BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Eastern Massachusetts, Maine, Rhode Island and Vermont

This Business is not BBB accredited

The Vermont Flannel Co. Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (802) 476-5226 Fax: (802) 476-5751 128 Mill St, East Barre, VT 05649 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.vermontflannel.com

Print

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

The Vermont Flannel Company, Inc. provides flannel apparel and accessories for adults and children.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Vermont Flannel Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on The Vermont Flannel Co. Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 28, 2009 Business started: 05/01/1991 in VT Business incorporated: 05/24/1991 in VT
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Baker, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Baker, President
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

CLOTHING WORK CLOTHING-RETAIL MENS CLOTHING & FURNISHINGS-RETAIL WOMENS APPAREL-RETAIL CLOTHING-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS Family Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448140)

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy
The business states their return policy is All Returns will be charged a $7.50 Return Shipping fee. The business states their exchange policy is items can not have been washed, or worn.
Industry Tips
Clothing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Vermont Flannel Co. Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    128 Mill St

    East Barre, VT 05649 (802) 476-5226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    155 Dorset St

    S Burlington, VT 05403

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Central St

    Woodstock, VT 05091 (802) 457-4111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 220

    East Barre, VT 05649

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I got this from your fulfillment company foxy cart. Well I am not impressed. It gives the impression that my order was filled. However now it is Jan. 3rd, 2014 and my shirt has not arrived yet. If this was out of stock, I would think the company would notify me and tell me the order would be filled on such and such a date, but to this day I have not hear a word, seen an email or even a phone call. The bottom (below the copy of my order summary) is from my bank TD Bank who shows the funds have been withdrawn from my account on Dec. 23rd, 2013. Still nothing! I sent an email to Vermont Flannel asking about my order to info@vermontflannel.com and still have not even received the courtesy of a reply saying my email was received and we will check and let you know what happened to your order. E-Commerce is not all that difficult and email has worked for at least the last 25 years, the phone system has been working for the past 100 years and the US Mail has been in service since 1775. You would think a company who wanted to stay in business would be able to use any of these communication tools to inform a customer of a problem with their order. So no I have little choice but to go to The Vermont Better Business Bureau and state my objection to your company and their lack of good business sense. I hope I will not have to file a claim against you for using interstate wire fraud for removing funds from my account without even attempting to send my order. Inserted below are a copy of the order confirmation and the very bottom is a note of when the funds were taken from my accounts. Yours truly,*** ********** From: Vermont Flannel Company [mailto:store+vermontflannel@foxycart.com] On Behalf Of Vermont Flannel CompanySent: Thursday, December 19, 2013 10:02 AMTo: ***************@*********.netSubject: Vermont Flannel Company - Order #********* ReceiptThank-you for your order! Details below:

Desired Settlement: I would like this company to fill the order as promised and paid to do or refund my money after all you can't just take people's money and not expect them to complain for no product or service rendered.

Business Response: Hello, Mr. ********** was emailed on Friday, December 27th that his item was on back order and would not be available to ship until mid January.  He was given the choice of waiting for the item, choosing another plaid in stock or receive a refund. He did not respond to the email.  Mr. ********** did call our store in *********, VT on January 3rd.  At that point the shirt was available and shipped.  The tracking# is **********************.  He should except his package today or with in a couple of days depending on the weather. I hope this explanation validates that we did communicate with him.  I agree we should have followed up with a phone call or have sent another email. 

Respectfully,
***** *****, Vice-President

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/28/2012 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/06/11 I ordered merchandise on line from Vermont Flannel Company. On 12/12/11 spoke w/***** asking to check status of my delivery, her response was it will arrive in couple days, told me I could go online to check USPS to track package. I did and site showed package was shipped on 12/12/11.On 12/19 i called again, spoke w/***** because I still did not receive my order, she said she would look into it and call back. ***** called back said package was shipped should receive in few days. This purchase was Xmas gifts and time was getting short. Xmas came and no delivery.12/26 i attempted to call only got answering machine and i left a message for call back. 12/27 I emailed them to again express my disappointment of non delivery and asked for resolution either refund or resend order. 12/30 I contacted my credit card co. and filed a dispute about the purchase.. 1/2/12 i spoke to ***** and was told to contact my post office that there was nothing they would do about my non delivery. after leaving several messages by phone for post office on 1/6 I went to the post office and spoke w/Steve who checked to see if package was still there-it was not. He suggested I call the postmaster which I did, he researched and suggested I call Vermont Flannel to see if package was returned as undelivered. I spoke w/***** she said she would check but never called me back. After not hearing back from ***** I emailed Vermont Flannel 1/24/12 about my many attempts to resolve my non-delivery I now want a refund for total $141.90. I still have not gotten a response from Vermont Flannel. It's been 2 months from the start of this transaction and I feel I have done all I could on my part and i want a total refund of my money.

Desired Settlement: total refund $141.90

Business Response: We recieved an order from ***** ********** on December 6 2011. We filled the order and shipped it to her shipping address (*** ****** **** ****** ** ********* ****) on the 12th of December.  We recieved a call from her a few weeks later stating that she did not recieve the package. I called our local post office that we shipped it from. The postmaster was able to track the package and confirm that it was delivered to '*** ****** **** ******'  I called her back and told her the tracking information and suggested she try checking the recieving department at *** ****** **** ******.  

Consumer Response:



I went to my post office spoke with the postmaster who stated the package was tracked in but when speaking with my postal delivery man he stated he never saw the package in his mail to be delivered.
I had spoken to my delivery man when I placed my order that I was expecting a package and he said he would watch for it since it was for Christmas.
He even said with a last name like mine it wouldn't be hard to miss. My postmaster was the one who suggested the package may have been lost/stolen and companies have "loss insurance " so they should be able to refund my money.  This purchase was for 3 items supposed to be gifts worth alot of money to me. I would like to have the items I ordered or my money back. It is no fault of mine if the items were lost/stolen.

Regards,

***** **********

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.