Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Talbots is a leading specialty retailer and direct marketer of women’s classic clothing, shoes and accessories. Established in 1947, the company is known for legacy items like the perfect blazer, trustworthy trench, versatile white shirt, ballet flats and pearls, as well as its fine workmanship, gracious service and welcoming red doors. With a nod to tradition infused with modern flair, Talbots offers an array of timeless wardrobe options to flatter women of all shapes and sizes. The Company currently operates stores in 587 locations in 47 states, the District of Columbia, and Canada. Its on-line shopping site is located at www.talbots.com.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Talbots meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Talbots include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

8 Customer Reviews on Talbots
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 8

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 29, 1988 Business started: 08/29/1988 in MA Business incorporated 10/21/1980 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Ticker Symbol

TLB

Business Management
Ms. Nancy B. Sargent, Senior Manager Corporate Customer Service
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy B. Sargent, Senior Manager Corporate Customer Service
Number of Employees

11,600

Business Category

CLOTHING Family Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448140)

Refund and Exchange Policy
If for any reason you are not happy with your online, catalog or store purchase, Talbots will accept returns and exchanges of unworn, unwashed merchandise with a valid receipt within 90 days of purchase, unless defective. A valid receipt is the Return Form portion of the order summary enclosed with your package if you ordered online or by phone, or the original store receipt. If you do not have a receipt, but the merchandise is still ticketed and returned within 90 days of purchase, a merchandise credit will be issued for the current selling price, including all applicable discounts and promotions. Valid identification is required for returns and exchanges made without a receipt. Talbots stores cannot accept merchandise purchased at Talbots Outlet stores.

Talbots Outlet Stores
If for any reason you are not happy with your purchase, Talbots Outlet stores will accept returns and exchanges of unworn, unwashed merchandise purchased from a Talbots Outlet store and online outlet with a valid receipt within 30 days of purchase, unless defective. If you do not have a receipt, but the merchandise is still ticketed and returned within 30 days of purchase, a merchandise credit will be issued for the current selling price, including all applicable discounts and promotions. As above, valid identification is required for returns and exchanges made without a receipt. Talbots Outlet stores can only accept merchandise purchased from a Talbots Outlet store and online outlet. Talbots Outlet store purchases cannot be returned to Talbots stores.

Easy Returns and Exchanges
Returns and exchanges must be made within the guidelines of our return policy. All merchandise purchased online or by phone can be returned to any Talbots store (Talbots Outlet stores can only accept merchandise purchased at Outlet stores or online Outlet) or shipped prepaid and insured to:

Talbots Customer Returns
One Talbots Way,
Lakeville, MA 02348.

Please include the Return Form portion of the order summary enclosed with your package (noting reason for return on the back) or your original store receipt.
Industry Tips
Clothing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Talbots has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1 Talbots Dr

    Hingham, MA 02043 (781) 749-7600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12850 Memorial Dr

    Houston, TX 77024 (832) 358-3041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2028 W Gray St

    Houston, TX 77019 (713) 524-1514

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2260 Louisiana Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110 (505) 837-1020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2504 Amherst St

    Houston, TX 77005 (713) 521-7714

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Meyerland Plaza Mall

    Houston, TX 77096 (713) 667-9900

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5135 W Alabama St

    Houston, TX 77056 (713) 623-0893

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    665 Cleveland Ave S

    Saint Paul, MN 55116 (651) 699-9888

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    90 Old Orchard Center

    Skokie, IL 60077 (847) 329-0580

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    800 N Green River Rd

    Evansville, IN 47715 (812) 473-7177

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2201 S Georgia St

    Amarillo, TX 79109 (806) 359-9190

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I want to cancel the delivery of Talbots catalogues. There is no option to do so on the phone or on the website. I have never run into this problem before. The catalog is addressed to *** ****** **** ***** **** ****** **************** ** *****. Customer # *** *** *** Thank you for your help. *****

Desired Settlement: Confirmation from Talbots that I will no longer receive any catalogues. I do think they should have a prompt for canceling catalogues, when calling the 800 number.

Business Response: I have permanently deleted customer # ********* from our mailing list.  The catalogs are preprinted with the last one mailed the April catalog that should have delivered around March 12.  One or two more may arrive since they are preprinted.  I will follow up to make sure catalogs are stopped.

2/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered many items from Talbots. Over the years items have become poorer in quality and craftsmanship. I have had to return several items/boxes of clothing for poor representation of the item/color and quality. The most recent returns of a double faced pink jacket with arms irregularly sown, not even at the ends pockets closed shut etc. Each time that I called Talbots, the customer service agent sent me via email a preprinted label and assured me that I would not be charged return shipping. NOT TRUE.... it's all a lie. Talbots is deceiving its customers. The returns are still being charged. If an item is defective or misrepresented in your advertisements and the customer is calling and being assured that the items will be returned without a charge and you are still charging ... that is called DECEPTION. You are lying to your customers and cheating your customers. Your online customer service is HORRIBLE

Desired Settlement: refund all the return shipping monies for which I have contacted Talbots because of your horrible China made clothing.

Business Response: Credited customer $41.70 for unrefunded return shipping charges, previously responded to customer via email, will send letter to customer detailing return options.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, *** ***********

5/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for 5 item - one out of stock and cancelled by the company. 3 items arrived at my door - did not work, so I sent them back. I never received the final item. Emailed twice to report the item was untrackable on their system and not delivered. Bill arrived for 109.06 Called 4/14/2015 spoke with **** who said she would report the lost shipment item and told me I would need to pay 6.95 to cover return shipping - I sent a check the next day. 5/09/2014 bill arrived for 116.30 - and sent 3 requests for help on site (no response) online chat was totally useless ping pong aand forth with store blaming bank blaming store... Finally called customer Talbots service who said that she spoke with the bank and they did not see why I was being billed.. but would get back to me... no news yet.... I wan to cancel my account and NEVER HAVE ANYTHING TO DO WITH TALBOTS OR COMNETY BANK EVER AGAIN BUT FIRST NEED TO GET MY ACCOUNT CLEARED OR ERRONIOUS CHARGE

Desired Settlement: Clear ERRORS ON MY account SO I CAN CANCEL MY ACCOUNT WITH TALBOTS

Business Response: Credited customer's account, forwarded info to ******** bank, all fees associated with this issue credited.  Spoke with customer, arranged for her to speak with ******** to close account.  Will send apology letter as follow up to conversation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Regards,

***** ******

5/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a long time and loyal Talbots customer. I often wear a plus size or a plus size petite and very few Talbots stores offer this size range in the store and when they do, the selection is limited. Because of this, I order a lot of Talbots clothing online. I often order multiple sizes and return the ones that don't fit or work. I know this is a hassle for retailers but like most retailers, Talbots sizing is not consistent and thus, ordering multiple sizes and returning ones that don't work is the only way buy nice clothing in a specialty size. I ordered a Navy pique jacket in several sizes this year-- it is one of the best jackets Talbots has done in years and I desperately wanted it to work but none of the sizes fit me right. I returned the 14WP by mail and the returned item was mailed back to me with a form letter stating that the return could not be accepted because it had been "washed and worn." This is absurd. It was neither washed nor worn. The Talbots tags were still on it and the tack stitch on the back vent of the jacket was still attached. (One removes the tack stitch before wearing. It is merely to keep the tailoring looking good in transit etc.) I am aware of Talbots return policy. What kind of person would wear something and then return it? (Unless a defect was discovered.) The suggestion that I did so is insulting. Essentially Talbots is calling me an unethical liar. As I stated, the tags were in place and attached and the stitching one must remove before wearing had not been removed. I tried on the jacket in my home several times before determining that it was too big. That is the extent of it being "worn." I have re-sent this item back to the distribution center. I photographed the jacket before sending it back to Talbots distribution center to show that the tags and stitching were still on the garment. If necessary, I will dispute the charge with my credit card.

Desired Settlement: I would like for Talbots to refund my credit card for the jacket and apologize for suggesting that I fraudulently returned a worn item when I did not.

Business Response:

Customer will be credited for jacket.  Sending apology letter.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved. 

Thank you so very much for your assistance. I really do appreciate your help!!

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BACK IN JANUARY 2015 ******* FROM ******** BANK COLLECTION AGENCY FOR TALBOTS ASK TO SETTLE MY CLOSED ACCOUNT WITH TALBOTS WITH AN AGREEMENT OF $91.00 BEGIN AS FOLLOW JANUARY 22ND $91 FEBRUARY 18TH 91$ MARCH 18TH $91 HE CLEARLY MENTIONED SETTLEMENT FOR THE BALANCE A LITTLE OVER $300 IN THE MEANTIME TALBOTS ON THE OTHER HAND IS NOT AWARE OF THE SETTLEMENT CONTINUE TO COMPOUND INTEREST ON THE AMOUNT THAT WAS IN AREAR NO DEDUCTION IS MADE THEY JUST WITHDRAW MY MONEY WITHOUT SETTLING THE ACCOUNT. AS PROMISED OVER THE PHONE THAT I WAS GOING TO RECEIVE A LETTER AS PROOF THAT CREDIT BUREAU WILL EXHONORATE THE DEBT . INSTEAD I AM REQUIRED TO PAY DOUBLE, ******** BANK ON BEHALF OF TALBOTS WITHDRAW MONEY FROM MY BANK FOR PROMISED SETTLEMENT (HOW CAN A CLOSED ACCOUNT BE BROUGHT UP TO DATE AS THEY CHANGED THEIR STORY LATER WHILE TALBOTS CONTINUE EVERY MONTH EMAILING STATEMENT WITH COMPOUND INTEREST WHEN I CALLED TALBOTS CUSTOMER SERVICE SAID THEY NOT AWARE OF ANY SUCH PAYMENT OR AGREEMENT YOU OWE WHAT 'S OWE TO US PLUS INTEREST..

Desired Settlement: I want Talbots and ******** **** (*******) to honor what was promised to me settlement.

Business Response: Emailed information to our escalations department at ******** ****.

4/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Since there is not an option to select the store in ************, AR, my complaint is for the main office. On Match 31, 2015, I made a purchase of 184.94. There were computer issues (as the manager stated), so she swiped my card two times. The 1st time it hadn't gone through. The second time it did. A charge showed up on my account as "pending", in the amount of 184.94, and was processed on 4/2/15. Therefore, Talbots charged my twice for the same purchase. I called the retail store and spoke to the manager who told me she couldn't do anything about it, and to call the customer service hotline. the customer service hotline told me they could not do anything about it, and that the retail store had to fix the issue. Needless to say, the unprofessionalism I experienced led to my current situation, which has still been unresolved. The ************ store manager promised that the computer people were working on it, and that it would be reversed on my account within 1-2 business days. She did not take my phone number, or bother to call the assure me that this would happen. A week later I called the customer service hotline again, and they told me that it appeared that i was in the store on two separate occasions...which is NOT the case. I was informed by a supervisor on the customer service hotline that paperwork would be filed to look into this fraudulent charge. The woman my husband spoke to never called back. A week later, and I called back AGAIN today. The woman kept interrupting me and had a terrible attitude about this serious situation. She informed me that nothing had been done with my case since the last time I called. What is wrong with this company!!! This is fraud! I will not be shopping in this store ever again, and I want the $184.94 back in my bank account NOW. This is unacceptable. That manager in ************ needs to be reprimanded for this. No responsibility was taken whatsoever and I was treated like a lying criminal. Why would I buy the same outfit two times? Doesn't your computer have a record of the bar codes that were swiped? can't you see that the same purchase was charge to me TWO TIMES?!

Desired Settlement: I want a refund and an apology. Will not be shopping at Talbots again.

Business Response: After researching customer's complaint found information below:**** ENDING **** WAS CHARGED $184.94 AS A CREDIT CARD TRANSACTION AND AS A PIN BASED DEBIT TRANSACTION. AN ADJUSTMENT WAS PROCESSED ON 4/3/15 TO CREDIT THE DEBIT CHARGE. IF SHE PROVIDES THE ISSUING BANK WITH ADJUSTMENT #**********, THEY WILL BE ABLE TO TRACE THE CREDIT. Called customer, no answer, left voicemail with that information. Will follow up with apology letter and the information above.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I have checked my bank records daily since March 31. There was no activity from Talbots between April 3 and April 19th. TODAY my card was refunded. I do not appreciate the accusatory tone of the voicemail that was left. The charge was refunded today, not April 3. I have attached a statement from my bank verifying that there has been no action taken on behalf of Talbots during that time. Apparently, communication through this medium is the only way to have my money refunded. Your response is insufficient. Your company screwed up and can't take responsibility. Regards, ***** **********  

3/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a complaint for Store #**, located at **** ********* **** ******* Ga. I arrives at 5:20 PM on Sunday March 1, 2015, to make a return. The sales people and managers, **** ******** and *** ****** were extremely rude and mean to me and refused to return some items that I had just purchased on line on February 18. They refused to return a black dress because it has one tiny dog hair on it, which I removed in front of them. The black dress was unworn, and had the tags attached to it. I am a 20 year customer of Talbots with a credit card. They have lost my business due to their rudeness and humiliation. I have also contacted the District Manager, ***** ********, ###-###-####, and have not received any response from her. This is the worst customer relations that I have ever heard of! And another example of Talbots lack of concern for their customers lLos, they have violated their return policy, which states that returns can be made within 30 days!

Desired Settlement: Call back from Management at Talbots, and apology. **** ******** and *** ****** reprimanded or fired

Business Response: Spoke with customer, sending prepaid label for return of dress.  Also sending gift card as compensation for her time and aggravation.  Advised customer her store complaint was forwarded to the Regional Manager and District Manager of the store in question.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint #********. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.  Regards, ****** *****

2/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently made a purchase at the Talbots store in ******* **** in ********. As a result, I ended up on their mailing list. In late December, I received a catalogue in the mail from Talbots. There was a cardigan in the catalogue that I was interested in so I went to the store in ******* ****. They did not have the item in stock. I saw from the catalogue that I could order online. The "Ready to Order?" page of the catalogue clearly showed that shipments to Canada cost $25. I deliberated about this for awhile then decided to place the order, but added two other items to the order to "justify" paying the $25 shipping fee.On January 2, 2015 I placed an online order as follows: Cardigan $59.50; Jeans $79.50; Shell $24.50; Subtotal $163.50; Shipping $25.00; Total $ 188.50. I received a confirmation of the above total cost. On January 6, 2015, ***** arrived with the cardigan and shell but required a payment of $44.39 in duty and taxes! I was completely caught off guard, paid the money then sat down and studied the paperwork left by ***** with the parcel. Looking at just the cardigan, it turned out that I had unknowingly paid in US dollars and an 20% duty applied to the purchase. What I thought was a $59.50 item cost me $10.28 in exchange plus an additional $13.96 in duty! In total I paid $83.74 for this cardigan before taxes or 41% more than I thought I was going to pay. I e-mailed Talbots to complain and told them to not send the jeans. They replied that the jeans had already been shipped, but I could refuse the delivery (which I did). Regarding the pricing, they just said that because they are in the States, their prices are in US dollars. I have relooked at the catalogue from which I had selected the items I ordered. I did discover on the back page of the catalogue in small print, a sentence stating that the prices were in US dollars, but I feel this whole episode was very misleading given that it was initiated by me shopping at their ******** store.

Desired Settlement: I would like Talbots to refund me the extra $24 I paid for the cardigan before taxes, but more importantly, to change their Canadian advertising so that the prices are in Canadian dollars and to disclose that 20% duty will have to be paid upon delivery. They should also explain how one gets their duty refunded if they return an item.

Business Response: Waived customer's $25 shipping, adjusted sweater to reflect 50% discount.  Mailed letter to customer advising credit of $54.75 USD.  Included information regarding shipping and handling, taxes and duties for Canadian shipments.  Also included information about receiving taxes and duties refund for returned items.  Apologized to customer for aggravation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint # ********. Please add your rejection comments below.  I would like Talbots to stop sending catalogues with prices denominated in US dollars to Canadian addresses. Regards, ***** ******  

2/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During a snow storm, on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving I saw a banner ad on Yahoo for Talbots. The ad said “50% one regular price item- 40% off entire order PLUS free shipping NO MINIMUM. (No promo code or disclaimers) The ad featured the “Ponte Fit and Flare Dress" on sale at $53.99. I clicked through to the Ponte Dress. The price was correct but at check out, I received neither 40% off my order nor free shipping. I spoke with ********* * in chat. She said: “We do have 50% off one full priced item and 40% off the rest for Talbots credit card holders, however we do not have free shipping.” I told her the banner ad offered free shipping and it was still up on my screen. She said: “The only promotions we can guarantee are the ones found on our Talbots website.” I wrote: “banner ads for Talbots linking through to Talbots - featuring your products and you are not responsible for it?” She wrote: No I am sorry we are not. I asked to speak with a supervisor quickly, so I could be sure to get the dress I wanted. ****** ****** called my house. I gave her the background and told her I could show her the ad. She wasn’t interested in the ad and told me the same thing -They are not honoring any promotional copy not on their web site and that all offers were for card holders and I would have to call from an in-store red phone to get free shipping. I feel Talbots is responsible for the banner ads in market. The price data was obviously real-time from their website. They were benefiting from the click-throughs to the site and the promotion misrepresented the terms of eligibility.

Desired Settlement: For my trouble, I would like an apology and a black Ponte Fit and Flare Dress. I don’t understand why they were not interested in the information I was trying to provide them if they really have the customer’s best interests at heart.

Business Response: At the time Ms. ****** contacted us (11/26/14), a free shipping promotion was not in effect through www.talbots.com or through any other websites. Upon extensive review of our promotional calendar, an offer available exclusively to Yahoo customers could not be confirmed. Free shipping is offered to customers who purchase through our Redline Phone inside a store location and also to customers who hold a Talbots Classic Awards Black Card. This offer is ongoing; however Ms. ****** did not qualify for either of these offers at the time of contact.  The following Monday (Cyber Monday, 12/01/14) we extended an offer of 50% off one full price item and free shipping. We will be happy to extend this courtesy offer to Ms. ****** to be applied to a future order.  

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does not satisfy or resolve my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint.  

At the time I spoke to customer service they informed me of the terms of the offer; however their advertising did not have the terms, I think their advertising was misleading. I offered at the time to show them a screen grab(s) of the ad that contained no terms as it was still up on my computer, but they were not interested. So their claim of full investigation is not true. Rather than simply consulting their promotion calendar, they should be reviewing the final creative released to market. In absence of that, I believe they do not adhere to truth in advertising.

12/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Better Business Bureau: Today, I went online to Talbots.com. Their website posted an advertisement saying 50% off 1 item plus 40% off entire purchase (see below and attached). The 50% off offer is available until noon tomorrow and the 40% off offer is available until midnight tomorrow. The add also mentioned that the 50% discount would be taken off the highest priced item. I attempted to purchase a shearling coat and shoes. The total cost (attached – I was not able to copy and paste) reflected a 50% discount on the coat and a 40% discount on the shoes but not 40% off the entire purchase. I called Talbots(1-800-talbots) and spoke, a few minutes ago, with ****** (supervisor - #****), and told her that the ad said that 40% would be taken off the ENTIRE purchase and she said “40% would be taken off the remaining purchases of items other than the highest priced item which receives 50% off.” I believe that ad is misleading and they need to honor what the ad says, namely, that there would be 50% taken off the first, highest priced item, and then, for multiple item purchases, 40% would be taken off the total purchase. I am very upset that they are misleading the public (including me). Since when does “entire purchase” mean “remaining items”? I look forward to a resolution of this by the Better Business Bureau. I insist that Talbots honor their ad. I have not purchased the items because they are not honoring the ad. I want the items at the price promised by the ad

Desired Settlement: I want the items I ordered at the prices specified by the ad. That is, 50% off the shearling coat PLUS 40% off the total (shoes + coat). Thus, the 50% off the coat is $697.20 as specified by Talbots.com. The shoes were $119. before any reduction. So the total should have been $489.72 (40% off 816.20 plus $8 shipping and tax) and NOT $768.60 before shipping and tax. I have not purchased the items because the website will not give me the items at the prices requested.

Business Response:   Hello Ms *********, Thank you for contacting us about your recent experience on our Talbots website concerning the Black Friday promo event on 11/28/13. On behalf of the Support Management Team at Talbots, please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding we caused during our Black Friday  promo event. Our intention was not to give misleading information but to give you and all of our Talbots customers the opportunity to receive the best price possible during the busiest time of the year.  We pride ourselves in  giving you and all of our customers  the best level of service that is expected.   Ms *********, as a token of our apology, please accept a Talbots Gift Card in the amount of $280.00, the approximate amount of your dispute. In addition, we will honor a onetime discount of  50% off the highest price item and 40% off one additional item until January 31, 2014. These purchases will not be eligible for price adjustment due to the extreme discount. You should receive your Talbots Gift card within 7 to 14 days to your New York mailing address that you've provided in your contact information.  Ms *********, we hope that your concerns have been addressed and resolved to your satisfaction today. Talbots appreciates your loyalty and patronage to our brand. We look forward to you shopping with us again in the near future. Sincerely, Corporate Support Supervisor ***** * ********* 

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

11/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went online to www.talbots.com and went to the sale section it was my first time online to their website. I had been inside the store twice, well as I browsed around I saw for sale 19.99 a wool jacket bluebell in color and it was a size XLp. So I proceeded to purchase the item , as I was going through the item description it showed a picture of a woman in a yellow/gold colored wool jacket. It would not let me change the size or the color of the item, I proceeded to buy it anyway. Order went through got a confirmation number and all, I called to the customer service number and spoke with a representative and asked for my birthday discount, in which she applied 0% off my order. I asked her if she had a picture of the Jacket in that color she could email me since I was not able to view it during my purchase. She placed me on hold and when she returned she stated she could not find a picture of that jacket in that color and she hoped I liked it and if not then I could return it. We agreed and the call ended. Well on 10/28/13 the Item arrived via Fed X and was a T-shirt. (bluebell) the order slip states a wool jacket not a T-shirt. I called the 1800# and spoke with a rep who said she was sorry and she would apply a 40% discount due to error and would place that information in my account because I couldn't agree on getting another jacket. I called back today 11/01/13 and spoke with another rep who was very rude and nonchalant. She told me she would not offer my discount and that it was my fault that I ordered a T-shirt and not a jacket and If I wanted to today I could purchase a jacket for $249.99. I told her that it was not my error and yes it could be a computer error but that is not what I ordered she said computers don't have errors. I said really? Let me speak with a supervisor she placed me on hold and came back saying they were all busy and maybe I can offer you that discount if you buy that jacket right now. I refused and asked for a return call from a supervisor. I am very disappointed !

Desired Settlement: I request to get the wool jacket that I saw online and ordered. Not a T-shirt I did not order and I want better customer service and empathy for customers when there is a error on the company. I don't want to be accused of lying about a order that I really did place. I have pictures of the items and order summary receipt. It is almost winter Please assist me with this matter as I really was looking forward to my wool jacket. Thanks

Business Response: Talbots has made several attempts to contact Ms ***** by phone.  Today we sent the following e-mail and are awaiting her response.  It is Talbots intention to honor the pricing as she requested pending availability of her selected coat.  However we have not been able to obtain the details to determine the coat that she wishes to purchase.  Dear Ms. *****,  I am sorry to hear about the issue you experienced with our website when placing a catalog order on October 18th and I apologize for the concern and frustration you have been caused. I understand that you saw a wool jacket on our website listed for $19.99 which is what you intended to order but you received a  different item instead.  It appears that your order was placed at a time we were experiencing  technical difficulties with our website which were quickly updated. We always strive to present accurate information on our website and I truly regret that the pricing for this jacket was not correct at that time.  If you will kindly reply to this e mail with a bit more information regarding the jacket you wished to order, I will be happy see if it is still available and will honor the price of $19.99.  If you have the item number, that would be the most helpful information. If you do not have the number, please describe the jacket in as much detail as possible. Also, please let me know the size and color you were intending to order.  Thank you for your interest in Talbots, Ms. *****, and I look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience. Sincerely,  *** ****  Talbots Corporate Support???

Consumer Response: I have reviewed the response submitted by the business and have determined that the response does satisfy my issues and/or concerns in reference to complaint. I understand that by choosing to accept the business response that my complaint will be closed as resolved.

9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are two aspects of my complaint. Let me just tell the brief story. I placed an order on 28th using two $100 gift cards and also the promotion of $100 off $300 purchase, however, all of the items were cut the price by $10 each on 29th. Therefore, I called the customer service to see if a price match can be processed since I have paid over $60 more due to the one day time difference. After over 15 min waiting on the phone, I was disappointed to learn that they cannot do price match for sale items but I do understand different stores do have different policies. Then I told the customer service agent that he should reflect my comments to the administrative level that many stores still do price match for sale items for one time. And it totally doesn't make sense that loyal customers pay more only to get the same items that are still in stock and that's what price match is for. What surprised me was the agent cut my call!!! I have been an online shopper for four years and I have never talked to someone who cut a customer's call! Besides, I said more than once that "I'm not arguing with you about adjusting this typical order but leave some general comments". I thought to be a good and loyal customer but was really upset to be treated like that. I do like Talbots but according to my friends and me, the quality of customer service is really off the qualify of their products. Therefore, I do wish that Talbots can adjust their policy regarding sale items and also train their customer service agents more professionally.

Desired Settlement: Talbots should keep its quality of both products and staff!

Business Response: Hello Ms *****, Thank you for contacting us about your recent experience with our customer service department on 8/29.   On be half of the Support Management Team at Talbots, please accept our apologies for not giving you the best level of service that is expected. Ms *****, we do pride ourselves in offering the "Talbots" experience by doing what is right for each customer contact. Please be reassured that we have past on your complaint to the customer service manager so that continued service level training is given to prevent disappointment in our customer satisfaction feedback. We hope that on your next call or visit to either store or our customer service department, you will experience our Talbots hospitality by way of providing the excellent customer service you deserve.  

To address your second concern Ms *****, about our offering a "one time" adjustment on further marked down items the day after your purchase. Over the recent years we have had loyal customers, like yourself, comment that we should  consider a feature like this. So, we have just recently made this change for ours customers to partake in a "one time" price adjustment (no matter what price you paid...full or sale...within a 14 days of store purchase or ship date) to reflect the same price(s) as if you purchased those items that very same day! 

However, please understand Ms *****, that if our prices drop even further during a promotional and/or sale event, a 2nd "price adjustment" will not be made in order to be fair to all of our customers.  We will be adjusting your order for a credit of $60 and because you used a 2 - $100 gift cards as method of payment on your order, you'll be receiving this credit in the same form. You should receive your Talbots Gift card within 7 to 14 days to your Los Angels, CA mailing address that you've provided in your contact  information.    Ms *****, we hope that your concerns have been addressed and resolved to your satisfaction today. Talbots appreciates your loyalty and patronage to our brand. We look forward to you shopping with us again in the near future.      

Sincerely,
Corporate Support Supervisor
***** * *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

8 Customer Reviews on Talbots
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart