BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Contract Glass Service, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Contract Glass Service, Inc.

Phone: (978) 988-1144 Fax: (978) 988-1155 44 Dunham Road, Billerica, MA 01821 http://www.contractglass.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Contract Glass Service, Inc. specializes in manufacturing and installation of insulated glass for residential, commercial and industrial needs.  The business services include and are not limited to showers, doors, windows, mirrors, shelving, table tops and more. 

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Contract Glass Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Contract Glass Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Contract Glass Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 31, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1985 in MA Business incorporated: 01/01/1987 in MA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Massachusetts Office of Consumer Affairs & Business Regulation
10 Park Plaza, Boston MA 02116
http://www.mass.gov/ocabr/
Phone Number: (617) 973-8787/888-283-3757
Fax Number: (617) 973-8799
consumer@state.ma.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Mary F. Best, Owner Mr. Bill Crawford, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary F. Best, Owner
Principal: Mr. Bill Crawford, Owner
Number of Employees

25

Business Category

GLASS STORM WINDOWS & DOORS WINDOWS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS WINDOWS-INSTALLATION & SALES MIRRORS SHOWER DOORS & ENCLOSURES WINDOWS-REPLACEMENT GLASS-REPLACEMENT & REPAIR GLASS - BEVELED, CARVED, ORNAMENTAL, ETC. WINDOWS GLASS - REPAIR WINDOWS & DOORS - INSTALLATION & SERVICE GLASS – TEMPERED GLASS, MIRROR & SCREEN COMPANIES Automotive Glass Replacement Shops (NAICS: 811122)

Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states all work is guaranteed.
Service Area
Contract Glass Service, Inc. provides their services in CONNECTICUT , MAINE , MASSACHUSETTS , NEW HAMPSHIRE & RHODE ISLAND.
Licensing

Tempered Glass Certificate: SGCC/ANSI-Z797.1-2009

Industry Tips
27 Questions For Home Owners Read Before You Sign Windows

Additional Locations

  • 44 Dunham Road

    Billerica, MA 01821 (978) 988-1144

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought a medicine cabinet to be repaired in june 2012. **** the owner said he could repair the glass and put on new bevels so it would attach back on my cabinet at home. Aftre over 4 visits to his buissness in Billerica ma. and over 18 phone calls "****" the owner has lied to me and not fixed the problem but made it worse. I brought the first mirror in to have new glass put on in june and **** said he could fix it and put the proper bevels on it. Aftre 9 phone calls which where almost never returned and messages left with his secretary's the work was still not done. I removed another mirror from my identical medicine cabinet in my guest bathroom and brought it to **** which he wanted to see so he could know exactly what he needed to fix my other one. he also was putting new glass on that one because there was darkness on the edges. **** put the new glass on that one but ripped the bevels off the wooden backing and threw them away. Now I cannot even put that one back on my guest room bathroom because it has no bevels on it.(he damaged that mirror.) He even admitted he screwed up and was sorry. I have gone as far as taking my whole lighted medicine cabinet off the wall and brought it to him so he new exactly what to do to fix it.It has been 6 months since I first started this. He promised me he would fix them. He damaged one that did not need the bevels removed. He called down and said he fixed them and handed me a plastic bag full of bevels that would not and did not fit my mirror doors. He was suppose to put the bevels on him self.

Desired Settlement: I have 2 lighted cabinets without doors... when I called the other day after 6 months he told me there was nothing he could do. (again 6 months went by).............I now have to buy 2 more medicine cabinets to match each other. I have to buy another one for my guest bathroom because bill ripped the bevels off which he new didnt have to come off. (again he said he screwed up on that)....These cabinets have lighting built in to them. I have to now go out and replace 2 of them so they match. The guest room needs replacement because he ripped the bevels of and the cabinet is no longer good because there is no mirror door on it. It is more then fair that he gives me 500 dollars. Its going to cost me at least a thousand to buy and install them by an electrician. If he just told me 6 months ago he could fix them,that would have been fine but instead He damaged my guest bathroom mirror and strung me along for 6 months about fixing my original mirror. He has lied to me over and over...no return phone calls,telling me time after time he is fixing them and does not. This is a total disgrace and he should be ashamed of himself. The buissness address is 44 Dunham Road Billerica, MA 01821 Phone - 978-988-1144 Toll Free - (800) 649-9957 Fax - 978-988-1155 --It is no longer in wilmington--I have never in my life been treated the way "****" has treated me.

Business Response: January 11, 2013

BBB of Eastern MA, ME, RI, & VT
290 Donald Lynch Boulevard Suite #102
Marlborough, MA 01752-4705

To Whom It May Concern;
Thank you for your follow up letter of 1/2/13, since your original requests from late November or early December did not get to us.

In early December Mr. ******* and I did talk and we made arrangements for him to pick up both of his cabinets with new mirrors and new hardware.  When Mr. ******* picked up his medicine cabinets several days later he was happy and I have not heard from him since.  If I can provide further information please contact me.

Sincerely,
******* ** ********

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.

PS-I stand by my initial letter when I first made my complaint. It took 6 months to fix the problem. Once I told Mr ******** I was going to go to the BBB and file a complaint in court was when I was taken seriously and Mr ******* Immediately fixed the problem within 5 days. I only wish he took me seriously in the beginning and did the work he said he would do from the get-go. Mr ******** is a nice guy and maybe he will do what he says he will do from the start. I wish him luck is customer satisfaction !

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

BBB Comments: The consumer indicated to BBB that the complaint was resolved.

1