton to our truck to be $1,466.00.   This is all related to fixing the window, the damage that is.  We have since received a check from Safety in the amount of $900.00, less our deductible of $500.00.  Originally we were seeking $1,000.00 for our collision deductible but, then realized it was a Compulsory Claim, not Collision Claim.  We are now seeking our deductible of $500.00 from Silton Glass of Framingham. At this time, Safety has paid Silton their invoice to them for the window, by direction from us.  We feel that Silton should pay the $500.00 extra we had to pay to clean up and repair the mess they left our truck in. The pictures attached showed they never cleaned up window debris (we did not bring in a shattered window) that was done by Silton.  The truck was never dried out properly leaving saturation of the seats.  The window picture shows sealant so thick and put on incorrectly and just smeared and smushed all over the place.   All companies we brought the truck to for an estimate, there were three, were in utter amazement at this work performed by Silton.  It was completely a mess! As stated we brought the truck in February 2013, after 7 attempts of further damaging the truck which brings us to April 2013, on numerous occasions between April and May, calls were made to Silton to rectify this.  The admin stated "teeth problems, big jobs, owner never there, as reasons why the owner did not call us back.  It was May 29, 2013 that I filed the Complaint as we are frustrated with this company not taking responsibility for their lack of workmanship.  Since then I have spoken to the BBB on many occasions as to why they are still an accredited business as it had been more than 60 days and no resolve has happened.   I spoke to a supervisor at the BBB last week and finally Silton responded.  It being July 29th today and receiving Silton's answer today, I am well within the 10 days of responding. I look forward to a resolution of this matter and more documentation can be sent from Safety Insurance and a window replacement company regarding this matter.